Sign in

Phillips Marine

410 Temple Ave, Painesville, Ohio, United States, 44077-1191

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Phillips Marine? Use RevDex to write a review

Phillips Marine Reviews (%countItem)

• Aug 13, 2020

May 2018 --
*** came to my house to inspect a problem with the bottom of my boat called boat pox, (A moisture problem between fiberglass and gel coat)

I did not get boat repaired that year, Boat was stored indoor during the winter and most of summer.

April 2019 --
Dropped boat off to *** for repairs. I was told boat would be stored indoors.
$4,000 was the agreed upon price for the repairs.

Boat sat in ***s shop approximately 2 weeks, then was moved outside to the sand blasting pit. (end of April, May and June; 3rd rainiest months in history) I witnessed the boat sitting outside uncovered within the fenced area. I made numerous contacts with *** to cover the boat, which he preceded not to do. This is negligence on his part.

May 2019 --
I received a phone call that the price of repair would double in price.

July 2019 --
The boat was finally brought indoors to begin the repairs. Bottom of boat gel coat sanded off - The boat was so wet it wicked water for a month.

August 2019 --
Gel coat was sprayed onto the boat -- appeared to be fine

End of August --
I picked up boat; the repair price was settled on $7,500

Sept 2019 --
Boat was used for 2 weekends, put away for the season into a dry storage.

June 2020 --
Pulled boat out of storage, found hole in gelcoat down to fiberglass outside hull of boat, water was still wicking out. (8 months after gelcoat had been applied, boat was still wet)

Called another gelcoat company, they came over with a moisture meter. (I do not believe *** ever used a moisture meter before he gelcoated the boat) At this time the hull was 35% wet. The wood hull was saturated. Was informed boat should have never been gelcoated over. At this time it was also brought to my attention that the sundeck (that I had previously had redone for $3000 prior to the gelcoat) had mold and fungus growing out of it again due to the fact that the boat sat outside uncovered during a very rainy season.

I made numerous calls to Phillips Marine but I never received a call back. I happened to see *** at the gas station and I spoke with him. I told him I wanted $3,750, half the amount that he charged me. He refused. He did offer to re-do the boat, but due to his unprofessional negligence there is no way I will take my boat back to him.

I have another company doing the boat repairs which will cost me an additional $10,000.

I would not recommend this business to anyone.

Complaint against:
*** PHILLIPS
PHILLIPS MARINE FIBERGLASS & GEL REPAIR

Check fields!

Write a review of Phillips Marine

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Phillips Marine Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 410 Temple Ave, Painesville, Ohio, United States, 44077-1191

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.phillipsmarine.co

E-mails:

Sign in to see

Add contact information for Phillips Marine

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated