Write a review Sign In

MUV Fitness

Fitness Centers, Gymnasiums, Health Clubs, Swimming Pools - Private

If you had an experience with this company please share with it by adding a review
Start page > Fitness Centers, Gymnasiums, Health Clubs, Swimming Pools - Private > MUV Fitness
Add Review

MUV Fitness Reviews (15)

Satisfaction rating: 
User Elaybe time 16.01.2018

I went to MUV fitness to cancel the memberships for me, my sister, and my daughter when my sister moved and my daughter developed heart issues. I told all of this to the manager at the downtown facility. She apparently only cancelled mine. The other two, which come from my checking account, still show up. I have mailed a letter (as instructed-was not told i needed certified), gone to my bank to refute the charges and still they are coming out. To add insult to injury, today the charges for these accounts, which have not been used in months, just went up to nearly $50 each without my knowledge or permission. This is coming from my checking account. I feel violated and am considering finding a lawyer since i have been unable to get relief. I will never recommend this business to anyone. They are shady.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Morganshore time 12.01.2018

I went into the Spokane MUV fitness about 2 years ago. I did a 1 & /2 year membership and prepaid. I got this membership to work out with my sister who is a fit individual but is in no way a trainer. I was pushed to get a trainer from the person who signed me up, I declined as I know how to exercise. After a few visits I noticed the person who signed me up was watching my sister and I work out together and this employee of MUV acted like I was getting trained by my sister/work out partner and that's against their rules. My sister was just motivating me to keep running or telling me to do more reps as she was working out along side me as a member. So I felt very uncomfortable and decided I would drive to another location that was too far for my sister to drive to. I live 45 minutes from the nearest MUV fitness in the first place. So I decided to not go back since I went to spend time and workout with my actual sister who IS not a trainer. So I figured I just wouldn't go back since I just paid for a year and was told it wasn't a "contract". A year goes by, I start getting calls all day saying they need a new card number as my memebership is up and I need to pay them a month to month now. I explained why I stopped going there and that I haven't been in a year and do not wish to renew. They said I needed to come cancel in person. I live 45 minutes away and couldn't drive down there and frankly do not feel I needed to be so inconvenienced. They FINALLY said I could write a letter to a PO BOX in Veradel, WA. Which I did about 6 months ago. I did not give them any new credit card information, all the sudden I look on my statements and they have been charging me for 3 months on a card I never gave them! I contacted their merchant company who explained they obtained my credit card information through my merchant company without my permission, and they have no record of my letter I sent to cancel. She said its probably because no one mentioned to me it had to be certified and not regular mail. I will be requesting my money back they basically stole out of my account. Let's see if they return it. This is very bad business.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User mileswaits time 10.05.2017

In the downtown Spokane facility, the water fountains have been producing warm water for over six months. I have complained to the maintenance person "they will be low priority" the manager Brittney over weeks ago "we will order parts" and staff "we don't own the building so we wont fix it" I left another message with Brittney last week with no response. Staff complain to me abut it, members complain to me about it because they know I am trying, in vain, to remedy the issue.
R.H.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Lace0128 time 29.12.2016

I went into the gym to sign up expecting to pay 29.00 per month with no processing fees because this I what I was told I would pay. After speaking with the employee who signed me up he said he was unable to do the 29.00 and it would be 39.00 and there would be processing fees. Although frustrated with this I signed up anyways. Not even a week later they posted a deal stating of you signed up you got 29.00 a month and no processing fees!!!! I called the gym and asked to have them adjust my rates because this is complete crap and he told me the only option I had was to cancel wait about six months and sign up again but I would be out all the money I already paid. Then after a few more rounds of asking them to get my rates adjusted he asked who signed me up and when I told him he laughed and said he was not surprised this employee did this to me... then he told me the only other possible thing I could do was get added to my sister membership and it would be adjusted and I would only get some of my money back. It's actually complete crap that they couldn't just adjust my rate and work with me. I realize they can adjust everyone who signed up right before the special but my circumstances were way different and they should have just worked with me in getting my rate to where it should be and they should also refund my processing fees!


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Lace0128 time 29.12.2016

Issue was resolved


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer972007 time 25.03.2016

Review: My granddaughter *** ***, used my debit card to join the fitness club

in early Oct. charge of $166.55.

On Oct 18 a charge of $42.39

Nov. 17 a charge of $42.39

Dec. 16 a charge of 32.61 &

Dec 17 another charge of $42.39

The PROBLEM is that she canceled her membership, & was told my account

would be credited the amounts mentioned. I have received no credit amount!

Seems they can't find the records..... NOT VERY GOOD BUSINESS PRACTICES.Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE TO BE REFUNDED!

PREFER NOT TO HAVE TO NOTIFY BANK

OF FRAUDUALANT CHARGES.

Business

Response:

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to discuss this situation with us over the phone. Again, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience that this has caused you. We obviously prefer to fix things like this as soon as possible. Unfortunately this was the first time we had heard of the situation. As we discussed, your granddaughter's account has been cancelled out and any charges that are owed will be refunded upon proof of the cancellation. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to getting this wrapped up for you!


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer972013 time 22.03.2016

Review: Muv Fitness did not honor a new member special when we first signed up and then had my wife and I sign separate contracts instead of one, creating separate billing. No explanation of why the special was not offered or honored and no explanation of yearly maintenance fee being charged 3 months after you sign up. MUV fitness has consistently charged my account after the billing date sometimes creating overdraft charges to my account. They are unwilling to correct this issue and make it right. When you call them to discuss this issue, they are rude and not willing to work with you. Very Disappointing and will definitely be telling everyone to NEVER go to them.Desired Settlement: I want Muv Fitness to transfer my paid for personal training sessions to a member of my choice and to refund me my money including all associated overdrafts.

Business

Response:

We met with Mr. *** today to review the agreements that he and his wife signed up for on 2/16/15. Mr. and Mrs. *** were signed up on a Groupon membership special that they qualified for, which has a rate of $0 waived enrollment, and $29 monthly dues. This special is actually a better rate than our normal new member special which at that time has a waived enrollment and monthly dues of $39 per month. We sincerely regret that this comparison was not made clear to them upon sign up, resulting in slighted feelings and confusion. Because our records indicate that they signed up on the 16th of the month, the 16th is the default billing date set forth by the agreement unless something else is specifically requested. Because of this, the agreements did bill on the 16th of the month, rather than the 13th that the ***'s had thought they signed up on. This has been rectified to their satisfaction going forward to be billed on the 13th of the month. We offered to go through the agreements with them again, but they said that after reading them they understand all of the points that were unclear to them before. They are content to move forward with their program with their new billing date.We have additionally credited them $189.12 towards their membership dues to rectify the bank charges they incurred because of this misunderstanding. They are excited to be using their personal training sessions themselves starting this following Monday to get back onto their program. We look forward to having them back in the club and wish them the best of luck on their training and health program!


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer972003 time 21.03.2016

Review: I visited the Muv Fitness on South Regal on June 1st for joining the gym. I did sign up with some hesitation, but was told that if I changed my mind I could cancel within 30 days, Washington State Law. On June 3, I decided to cancel my membership after having driven from my place of employment to the gym location and then home in Medical Lake. The drive was extremly long and I changed my mind on my membership. I did email *** @ Muv Fitness on June 3rd that I wished to cancel my membership. She stated that I would need to go to the location and sign some paperwork to cancel. I went on Monday, June 8th and cancelled my membership in person with signature. I noticed on my credit card that the initial charge of 1st and last month's membership and also another month's membership charge was made for July. I called and was told that the $83 for 1st and last month's charges were unrefundable. That I would of had to cancel within 3 days in writing. I was told that I had 30 days to cancel. I never used the facilities. I cancelled within 1 week and it appears that it will cost me $83 for waiting a week?Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund. I don't believe that I should have to be penalized for changing my mind.

Business

Response:

According to Washington state law you have 3 business days to cancel an agreement with a full refund. We require that all cancellations be done in writing, either in the club or via certified mail, which is why *** instructed you to go into the club to do a cancellation in writing. Unfortunately, she was off site at the time of your email and didn't realize that you were on your third day, otherwise she would have been more specific. When the cancellation was done 5 days later, the club without any other direction and according to the form you signed, treated your cancellation as a 30 day notice of cancellation and processed it as such, giving you the time to use the club. We apologize for any lack of communication on our part. At this time, we have processed a refund for the full amount of your membership. We wish you luck in your future fitness endeavors.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer972015 time 20.03.2016

Review: I went in to do the $1 start up at Muv fitness and was charged $101. When I immediately went back to cancel I was told that it would not be possible and that it was non refundable. I was assurtive and let them know my Lawyer would be called they agreed to cancel however have yet to produce a refund in a timely manner. I have since been given three dates for my refund and told that it would come to my account. Then when asked a third time told it would be in the mail.Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my due refund.

Business

Response:

We sincerely apologize for your experience with joining Muv Fitness. Our current promotion is reducing our $99 enrollment fee down to $1. There are additional fees associated with joining the club. We obviously failed to clarify this process at your time of enrollment. Additionally, as our "business days" are Monday through Friday and while we would normally have someone on site during the week to process a three day cancellation (keeping in mind that weekend days are not counted against you), we did not have the normal managerial staff in the clubs on the Saturday that you processed your cancellation. Because of this, it seems to us that the refund policy was not made clear to when you signed your cancellation form and for that we apologize. As your agreement and cancellation form state, our normal policy is to refund the money within 30 days. At this time, we have refunded your monies in full and will use this unfortunate experience as a tool to improve. We wish you the best with your health and fitness goals.

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Revdex.com,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User J. F. time 20.03.2016

I would not recommend signing your name to anything to do with this corporation.
In the 9 months total I will have spent at MUV, in total I will pay $512. That is WITH getting in on a $1 enrollment special. But please, read on! Until the end.
I will recommend *** on Division. It is owned and managed by one of the Best people you’ll ever meet. His name is Jim, he lives local in Spokane, manages his club hands on with a Can-Do attitude, supports the local community and sports teams, and I’d be willing to bet no one has ever spoken poorly of him in his life. Say hello to Jim there when you go sign up….he will be super happy to get to know you and help you with anything you need. He will even listen to your new ideas about services to add. At one point Jim put in a digital driving range (at High cost) just because he had a golf group who requested it. A gymnastics center as well. Re-finished the basketball court when it clearly had years left for wear. Does all this for a fair, honest, transparent, straight forward price. And there is just much more to offer…tennis, racquetball, dozens of group classes, tanning….the works. This is how *** has been in business since 1975.
On to MUV Fitness. It's hard to believe… but they CAN legally do this. Which is why I write. That, along with a ***-poor experience today with their Northside Managing Partner.
Well, first of all... There is a spot on the membership application asking for you Social-Security-Number. So make sure to never fill that in. And if I were you, (prospective new member) I would make it a general rule of thumb to not join a health club who thinks it’s fair game to ask for you SSN in exchange for running on a treadmill. These SSN’s are written on paper copy applications. One would think that there would be a high likelihood of these still sitting in a drawer somewhere unguarded. One would think that it would be unreasonable to think otherwise. If you omitted yours like I did, nice work. For the rest of you who wrote it down for them to have and keep, if you’ve ever had an identity theft issue, who ever would have thought that a health club should be listed on the places that you should check into when trying to figure out how someone got your info. For the record my identity has not been stolen, nor am I aware of any intent of anyone to do so, and nobody I know has had their identity stolen either. Nonetheless, due to my profession I am educated in identity theft, and identity theft prevention. I would recommend EVERY MEMBER reading this to ask for that piece of paper with your SSN# on it, back. Not sure if they have to give it to you or not, but no harm in asking. Moving on…
This place charges you Twice for your last 30 days. Twice. (I elaborate below.) But they do it “Legally”, screw you via your wallet, and they couldn’t care less about your reaction to it. That was evidenced in my experience today, it will only take a minute, read this. –OR- don’t read it and just go somewhere else.
--On a quick side note, I learned today they are currently Not planning to open a location in Hayden north of CDA. In May 2015 I was told they were going to open a club there by the manager who was selling me a membership, after he had learned my office is in Hayden. Maybe at the time they did plan to open one. But today I learned they are actually not.
On the initial up front charges they require your LAST Months dues to be paid. Totally cool right? In theory it should be, yea. But when you sign your membership agreement at MUV, you are agreeing (by way of the 30 day cancel policy) to pay for an ADDITIONAL month. Different. DIFFERENT from the Last Months Dues which you pay up front. Here is a brief timeline. Keep in mind, I have no more use for the membership moving forward, that’s why I canceled today (Jan 18th) instead of 60+ days from now….
Jan 18th – I cancel. Because I no longer have a use for the club.
Jan 22nd – The EXTRA last monthly payment (that you sign your name to initially) comes out of my bank account. THIS right here is the whole problem. This is an extra payment, it is NOT your Last Months Dues.
Feb 22nd – Remember the “Last Months Dues” that were required in the initial up-front costs? Here is where the money they trick you into paying kicks in. This is 35 days After I’m done wanting to access the club. NOW I get that month that I was charged for up front…35 days after the last day I wanted to be there. That’s super valuable to the members who want to have access to a fitness club still, calendar months after they go in and cancel. To the rest of the Reasonable world this is Willful Ignorance in the pursuit of gaining unethical profits. My opinion. Explained properly, 90% will agree.
March 22nd – My membership is finally done being paid for. Bitter taste will remain indefinitely.
A whole season changes while I am still paying for this membership I don’t want or need.
Almost zero members of any health club Ever want this or need this. Literally almost Nobody.
I know this because I have years of personal experience as an employee of multiple health and fitness centers throughout my 20’s, membership sales included, in multiple venues. Even serving in the same *** *** building this is experience is taking place in, while selling memberships for ** *** ***.
What A C T U A L L Y happens in real life (some of you can attest to this), is a member will be meaning to get in and cancel for weeks or months before they actually make it in to cancel. The VAST majority of canceled memberships, in my experience, the ex-member wishes they had canceled weeks ago. Definitely Not the other way around.
A member is not allowed to cancel without visiting the Club...except for very special Small Print circumstances you may cancel via telephone, you cannot cancel via telephone. Electronic signatures legally are exactly the same as Real signatures… and of course you CAN sign up on line, but not cancel.
Not only that, but here is an excerpt from the back page Legal Small Print that should interest you:
MEMBER’S RIGHT TO CANCEL: In the event of Death or Total Disability of the Member, the Member or his/her representative may cancel the Agreement by giving written notice to the Club. The Club RESERVES THE RIGHT TO REQUIRE THAT THE TOTAL DISABILITY OF THE MEMBER BE CONFIRMED BY THE EXAMINATION OF A PHYSICIAN AT THE MEMBERS COST.
MUV does its members a dis-service by requiring in-person signatures to cancel. The reason they do this is to have another sales opportunity with you and talk you out of canceling your membership, in person. This is pretty standard for corporate gym’s. Nonetheless if MUV had your best interests in mind, or planned to stay in town for more than 5-10 years, this process would be updated. Electronic signatures are completely legal the same way a paper signature is.
They could serve you better, but again choose not to. More Willful Ignorance on the part of MUV. It's purpose is to charge you more than you want to pay. Their managing partner I spoke with today (and I’m paraphrasing) said it’s okay to do this because it’s an industry-wide practice. Which is first of all untrue and second of all doesn’t make it right. Neither is it a good business practice or a sustainable business plan for a company “hypothetically” trying to build for the long term, which I believe they are definitely not trying to be open in Spokane for the long term.
Just Atrocious, I'll repeat, Atrocious customer service. Don't ever sign up here even if it sounds pretty good, explore other options. My question and disagreement were met by one of their Managing Partners, I’ll omit his name, acting like a bonafide "punk." I’m not being derogatory. Punk, is the most accurate descriptive word I can think of to describe his voice. "Who do you think you're talking to?!" Is one thing he said two occasions. In a total punk, threatening way. I’m in my 30’s and don't get intimidated easy so I kept my cool, but he was on the edge of snapping. In the 15 or so minutes this process took, 3 separate times my inner instincts were heightened. That 6th sense you get when you feel something bad could happen. Not this entire time, but the “punk-mode” voice he was periodically handling me with was Completely uncalled for. I wanted answers. I was just an irritation to him.
This stemmed from me simply bringing to his attention how MIS-LEADING their sales practice was in my experience. I’m not a bull-***, I am absolutely a very direct communicator, and I was asking for answers. It's very lucky that out of the two of us, I kept my cool.
The managing partner mentioned the company came to Spokane from Seattle and had been sued 3 times already in the short time they’ve been in town. He continued saying it was because of "Spokane people” and “people in this town.” Look, I LOVE Seattle! And I LOVE all who live in Seattle and people who are from Seattle! I've been there often for many reasons. But this attitude toward Spokane from this member of the MUV management partnership didn’t surprise me at all. Super derogatory. This I also brushed off, but was one of the ruder comments I've heard.
Also, he told me to go talk to his lawyer and I said “great, I will. Who is it?”.....but then managing partner refused to tell who the lawyer is. Told me to call corporate at that point. After reading the back of the contract, along with my experience with them, it is abundantly obvious, and the only conclusion that I as a reasonable person can come to, that they are Not trying to build a sustainable long term business to "SERVE" Spokane. Rather, to turn and burn new members until their growth strategy tops out, then ditch Spokane and move on. If they put any local fitness centers out of business during their stint in Spokane it could be a real shame.
When I mentioned that I was a student, his response was that it really didn't matter and "I bet my alma-mater is better than yours." I ignored it. Word for word. Not making ANY of it up or exaggerating in the least. I’m giving quotes for exact words.
Yea, I’m irritated. Because I don’t need to set foot in there again yet am paying for their services all the way until I will have mowed my lawn 4 or 5 times this spring. It’s now January 18th.
My hope is that Zero local fitness centers go out of business in the remaining years MUV is in Spokane turning and burning new members until their lit fuse expires.
Among the charges.... Nickel and dime you all over.
They charged a cleaning fee. Yearly. As if that's not what my monthly dues are for? To pay your employees?
$32 for that.
They charge a processing fee at sign up, mine was $49, I wasn't really told what that was for, it was brushed over. It couldn’t be for the membership card for your wallet, because they charged $5 up front for that too.
$1 enrollment sounds great, and yes is a discount from their base pricing.
However, my $1 enrollment membership totaled $144 that day. Part of the $144 was paying ahead the dues for the Last month ($39) for down the road, whenever I cancel.
That was in May and today I cancel my membership. So all in all I will pay for 9 months at a total cost of $512.
I won’t attempt to create any legal action, but I would be a part of Any sort of class action that I learn of happening to the Spokane chapter of this MUV company, IF my situation would apply to it. Otherwise, sharing my story will be enough for me. I’m a very skilled, habitual and dedicated story-sharer.
This feeling might go away or it might linger. Feels like it will linger.
If it lingers, I am going to systematically contact all local health and fitness clubs in the Spokane area and voluntarily put together a course for each of their sales staffs, to learn how to and guarantee they won’t ever lose Any members to a "corporate health club." They will become versed on how to overcome every objection imaginable for someone considering a "corporate health club." I will FULLY research this legally to find my boundaries before moving on anything. In fact, why would this not work as a sustainable business model? Really, it should work in every city that "corporate health clubs" are located. Following "corporate health clubs" city to city would actually save a lot of market research as you all have done that already and positioned yourselves in the right size towns. A health club sales staff consulting business. Using policies similar to the ones used at "corporate gyms", as the example of what NOT to do….ways to differentiate themselves from that in theory as well as in practice, improved sales approaches to getting out in the community and helping their prospects understand why, how, and in which ways corporate health clubs do not serve their members, Only themselves.
As far as their curriculum I will do what I can, and not do what I cannot. I have an entire Semester of free legal advice. And several more Semesters after that, of free legal advice. I will benefit from this situation, for sure. I wouldn't need to take any sort of legal action to benefit, because I already have benefited by having great writing material for upcoming assignments as well as definitely being a topic brought up and picked apart in All applicable classes…especially Ethics. Only facts will be discussed in class, no slander, and my Member agreement will be in hand to verify everything. So, thank you MUV, for that part.
It’s unfortunate that after reading through the small print, they CAN legally trick you into paying this. And MUV chooses to every day. They just… actually… don’t… care… about if you leave happy or pissed. This “partner manager” still didn’t resolve the situation. He claimed that (I am paraphrasing) even as a managing partner he didn’t have the authority to waive any sort of fee. Not that he would have anyway. “Call corporate" was the extent of it.
That's why I'm writing this for you (prospective MUV Fitness member). To inform you of my experience so you can be excited to choose somewhere else.
MUV MIS-educated me in a Willfully Ignorant way about their fees to guide me into ignoring my due diligence as a customer.
To be fair the facilities they have are fantastic. That's partially why this is frustrating, because you would hope that the customer service would match. But the feeling that will resonate with me personally is the polar opposite.
If I didn’t know how to handle myself, and have a full surveillance system at my home and office…I may be a little worried about writing this HONEST, insightful review as they have all of my personal info is on file there aside from my omitted SSN.
As it is, having been in the fitness industry, excelling at it, and doing it honestly and transparently, it’s a damn shame this chain of beautiful facilities is being operated by people who’ve convinced themselves that charging this way and treating the guests of their club this way is appropriate. Not only that, they choose to make their money that way day after day.
Some scary piece of legal jargon in the Small Print that you sign as a new member at MUV.
Definitely some things to consider when deciding what type of company you’d like to give money and Signatures to.
Check these out:
“The Member is voluntarily participating in these activities and assumes all risk of injury to the Member that might result, NO MATTER WHAT CAUSES ANY INJURY, INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE BY THE CLUB, ITS EMPLOYEES, OR AGENTS.”
Oh, here is another informative one… MEMBER’S RIGHT TO CANCEL: In the event of Death or Total Disability of the Member, the Member or his/her representative may cancel the Agreement by giving written notice to the Club. The Club RESERVES THE RIGHT TO REQUIRE THAT THE TOTAL DISABILITY OF THE MEMBER BE CONFIRMED BY THE EXAMINATION OF A PHYSICIAN AT THE MEMBERS COST.
As if someone who becomes totally disabled Needs to be held hostage by their freaking health club.
I would not recommend signing your name to anything to do with this corporation. Ever.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer972011 time 19.03.2016

Review: I stopped attending because I work at 3;30 am and after work I don't work out. So I stopped my auto withdrawl for club dues. I received a call from muv stating I needed to come in and sign a cancellation form. On Thurs. May,28,2015 I went to the gym to sign the form. I had only stopped the payment this month because dues come out on or around the 15th of the month. When I explained my situation to the manager he tried to talk me into different options other than cancelling my membership. But I was becoming increasingly disappointed with the atmosphere since muv took over. The loud techno music that blasts throughout the gym makes it difficult to enjoy working out and I would rather not be involved. After his attempts to get me to stay didn't persuade me, he said I had to pay off my delinquent dues before he could cancel me, for May and June. I don't feel, if at all, I should have a delinquent bill for June, since I attempted to quit in May, before any payment would have been due.Desired Settlement: I want my membership cancelled without any further charges.

Business

Response:

We appreciate the feedback regarding the type and level of our music. Our goal is to provide music to our members that is both motivating and at a suitable volume. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize that this was not accomplished in this situation. Regarding the cancellation and account balance, there is no delinquent balance for June. All of our accounts are cancellable with a (30) day written notice. All balances on the account have to be made current prior to cancellation. As of now, your account has been cancelled and no further payments are due. We wish you luck with your future fitness endeavors.

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Revdex.com,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer972009 time 15.03.2016

Review: On 8/13 I mailed a certified letter to MUV Fitness. This letter was received on 8/15. I called to confirm the cancellation and to clarify the cancellation policy because my account was debited the monthly dues today, 8/20. The first person I spoke to transferred me to a gentleman by the name of Alex. When I asked him about the cancellation, he notified me that my membership could be used until 10/20 since I paid dues on 8/20 and the last months' dues paid on 1/20 would extend my usage of the gym from 9/20-10/20. I asked him to clarify this because no where in the contract is this information stated. He then transferred me to *** the Operations Manager. *** confirmed the information provided by Alex. I asked her where this information was in the contract and she stated that it didn't need to be listed in the contract. I read the portion of the contract that stated I needed to give 30 days notice which I did. She stated that since my dues were due within 30 days of my cancellation, that I would need to pay them and that the last months dues I paid at the start of the contract would extend my access to the gym. Again, I stated that this was not in the contract. I understand if I sent a cancellation too close to the time my dues would be automatically deducted so there would not be an opportunity to stop it in time. I do not understand after reviewing the contract, why my cancellation would actually be 60 days from the time I sent my letter. I understand that the contract also doesn't state specifically that the last month's dues paid at the start of the membership would be applied to the last month, but given the fact that it's called "Last Month's Dues", it should be safe to assume that would be the case.

Here is a copy of the Cancellation portion of the contract: CANCELLATION: Oral cancellation will not be valid. The Member agrees to give thirty (30) days written notice of cancellation, which shall be made either by certified mail or by completing the cancellation form available at the Club. Notice of cancellation may be given at any time, but shall be effective only upon thirty (30) days from receipt by the Club, and in any event no earlier than the sixty-first day from the join date. The Member must return membership card with written notice of cancellation. The Member is liable for and agrees to pay all fees and charges accruing until cancellation is effective. Any remaining outstanding balance is the responsibility of the Member, and the Member agrees to pay in full. Cancellation will be effective thirty (30) days from the next bill date on any membership agreement, which will include one more Electronic Funds Transfer dues debit within my thirty (30) day notice.

Since the last sentence indicates that the cancellation would be effective thirty days from the next bill date, that would mean my contract would be effective 9/20. Since I paid the last month's dues at the start of the membership, this month should be paid in full. I am seeking a refund of the $42.39 that was taken from my account. I would also suggest that you clarify how the last month's dues are applied to your customer's accounts.Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of the $42.39 that was taken from my account. I would also suggest that you clarify how the last month's dues are applied to your customer's accounts.

Business

Response:

Hi ***, as you noted in

your complaint the agreement states "cancellation will be effective thirty (30) days

from the next bill date on any membership agreement, which will include one

more Electronic Funds Transfer dues debit within my thirty (30) day notice."

This 30 day notice requirement is the reason you had a final payment when you

sent in your cancellation letter. As you noted, when you signed up you paid

your first and last months dues. As the name implies, the last months dues are

applied to your following month's payment after the cancellation notice is received,

giving you additional access to the facilities. We do encourage our members to

process cancellations in the facilities so that a manager

can review this policy with you when you cancel. We understand that this

isn't always possible with life's busy schedule. We apologize for any confusion

that you may have experienced with this policy but as you can see, there is a

final payment included for allowance of billing time when you submit your

cancellation request.

Consumer

Response:

Revdex.com,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer972001 time 14.03.2016

Review: On 4/29/15 I signed up for a membership at MUV Fitness on the North side of Spokane WA. After signing a few papers I paid first and last months membership dues and begun their service. After two months I fell into hardships with work and was unable to keep my membership. I was instructed I had to go talk to a manager on site to cancel the membership. After leaving work and going to the fitness center I spoke with a manager and agreed to put my membership on hold for 60 days resulting in a stop of full monthly payments and accepting a $5.44/ monthly charge to keep it on hold (My last full payment was paid on 6/29/15) After the first month I paid $5.44 (on 7/29/15). While expecting my 2nd and last payment of $5.44 to keep the hold my account was charged the full membership fee of $31.52 on 8/31/15 which also over drafted my account and I was charged $35.00. When I noticed this matter I contacted my bank to get a statement print out and was also shown a payment made by MUV Fitness charging me on 7/28/15 ANOTHER payment this time in the amount of $32.61. I immediately called MUV Fitness and spoke with a Front desk assistant and after explaining the whole situation and her looking into the matter she politely told me there was an error onto my account and that they mistakenly billed me in full after 30 days instead of 60 days.. I was told to come down to the fitness center and speak with a manager where I would get refunded for the full payments (7/28/15 and 8/31/15) taken out of my account as well as the overdraft fee of $35.00 I was charged due to their mistake. I again left work early the following day to go to there center where I was then given extremely poor customer service and was told not only would they not refund my account for the 3 charges but was told their was nothing they would do except cancel my membership and in doing so I would be charged a last months membership fee. I explained how I paid that fee when I first signed up and just wanted to cancel my membership and receive the refund I was promised over the phone originally. A gal at the front desk with a poor attitude roller her eyes at me threw a cancellation paper in my face and waited for my response. After nearly in tears over arguing with the manager and front desk staff I signed the sheet and walked out expecting this to be the last time I would have to miss work and deal with this company. On 9/29/15 my account was charged $31.52 AGAIN. I am extremely furious this is still happening; I called MUV fitness again and explained again the situation and that I could not miss work a third time to go down there after being put on hold I was told I would receive a call from a manager by the end of the day. Im still waiting. I went down to my bank and was told to contact the fraud department which I am placing a complaint with as well. I dont know what further options I have but I have tried numerous times to resolve this issue and cancel the membership including taking my bank statement down to Muv Fitness to show the charges being withdrawn from my account and I am still being charged. I would not be surprised if yet another charge comes out of my account as of 10/29/15 due to this company's lack of poor customer service and management.Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in the full amount from all charges taken from my account since I put a hold on my membership minus the $5.44 for the holding fee which I agreed to. The total amount I believe owed back to me is $140.65 ($172.17 if another charge comes out as of 10/29/15). This reflects the charges as followed thus far: 7/28/15 $32.61, 8/31/15 $45.00 Over draft fee, 8/31/15 $31.52, 9/29/15 $31.52. I will not be happy with anything less then this and believe at the very least after missing work which cost my part of my hourly wage multiple times as well as the disruptence in my schedule with my family that this is owed to me at the very least.

Business

Response:

I

want to express our heartfelt apologies that you had this kind of experience in

our clubs. While we hate to hear that one of our members had such an experience

in our clubs, I do want to thank you for bringing this situation to our

attention. We will use this as an opportunity to take a hard look at

our current customer service program and work to prevent

this situation from taking place again. A refund check has been mailed to the address

you requested. Thank you for your time.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer971986 time 13.03.2016

Review: MUV Fitness, *** *** *** *** *** ** *** *** *** had been making unauthorized automatic withdrawals from my US Bank checking account, this despite the fact that I had changed debit cards and began to make "manual" debit payments in Janaury--2015. Furthermore, in January--2015, I separated my MUV Fitness account from my daughter's account; however, MUV Fitness continued to bill my daughter through my US Bank account. My banker [*** ***/Assistant Manager, US Bank, *** *** *** *** *** ** ***, Phone: *** ***, Email: ***.***@usbank.com] then punished me with multiple overdraft fees (+$200) which placed me in the red so that I was unable to pay the monthly MUV Fitness membership fee of $42.39. Furthermore, I was not willing to deposit money into my account whereby the deposit would be erased by overdraft fees.

I reached out to my banker, *** ***, for help (early in the process), to STOP the automatic withdrawals and hemorrhaging of my checking account, however, *** *** stabbed me in the back and terminated my account with US Bank; this despite the fact that my banking record has been superb during the five years I have banked with US Bank.

I will not tolerate mistreatment from *** *** and/or US Bank; nor will I tolerate the aforementioned episode to tarnish my credit history through the major credit reporting agencies.

What I am requesting are the following:

(I.) That my US Bank account be re-opened.

(II.) That MUV Fitness pay for the remaining overdraft fees incurred due to unauthorized automatic withdrawals. Note: The MUV Fitness Manager, "***", recognized the fact that the MUV Billing Office made unauthorized withdrawals, hence, she waived the monthly membership fee ($42.39), however, MUV has not compensated me for the extensive overdraft fees ($200).

(III.) That my credit history regarding this matter be cleaned up.Desired Settlement: That MUV Fitness pay for the remaining overdraft fees incurred due to unauthorized automatic withdrawals. Note: The MUV Fitness Manager, "***", recognized the fact that the MUV Billing Office made unauthorized withdrawals, hence, she waived the monthly membership fee ($42.39), however, MUV has not compensated me for the extensive overdraft fees ($200).

Business

Response:

Hello Mr. ***,


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer972005 time 05.03.2016

Review: On December 2013, I called the gym to cancel my membership. The man told me that it was cancelled. I noticed a few months later that I was still being charged $41.41 a month. I called back to cancel and still noticed that I was being charged. Finally the guy cancelled my membership once it was over 6 months later. $248.46 was the total amount that was overpaid. I talked with them to get a refund. They never sent it. They have since changed ownership and they have said this was the issue of the past owners (Oz Fitness). This is what their response was:Hello ***,My name is *** *** and I am the current Operations Coordinator at Muv Fitness South. Your email has been forwarded to me regarding the account you had with Oz Fitness. I would like to start off by apologizing for any inconvenience trying to cancel your membership with the previous company has caused you.Unfortunately, we are not Oz fitness and cannot process a refund for them. We will forward his message on to the previous ownership but cannot make any promises on their behalf. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.If you have any questions, do not hesitate to ask.Thank you.-- *** ***Operations CoordinatorMv Fitness South***Desired Settlement: I would like the entire $248.46 refunded to me. This does not include the month that I cancelled.

Business

Response:

Muv Fitness did an asset purchase of Oz Fitness on September 15, 2014. Muv Fitness did not assume any of the liabilities of Oz Fitness and as such, any liabilities incurred by Oz Fitness during that time are the responsibility of Oz Fitness. While we are sympathetic to the situation regarding the 6 months of dues paid by *** ***, we cannot refund monies that as a company, we never received. The person to contact regarding this would be the previous owner, *** ***. His email is ***.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Check fields!

Submit Review

Satisfaction rating:

MUV Fitness rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Category: Fitness Centers, Gymnasiums, Health Clubs, Swimming Pools - Private

Address: 14927 E Sprague Ave, Spokane Valley, WA, 99216

Website: http://www.muvfitnessclubs.com

199 people are currently seeking MUV Fitness contact information. If you have any available please add it here.