Sign in

Massage Envy Rancho San Diego

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Massage Envy Rancho San Diego? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Massage Envy Rancho San Diego

Massage Envy Rancho San Diego Reviews (6)

We are sorry to hear that Mr*** had to cancel his credit card causing our membership dues to not get paidWe are a membership based organization A member must have their account in good standing and active in order to use the membershipPrior to
Mr***'s appointment, he was reminded that the March membership dues were not paid due to the cancellation of his credit card and that they would need to be paid in order to use the membershipMr*** came in on 3/and was again reminded that his account was not active and must be active in order to utilize our services Mr*** then left the premisesPer our membership agreement, an account must be active in order to utilize the membership Membership dues are not refundableIn another review, Mr*** states that his neighbor utilized his membership and he was charged a $transfer fee Per our agreement, a member can transfer a service to another individual once a $transfer fee has been paid We are unaware of Mr***'s neighbor utilizing his membership Mr*** has only been charged a $transfer fee once in April when he transferred a service to his girlfriend

We are sorry to hear that Mr*** had to cancel his credit card causing our membership dues to not get paid.We are a membership based organization A member must have their account in good standing and active in order to use the membership.Prior to Mr***'s appointment, he was reminded that
the March membership dues were not paid due to the cancellation of his credit card and that they would need to be paid in order to use the membership.Mr*** came in on 3/and was again reminded that his account was not active and must be active in order to utilize our services Mr*** then left the premises.Per our membership agreement, an account must be active in order to utilize the membership Membership dues are not refundable.In another review, Mr*** states that his neighbor utilized his membership and he was charged a $transfer fee Per our agreement, a member can transfer a service to another individual once a $transfer fee has been paid We are unaware of Mr***'s neighbor utilizing his membership Mr*** has only been charged a $transfer fee once in April when he transferred a service to his girlfriend

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.In regards to the first assertion, I was not notified that charge on 22 March did not go through until arriving for my appointment on the 23rd.  Regardless, I have paid for a service which I have not been allowed to receive. I have paid for time.  If I am not able to use it, I should receive a refund for the services I bought but did not receive.
As for the transfer of time accrued to my account in April 2015, my complaint is that no one verified with me whether or not I had authorized this transfer.  Someone walked in off the street claiming I authorized a transfer and was allowed to use my time and I was charged for it addresses no insult to injury.
Regards,
[redacted]

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
In regards to the first assertion, I was not notified that charge on 22 March did not go through until arriving for my appointment on the 23rd.  Regardless, I have paid for a service which I have not been allowed to receive. I have paid for time.  If I am not able to use it, I should receive a refund for the services I bought but did not receive.As for the transfer of time accrued to my account in April 2015, my complaint is that no one verified with me whether or not I had authorized this transfer.  Someone walked in off the street claiming I authorized a transfer and was allowed to use my time and I was charged for it addresses no insult to injury.
Regards,
[redacted]

Review: I have been a customer with Massage Envy for years. I have an automatic payment set up on my credit card which is $54.00/month for my husband [redacted] and then $49.00/month for myself. This payment entitles us to one massage per month. If you don't use the massage you don't loose it, the massages just accumulate for use at a later date. When I approached the manager [redacted] to see if I could obtain Massage Envy as my customer for my business with either natural gas, telephone or merchant service, [redacted] had to talk with the owner. The owner stated they would not be my customer so I let [redacted] know that I would have to cancel my services with Massage Envy so I could find someone else who would be my customer and I'd be theirs. [redacted] emailed me the form that I needed to sign and send in to another girl named [redacted]. Well when I printed the form, I didn't like the verbiage on the contract. So, I went into Massage Envy and asked the girls at the front desk how the cancelation process worked. The girl told me that noone knew about the cancelation policies. I had to sign the form and management would contact me. There were several girls at the front desk who confirmed this same story. So I filled out the form for my husband and myself and had my husband and I sign the form. But I hand wrote a disclamer on the form saying I would not agree to the terms until someone went over how the cancelation process worked. The reason for my concern is my husband and I had at least four massages each that we had already paid for and not used. I wasnt going to forfit my massages. As of today I still have not heard anything from anyone so I called their office to speak with a manager. I talked with a guy named ** ([redacted]) He put me on hold for about 5 minutes and came back on the phonesaying we forfited the massages when the membership expired. Right then I asked to speak to a manager since that is not what I agreed to. ** stated that Massage Envy would meet me half way and give me two comp cards for two massages. I said absolutely not and I wanted to speak with the manager. I told him I wanted to speak to [redacted] but of course, she no longer works there. I was going to have to wait for a guy named [redacted] to call me. Well, this is absolutely unacceptable. I am told one thing and then something else happens. ** said that because I signed the form, I forfited my massages. And I said that I didn't agree to anything thats why I put that on the paper.Desired Settlement: I want either to receive my massages I paid for or I want a full refund. I will not accept a partial refund or partial "comp" for what I have already paid for. This is sneaky tactics for Massage Envy to take advantage of people and I will not have it. Nobody knows the policy and before you can talk to anyone about their policy you have to sign the cancelation form? BS. That's why I wrote I don't agree to any terms until I know what they are and I speak to someone. These people should refund me a years worth of massages for their shady, deceiving practices!

Business

Response:

As a member of Massage Envy, you receive a massage benefit each month that you are an active member. In order to use your benefit, you must be an active member.

This has been explained to our client. She has re-joined so that she can utilize her benefit and understands that she when she does resign, the benefit ends.

We sincerely hope that she remains a member but understand if she chooses to resign. As a small business, we strive to help other smalls business if we can. Unfortunately, we can not utilize this clients services of natural gas, merchant processing and phone service. Our clinic does not use natural gas, our merchant processing is managed by Massage Envy Corporate and our owner is familiar with the phone service our client offers since they are reps of that company as well.

Review: AFTER USING A MASSAGE ENVY GIFT CARD, I SIGNED UP FOR A YEARLY MEMBERSHIP. AFTER THE YEARLY MEMBERSHIP EXPIRED IN JANUARY 2012, THEY CALLED ME TO TELL ME THAT THEY TRIED TO PROCESS A PAYMENT FOR THE MONTH OF FEBRUARY AND THAT IT DID NOT GO THROUGH. I TOLD THEM THAT I DID NOT WISH TO PURCHASE ANOTHER YEAR MEMBERSHIP. THEY SAID THAT WAS FINE, NO PROBLEM. TWO MONTHS WENT BY AND I RECEIVED ANOTHER CALL TELLING ME THE SAME THING, THAT THE PAYMENT WAS DENIED. I TOLD THEM I CANCELED AND DID NOT WISH TO RE-UP. SEVERAL MONTHS PASSED, AND THEN I RECEIVED A CALL APPROXIMATELY TWO WEEKS AGO FROM A [redacted] WHO REPRESENTED A COLLECTION AGENCY THAT CLAIMED I OWED MASSAGE ENVY APPROXIMATELY $200. I TOLD HIM MY MEMBERSHIP CANCELED IN FEBRUARY, AND THAT I DIDN'T OWE THE MONEY. SINCE I HEARD FROM HIM, I CONTACTED MASSAGE ENVY AND ASKED TO SPEAK TO THE MANAGER, [redacted]. I CALLED HER THREE TIMES REQUESTING A CALL BACK TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE, AND SHE HAS NOT CALLED ME BACK. APPROXIMATELY JULY 5 I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM MR. [redacted] STATING THAT IF I DIDN'T PAY THE $236.00 OWED, MY CREDIT WOULD BE DAMAGED AND NON-PAYMENT MAY RESULT IN LEGAL FEES AND COURT COSTS.

IN RESEARCHING THIS BUSINESS PRACTICE BY MASSAGE ENVY, IT SEEMS MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. THE INITIAL CONTRACT SETUP IS QUICK AND HURRIED AND NO MENTION IS MADE OF A CONTINUING OBLIGATION PAST THE ONE-YEAR PERIOD. ALSO, THE FAILURE TO CALL ME BACK BY THE MANAGER IS POOR BUSINESS PRACTICE. I FEEL LIKE THEY "TRICK" PEOPLE INTO THIS ON-GOING CONTRACTUAL RELATIONSHIP WITHOUT BEING CLEAR AND RESPONDING ACCURATELY ABOUT WHAT THIS MEMBERSHIP MEANS. IT IS SNEAKY, TO SAY THE LEAST. I NEVER RECEIVED ANYTHING IN WRITING FROM THEM AFTER THE INITIAL CONTRACT EXPIRED STATING THAT I OWED THEM A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF MONEY, ONLY AS I STATED ABOVE. I HAVE NEVER RECEIVED A BILLING OR INVOICE FOR THE DISPUTED AMOUNT OF $231.00. IT APPEARS TO ME THAT THEY PREFER TO USE CLANDESTINE BUSINESS PRACTICES.Desired Settlement: I BELIEVE THEIR PRACTICES ARE UNETHICAL AND THEY SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO TRY AND COLLECT FEES AFTER THE MEMBERSHIP HAS EXPIRED. THE CONTRACT SHOULD BE MODIFIED TO REFLECT THAT.

Business

Response:

[redacted] joined a 12 mo. membership and upon joining that membership she had to sign a contract. On that there are a few places that the client needs to initial or not. One of the places you can initial is asking if you want your membership to be on auto re-new after the contracted time has been completed. If you initial you are asking to BE on auto re-new, if you do not initial you are saying that the membership will NOT be on auto re-new. We actually go around the front counter to where the client is and explain the contract before they initial or sign anything. [redacted] did initial asking to have her membership be put on auto re-new, so we did that per her request.

In order to cancel a membership you must submit, in writing, a Massage Envy membership cancellation request and submit it 30 days before the actual cancellation will take place, which means there will always be a final billing. We have attempted to contact [redacted] and left her messages 13 times on the following dates: 6-23-12,7-3-12,10-29-12,2-23-13,3-23-13,3-26-13,4-11-13,4-24-13,5-23-13,6-6-13,6... & 7-12-12. If she would have called us back we could have had her fill out the correct form and have gone forward with the cancellation of the membership. I have attached her contract asking to be put on auto re-new for your review, and clearly documenting our 30 day cancellation policy and the fact that it has to be in writing. This is a Massage Envy corporate policy. As of this date, [redacted] still has not properly cancelled her membership resulting in us cancelling her membership for non-payment and her account being sent to collections since we could not get any response from her.

Please excuse us for the late response and please take in to consideration that we did not receive any of your emails due to the former owners email address is no longer valid.

--

Clinic Administrator

Massage Envy

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have read the response filed by Massage Envy. There are numerous assertions that simply are not true.

1. At no time did I ever request an automatic renewal. I was asked to initial their form contract in several places without explanation as to how to cancel. I was never given any options, I was just told to initial and sign, which I did.

2. Their claim as to the number of times they contacted me is simply not true. I spoke with Massage Envy one time, in February of 2013, when they told me they tried to put through the auto payment to my bank and it didn't clear. I told them that was because my contract was up and I did not wish to renew. I was never requested to put in writing a cancellation request, nor was I given the form to do so. The caller simply said they would relay the information.

3. I am still waiting for the manager to call me back, after having placed a call to her many weeks ago.

4. The contract is sorely ambiguous. There is a clear date of cancellation of the contract of 1/13.

5. I never heard from them until I got the attached letter from Mr. [redacted] and the arbitrary amount of $236.00 was requested to be paid. Additionally, I never received a bill from them, or any correspondence at all, stating that the $236.00 was due and owing and for what services I was being charged.

6. I believe the reason I was never sent a bill or a cancellation form, is because I suspect that what happened to me is the routine business practice for Massage Envy, that at the completion of a contract they recognize that no one suspects the contract is ongoing, and they simply proceed to send their made-up claim to a collection agency. An internet search shows how many people have complained about Massage Envy's unscrupulous business practices.

Regards,

Business

Response:

Ms. [redacted] certainly can't dispute the fact that she signed a membership agreement with our company on 1/23/12. On this agreement, she clearly initialed for auto renew and the agreement clearly states that in order to cancel, you must give 30 days notice and do so in writing. Ms. [redacted] was provided with a copy of this agreement upon joining.

Our file is well documented and below represents some of the messages left for Ms. [redacted]:

2/23/13, Ms. [redacted] was contacted and informed her account was suspended for non-payment.

3/23/13, voice message was left at her number stating that her account is past due and she must contact us

3/26/13, an email was sent to her email address telling her she was past due and needed to contact us for assistance

4/11/13, another voice message was left telling her she is past due and must contact us

4/24/13, another voice message was left telling her she is past due and must contact us

5/23/13, voice message was left on her number telling her that she needs to contact us for assistance with her account and if she didn't her account would be sent to collections

6/7/13, Ms. [redacted]'s account is sent to collections for non-payment and non-response to repeated messages left for her

7/9/13, Ms. [redacted] contacted our office, very upset that she received a collection notice. She wished to speak with a manager who was not in. When we told her that we left her repeated messages to contact us, she hung up on us.

7/12/13, Our Manager called Ms. [redacted] and left a message asking her to call back.

Still no return phone call from Ms. [redacted].

When you sign the agreement, you are joining a membership. There are no invoices sent. Your agreement is your invoice.

At this time, her membership has been cancelled and collections has closed their file.

Check fields!

Write a review of Massage Envy Rancho San Diego

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Massage Envy Rancho San Diego Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Massage Therapists

Address: 3713 Avocado Blvd, La Mesa, California, United States, 91941

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with Massage Envy Rancho San Diego.



Add contact information for Massage Envy Rancho San Diego

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated