Sign in

Perf-A-Lawn Inc

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Perf-A-Lawn Inc? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Perf-A-Lawn Inc

Perf-A-Lawn Inc Reviews (14)

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.In their response they stated that they offered to aerate and seed my lawn now This is not true However, that will help to resolve the issue I understand that in order for the grass to grow, that I need to water it Please put me on the schedule to be reseeded
Regards,
*** ***

Since the complaint from Ms. [redacted], we have cancelled the account.  Due to the last complaint by the customer, they had a past due amount on the account.  We have since adjusted the account to show that the customer owes nothing and the account has been cancelled therefore, the customer...

should not be sent to any collections, credit hold nor receive any more service.Thank you

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.I was not given two options for reseeding, I was only given one. I was offered a free reseeding in the fall, but only if I remained a customer for the year. I requested on the phone to Ari that the reseeding be done now and she said no, because the conditions were not right.I would like a reseeding now, without rejoining as a customer.  I understand that the timing is not ideal and I will need to thoroughly water my lawn.  However, Reseeding my lawn now will assist in bringing a resolution to the problem  
Regards,
[redacted]

We have cancelled all scheduled services from Perf a Lawn for [redacted]. We have credited the balance due as well.We will not return at anytime in the future to service his lawn or property.

This letter is in response to claim ID [redacted] that was submitted on 7/6/2017. This is the [redacted]’s first year with Perf-a-Lawn. The [redacted]’s initially pre-paid $404.46 on 4/20/2017 for six (6) lawn care applications of fertilizer and weed control which included free service calls upon request. The...

applications are generally applied every 4-6 weeks. On 4/24/2017 the round 1 Early Spring application was performed. On 5/25/2017 we applied their 2nd round Late Spring application. From 5/25/2017 until the next time we came out to apply their round 3 application on 6/30/2017 there was no contact made between Mr./Mrs. [redacted] and Perf-a-Lawn. On 6/30/2017 when the Perf-a-Lawn technician arrived Mrs. [redacted] had questions about “dead, brown spots in lawn.” However, no service calls were ever placed between applications by the [redacted]s; there was never a call about a dead tree. On our website, along with the satisfaction guarantee, is information about our free service calls offered to every Perf-a-Lawn customer. Nonetheless, Mrs. [redacted] allowed the technician to perform their round 3 “Early Summer” application on 6/30/2017 to the entirety of the lawn. At 10:18am that day—approximately a half hour after the application was completed—Mrs. [redacted] called in requesting a service call for a manager to come out to check “several dead/burnt spots in lawn.” This was the first time they asked for a service call. It was the Friday before the 4th of July weekend. We resumed work again after the holiday on 07/05/2017. On Wednesday 07/05/2017 Christian B[redacted], our Branch Manager, went out to perform the service call that was requested. (This was not done by Rocco W[redacted]-Rocco W[redacted] is the office manager in Erie, who manages the Pittsburgh Branch and has never spoken to the Mrs., only the Mr. over the phone). Christian B[redacted] met with Mr. [redacted] on the lawn and saw the areas that were “burnt.” Christian identified those areas as bentgrass that went dormant due to the stress of summer heat, not fertilizer burn. Christian pointed out that in and around these “dead patches” were blades of thriving grass—which is not consistent with a fertilizer burn. A fertilizer burn would be very uniform and would brown out everything in that area, not selective grasses. Christian tried to explain this to Mr. [redacted] but he refused the answer. Christian then provided Mr. [redacted] with reasons for why bentgrass goes dormant. Such as, mowing at a low length and lack of water. During this visit Mr. [redacted] also brought up us “killing his peach tree.” This was the first time Perf-a-Lawn heard about this claim. It was never mentioned to our technician on 6/30/2017, nor when Mrs. [redacted] called the office that day for the service call. Perf-a-Lawn provides free service calls when the customer informs our office of lawn related issues so that we can rectify them immediately. During the 7/05/2017 service call, Christian offered to do a full aeration and overseed at no charge ($300 value) to the [redacted]’s lawn in the Fall if those dormant areas did not come back with the cooler temperatures. Mr. [redacted] insisted on having his lawn repaired now, in the dry heat of summer. Christian stated he knew he could fix the lawn in the Fall if the [redacted]s would be patient and work with us. Instead of calling the office, at 11:52 AM on 7/05/2017 , Mr. [redacted] posted this review on our website: “I complained to the local office that my grass started dying after my last treatment. Someone came out today to "take a look." The gentleman spoke down to me throughout the entire conversation. He blamed the type of grass that I have, told me I need to water (which would make the only person in Pittsburgh that waters their lawn), and told me "there is no way this grass hasn't died every year." I paid perf-a-lawn so that I would have a healthy, green lawn. Large portions of my front lawn are now dead. At the least, you have failed miserably at fertilizing my lawn. At most, you are responsible for killing my lawn.” Mr. [redacted] was informed by Christian that if the dormant patches were reseeded right now the seed would be unlikely to germinate because July temperatures are not conducive to successfully growing grass. Furthermore, as Mr. [redacted] indicated on his review, he did not and will not water his lawn. Fresh grass seed needs to be watered twice daily in the Spring and Fall. To properly water the seed in July would entail even more frequent watering. The next morning 07/06/2017 Mrs. [redacted] called in and spoke with an office representative, Ari. Mrs. [redacted] stated that she was not satisfied with the amount of money being sent back to them, and also wanted the lawn repaired immediately. Ari explained to her that at the minimum she could refund the $202.23 [the remaining prepaid balance] plus the cost of the most recent “Early Summer” round three application totaling $269.64, even though the customer had instructed us to perform this last application. Mrs. [redacted] requested to speak with Christian B[redacted] about her lawn. Christian reiterated the same information that was provided to Mr. [redacted]—bentgrass goes dormant, it comes back naturally, if not we will repair in the Fall . . . Ari offered a $269.64 refund with the cancellation. Simultaneously, Ari also provided the option to allow Perf-a-Lawn to continue the lawn care applications they pre-paid for and to fix the problem areas in the Fall at no charge. Note, we wished to continue with the [redacted]’s regularly scheduled applications because the rest of the lawn was responding well to the applications. Mrs. [redacted] did not agree with either option and filed this complaint.    In this situation, we were offering a free aeration and overseed to fix those areas of bentgrass even though they were not damaged from fertilizer burn. Perf-a-Lawn offers overseeding in the Spring and Fall because of the cooler temperatures. We would have continued to work with the [redacted]s and come back as many times as needed to satisfy the [redacted]s throughout the Fall. However, it is difficult to guarantee a service when the customer is unwilling to work with us and accept the challenges of maintaining a healthy lawn. We were unable to make repairs or educate the [redacted]s regarding proper lawn maintenance techniques. Perf-a-Lawn sent a check for $269.64 on 7/06/2017. Included in that envelope was a letter and personal business card from the owner apologizing for the situation and offering to fix it. Neither Mr. or Mrs. [redacted] took the opportunity to call. The check was cashed on 7/11/2017. The [redacted]s failed to contact us in between applications to inform us of their dissatisfaction. Additionally, when a lawn suffers fertilizer burn, it uniformly damages the entire lawn—this was not the case with the [redacted]’s lawn. Because no complaints were ever made to us until 6/30/2017 we feel that at the minimum they should not get their money back for the first two applications as in our eyes they were a satisfied customer up until then and benefitted from the treatments.

Hello.  This message is in response to the complaint submitted on 7/6/2017 for Perf-A-Lawn Inc.  The complaint ID is [redacted].  The claim is being worked by [redacted] I received the response from the company and would like to address some of the lies, misrepresentations, and half-truths provided by the company. ·         “no service calls were ever placed between applications by the [redacted]s, there was never a call about a dead tree.”  This is a correct statement, I did not call about the damage to my grass and tree because I knew the technician was coming back.  Why would I call and request another technician when one was already scheduled for a visit and I could discuss the problem in person? ·         “Nonetheless, Mrs. [redacted] allowed the technician to perform their round 3 “early summer’ application on 6/30/2017.”  Saying that I ‘allowed’ them to perform the service is misleading.  I spoke with the technician about the dead spots AND the tree and he said ‘there’s nothing you can do about it now, the last technician fried your grass.’  I asked him numerous times what I should do and he told me there was nothing I could do and to call the office.  I know nothing about lawn care, which is why I hired Perf-A-Lawn to perform the service on my yard.  I asked the technician if he should apply the third service and he said yes.  The technician was reviewing my grass when I came out my front door that morning.  The Perf-A-Lawn technician saw the dead grass, had a discussion with me that I was unhappy with the progress, and still performed the service.  ·         “This was the first time Perf-A-Lawn heard about this claim (in reference to the dead peach tree).”  This is a lie.  I told the technician on 6/30/2017 that the peach tree had also died.  Prior to the last application, the peaches were growing as normal.  Since that application, the peaches had all shriveled up and died.  In the summer of 2016, we had several dozen peaches that grew from that tree.  In any event, when my husband told him that the peach tree had also died, his claims were immediately dismissed.  Christian stated that there was no fertilizer that would be strong enough to kill a tree.  A quick Google search will tell you this statement is untrue.  In fact, my husband point-blank asked if the fertilizer used by Perf-A-Lawn contained Atrazine.  Atrazine in an active ingredient in many lawn care products.  Perf-A-Lawn would not confirm or deny if their product used contained Atrazine.  The fact remains that for the summers prior to the treatment, I had a beautiful tree that produced dozens of peaches.  The tree was growing as scheduled prior to the care and has now stopped producing fruit and all peaches have shriveled up and only the pits remain. ·         “Christian offered to do a full aeration and overseed at no charge to the [redacted]’s lawn in the Fall.”  This was only offered if we did not cancel our service (i.e. let them keep our money and perform additional services.)  Had Christian offered this AND a refund, we would have gladly accepted. ·         “even though the customer had instructed us to perform this last application.”  I did not ‘instruct’ him to perform the application.  We discussed the state of my lawn and the technician said I should continue with my treatment and call the office to discuss the areas. ·         “Mrs. [redacted] requested to speak with Christian B[redacted] about her lawn.”  I did not request to speak with Christian about my lawn.  Ari stated that she was not knowledgeable about the service because she works in the office, not the field.  She said she would contact Christian and have him give me a call.  I would not have requested to speak with Christian because of the poor customer service he had provided my husband with in the prior visit.  Christian gave a similar level of poor customer service when I spoke with him.  He appeared to be more concerned with being ‘right’ and defending his position than in willing to work out a solution the problem. ·         “Ari also provided the option to allow Perf-A-Lawn to continue the lawn care applications they pre-paid for and to fix the problem areas in the fall at no charge.”  This is just absolutely not true.  If they had truly offered that, I would never have filed a complaint since that is the resolution I am asking for.  I actually proposed this solution and they told me “no.”  They said I could take a refund OR get my lawn fixed, not both.  In other words, they offered to continue treatments, AT MY EXPENSE, and then aerate and reseed in the fall for free.  I said that I didn’t feel comfortable giving them more money to service the lawn based on the service I had had up until this point.  I asked if they would come back in the fall and aerate and reseed for free without continuing the summer treatments (again, at my expense) and they denied that request. ·         “should not get their money back for the first two application as in our eyes they were a satisfied customer up until then and benefitted from the treatments.”  This statement is just laughable.  I’m not sure how dead spots all over my grass would be a benefit from the treatments.  But in any event, to clarify, I was not a satisfied customer based on their treatment.  I am an extremely disgruntled customer because of the ‘customer service’ I received from Christian.  To reiterate the options that I was provided was to: a.) receive a check for my prepayment amount that was remaining plus a refund of one application:  $269.64 ORb.) receive no refund, continue with treatment, and get my lawn reseeded in the fall. Neither of these options were acceptable, but I chose the one that put some of my money back in my pocket.  What bothers me the most is the claim that Perf-A-Lawn has all over their website that they ‘guarantee work’ or ‘will repair at our expense’ or ‘Plain and simple, our business is service!’  They are flat out refusing the to give me a full refund and they will not spend one dime to repair my lawn.  In fact, it has been a long time since anyone has spoken to me, as a customer, the was that Christian spoke to me.  I will say that Ari was very pleasant on the phone.  When she gave me my options of money or fixing my lawn, I told her that I was going to file a complaint with the Revdex.com because those were not acceptable options.  I gave the company full warning that I was filing this complaint and what I wanted prior to actually filing the complaint.  I will also agree that the owner sent a very nice note along with the partial refund provided.  I would be happy to speak with him if he would like to discuss anything further.  After this complaint, I did some quick research online about the company.  There are numerous complaints all over the internet about the company doing this very same thing to other customers.  In fact, there are three complaints on the Revdex.com website, two of which are for the same exact problem.  Dead spots in the grass and the company’s unwillingness to fix the problem. From Google Reviews: [redacted]2 months ago-Acceptable service in the beginning. When things started to go wrong with bare slots in the lawn and several failed attempts of resending, work quality terrible. Cancelled after my first year sign on. Sorry guys, I always give good reviews, but feel it necessary to let people know. Perhaps service will improve. Godspeed [redacted]2 years ago-Perfalawn showed up today and treated my lawn without my authorization. I canceled the service at the end of last season due poor quality.Since I treated my lawn myself a few days ago, I hope that Perfalawn didn’t ruin it.STAY AWAY! [redacted]a year ago-UPDATE: A MANAGER FROM PERF A LAWN CONTACTED ME ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND HAD IT COMPLETELY RESOLVED. WHILE I AM STILL UNHAPPY THAT IT HAPPENED – MISTAKES DO HAPPEN – AND THEY DID INDEED WORK TO REMEDY THE SITUATION. Do not use this service. I have used them for years and for the most part without issue. However, this year I had a major issue and rather than resolve the issue in any way, their form of customer service was to call me and tell me I was wrong. Seriously?For some reason, and for the first time, the application I received left many, many pellets on my concrete and in my pool. The ones in my pool have caused a very big algae problem that has since stained the walls of my pool. I have spent countless hours and a money on solving this problem. I had the water tested and verified that the fertilizer was indeed the cause of the issue. ‘Not only did Perf A Lawn refuse to acknowledge that this could have possibly happened, they were rude, told me I was wrong, and are doing nothing to remedy the situation or prevent it in the future.Terrible, terrible customer service.Fact is – we all make mistakes, issues happen in every business, in every job. But when they are pointed out – it simply makes good business sense to own up to the problem and make some remedy. Unfortunately, I prepaid. If I hadn’t, I would be dropping them like a hot potato.  In conclusion, let me be clear what I am asking for:1.    The rest of my money back, $134: AND2.    EITHER:a.    Reseed/aerate immediatelyb.    Continue treatments for free and then reseed/aerate in the fall; ORc.    Provide an option of a few days to aerate/reseed in the fall (for free).  Thank you to the Revdex.com for assisting with this issue.[redacted]Sent from my iPhone

Do not use this service. I have used them for years and for the most part without issue. However, this year I had a major issue and rather than resolve the issue in any way, their form of customer service was to call me and tell me I was wrong. Seriously?

For some reason, and for the first time, the application I received left many, many pellets on my concrete and in my pool. The ones in my pool have caused a very big algae problem that has since stained the walls of my pool. I have spent countless hours and a money on solving this problem. I had the water tested and verified that the fertilizer was indeed the cause of the issue.

'Not only did Perf A Lawn refuse to acknowledge that this could have possibly happened, they were rude, told me I was wrong, and are doing nothing to remedy the situation or prevent it in the future.

Terrible, terrible customer service.

Fact is - we all make mistakes, issues happen in every business, in every job. But when they are pointed out - it simply makes good business sense to own up to the problem and make some remedy.

Unfortunately, I prepaid. If I hadn't, I would be dropping them like a hot potato.

I agree. Their customer service is horrible! I called to cancel my account for the following season . The employee that took my call did not take care of handling my cancellation properly and they came out again this year and treated my lawn . I was told after numerous phone calls that I was responsible for the bill because they had no record of my cancellation. I guess they believe the customer is ALWAYS wrong ! I was told to pay the bill or it would go to collection. I would never recommend this company.

Review: We pay this company to maintain the quality and appearance of our lawn. A large portion of our front yard as well as large spaces throughout the yard died. We had to pay to have the lawn reseeded.

The company is attempting to charge us for their "service".Desired Settlement: We want to be reimbursed for the cost to repair out lawn.

Business

Response:

Since the complaint from Ms. [redacted], we have cancelled the account. Due to the last complaint by the customer, they had a past due amount on the account. We have since adjusted the account to show that the customer owes nothing and the account has been cancelled therefore, the customer should not be sent to any collections, credit hold nor receive any more service.Thank you

Review: Perf a lawn treated my yard today without my authorization. I have chemicals all over my sidewalks that my dogs and kids can track into the house.I just treated my lawn the past week and I am worried that the additional chemicals will destroy/burn my grass.Desired Settlement: I am not going to pay for service that I canceled last fall and did not authorize today.perf a lawn is responsible for any damages that may result of this unauthorized treatment.perf a lawn is to clean the chemicals off my side walks.perf a lawn should review their service scheduling policies and practices to avoid this event from reoccurring in the future.

Business

Response:

We have cancelled all scheduled services from Perf a Lawn for [redacted]. We have credited the balance due as well.We will not return at anytime in the future to service his lawn or property.

Review: Our lawn was treated by Perf-A-Lawn Spring and Summer of 2013..during that time multiple odd types of grasses and weeds and brown spots appeared..Despite visits by a tech the areas continued..and several trips by a tech to supposedly kill the weeds and grasses and brown spots..The brown spots grew as did the weeds and grasses..The brown spots turned out to be grub infestation and are now covering almost all of our lawn..Despite the fact that GRUB PREVENTATIVE had been applied by them in June...The company..due to our many complaints about the growing worsening of the condition of our lawn..have refused to service our account and left us with a real mess!!!OUR LAWN IS RUINED!!We question the viability or their chemicals or if any chemicals were truly applied!!Desired Settlement: PERF-A-LAWN NEEDS TO REPAIR THE DAMAGE TO OUR LAWN AND OR PAY SOMEONE ELSE TO DO THE WORK....WE WOULD LIKE A GUARANTEE OF THE USE OF THE PROPER TREATMENTS AND CHEMICALS AND THE RETURN OF OUR LAWN.

Business

Response:

Mr. [redacted] has been a customer with Perf-a-Lawn since September of 2011. The policy at Perf-a-Lawn has always been that if the customer receives at least 4 applications and the account is not on credit hold, we will do what we can to help the lawn. Below is a timeline of the events regarding Mr. [redacted]'s account.

11/30/12 - Service Call - Manager: Mr. [redacted] says there are a lot of bare spots, weeds, etc.

[redacted] checked the lawn. Entered a Service Call-Manager in early February to call Mr. [redacted] and check the lawn. If needed, we will aerate and overseed the bare areas in the back fenced in area at no charge. This was done as customer service and the damage was not attainable to our service in any way.

2/28/13 - Service Call - Manager: Call Mr. [redacted] and check lawn. Fenced in area in back may need aerated and overseeded.

[redacted] checked the lawn. We are to treat to the pine tree and over, 10 feet behind fence. Make sure to service inside of the fence.

4/8/13 - Service Call - Manager: Apply seed to bare areas inside fence in back.

[redacted] slit seeded inside of the fence at no charge. Also applied starter fertilizer to that area at no additional charge.

4/9/13 - Early Spring Application

[redacted] applied a dry fertilizer to the property.

4/19/13 - Payment of $71.42 was made.

5/3/13 - Service Call - Manager: Check seed germination inside fenced in area.

[redacted] checked the lawn. The grass had germinated in this area and it looked good. Mr. wanted fenced in area sprayed. [redacted] sprayed inside the fenced at no charge. The account was put on hold for 14 days so we would not over apply anything to the lawn.

5/21/13 - Late Spring Application

[redacted] applied a liquid application containing [redacted], pre-emergent crabgrass control, nitrogen, and weed control.

6/17/13 - Payment of $71.42 was made.

Review: Perf-a-Lawn applied a lawn treatment in Aug 2013 for weeds and crabgrass. Their invoice states it may take a few weeks for the application to be effective and to see the results. Weeks passed and my lawn actually got worse than before they treated it. I switched to Perf-a-Lawn this year and this has been the pattern. My lawn has had more clover, weeds, and crabgrass this year than in any other year. I had to call earlier in the year to have the lawn retreated shortly after they treated as it got worse, not better. A few weeks after this Aug. treatment, I attempted to contact them 2 separate times but only got through to voicemail. I left a detailed message and requested to be called to discuss it. I was never called. After receiving their invoice for this service, I refused to pay it until I could have a representative out to see the problems. They refused to have anyone come out citing their policy not to have anyone out if your account is "on credit hold". In hindsight, I should have heeded the other reviews of this company before dealing with them. Based on my experience, their policy is to ignore your request to deal with their ineffective service until your bill is "on credit hold", and then simply turn you over to collections. After speaking with "upper management" today, I come to find how nice an tidy the account representatives clean up their notes on my account, which is more of an exercise in creative writing than a truthful account of conversations. I'm sure their response with be quite extensive, if not factual. This company should have fixed their mistake, or at a minimum, credited my account for this Aug. service. I truly do not expect any resolution at this point. I feel my only recourse is to share my experience with as many neighbors, friends and family as I can in the community, which I will aggressively do.Desired Settlement: I would have expected a credit on my account for the Aug. 2013 treatment and not to have gotten to this point.

Business

Response:

Perf-a-Lawn has been in business since 1980 and it is our goal to work together with our customers to achieve the best results. Mr. [redacted] is a first-year customer who began his program in April of 2013.

As our program begins, the first application, performed on 4/8/13, does not contain weed control. This is due to the cool temperatures that will prevent it from being effective. The customer called in and requested a free service call on 4/26/13 to spray weeds in the lawn. Being that Mr. [redacted] was scheduled for 6 treatments, we agreed to come out and spray the weeds at no charge — which is standard policy. A weed and feed application was performed on 5/8/13 and another free service call for weed control was applied on 5/23/13.

The most recent weed and feed application was performed on 8/8/13. The invoice from all applications states that the customer should see results in 10-14 days. Mr. [redacted] did not contact the office to state there was a problem until 9/23/13, almost 6 weeks later. He then refused to pay the balance of $113.42 until another free service call was performed. The office explained our policy regarding service calls. As long as the account is not past due over 28 days, we will come out at no charge. Once the account is overdue past 28 days, we can no longer perform any services. After hearing the policy, the customer stated he did not want anyone from Perf-a-Lawn back to his property. The office informed him that the account would be cancelled but the balance would remain on the account because services had been performed.

Due to Mr. [redacted]'s complaints, this dispute has been resolved by crediting the balanced owed while also keeping the account cancelled. The customer will no longer receive any solicitation from Perf-a-Lawn.

Review: We pay this company to maintain and care for our lawn. A large portion of our lawn is now completely dead. I made numerous attempts to contact the company via their website, phone and [redacted] during this time our lawn was "serviced" twice, which means their employees saw the condition of our lawn and did/said nothing yet still charged me. After months of attempts I was able to reach someone, the company sent their rep who informed me the lawn would need to be re-seeded as well as being treated with an insecticide. This company is responsible for our lawn, we pay them to keep it healthy yet they allowed the lawn to die and now they want to charge us to correct their mistake.Desired Settlement: I want our lawn repaired, so to speak, I want it treated and reseeded.

Business

Response:

The customer at [redacted] has received our lawn care program since April 2013. This includes six (6) applications with fertilizers and weed control, along with free service calls for anytime that a customer has an issue with the lawn, provided it is an issue with the applications that they are signed up for. On October 14th, 2014, Ms. [redacted] called our office to request that a manager come out to see the lawn. On October 15th, 2014, the manager of our [redacted] branch went to the lawn and following the service call, put in the following notes:

“This customer has really bad grub damage on their front lawn. The customer is upset because she claims that she has sent several emails, posted several times on [redacted] and called our office various times about this issue and has received no answer. She also claims that the past two times the technicians were out to treat her lawn, they had not said anything to her about the grub damage in her front yard. The customer also claims that she was never offered a grub preventative when she signed up for the service. She wants the grubs to be treated for free in her front yard and I explained to her that since she was not signed up for a grub preventative, that we were unable to do that. She threatened to go to the Revdex.com and she also wants to be able to talk to [redacted] and [redacted] about the situation. I’m going to talk to the office when I get back to the shop in regards to this issue and see if they are willing to do anything for this customer.”

Ms. [redacted] was not signed up for a grub preventative treatment. This is a treatment that we put down in the month of June to prevent from getting grubs later on in the season. Not all customers receive the grub preventative because it is an extra service and not included in the regular lawn care applications; nor do all customers absolutely need a grub preventative. We send a postcard every year to all active customers as an upsell to sign up for the grub preventative, if they are not already signed up, at a discount. This was sent in May 2014 this year, and [redacted] was included in this export of upsells.

We have checked our emails and our [redacted]page for photos or messages about Ms. [redacted]’s concern for her lawn and there is no evidence of this. The first we heard about an issue was when a technician was sent to do an application on the lawn and made a note about bare spots in the lawn; this was on October 14th, 2014, the same day she elected to call our office and set up the service call.

Since Ms. [redacted] was not signed up for the grub preventative, we offered to put down a duocide treatment, which would kill all grubs that she may have within a week and also at the price of the treatment. This is the procedure for any customer with the same issue.

Without being signed up for the grub preventative, we cannot guarantee the customer will not get grubs later in the season. We do, however, make our guarantee that if a customer happens to get grubs after receiving the preventative in the summer, that we will repair the damage that grubs will cause. Since Ms. [redacted] was not signed up for the preventative for two (2) years, we do not feel that we should have to fix the damage free of charge because she does not fall under the guarantee.

Sincerely,

Perf-a-Lawn, Inc.

Perf-a-Lawn applied a lawn treatment in Aug 2013 for weeds and crabgrass. Their invoice states it may take a few weeks for the application to be effective and to see the results. Weeks passed and my lawn actually got worse than before they treated it. I switched to Perf-a-Lawn this year and this has been the pattern. My lawn has had more clover, weeds, and crabgrass this year than in any other year. I had to call earlier in the year to have the lawn retreated shortly after they treated as it got worse, not better. A few weeks after this Aug. treatment, I attempted to contact them 2 separate times but only got through to voicemail. I left a detailed message and requested to be called to discuss it. I was never called. After receiving their invoice for this service, I refused to pay it until I could have a representative out to see the problems. They refused to have anyone come out citing their policy not to have anyone out if your account is "on credit hold". In hindsight, I should have heeded the other reviews of this company before dealing with them. Based on my experience, their policy is to ignore your request to deal with their ineffective service until your bill is "on credit hold", and then simply turn you over to collections. After speaking with "upper management" today, I come to find how nice an tidy the account representatives clean up their notes on my account, which is more of an exercise in creative writing than a truthful account of conversations. I'm sure their response with be quite extensive, if not factual. This company should have fixed their mistake, or at a minimum, credited my account for this Aug. service. I truly do not expect any resolution at this point. I feel my only recourse is to share my experience with as many neighbors, friends and family as I can in the community, which I will aggressively do.

Check fields!

Write a review of Perf-A-Lawn Inc

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Perf-A-Lawn Inc Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: LAWN MAINTENANCE, FERTILIZERS, LAWN & GARDEN EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES, MULCHES, TOPSOIL, LAWN & GARDEN SPRINKLER SYSTEMS, LANDSCAPE MAINTENANCE, LAWN & TREE CARE, LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS

Address: 624 Camp Horne Road, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States, 15237

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.perfalawn.com


Add contact information for Perf-A-Lawn Inc

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated