Sign in

Mr Handyman of Northern Virginia - Arlington to Haymarket

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Mr Handyman of Northern Virginia - Arlington to Haymarket? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Mr Handyman of Northern Virginia - Arlington to Haymarket

Mr Handyman of Northern Virginia - Arlington to Haymarket Reviews (18)

May 29, Dear [redacted] ,This letter is written as the response to complaint [redacted] The following information is provided to the Revdex.com and is intended to provide clarification for the comments written by the customer dated May 13, • On May , the customer submitted a request for service through [redacted] The work requested was stated as the following, "I would like an estimate to build a patio and stairs from the deck.” At this time our customer service representative contacted the customer and explained our rates and our company proceduresDuring this conversation [redacted] described the job to consist of building steps from the deck to the ground and requested our technician to provide an estimate for installing a patio made of pavers while he was on siteThe customer service representative estimated the building of the steps to take approximately 4-hours to completeThe customer information as well as the work order was typed into our computer systemBased on our labor rates, 4-hours of work would equate to $480-$plus the cost of materialsAt this time, the customer scheduled an appointment for May 13, at 11:am, however, he requested that if any appointments became available sooner, that he would appreciate a call from our office to reschedule the appointment soonerAn email was sent to the customer on May , at pm to confirm the appointment scheduledAttached to this email was our confirmation letter that states in writing our invoicing proceduresThis attachment is included as an attachment to this responseUnder the paragraph stating Price, it states Project labor costs are based on actual working time and not scheduled or estimated timesIf your project takes more or less time to complete then the invoice will be adjusted accordinglyMrHandyman has a hour minimum per visit, and the first hours of each visit is All remaining time is billed at $per hourThe technician will review the job with you prior to starting the work, and any changes in time or scope of work will require your approval before continuing with the job.” Also, under the paragraph stating Terms & Conditions, it states, We do not collect any money up front, unless otherwise stipulated in writing to you, but we will provide a daily invoice and payment is expected at the end of each day for completed work.” An additional email was sent to *** [redacted] on May 5, at 3:pm confirming that if an appointment became available sooner, our office would contact himThe customer responded to this email at 3:pm commenting on our professional service.• Later the same day, May , 2014, an appointment became available on May 10, Our office contacted [redacted] and offered him this earlier appointmentUpon his acceptance of the earlier appointment, his original appointment was rescheduled to May 10, at 8:amAn email was sent to him at 3:pm confirming the new appointment time and once again our company information, including our pricing information was sent with the emailAt 3:pm of the same day, [redacted] sent an email requesting that our office cancel his appointment for May and reschedule it for Thursday, May Another confirmation email was sent to the customer at 4:pm rescheduling the appointment for May 15, at 2:pmOnce again, the company information was sent to the customer [redacted] s appointment was rescheduled one final time to May 8, at pm• On May 7, our office contacted the customer by phone to confirm his appointment for the following day at pm.• On May 8, our office received an email from [redacted] at 12:pm stating, " [redacted] the handyman just leftHe said he will call tomorrow with price and workI thought he would start right away? Please expedite.” Upon receiving this email, our office contacted the customer stating that he may have confused us with another company and that our technician had not been to his house yet and was still arriving at his home at pm to do the work as scheduled• On May , our technician arrived at the customers home at 1:pmAfter reviewing the scope of the work with the customer and identifying additional requirements such as digging the footers for the stairs and building rails for the stairs, the technician explained to the customer that this project was larger than what was estimated by the office and at that time estimated the job to take approximately hours to complete, which would be $in labor plus the cost of materialsThe technician also called the office to see if another technician was available to offer assistance and explained to the customer that if he was still interested in completing the job, he could have another technician on site in a short period of timeThe customer agreed and a second technician was sent and arrived on site at 2:pmAt 2:pm the lead technician left the job site to retrieve the materials required that were specific to the job, while the second technician remained on site workingWhile the lead technician was away, he contacted our office from [redacted] after determining the cost of the materials and requested that the office call the customer to approve of the cost of the materials before he purchased them as they were over $The office contacted [redacted] by phone to confirm that he approved the material purchaseOnce the verbal approval was received, the office confirmed with the technician to purchase the materials• On May 8, at approximately 9:pm the lead technician notified the customer that because of the darkness setting in, they would have to finish the remaining hours of the job at another timeThe technician then notified the office that another hours was required to schedule to complete the project for the customerThe technician also notified the office that at that time the customer refused to pay the invoiced amount of $but rather wrote a check in the amount of $The customer signed the invoice acknowledging the Satisfactory completion of the described workHowever, after reviewing the check provided by the customer, the amount in the box was written as $1000.00, but the amount written out was "one hundred." • On May 9, in the morning, [redacted] was contacted by the office and a second appointment was scheduled for May 15, at 2:pm to complete the workOnce again, a confirmation letter was included which again identified that we charge on a time and material basis and that payment is expected at the end of each dayThe office followed up the email with another phone call to explain to the customer that we would not be able to complete the remainder of the work until payment was received for the already completed work• On May 9, the office received an email from [redacted] at 3:pm stating that he was disappointed in the amount of the invoice and stated "I request you to send the technician to finish the left over incomplete work within business daysPlease finish the work without confrontationI hope I dont have to sick any legal action and Consumer Complaint.” • On May 12, another message was left for [redacted] stating that we would not be able to complete the work until we came to an agreement regarding the outstanding balance• On May 13, another message was left for [redacted] again stating that we would not be able to complete the work until we came to an agreement regarding the outstanding balanceAn email was then sent to the customer stating that we would not be returning to complete the work on May 15, as scheduled until his outstanding balance was paid• On May 14, our office was notified by [redacted] that check ***, made out in the amount of $by [redacted] was being returned as unpaidThe reason provided was Stop PaymentThe bank also provided notification that a fee of $would be assessed because of this action• On May 20, our office received another email from [redacted] stating, As per your confirmation, nobody showed up to complete the leftover workI am disturbed with your confirmation and not responding to the commitmentPlease send the technician soon to finish the project.” • On May 21, our office received a letter from the Office of the Attorney General, dated May 19, Upon receiving the complaint the owner contacted [redacted] requesting assistance with the process after receiving such a letterAt that time, [redacted] informed the owner to provide a response to the letter and their office would assist in the resolution of this matter• On May 23, our office received notification from the Revdex.com of the complaint.At this point, our office is still willing to work with the customer to resolve this matterHowever, we are not willing to continue to perform work for this customer without receiving any payment for services rendered whatsoever.The following documents are provided for further clarification: • [redacted] service request dated May 5, • Email from [redacted] dated May 5, at 2:06pm • Email from [redacted] dated May 5, at 3:pm • Email from [redacted] dated May 5, at 3:pm • Email from [redacted] dated May 5, at 3:pm •Email from [redacted] dated May , at 4:pm • Email from [redacted] dated May 8, at 12:pm • Invoice dated May 8, with customers signature • Copy of the check dated May 8, •Email from [redacted] dated May 5, at 9:am • Email from [redacted] dated May 9, at 3:pm • Email from [redacted] dated May 13, at 10:am •Stop Payment notification from [redacted] regarding Check [redacted] • Email from [redacted] dated May 20, at 4:pm This information is provided to the best of my recollection based on actual physical records and memory of events as they took placeWe look forward to working with your office and assisting you in any way possible to resolve this situation as expeditiously as possibleShould you need any additional information please feel free to contact me directly,

June 17, 2014Dear [redacted] ,This letter is written as the third response to complaint [redacted] for the comments written by the customer dated June 3, 2014.As a result of [redacted] s unwillingness to pay for any of the services already provided, it is our intention to write off the amount of $2,056.84, which is the current outstanding balance of the work already performed by our company for the customerAs this is the case, we will not continue to work for a customer who is unwilling to pay for services rendered.Should you need any additional information please feel free to contact me directly

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]
Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Regards,
*** ***

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the responseIf no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved] Complaint: ***I am rejecting this response because:
MrHandyman must finsh the unfinished workThey left wrong Handrails (not the stepsrail materials) in the lawnThey must pick up the incorrect metirials from my propertyIt is damaging my lwan (attached pictures)
MrHandyman has violated Virginia CODE: 59.1-I have filed a complaint to Virginia Attorney General Office to resolve my dispute
The steps ia unsafe without railsI hope MrHandyman will comply and resolve this matter soon
Regards,*** ***

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the responseIf no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved] Complaint: ***I am rejecting this response because:
Ambiguous document and invoice, bad work ethic and falsified charge
The technician must return to complete installation of steps remaining unfinished work.
MrHandyman did not finish the work and left deck steps in hazardous (unsafe) condition
MrHandyman has contradicted, misrepresented and misled which is a violation State of Virginia Code : 59.1-200 (item no10)
I requested written estimate before the technician arrive and start any workThey did not provide any written estimate rather charged falsely and riffed off
MrHandyman's attached document confirmed in writing to return on May to complete the installationThey failed and never return to finish the work
Unethical business practice and service caused me uncomfortable and unsafe. MrHandyman is fully responsible for any incident and injury due to their negligence, irresponsible and fault and left 'Hand rails' metarials mess. Regards,*** ***

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]
Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I am not particularly happy. as I still do not think the amount offered is an appropriate refund.  I have a feeling, however, it is the best I can hope for.
Regards,
[redacted]

December 29, 2016   Mr. Handyman of Northern Virginia – Arlington to Haymarket [redacted] Lane Manassas, VA  20110   Revdex.com Of Metropolitan Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania 1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor Washington, DC  20005-3404   Dear Mr. [redacted],   This letter is written as the third response to complaint #[redacted].  The following information is provided to the Revdex.com and is intended to provide clarification for the comments written by the customer dated 12/19/16.   ·         The email attachment the customer provided in her response was originally submitted in our first response. ·         The credit card dispute is still in process.  It is anticipated that this process will take another few weeks to resolve.   In order to respect the interest of time for all parties concerned, our company will reimburse the customer the original amount she requested, which was $131.43.  This will be done after the credit card dispute has been resolved and the amount of $365 has been returned to our account from the credit card company.  Also as stated in the previous responses, we are willing to provide the recordings of all thirty-three phone calls that transpired between the customer and our office.  We look forward to a resolution in this matter.   This information is provided to the best of my recollection based on actual physical records and memory of events as they took place.  Should you need any additional information please feel free to contact me directly.   Sincerely,     Jo M[redacted] Owner

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed as Answered]
 Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because: The business has still failed to provide the cost of materials, per the line by line cost invoice.  The estimated material cost was $150 with a labor cost of $398-660.  The final bill was $1539, double that of the high end estimate.  The total material cost rose from $150 to $602.64, a difference of $452.64.  Labor costs rose the high end of $660 to $937.64.  The difference of the estimate to actual cost is a 100% increase, again using the high end labor cost estimate.In additon I have called the home office 3 times, twice I left message via an answering machine, the first individual I could not clearly understand his name, the second message was left on 11/8/17 an 9:16AM for a Karen M[redacted], 3rd message was with the reseptionisht who informed that all at the office were in training but that they would call me back, to date no one at from the home office has returned my call.It appears to me that this company along with the parent company simply will not provide a fair and detailed invoice of all charges.  As the consumer I feel I have the right to know what all costs are, I understand that most companies to have a markup for materials.  However, Mr. Handyman charge $60.00 per day service fee which should cover all overhead costs of getting to the job site, as well as related material costs such as state and local taxes and wear and tear on company vechiles.  Subsequently I have been contacted by their service personal requesting to pick up the the plywood and other materials not used for the job. Ihave not responded to this request nor do I plan on returning any materials I have paid for in full, and may I add, at what appears to be a very hearty markup.  
Regards,
[redacted]

May 29, 2014
Dear [redacted],This letter is written as the response to complaint [redacted]. The following information is provided to the Revdex.com and is intended to provide clarification for the comments written by the customer dated May 13, 2013.
• On May , 2014 the...

customer submitted a request for service through [redacted]. The work requested was stated as the following, "I would like an estimate to build a patio and stairs from the deck.” At this time our customer service representative contacted the customer and explained our rates and our company procedures. During this conversation [redacted] described the job to consist of building 3 steps from the deck to the ground and requested our technician to provide an estimate for installing a patio made of pavers while he was on site. The customer service representative estimated the building of the steps to take approximately 4-6 hours to complete. The customer information as well as the work order was typed into our computer system. Based on our labor rates, 4-6 hours of work would equate to $480-$692 plus the cost of materials. At this time, the customer scheduled an appointment for May 13, 2014 at 11:00 am, however, he requested that if any appointments became available sooner, that he would appreciate a call from our office to reschedule the appointment sooner. An email was sent to the customer on May , 2014 at 206 pm to confirm the appointment scheduled. Attached to this email was our confirmation letter that states in writing our invoicing procedures. This attachment is included as an attachment to this response. Under the paragraph stating Price, it states Project labor costs are based on actual working time and not scheduled or estimated times. If your project takes more or less time to complete then the invoice will be adjusted accordingly. Mr. Handyman has a 2 hour minimum per visit, and the first 2 hours of each visit is 268. All remaining time is billed at $106 per hour. The technician will review the job with you prior to starting the work, and any changes in time or scope of work will require your approval before continuing with the job.” Also, under the paragraph stating Terms & Conditions, it states, We do not collect any money up front, unless otherwise stipulated in writing to you, but we will provide a daily invoice and payment is expected at the end of each day for completed work.” An additional email was sent to [redacted] on May 5, 2014 at 3:05 pm confirming that if an appointment became available sooner, our office would contact him. The customer responded to this email at 3:11 pm commenting on our professional service.• Later the same day, May , 2014, an appointment became available on May 10, 2014. Our office contacted [redacted] and offered him this earlier appointment. Upon his acceptance of the earlier appointment, his original appointment was rescheduled to May 10, 2014 at 8:00 am. An email was sent to him at 3:40 pm confirming the new appointment time and once again our company information, including our pricing information was sent with the email. At 3:56 pm of the same day, [redacted] sent an email requesting that our office cancel his appointment for May 10 and reschedule it for Thursday, May 15. Another confirmation email was sent to the customer at 4:28 pm rescheduling the appointment for May 15, 2010 at 2:30 pm. Once again, the company information was sent to the customer. [redacted]s appointment was rescheduled one final time to May 8, 2014 at 200 pm.
• On May 7, 2014 our office contacted the customer by phone to confirm his appointment for the following day at 200 pm.• On May 8, 2014 our office received an email from [redacted] at 12:29 pm stating, "[redacted] the handyman just left. He said he will call tomorrow with price and work. I thought he would start right away? Please expedite.” Upon receiving this email, our office contacted the customer stating that he may have confused us with another company and that our technician had not been to his house yet and was still arriving at his home at 200 pm to do the work as scheduled.
• On May , 2014 our technician arrived at the customers home at 1:57 pm. After reviewing the scope of the work with the customer and identifying additional requirements such as digging the footers for the stairs and building rails for the stairs, the technician explained to the customer that this project was larger than what was estimated by the office and at that time estimated the job to take approximately 16 hours to complete, which would be $1752 in labor plus the cost of materials. The technician also called the office to see if another technician was available to offer assistance and explained to the customer that if he was still interested in completing the job, he could have another technician on site in a short period of time. The customer agreed and a second technician was sent and arrived on site at 2:16 pm. At 2:24 pm the lead technician left the job site to retrieve the materials required that were specific to the job, while the second technician remained on site working. While the lead technician was away, he contacted our office from [redacted] after determining the cost of the materials and requested that the office call the customer to approve of the cost of the materials before he purchased them as they were over $600. The office contacted [redacted] by phone to confirm that he approved the material purchase. Once the verbal approval was received, the office confirmed with the technician to purchase the materials.
• On May 8, 2014 at approximately 9:00 pm the lead technician notified the customer that because of the darkness setting in, they would have to finish the remaining 2 hours of the job at another time. The technician then notified the office that another 2 hours was required to schedule to complete the project for the customer. The technician also notified the office that at that time the customer refused to pay the invoiced amount of $2056.84 but rather wrote a check in the amount of $1000.00. The customer signed the invoice acknowledging the Satisfactory completion of the described work. However, after reviewing the check provided by the customer, the amount in the box was written as $1000.00, but the amount written out was "one hundred."
• On May 9, 2014 in the morning, [redacted] was contacted by the office and a second appointment was scheduled for May 15, 2014 at 2:30 pm to complete the work. Once again, a confirmation letter was included which again identified that we charge on a time and material basis and that payment is expected at the end of each day. The office followed up the email with another phone call to explain to the customer that we would not be able to complete the remainder of the work until payment was received for the already completed work.
• On May 9, 2014 the office received an email from [redacted] at 3:44 pm stating that he was disappointed in the amount of the invoice and stated "I request you to send the technician to finish the left over incomplete work within 3 business days. Please finish the work without confrontation. I hope I dont have to sick any legal action and Consumer Complaint.”
• On May 12, 2014 another message was left for [redacted] stating that we would not be able to complete the work until we came to an agreement regarding the outstanding balance.
• On May 13, 2014 another message was left for [redacted] again stating that we would not be able to complete the work until we came to an agreement regarding the outstanding balance. An email was then sent to the customer stating that we would not be returning to complete the work on May 15, 2014 as scheduled until his outstanding balance was paid.
• On May 14, 2014 our office was notified by [redacted] that check [redacted], made out in the amount of $1000.00 by [redacted] was being returned as unpaid. The reason provided was Stop Payment. The bank also provided notification that a fee of $12 would be assessed because of this action.
• On May 20, 2014 our office received another email from [redacted] stating, As per your confirmation, nobody showed up to complete the leftover work. I am disturbed with your confirmation and not responding to the commitment. Please send the technician soon to finish the project.”
• On May 21, 2014 our office received a letter from the Office of the Attorney General, dated May 19, 2014. Upon receiving the complaint the owner contacted [redacted] requesting assistance with the process after receiving such a letter. At that time, [redacted] informed the owner to provide a response to the letter and their office would assist in the resolution of this matter.
• On May 23, 2014 our office received notification from the Revdex.com of the complaint.At this point, our office is still willing to work with the customer to resolve this matter. However, we are not willing to continue to perform work for this customer without receiving any payment for services rendered whatsoever.The following documents are provided for further clarification:
• [redacted] service request dated May 5, 2014
• Email from [redacted] dated May 5, 2014 at 2:06pm
• Email from [redacted] dated May 5, 2014 at 3:05 pm
• Email from [redacted] dated May 5, 2014 at 3:11 pm
• Email from [redacted] dated May 5, 2014 at 3:40 pm
•Email from [redacted] dated May , 2014 at 4:28 pm
• Email from [redacted] dated May 8, 2014 at 12:29 pm
• Invoice dated May 8, 2014 with customers signature
• Copy of the check dated May 8, 2014
•Email from [redacted] dated May 5, 2014 at 9:37 am
• Email from [redacted] dated May 9, 2014 at 3:44 pm
• Email from [redacted] dated May 13, 2014 at 10:16 am
•Stop Payment notification from [redacted] regarding Check [redacted]
• Email from [redacted] dated May 20, 2014 at 4:05 pm
This information is provided to the best of my recollection based on actual physical records and memory of events as they took place. We look forward to working with your office and assisting you in any way possible to resolve this situation as expeditiously as possible. Should you need any additional information please feel free to contact me directly,

June 17, 2014Dear [redacted],This letter is written as the third response to complaint [redacted] for the comments written by the customer dated June 3, 2014.As a result of [redacted]s unwillingness to pay for any of the services already provided, it is our intention to write off the amount of $2,056.84, which is the current outstanding balance of the work already performed by our company for the customer. As this is the case, we will not continue to work for a customer who is unwilling to pay for services rendered.Should you need any additional information please feel free to contact me directly.

February 12, 2016
Mr. Handyman of Northern Virginia – Arlington to Haymarket
9120 I-Beam Lane
Manassas, VA  20110
Revdex.com
Of Metropolitan Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania
1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 
20005-3404
Dear [redacted]...

[redacted],
This letter is written as the response to complaint #[redacted].  The following information is provided to the
Revdex.com and is intended to provide clarification for the
comments written by the customer dated 2/8/2016.
·        
On January 12, 2016 at approximately 9:00am the
customer contacted our office to request service.  The work requested was to repair the ceiling
fan as the pull chain was not working as well as repair some damaged door trim
around the bedroom door.  The customer
requested the soonest appointment available and our Customer Service
Representative scheduled the appointment for 10:00am that same morning.  At that time the customer was informed that
we have a two hour minimum and the approximate cost would be $278 plus the cost
of any materials that we provided.  The
customer described herself as Chelsea Hamilton but provided us with an email of
[redacted].com.  The appointment was scheduled for the
location with address of [redacted] Manassas, VA  [redacted].
·        
On January 12, 2016 the customer received an
email stating that our technician was on his way to the Manassas address.  The technician arrived at the house at
9:53am.  The technician reviewed the work
with the customer and accepted her initial signature to authorize the work to
be started at 10:04am.  The technician
completed the work and received the final signature from the customer
acknowledging satisfactory completion of the work at 11:27am.  The customer paid by Visa for the total
amount of the invoice of $292.02.  The customer
was emailed a copy of the invoice at 11:32am. 
·        
On January 12, 2016 at approximately 1:33pm the
customer contacted the office stating that the technician left a box cutter on
the floor.  She stated that even though
she or her dog did not step on it, it was a hazard.  The Office Manager apologized to the customer
for her inconvenience.  She requested a
refund of her money as a result of almost stepping on the box cutter.  The Office Manager asked the customer if she
had any concerns with the quality of the work that was performed by the
technician.  The customer stated she was
very pleased with the completed work.  The
Office Manager stated she would pass the message along to the Field Supervisor
and have him contact her.  The Field
Supervisor was contacted and he requested the technician to complete a full
inspection and inventory of his tools, in particular all of his knives to
include box cutters.  Upon completion of
the inventory, the technician reported that he was in possession of all of his
tools including all of his knives.
·        
On January 12, 2016 the Field Supervisor spoke
with the customer and requested the description of the box cutter and the name
written on it.  She stated that the name
on the box cutter was “Task Force”.  He
then compared the name provided by the customer with the names of the knives in
the technician’s tool inventory.  As the
names did not match, the customer was told that the box cutter did not belong
to the technician.  She was again asked
if she had any concerns regarding the quality of the work the technician
performed and again she stated that she was extremely satisfied with the
quality of the workmanship but was upset that she and her dog almost stepped on
the box cutter on her floor.   She again requested a refund to which the
Field Supervisor responded that we would not be providing her a refund at this
time in that she was satisfied with the quality of the work that was performed.
·        
On February 8, 2016 at approximately 10:59am the
customer posted a review online with a rating of 2 out of 5 stars and stating, “This
company apparently likes to put their customers in danger. I paid 300 dollars
for two simple repairs: replacing a pull switch for a ceiling light and
replacing a piece of trim on a door. Not only was the repairman careless enough
to not even screw the lock jam back in but I went into my bedroom later to go
to bed and stepped on the blunt end of a box cutter that was left on my floor.
I called and complained about the negligent behaviour and was handed off to
several individuals- all who could seem to care less. Eventually, I reached the
repairman's supervisor who not only insinuated I was a liar but refused to
refund a portion if my money because- it's not like you went to the
hospital". The supervisor said the owner of the company would call me- it
has been 3 weeks and no phone call. This company is negligent, potentially
dangerous, and do not take customer satisfaction seriously.”
·        
On February 8, 2016, at approximately 1:09pm, the
Revdex.com forwarded the customer’s complaint to our office.
Based on the Revdex.com complaint, it appears that the customer is
now requesting a refund of $100. 
Although it is still the belief of this company that the box cutter
found on the customer’s floor does not belong to the company or the technician,
the company is willing to refund the customer the $100 that is being requested.  The following documents are provided for
further clarification:
·        
Invoice dated January 12, 2016.
·        
Pictures of the work performed on January 12,
2016
·        
Receipt of the Visa payment made by the customer
dated January 12, 2016
This information is provided to the best of my recollection
based on actual physical records and memory of events as they took place.  Should you need any additional information
please feel free to contact me directly.
Sincerely,
Jo M[redacted]
Owner

February 12, 2016
Mr. Handyman of Northern Virginia – Arlington to Haymarket
9120 I-Beam Lane
Manassas, VA  20110
Better Business...

Bureau
Of Metropolitan Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania
1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 
20005-3404
Dear [redacted],
This letter is written as the response to complaint #[redacted].  The following information is provided to the
Revdex.com and is intended to provide clarification for the
comments written by the customer dated 2/8/2016.
·        
On January 12, 2016 at approximately 9:00am the
customer contacted our office to request service.  The work requested was to repair the ceiling
fan as the pull chain was not working as well as repair some damaged door trim
around the bedroom door.  The customer
requested the soonest appointment available and our Customer Service
Representative scheduled the appointment for 10:00am that same morning.  At that time the customer was informed that
we have a two hour minimum and the approximate cost would be $278 plus the cost
of any materials that we provided.  The
customer described herself as Chelsea Hamilton but provided us with an email of
[redacted].com.  The appointment was scheduled for the
location with address of [redacted] Manassas, VA  [redacted].
·        
On January 12, 2016 the customer received an
email stating that our technician was on his way to the Manassas address.  The technician arrived at the house at
9:53am.  The technician reviewed the work
with the customer and accepted her initial signature to authorize the work to
be started at 10:04am.  The technician
completed the work and received the final signature from the customer
acknowledging satisfactory completion of the work at 11:27am.  The customer paid by Visa for the total
amount of the invoice of $292.02.  The customer
was emailed a copy of the invoice at 11:32am. 
·        
On January 12, 2016 at approximately 1:33pm the
customer contacted the office stating that the technician left a box cutter on
the floor.  She stated that even though
she or her dog did not step on it, it was a hazard.  The Office Manager apologized to the customer
for her inconvenience.  She requested a
refund of her money as a result of almost stepping on the box cutter.  The Office Manager asked the customer if she
had any concerns with the quality of the work that was performed by the
technician.  The customer stated she was
very pleased with the completed work.  The
Office Manager stated she would pass the message along to the Field Supervisor
and have him contact her.  The Field
Supervisor was contacted and he requested the technician to complete a full
inspection and inventory of his tools, in particular all of his knives to
include box cutters.  Upon completion of
the inventory, the technician reported that he was in possession of all of his
tools including all of his knives.
·        
On January 12, 2016 the Field Supervisor spoke
with the customer and requested the description of the box cutter and the name
written on it.  She stated that the name
on the box cutter was “Task Force”.  He
then compared the name provided by the customer with the names of the knives in
the technician’s tool inventory.  As the
names did not match, the customer was told that the box cutter did not belong
to the technician.  She was again asked
if she had any concerns regarding the quality of the work the technician
performed and again she stated that she was extremely satisfied with the
quality of the workmanship but was upset that she and her dog almost stepped on
the box cutter on her floor.   She again requested a refund to which the
Field Supervisor responded that we would not be providing her a refund at this
time in that she was satisfied with the quality of the work that was performed.
·        
On February 8, 2016 at approximately 10:59am the
customer posted a review online with a rating of 2 out of 5 stars and stating, “This
company apparently likes to put their customers in danger. I paid 300 dollars
for two simple repairs: replacing a pull switch for a ceiling light and
replacing a piece of trim on a door. Not only was the repairman careless enough
to not even screw the lock jam back in but I went into my bedroom later to go
to bed and stepped on the blunt end of a box cutter that was left on my floor.
I called and complained about the negligent behaviour and was handed off to
several individuals- all who could seem to care less. Eventually, I reached the
repairman's supervisor who not only insinuated I was a liar but refused to
refund a portion if my money because- it's not like you went to the
hospital". The supervisor said the owner of the company would call me- it
has been 3 weeks and no phone call. This company is negligent, potentially
dangerous, and do not take customer satisfaction seriously.”
·        
On February 8, 2016, at approximately 1:09pm, the
Revdex.com forwarded the customer’s complaint to our office.
Based on the Revdex.com complaint, it appears that the customer is
now requesting a refund of $100. 
Although it is still the belief of this company that the box cutter
found on the customer’s floor does not belong to the company or the technician,
the company is willing to refund the customer the $100 that is being requested.  The following documents are provided for
further clarification:
·        
Invoice dated January 12, 2016.
·        
Pictures of the work performed on January 12,
2016
·        
Receipt of the Visa payment made by the customer
dated January 12, 2016
This information is provided to the best of my recollection
based on actual physical records and memory of events as they took place.  Should you need any additional information
please feel free to contact me directly.
Sincerely,
Jo M[redacted]
Owner

November 30, 2016   Mr. Handyman of Northern Virginia – Arlington to Haymarket [redacted] Lane Manassas, VA  20110   Revdex.com Of Metropolitan Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania 1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor Washington, DC  20005-3404   Dear Mr. [redacted],  ...

This letter is written as the response to complaint #[redacted].  The following information is provided to the Revdex.com and is intended to provide clarification for the comments written by the customer dated 11/22/16.   ·         On September 16, 2016 the customer initially contacted our office to request service.  The phone call lasted fifteen minutes and eighteen seconds. The customer was emailed our company information as well as the checklist of services we provide. ·         The customer spoke with the office twice on September 19, 2016 and scheduled an on-site estimate for September 26, 2016. The customer was aware that there was a $58 charge for our on-site estimates but it was also explained that this is the service charge that is part of our two hour minimum and should she schedule the work with our office, the $58 service charge would not be charged a second time. Once the confirmation of the appointment was emailed, the customer replied requesting that the estimate appointment be changed to September 27, 2016. ·         The customer spoke with or contacted the office four times on September 20, 2016 and the on-site estimate was rescheduled for October 1, 2016.  It was also noted that the customer would not be onsite for the estimate but that she would provide us with and signed absentee form allowing us permission to assess her property.  The absentee form was received from the customer on September 30, 2016. ·         On October 1, 2016 our technician performed an on-site assessment and was at the home for a total of one hour and thirty-one minutes.  He generated an estimate which was then emailed to the customer on October 6, 2016.  The original estimate was for $786.84 and included repairing drywall, caulking trim, painting the repairs, installing a door bell, and inspecting the kitchen light for functionality.  A separate estimate for $319.59 was also sent which was for caulking only.  Both of these estimates included the $58 service charge as part of the estimate.  This $58 charge was charged to the customer’s card after the initial site visit. ·         On November 7, 2016 there was an exchange of emails regarding the materials that the customer would be providing. ·         The work was scheduled for November 8, 2016.  The work that was completed during this visit consisted of caulking, toilet repair, installing a new door bell, repairing a glass cabinet door, touch up painting in the dining room, living room, stairway and three upstairs bedrooms, cleaning a vent, and changing a filter.  The customer was invoiced for $365 and as noted the $58 service charge does not appear on the invoice as it was collected at the time of the estimate.  According to the van GPS records, the technician was on site from 7:48am until 10:52am.  The customer was charged for three hours of labor.  The customer’s initial authorization signature was captured at 8:09am.  On the invoice, signed by the customer, it explains that “labor is inclusive of, but not limited to the following: loading and unloading tools and equipment at the beginning and ending of the day; planning, discussing, and/or problem-solving the work to be completed; purchasing and picking up materials; normal handling, measuring, cutting and fitting; keeping a record of time spent on a job; regular clean-up of debris and equipment; corrections, repairs or exchanges because of faulty or incorrect materials.”  The customer’s final signature was captured at 10:52am.  This signature was underneath the statement, “I hereby acknowledge the satisfactory completion of the services performed as described.”  The customer was emailed a copy of this invoice at 10:52am. ·         On November 8, 2016, the customer sent an email questioning the charges on the invoice. ·         On November 9, 2016, our office responded to the email and stated that we would credit the customer’s visa card the total of $21.43 in material charges that she disputed.  The customer responded to this email stating she would be “denying these charges through my credit card company since this seems to be the route you all want to pursue.”  Our office responded to the customer’s email asking a clarifying question if she was “rejecting any credits at this point so that you can pursue a dispute with your credit card company”.  The customer responded with her clarifications on that same day as well as on November 10, 2016. ·         On November 14, 2016 the customer sent an email stating that she had submitted a dispute through her credit card company. ·         On November 22, 2016, the Revdex.com forwarded the customer’s complaint to our office.   Based on the Revdex.com complaint, it appears that the customer is now requesting a refund of $131.43.  The original estimate provided to the customer for caulking only was $319.59.  On November 8, 2106 not only was the caulking performed but also a variety of additional services which were listed above, the total amount of that invoice was $365.00.  An invoice was never provided to the customer for work that was not performed and the service charge of $58 was never charged twice.  It was agreed that $21.43 of materials would be refunded to the customer.  According to our GPS records of the van, there was not an overcharge for the labor, but we are willing to refund 30 minutes of labor time in good faith, for a total refund of $76.43.  The following documents are provided for further clarification.  In addition, if requested, a recorded copy of the 33 phone calls between our office and the customer can be provided.   ·         Company information email dated September 16, 2016. ·         Customer email dated September 18, 2016, 12:19pm. ·         Customer email dated September 19, 2016, 7:47am. ·         Office email dated September 19, 2016, 8:21am. ·         Office email dated September 20, 2016, 9:00am. ·         Customer email dated September 20, 2016, 10:58am. ·         Office email dated September 20, 2016, 2:52pm. ·         Customer email dated September 20, 2016, 2:54pm. ·         Office email dated September 20, 2016, 3:41pm. ·         Customer email dated September 30, 2016, 1:17pm. ·         Absentee Property Owner Agreement dated September 30, 2016. ·         Office email dated September 30, 2016, 1:21pm. ·         Invoice dated October 4, 2016. ·         Estimate dated October 4, 2016. ·         Estimate dated October 5, 2016. ·         Customer email dated November 7, 2016, 2:54pm. ·         Office email dated November 7, 2016, 2:56pm. ·         Customer email dated November 7, 2016, 2:57pm. ·         Customer email dated November 7, 2016, 4:45pm. ·         Office email dated November 7, 2016, 5:01pm. ·         Customer email dated November 7, 2106, 5:16pm. ·         Office email dated November 7, 2016, 5:44pm. ·         Invoice dated November 8, 2016. ·         Customer email dated November 8, 2016, 4:19pm. ·         Customer email dated November 8, 2016, 4:23pm. ·         Customer email dated November 8, 2016, 4:28pm. ·         Customer email dated November 9, 2016, 11:07am. ·         Office email dated November 9, 2016, 12:36pm. ·         Customer email dated November 9, 2016, 1:17pm. ·         Office email dated November 9, 2016, 1:48pm. ·         Customer email dated November 9, 2016, 2:40pm. ·         Customer email dated November 10, 2016, 10:16am. ·         Office email dated November 10, 2016, 10:23am. ·         Customer email dated November 10, 2016, 10:46am. ·         Customer email dated November 10, 2016, 11:05am. ·         Customer email dated November 10, 2016, 3:11pm. ·         Customer email dated November 14, 2016, 3:52pm.     This information is provided to the best of my recollection based on actual physical records and memory of events as they took place.  Should you need any additional information please feel free to contact me directly.   Sincerely,     Jo M[redacted] Owner

October 20, 2016 Mr. Handyman of Northern Virginia – Arlington to Haymarket 9120 I-Beam Lane Manassas, VA  20110 Revdex.com Of Metropolitan Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania 1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor Washington, DC  20005-3404 Dear [redacted], This letter is written as the...

response to complaint #[redacted].  The following information is provided to the Revdex.com and is intended to provide clarification for the comments written by the customer dated 10/11/16. ·         On August 24, 2016 the customer submitted a request for service through our company website.  Our office called the customer and left a message. ·         On September 8, 2106 the customer scheduled an appointment with us for September 24, 2016.  The work requested was to repair wood rot on the exterior of the home and paint the wood repaired.  During this phone call, the customer was told that the work would take between 4-6 hours to complete and was told that the cost for the labor would be between $498-$718.  The customer was also told that any material that our company provided would be an additional charge. ·         On September 24, 2016 the work was performed.  The work consisted of replacing the base trim around two exterior columns, caulking and painting the repair as well as replacing a section of the rotted trim on the rear left corner of the home, caulking and painting the repair.  The work took a total of 3.25 hours and the customer was charged $616.56 which included the labor, service charge, disposal fee and materials.  The invoice was emailed to the customer upon completion of the job by the technician at 1:47pm. ·         On September 24, 2016 at 7:30pm, the customer sent an email asking for a detailed invoice as to what materials cost $180.  On September 27, 2016 the customer sent a follow up email stating she had not received a response to her first email.     ·         On September 28, 2016 our office replied to the email stating that we would follow up with her on the following day to ensure she received the detailed invoice. ·         On September 29, 2016 an updated invoice was sent to the customer with the list of the materials provided including base trim for two columns, caulk, paint, 1x4 trim, nails, adhesive, painting supplies and cleaning materials. ·         On September 30, 2016 the customer sent an email stating, “I had received this invoice already.  What I asked for an itemized list of the materials.  There is NO way that one 1x4, 1 piece of trim and another small piece of wood was $178.  Since you are clearly incapable of giving me the information I have already asked for twice, I am filing a report with the Revdex.com.  To start.” ·         On October 11, 2016, at approximately 8:30am, the Revdex.com forwarded the customer’s complaint to our office. Based on the Revdex.com complaint, it appears that the customer is now requesting a refund of “the overcharge”.  Although there was no “overcharge” for the materials, we are willing to refund the customer $25.  The following documents are provided for further clarification:  ·         Confirmation email dated September 23, 2016. ·         Customer email dated September 24, 2016. ·         Customer email dated September 27, 2016. ·         Office email dated September 28, 2016. ·         Office email dated September 29, 2016. ·         Customer email dated September 30, 2016. ·         Office email dated September 30, 2016. ·         Invoice dated September 24, 2016. This information is provided to the best of my recollection based on actual physical records and memory of events as they took place.  Should you need any additional information please feel free to contact me directly. Sincerely, Jo M[redacted] Owner

November 22, 2017 Mr. Handyman of Northern Virginia – Arlington to Haymarket 9120 I-Beam Lane Manassas, VA  20110  Revdex.com Of Metropolitan Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania 1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor Washington, DC  20005-3404 Dear [redacted], This letter is written as the second response to complaint #[redacted].  The following information is provided to the Revdex.com and is intended to provide clarification for the comments written by the customer dated 11/17/17. ·         On November 20, 2017 the lack of response from the Mr. Handyman Home Office was reported.  At that time, a Franchise Consultant contacted [redacted], apologized for the previous lack of response and listened to her concerns. ·         On November 21, 2017 the Franchise Consultant contacted [redacted] again and offered to refund $150.00 as well as give her an hour labor credit and waive the service charge on a future scheduled job.  [redacted] did not accept the offer. ·         On November 21, 2017 our Office Manager reached out to [redacted] and went over a detailed list of the materials purchased, including exactly what the markup was.  Our Office Manager again offered to refund $150.00 to [redacted] as well as one of the $60 service charges and one of the van stock fees of $30.80.  [redacted] stated she was not comfortable accepting this offer without first discussing it with her husband.  The conversation ended with our Office Manager asking [redacted] to speak with her husband and to come up with a figure that she feels would be a reasonable refund. This information is provided to the best of my recollection based on actual physical records and memory of events as they took place.  Should you need any additional information please feel free to contact me directly. Sincerely, Jo M[redacted] Owner

October 24, 2016 Mr. Handyman of Northern Virginia – Arlington to Haymarket 9120 I-Beam Lane Manassas, VA  20110 Revdex.com Of Metropolitan Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania 1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor Washington, DC  20005-3404 Dear [redacted], This letter is written as the response to complaint #[redacted].  The following information is provided to the Revdex.com and is intended to provide clarification for the comments written by the customer dated 10/24/16. Unfortunately what the customer is requesting would be a violation of my franchise agreement as the information the customer is requesting is considered proprietary information.  At this point I am unwilling to jeopardize my franchise license in order to provide the list that the customer is requesting.  I am unable to speak for “other Mr. Handyman franchises in other locations” as referenced in the customer’s response.  I can only speak to my franchise.  As stated previously, in reviewing the numbers there was no “overcharge” for the materials but I am still willing to provide the customer a refund.  The invoice provided in the previous response does list all the materials that were used to perform the job and the total cost of the materials as charged the customer. Should you need any additional information please feel free to contact me directly. Sincerely, Jo M[redacted] Owner

Review: Service Provider:

Mr. Handyman of Northern Virginia

[redacted] to [redacted], VA [redacted]

Phone: ###-###-####

I was misled, unsatisfied with the service and will never recommend to anybody for following justification and categorically dispute the falsified bill of $2,056.84 (Two thousand fifty six dollars and eighty four cents) for following reasons:

1. Incomplete work to install steps for the deck. The technician guaranteed to return next day but never came and failed to finish the work.

2. I was told 4/5 hours and maximum and 5/6 hundred dollars job and only one technician needed to install the steps. However two people ([redacted] and [redacted]) showed up but still did not finish the job. They left hand rail materials under the deck and promised to finish next day May 9.

3. They handed me irrational matchless bill for 7 hours of two people plus materials total of $2,056.84. I disputed right away at that time, technician (Dan) told me they need some payment and someone will return to install the handrails and finish everything.

4. I wrote a check for $1.000.00 and gave to him. Next day May 9, when I called to schedule the service to complete the job. [redacted] (who scheduled the job and again answered the phone) declined to send the technician back. I disputed then I called my bank and stopped payment on the check for $1,000.00 which cost me $34.00 and will be charged to Mr. Handyman of Northern Virginia.

I hope you understand my dissatisfaction, concern and hope your immediate action and remedy.

[redacted] VA [redacted] Ph: ###-###-####

Email: [redacted]Desired Settlement: 1. Finish work immediately with no further cost.

2. Null and void the illegetimate bill of #$2,056.84

3. Mr. Handyman must refund of $34.00 bank charged for "Stop Payment"

4. Must be recorded, published in media and comply with Virinia Consumar Law

5. Appropiate penalty and further consequences to invalid/supend licence

Business

Response:

May 29, 2014Dear [redacted],This letter is written as the response to complaint [redacted]. The following information is provided to the Revdex.com and is intended to provide clarification for the comments written by the customer dated May 13, 2013.• On May , 2014 the customer submitted a request for service through [redacted]. The work requested was stated as the following, "I would like an estimate to build a patio and stairs from the deck.” At this time our customer service representative contacted the customer and explained our rates and our company procedures. During this conversation [redacted] described the job to consist of building 3 steps from the deck to the ground and requested our technician to provide an estimate for installing a patio made of pavers while he was on site. The customer service representative estimated the building of the steps to take approximately 4-6 hours to complete. The customer information as well as the work order was typed into our computer system. Based on our labor rates, 4-6 hours of work would equate to $480-$692 plus the cost of materials. At this time, the customer scheduled an appointment for May 13, 2014 at 11:00 am, however, he requested that if any appointments became available sooner, that he would appreciate a call from our office to reschedule the appointment sooner. An email was sent to the customer on May , 2014 at 206 pm to confirm the appointment scheduled. Attached to this email was our confirmation letter that states in writing our invoicing procedures. This attachment is included as an attachment to this response. Under the paragraph stating Price, it states Project labor costs are based on actual working time and not scheduled or estimated times. If your project takes more or less time to complete then the invoice will be adjusted accordingly. Mr. Handyman has a 2 hour minimum per visit, and the first 2 hours of each visit is 268. All remaining time is billed at $106 per hour. The technician will review the job with you prior to starting the work, and any changes in time or scope of work will require your approval before continuing with the job.” Also, under the paragraph stating Terms & Conditions, it states, We do not collect any money up front, unless otherwise stipulated in writing to you, but we will provide a daily invoice and payment is expected at the end of each day for completed work.” An additional email was sent to [redacted] on May 5, 2014 at 3:05 pm confirming that if an appointment became available sooner, our office would contact him. The customer responded to this email at 3:11 pm commenting on our professional service.• Later the same day, May , 2014, an appointment became available on May 10, 2014. Our office contacted [redacted] and offered him this earlier appointment. Upon his acceptance of the earlier appointment, his original appointment was rescheduled to May 10, 2014 at 8:00 am. An email was sent to him at 3:40 pm confirming the new appointment time and once again our company information, including our pricing information was sent with the email. At 3:56 pm of the same day, [redacted] sent an email requesting that our office cancel his appointment for May 10 and reschedule it for Thursday, May 15. Another confirmation email was sent to the customer at 4:28 pm rescheduling the appointment for May 15, 2010 at 2:30 pm. Once again, the company information was sent to the customer. [redacted]s appointment was rescheduled one final time to May 8, 2014 at 200 pm.• On May 7, 2014 our office contacted the customer by phone to confirm his appointment for the following day at 200 pm.• On May 8, 2014 our office received an email from [redacted] at 12:29 pm stating, "[redacted] the handyman just left. He said he will call tomorrow with price and work. I thought he would start right away? Please expedite.” Upon receiving this email, our office contacted the customer stating that he may have confused us with another company and that our technician had not been to his house yet and was still arriving at his home at 200 pm to do the work as scheduled.• On May , 2014 our technician arrived at the customers home at 1:57 pm. After reviewing the scope of the work with the customer and identifying additional requirements such as digging the footers for the stairs and building rails for the stairs, the technician explained to the customer that this project was larger than what was estimated by the office and at that time estimated the job to take approximately 16 hours to complete, which would be $1752 in labor plus the cost of materials. The technician also called the office to see if another technician was available to offer assistance and explained to the customer that if he was still interested in completing the job, he could have another technician on site in a short period of time. The customer agreed and a second technician was sent and arrived on site at 2:16 pm. At 2:24 pm the lead technician left the job site to retrieve the materials required that were specific to the job, while the second technician remained on site working. While the lead technician was away, he contacted our office from [redacted] after determining the cost of the materials and requested that the office call the customer to approve of the cost of the materials before he purchased them as they were over $600. The office contacted [redacted] by phone to confirm that he approved the material purchase. Once the verbal approval was received, the office confirmed with the technician to purchase the materials.• On May 8, 2014 at approximately 9:00 pm the lead technician notified the customer that because of the darkness setting in, they would have to finish the remaining 2 hours of the job at another time. The technician then notified the office that another 2 hours was required to schedule to complete the project for the customer. The technician also notified the office that at that time the customer refused to pay the invoiced amount of $2056.84 but rather wrote a check in the amount of $1000.00. The customer signed the invoice acknowledging the Satisfactory completion of the described work. However, after reviewing the check provided by the customer, the amount in the box was written as $1000.00, but the amount written out was "one hundred."• On May 9, 2014 in the morning, [redacted] was contacted by the office and a second appointment was scheduled for May 15, 2014 at 2:30 pm to complete the work. Once again, a confirmation letter was included which again identified that we charge on a time and material basis and that payment is expected at the end of each day. The office followed up the email with another phone call to explain to the customer that we would not be able to complete the remainder of the work until payment was received for the already completed work.• On May 9, 2014 the office received an email from [redacted] at 3:44 pm stating that he was disappointed in the amount of the invoice and stated "I request you to send the technician to finish the left over incomplete work within 3 business days. Please finish the work without confrontation. I hope I dont have to sick any legal action and Consumer Complaint.”• On May 12, 2014 another message was left for [redacted] stating that we would not be able to complete the work until we came to an agreement regarding the outstanding balance.• On May 13, 2014 another message was left for [redacted] again stating that we would not be able to complete the work until we came to an agreement regarding the outstanding balance. An email was then sent to the customer stating that we would not be returning to complete the work on May 15, 2014 as scheduled until his outstanding balance was paid.• On May 14, 2014 our office was notified by [redacted] that check [redacted], made out in the amount of $1000.00 by [redacted] was being returned as unpaid. The reason provided was Stop Payment. The bank also provided notification that a fee of $12 would be assessed because of this action.• On May 20, 2014 our office received another email from [redacted] stating, As per your confirmation, nobody showed up to complete the leftover work. I am disturbed with your confirmation and not responding to the commitment. Please send the technician soon to finish the project.”• On May 21, 2014 our office received a letter from the Office of the Attorney General, dated May 19, 2014. Upon receiving the complaint the owner contacted [redacted] requesting assistance with the process after receiving such a letter. At that time, [redacted] informed the owner to provide a response to the letter and their office would assist in the resolution of this matter.• On May 23, 2014 our office received notification from the Revdex.com of the complaint.At this point, our office is still willing to work with the customer to resolve this matter. However, we are not willing to continue to perform work for this customer without receiving any payment for services rendered whatsoever.The following documents are provided for further clarification:• [redacted] service request dated May 5, 2014• Email from [redacted] dated May 5, 2014 at 2:06pm • Email from [redacted] dated May 5, 2014 at 3:05 pm • Email from [redacted] dated May 5, 2014 at 3:11 pm • Email from [redacted] dated May 5, 2014 at 3:40 pm •Email from [redacted] dated May , 2014 at 4:28 pm • Email from [redacted] dated May 8, 2014 at 12:29 pm • Invoice dated May 8, 2014 with customers signature • Copy of the check dated May 8, 2014 •Email from [redacted] dated May 5, 2014 at 9:37 am • Email from [redacted] dated May 9, 2014 at 3:44 pm • Email from [redacted] dated May 13, 2014 at 10:16 am •Stop Payment notification from [redacted] regarding Check [redacted] • Email from [redacted] dated May 20, 2014 at 4:05 pmThis information is provided to the best of my recollection based on actual physical records and memory of events as they took place. We look forward to working with your office and assisting you in any way possible to resolve this situation as expeditiously as possible. Should you need any additional information please feel free to contact me directly,

Consumer

Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved] Review: [redacted]I am rejecting this response because:

Ambiguous document and invoice, bad work ethic and falsified charge.

The technician must return to complete installation of steps remaining unfinished work.

Mr. Handyman did not finish the work and left deck steps in hazardous (unsafe) condition.

Mr. Handyman has contradicted, misrepresented and misled which is a violation State of Virginia Code : 59.1-200 (item no. 10).

I requested written estimate before the technician arrive and start any work. They did not provide any written estimate rather charged falsely and riffed off

Mr. Handyman's attached document confirmed in writing to return on May 13 to complete the installation. They failed and never return to finish the work.

Unethical business practice and service caused me uncomfortable and unsafe. Mr. Handyman is fully responsible for any incident and injury due to their negligence, irresponsible and fault and left 'Hand rails' metarials mess. Regards,[redacted]

Consumer

Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved] Review: [redacted]I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. Handyman must finsh the unfinished work. They left wrong Handrails (not the stepsrail materials) in the lawn. They must pick up the incorrect metirials from my property. It is damaging my lwan (attached pictures).

Mr. Handyman has violated Virginia CODE: 59.1-200. I have filed a complaint to Virginia Attorney General Office to resolve my dispute.

The steps ia unsafe without rails. I hope Mr. Handyman will comply and resolve this matter soon.

Regards,[redacted]

Business

Response:

June 17, 2014Dear [redacted],This letter is written as the third response to complaint [redacted] for the comments written by the customer dated June 3, 2014.As a result of [redacted]s unwillingness to pay for any of the services already provided, it is our intention to write off the amount of $2,056.84, which is the current outstanding balance of the work already performed by our company for the customer. As this is the case, we will not continue to work for a customer who is unwilling to pay for services rendered.Should you need any additional information please feel free to contact me directly.

Review: I called **. Handyman to fix a hole in my ceiling in August 2013 and was quoted, over the phone, roughly $350. On the day of the appointment, [redacted], the technician, showed up over a half-hour late and still billed me for the extra time. He also did not discuss the job with me prior to starting, as the Courtesy Confirmation Letter promises: "Upon arrival, the technician will review the specifics of your job(s) with you." [redacted] billed me $587.78, $237.78 over what I was quoted over the phone. The work left a small amount of damage to painted over where part of the ladder rested against a wall. [redacted] did not finish the job, saying that he would have to come back later. I could not afford to have **. Handyman finish the work until recently and told [redacted] that this would be the case. He replied that the job would be on record, and I'd only pay for the time that he would be here to finish it. December 2013, I called to have the job finished. Customer service said that they'd have to do "some research" about the job before they called back. Two days later, I called again and left a message. Two days after that, I called a third time, and another representative said that they wouldn't be able to finish the job "due to some things that were offered to the technician at the time." When I asked what things she was referring to, she said, "I'm just relaying a message." I asked for the owner to call me back and explain the problem. She or he still has not returned my call.Desired Settlement: [redacted] never talked to me about any "unforeseen conditions," as outlined in section 9 of the General Ter** and Conditions, that would have raised the job's cost. In addition, I am upset and offended about the "things" that customer service mentioned; it sounds as if I'm being accused of something illegal. I am willing to let all of this go, so long as **. Handyman finishes the job within a reasonable amount of time and at a discount. Because the cost exceeded the estimate by $237.78, I believe that at least half of this should be applied to the cost of finishing the job.

Business

Response:

December 19, 2013

**. Handyman of Northern Virginia – Arlington to Haymarket

9120 I-Beam Ln

Manassas, VA 20110

Revdex.com

Of Metropolitan Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington, DC

20005-3404

Dear **. [redacted],

This letter is written as the response to complaint #[redacted]. The following information is provided to the

Revdex.com and is intended to provide clarification for the

comments written by the customer dated 12/16/13.

Check fields!

Write a review of Mr Handyman of Northern Virginia - Arlington to Haymarket

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit your review

Mr Handyman of Northern Virginia - Arlington to Haymarket Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Handyman Services, Home Improvements

Address: 9120 I Beam Ln, Manassas, Virginia, United States, 20110-5325

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with Mr Handyman of Northern Virginia - Arlington to Haymarket.



Add contact information for Mr Handyman of Northern Virginia - Arlington to Haymarket

Add new contacts
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated