Sign in

Pool City Inc.

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Pool City Inc.? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Pool City Inc.

Pool City Inc. Reviews (27)

Well the story starts in May, and now we are closely approaching July. Purchased an above ground pool from pool city inc. in the middle of May it seemed odd we never heard from the delivery service. I had to call the store to even get the attention to have the paperwork sent to this delivery driver and two weeks I finally received all the pool boxes. I found out this driver only delivers one day a week in my area. Gloria from H and S contracting sure was quick to call even before delivery was set up to set up the dig of the yard, but Gloria has not been too quick to return a call after. The dig was completed and now in less than four days it will be July and I still have no pool and crater hole in my yard. On 6/25/18 I was suppose to have the pool installed after 1:00 pm. Well, that didn’t happen the contract company called at 8:30 in the morning and said they would be there in 15 mins they could not install another pool due to water puddles in their hole. When they arrived our ground was dry except a small area outside the circle that they drew, with that being said the whole entire hole would have dried by 1:00 pm. The head contractor then raised concern about how this giant hole was dug he wasn’t sure if it was even level. Beyond what we already spend on this top of line pool the company was surely quick to take $400 dollars and stated the pool will be installed quick within few days “because that’s how they work.” I’m still not unaware what is to come of all this since he told me to call Gloria but she won’t answer and they check messages all day, I did what he said called to be rescheduled. I received a very lovely voicemail from Gloria stating “I have to call back when it’s very very dry and I would have to call to be placed back on the schedule.” Also, she spoke to the contractors before I even had a chance to reschedule, she stated “they had a lot of clean up to do.” Now we are coming to the 4th of July and it’s looking if we will not be enjoying the pool anytime soon. We are out thousands of dollars with nothing to show for it and debating whether or not to return the pool and trying to work on refilling this giant crater in our yard.

I purchased a pool last year. Installation went smooth with the exception of showing me how everything works & correct chemicals. I have gone back to the store in Robinson Twp several times. No one at this store wants to help. It's a struggle to get someone to answer questions. I did ask a guy sitting at a desk if I had the correct chlorine canister for my pool & he told me I will be right with you...I has to wait until he finished his text...really! I have since found another pool supplier to assist me. They say hello when you walk in, if I take a water sample they are happy to test it without making you feel that you are a waste of time. I have since purchased new steps, chemicals, and a new sweeper. I spent 1200.00 & they will get all my business from now on.

I purchased a floor model tree from pool city last year after Christmas. We brought the tree home and put it together and there were so many lights out. So we took it back and they replaced them. We put the tree up this year and again so many lights out. I to the tree back to pool city and they put it on machine to fix them. Got a call from them and said a strand of lights will not work they can't fix it. They said may be a fuse. My husband called them and spoke to Jennifer from service department who was not helpful. She changed her story multiple times. Saying it was normal having more than 50 lights a year on a tree. Saying the men in the back room who was very helpful last year blamed them.for not fixing it propperly and saying they dont know what they are doing. I just feel we bought a tree last year after Christmas and we put it up this year for the first time it should work.

Review: Purchased a pool was installed on May 20 I was installing ladder on May 23 and the bottom of pool was loose everywhere you walk in pool it leaves footprints I have been trying since May 23 to get pool city to look at pool but have got no results from them only promises and lies found out the installer was operating under some other businesses name as to avoid being a legitimate businessDesired Settlement: Want pool reinstalled by a properly licensed contractor who has knowledge of pool installation

Business

Response:

Ms. [redacted],I inspected this complaint with Mr. [redacted] on Monday July 18, 2016. The pool appeared to be installed correctly. The issue of the floor's spongy or uneven nature was discussed. It was determined, together, that this matter will be corrected at the end of the season. Pool City will cover the expense of refilling the pool upon completion of the service.I believe this will properly address this matter. Sincerely,Mark [redacted]Pool City Director of Service and Installation

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Review: The primary nature of my complaint is all of the above so I did not know which one to select so just chose product.

Purchased a pool from Jack at pool city West Mifflin, very kind, and informative.

Then the chaos began, unable to reach install company, we had questions,, a month later we get a call that 'someone' will be out in 2 days to dig. Tried calling number back, left message that we had questions, no response.

Finally called again and was able to speak to someone about the need for them to shovel dig, not machine dig, asked a bunch of questions, not once were we informed we would have to pay anything additional other than the two inches we knew would need dug.

Two days later 3 men show up, nice, but all smoking on my property. Informed me they were not digging today, just marking the grass,proceeded to tell me we would owe over 800 dollars for the install, showed them our paperwork that we already paid for the install through pool city and that we should only be charged for the additional 2 inches they had to dig. The guy, [redacted], informed me that yes we had to pay for the 2 inches and also the cost of the install, so an additional $230.05 of our money was given. We asked him why we were not informed of that on the phone call nor in the store, he didn't have an answer. We just paid the store a couple hundred dollars in addition to the pool, information no one informed us of, nor when they called, nor when they called back. they were here for 10 minutes and left.

Day of install arrives, 3 men all smoking in my back yard, I put out water and cups for them all day because it was really hot. They inform me before lunch that a part was not delivered and that they were calling their boss. They leave for lunch for an hour, they come back and ask where I wanted all the boxes (from pool delivery) I said I guess by the house, had no idea they did not take them. At 3 pm they inform me they cannot finish the install unless I drive 30 minutes to the store to get the part I need, so I have to jump in my car and go get it, saw Jack at the store and informed him that this was ridiculous, he said to give Mark a call and make a complaint, arrive back at my house and they are all sitting in their truck. They install that quickly, call me over, ask for the payment and give me a 2 minute speech on my filter. No instructions, nothing. Then they leave and turf my yard in the process, leave cigarette butts all over my yard, threw all their garbage into the boxes, [redacted] cups, cigarette packs, [redacted] bottles. More cigarette butts, plastic pool parts, where those important??, and they took my husbands stringer that he had left on the concrete. There were screws left all over the yard, are any under my pool?, and a handful directly in front of the pool filter, do they belong to it, are they extra??? The liner is pulled farther down on our pool then the ones at the store, there are also ripples in the liner which from what I read online are not supposed to be there, also the strainer thingy is usually installed after the pool is filled, they put ours in the same day??? will it stretch underneath now that the water is in? There are gaps on the plastic caps on top, each gap is different in size, so not universal, is that normal? Didn't sweep away the sand they left all over the ramp in my side yard then front, yard tore up, and more garbage left in front yard. Scratched the concrete out in front of my house. { call my husband crying and he told me to take pictures of everything, which was then sent to pool city via email) I had to spray down my back porch furniture because it reeked of cigarettes.

So they leave and I have no idea what to do next, check pool chemical box for instructions, none, find a DVD, nothing on it except one pic of Pool city logo. go out to pool and 2 of the gray clamps on top of pool come off, cannot get them to clip back on. so we go to cover our pool and take the cover out and while putting on the pool we notice a large hole, about 50 inches long, in the cover. I go to get delivery papers and such to find phone number and see that I do not have a chlorine dispenser nor the vaccuum I ordered. Call store and get sent to customer service, they tell me to send an email with my complaints, never once explaining that I get that at the store, and said that Mark B[redacted] will return my call, especially since parts were involved and installation. I send 2 emails, and include 24 pictures. two weeks have gone by and I still had no response to that email nor my 5 phone calls.

so after reading blogs and calling friends I am finally told to take a water sample to Pool City. I do this, explain everything that happened and Jack assures me I will hear from Mark.... again, no response.

Call three more times with questions and concerns, and they basically made me feel like I was being a nuisance and that Mark is not in the office and they have no idea when he will return, not even asking if I want to leave a message, I push, kindly, to please have him call me, again no response, call Jack again on Thursday and he promises Mark will call me on Friday.....no response.

Finally today I went on a social media blitz, because I am frustrated, flustered and feel completely taken advantage of, received 5 messages that my info will be forwarded to corporate, yet still no phone call.

I am sure there is more that I am forgetting, but am so frustrated and their lack of professionalism, blatant disregard, and not sure if our pool is ok, especially after all that money we just spent.Desired Settlement: I have many things that I think need fixed to make this outcome happy for everyone. First, the installation company should never be used again, I realize they take the lowest bidder, but these people are unprofessional, in a hurry, and disrespectful, and I felt completely uncomfortable in my house. Sitting on my back furniture smoking with no disregard to us. I have a houseful asthmatics but was to uncomfortable to go out and ask them to all stop, fearing they would not continue the install.

Customer service, instructions for pool should be given, a good number to call and ask questions should be given, you should not be made to feel insignificant after spending your vacation money on a pool. Emails should be answered or responded to, in a timely manner. If you are a supervisor, or Director, you SHOULD return phone calls, IN A TIMELY MANNER.

I have spent hours of my time calling, emailing, making complaints, been stressed out if my pool is going to fall apart, just to be made to feel stupid and insignificant.

We want our pool cover replaced, and delivered, we want the money we paid, TWICE, for installation, refunded. We want the [redacted] reported, I should not have to leave my house to go pick up parts for them.

We would like a QC person, NOT anyone from [redacted] nor Mark B[redacted], to come to our house and go over the pool with us, and correct and fix mistakes/issues. Mark could not return a phone call, after several requests, I sure as heck so not want his inadequacy and disrespect at my home. If he does arrive at my house then I will ask him to leave.

I want the warranty to be open ended because I feel that the job went to the lowest bid and they didn't not care one bit on quality, nor customer service.

I should not have had to drive to the store to get a part, there were 3 men here, one can do that while the others worked.

They should not smoke on private property, especially when I am paying for the work, my dog ate several cigarettes, which then had my daughter in tears, if something happens to him there will be much more action than a simple report on Revdex.com.

I don't have a single memory of complaining about a company, but Pool city has left me completely disgusted and disheartened. If I didn't have kids I would have them come and take the pool completely apart and go with another company. That alone makes this situation worse, because I feel completely taken advantage of, they have my money so they could care less if I have concerns, or if they used a crappy company. They have my money.

Additionally we put in a complaint to our credit card as well, since hitting them where the money is we thought would be a way to get a response.

In the two weeks of not getting a response, which turned a small series of incidents into us fuming, I visited 3 other stores in the area, and other customers, needless to say they were shocked at how poor this was handled. They of course all offered me a large discount if I chose to have my pool removed, and would fast track my installation. Good to know they want my business. I truly am considering it because I am honestly not sure if this problem can be resolved to my satisfaction. I walk out my back yard and instead of seeing my beautiful pool that will have many family memories, I see a pool falling apart and wonder if we just made the biggest mistake using pool city. Will it fall apart, will it flood my home, will it break?? and if all that does happen can I even rely on Pool city to help me....not feeling very secure.

In summary, a list of requests,

a real, independent from pool city, Quality Control pool person to come to my house, that I do not pay for, to finish the job, pool pieces fixed and or replaced and reassure me that it is ok, and if not, then Pool City handles the removal, cleanup, and extra cost of removing it.

Monies that were paid, twice for install returned to us.

compensation for my yard and clean up,[ not related to what was dug which I am aware is my responsibility),

store credit

open warranty

apology

business plan on way they will improve their customer service going forward (hint, both my Husband and I have hired and fired many employees so we are not is and hope to not be treated as such}

documented complaint to the [redacted] on their inadequacy and unprofessional install and hurried work, and mess they left.

overall monetary compensation, for the this whole cluster and complete lack of respect of my time, repeated returned phone calls, wasted time spent trying to get someone to help us, and hard earned money.

They obviously cannot make this horrible experience better, but the above steps sure would make me consider not taking further action.

Business

Response:

Ms. [redacted]I have spoken to Mrs. [redacted] today and arranged for a meeting at her home on Tuesday July 26th. I am certain we will be able to get this matter resolved and compensate the [redacted]s for the inconvenience that this experience has caused them.I will follow up with an additional response once we have made this appointment.Sincerely,Mark B[redacted]Pool City Director of Service and Installation

Review: Purchased pool on July 24th 2016. Started making phone calls for when the pool would be delivered and installed august 7th. Was told 21/2 to 3 weeks based on weather. We experienced no rain during that time. No return call that day my husband called the next day. Told pool should be delivered next day or so. Called wednesday Aug 10th. No return call. Called thursdau talked to saleman. Claimed he would look into it. Called august 12th to find out the pool was never ordered correctly. So had we not called it would not have been delivered. Pool was delivered sat Aug 13th. Missing a piece that the they would call about. Saleman then stated pool should have been installed already. Gave us 150 off the price of pool. Still no scheduled contractor dig time or installer. We asked to have one called and rushed because of their error. Still no one calls us back.Desired Settlement: I would like the pool installed asap. Along with pool city paying the install price of 199 since it was because of their lack of communication we lost 2 weeks or more of swimming with the kids.

Business

Response:

After looking into this matter, it appears that an installer has contacted and arranged for installation of Ms. [redacted]s pool. We assigned an installer that inspected the site on August 11th. Ms. [redacted] did not like what this installer told them about the additional digging that was needed t in order to complete a level pool. On Monday August 15th, Pool City sent another installer who found the original installer's findings correct. At this time, the installer and customer are on the same page and as soon as this weather pattern leaves the Greater Pittsburgh area we will be able to resume installations.

Consumer

Response:

I have now been in contact with the general manager of pool city since I felt that the matter was not being handled by the Robinson store. The general manager has now given me his direct number to contact. I still feel the stores service is terrible and I would of already had a pool in regardless of weather if they had not made large errors to begin with.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Review: I was told I would have my pool up and operating by Memorial Day 2016. The contractors and pool arrived on April 27, 2016 and was told that if I had my permit by that Friday they could start work that Friday or Sat. We surveyed where the pool should go and the contractors kept insisting that I line the pool up with a window in my house that will eventually be a door to deck. I pointed out the sewage and water lines along with possible gas lines but contractor insisted that all would be fine. We had a passing shower Friday but nothing that would stop any work. Contractors never called to say they weren't coming so by Wed the following week I called them. They showed up started to dig but stopped because they ran into a problem with the lines I informed them of prior to dig, so they stopped digging and told me to do a call one service so I did. Call one service was complete 2 days later and I called contractor back to let them know that pool needs moved over about half of what they did. Was told it would cost me more money but they would be out Sunday. Sunday came and after rearranging my schedule to be here no one shows up or calls and when I called the contractor told me that he would be out the following Sat. which now puts me Memorial Day weekend so once again I rearrange my schedule so that I'm home for this and was told that they would be here between 9am and 10 am and it is 2pm and no contractor! I have placed three calls into pool city to get no where. Pool city is too busy with sales to handle installation issues, at least that is how I was made to feel. I feel pool city needs to better screen the contractors that they do what they say they are going to do when the say they are going to do it or at least give a courtesy call to consumer.Desired Settlement: Finish the job started and promised but I feel that myself and my family should be compensated for having to deal with irresponsible and unreliable contractors.

Business

Response:

Mrs [redacted]s pool is now installed. We regret the delays in getting this job done in a more timely manner. I have instructed the Greensburg store to provide her compensation for her inconvenience.Mark B[redacted]Pool City Director of Service and Installation

SO DISAPPOINTED!!! Don't be fooled. Bought most expensive pool,with best warranty. 5/60 year warranty,5 year100% garranteed, 60 year pro rated. Owned pool , this would be fourth season. Found hole in pool wall,also liner compromised. Took pictures to pool city,TOLD NOT COVERED! WARRANTY FIVE YEAR 100%!!! ALSO CALLED POOL COMPANY, IN QUEBEC , CANADA . ALSO TOLD NOT COVERED! BUT THEY WOULD GLADLY SELL ME NEW ONE!!!
Beware. POOL CITY AND AQUA LEADER BRAND POOLS! YOU CAN WIPE YOUR BUT WITH THEIR WARRANTY. THEY DO NOT STAND BEHIND PRODUCT!
WORST OF ALL,CONTACTED POOL CITY SERVICE DEPARTMENT , BEFORE MEMORIAL WEEKEND,SENT PICTURES,STILL HAVE NOT GOT RETURN CALL, YES I CALLED SEVERAL TIMES!
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ! !!
Went elsewhere and ordered replacement pool,at my expense . POOL CITY JUST WANTS YOUR MONEY,NO CUSTOMER SERVICE,AND THEY DO NOT BACK WARRANTY ! !

Review: We purchased our pool and aluminum deck on 6/8/14 for the cost of over $7500.00. At the time of purchase the salesman stated (and wrote on form) that the pool would be installed ASAP within 3-4 weeks. When joking with my wife I stated we might have a pool by July 4th and the salesman said yes that will happen. It is now June 8th, exactly one month later and my pool is still sitting in my driveway. I have stopped at the store to talk to the salesman. He informed me of the 3-4 week install schedule and pointed out the Weather Permitting clause. While I was speaking to him he walked away, as if he were to busy to speak with me. I have had very little communication with the excavators/Installers. I have left many unreturned messages in an attempt to get a scheduled time. Last week I spoke with the store Service Manager. He informed me that the Installers would contact me that day and give me an Estimated time and date for install. The Manager stated that he was confident that they would dig on Saturday July 15th and install the pool the beginning of week 7/6/14. I received a call from the installers as the manager had stated that day. The installer stated that they would be out to dig the beginning of week 7/6/14 and install two days later. I left a voice mail with the Pool City Service Manager about the discrepancy in their schedules. I received no return calls. On 7/7/14 we received a call from the installers that they would dig on 7/9/14 and install pool two days later. As of this time the pool is still in my driveway and not installed. I understand the delays caused by weather, however, Pool City should be aware of the seasonal weather in the area and plan for additional installers. There has been no communication that was not initiated by me during this whole process. After the sale and delivery, the salesman could care less about the customer support.Desired Settlement: Pool City needs to improve the installation process. There needs to be better communication between Pool City, the Installers and their customers. Pool City Should be aware of the weather for the area and adapt accordingly. I believe a discount or additional services or merchandise should be offered for the delayed installation.

Business

Response:

We all know that Pool City has no control over the weather. Mr. [redacted] comments about increasing our work force during the season is a great one if only we could find qualified individuals that are available for a very short period of time. This year, much like last year has proven to be very frustrating for everyone involved, the consumer, the installer and Pool City. I employ twelve (12) crews and more when available. That would normally be sufficient to cover the work we need done. When mother nature has her way, twenty five (25) crews would only provide us with that many more individuals who are affected by the weather. The installers make nothing unless the work is completed. It is not their wish to have to delay installations. They are making very difficult decisions that while it is costing them, it is the responsible choice.

We are sorry that many customers have been upset at Pool City this season due to delayed installations, but it is our goal to provide a quality installation regardless of the pressure that is put on us.

Sincerely,

[redacted]Pool City Director of Service and Installation

Review: We purchased a pool from Pool City that was installed June 2012. We noticed that there were stratches on the exterior panel. A field visit was made by [redacted] sent out two workers to paint the pool. The paint they brought out did not match. We were then advised by [redacted] that the panel would be replaced. We received a letter from [redacted] dated November 6, 2012 advising us that the panel would be replaced prior to opening our pool. I have contact Pool City 4/23, 5/2, 5/6, 5/8, 5/9, 6/3, 6/7. Most time I left msgs & received no response. The only time I received a call back was when I went to[redacted], the sales manager. The last contact I had was on 6/7 & I was advised by [redacted] - customer svc that the parts were shipped to the wrong store, had to be returned to the warehouse & reshipped to the correct store. I was told that the panel would b e replaced within a month.Desired Settlement: Replacement of the damaged panel & compensation for my time & aggravation.If the pool needs drained, I would like compensated to have the pool refilled.

Business

Response:

The consumer is correct in that it has taken too long to get this matter addressed. I have placed orders to get the material necessary to correct this issue brought in and received incorrect parts twice. The proper people at the factory have assured me I will have what is needed within the next two weeks. I will see that this is handled within days of receiving the materials. Our apologies for the delays. It should be noted that the issue is one of scratches on the painted surface of the pool wall. The decision on how to address this was discussed with the factory. Originally, the thought was to use touch up paint and sent out a person to do this, but the multi color area prohibited that approach. We will be replacing these sections with new material. This process will not require any interruption to the consumer's use of the pool. They have had full use of the pool during this delay. We will have this taken care of in a very short period once on site. I will update you once the repair has been taken care of.

Pool City Director of Service and Installation

Consumer

Response:

After disussing this with my husband, we are not satified with the response. We have been told several times that this would be fixed & again have not received a call to schedule an appt to replace the outside wall of our pool

Business

Response:

[redacted]

It has just been confirmed to me that the materials for this project have been received at our warehouse. I will have them sent to our location by Tuesday and schedule the appointment with Mrs. [redacted] for this coming week. She will receive a call to confirm the same on Monday the 5th.

Review: I purchased a swimming pool on 5/24/2014 the swimming pool was installed about 4-5 weeks later. The install was not good. The liner has divits and there is a leak on the left side. I called with my issues and at first they were claiming to take care of them until they gave me the run around for several weeks. I called back threating to turn them in and they then sent out the supervisor who also gave me a run around and did nothing to resolve the issues. I called on 8/4/2014 asking why they let the finance charges hit the credit line due to the fact I did not sign off on a satisfaction and approval of the install. They began calling me a lier stating nothing was even wrong. Their original install team left beer cans in my back yard and they were told that on the install date, but on 8/4/14 they called me a lier about the beer cans they called me a lier about all of our prior conversations. They agreed to resolve my issues but are not doing it. I called pool city Monroeville to ask for the manager and they lied and told me he was not there and he was. They are extremely unprofessional and fraudulent. They told me several lies, I have pictures of the leak that they agreed there was and they are now all of the sudden denying they said that on my back porch. I have time stamped photos of the leak on the dry days. The Monroeville store manager [redacted] and the corporate service manager mark are the most unprofessional business men I have ever doubt with, they avoid my calls and told me things and changed them.Desired Settlement: I want a complete refund on the swimming pool and it to be taken out of my back yard.

Business

Response:

Ms. [redacted] is correct in as much as we agreed to redress the floor of her pool. When I visited her home two (2) weeks ago I was under the impression that she was in agreement that rather than interrupt her pool season this would be addressed at the end of this season. The issue at hand is two fold. She acknowledged to our installation office that she was responsible for a little washout in the cove area. The floor of the pool has some undulation. This is a very simple repair. Additionally, she has claimed that the service panel area of the pool has been leaking causing the area to be wet. This was inspected and no leak could be seen. We agreed that we would address this when the floor was being corrected.

I want to be clear that we will dispatch technicians to correct this matter immediately. We were trying to be considerate by not interfering with the swimming season. After the conversation I had with Ms. [redacted] yesterday I would like nothing better than to get this issue behind us.

As for the matter regarding the financing, once the pool is installed and the consumer is using it, we consider our job complete. Ms. [redacted] tried to claim that I agreed to allow the financing to be put on hold until the repair was completed. That was never discussed on my visit to her home.

I will have our installation outfit contact her this afternoon to schedule an immediate repair.

Sincerely,

[redacted]Pool City Director of Service and Installation

Consumer

Response:

Review: I wrote a check for a new pool vacuum. It did not work. I returned it. They would not give me my money back for 10 days. They said their policy for checks is a ten day check refund. They do not have their refund policy posted in the store. My check cleared my bank on Monday, I still do not have my money back. I called their corporate office and they told me I will get my money the end of next week. I complained due to the fact it is not posted in the store. They still refuse to give me my money until next week.Desired Settlement: I would like my money back ASAP. They need to put a refund policy posted in the store so that this doesnt happen to other people. I feel they should also pay me interest on my money. They are holding it.

Business

Response:

Jen,

The refund check for this consumer was mailed out yesterday (July 17th) in the amount of $46.02. After confirming my belief, we have our return and check policies posted at EVERY checkout counter in our store where this consumer purchased this product.

I hope this satisfies your inquiry.

[redacted]Pool City Director of Service and Installation

Review: We purchased a hot tub in July and a couple weeks later we had issues with the radio. Some speakers are not working and the radio turns on randomly. [redacted] from Pool City came to the house to look at the issue and said they would order a new radio and speakers and he would be back in 2 weeks to install. After several calls we got him to come back out and he said he had to re-order the parts. It has now been almost 5 months and we still have not had the radio fixed/replaced. We have called and left voicemails, emailed, gone into the store personally, etc but they will not get anyone from service to call us back or fix this issue. We do not have the time to contact them every week hoping to reach someone!Desired Settlement: I would like to have them come out and replace the radio and speakers as they said they would do in August.

Business

Response:

I've looked into the complaint that [redacted] has filed. Her issue is accurate. I will not attempt to explain what took the majority of the delay as it will only sound like an excuse.

I have arranged to get their stereo fixed by the weeks end. I hope the [redacted] will accept our apology for this matter taking so long. I can assure them should they ever have another issue with their spa it will be handled in an expeditious manner.

Merry Christmas.

Pool City Director of Service and Installation.

Review: I had ordered my pool on June 2,2013. It took 7 weeks to be installed. The rain had some to do with it, but more because the installer and delivery people would not return phone calls. We went to the store where we purchased the pool and complained to the manager [redacted] and he assured us that the pool would be installed within the next few days and that the [redacted] the Director of sales would call us and compensate us in some way for our inconvenience. [redacted] never returned the call so we called [redacted] back. He has still not returned our call. I called the customer service line and was told that [redacted] the next person in charge from [redacted] would call me back that day. he has still not returned the call. In the meantime the installer that did our pool was supposed to come back and fix a 6 foot long 2 inch high wrinkle in the liner from the install. I am afraid this is going to cause a hole in the liner. I also paid the installer $210.00 for material for the installation. We were supposed to have patio stone under each pillar. The installer broke them into pieces and placed them under the pillars. I paid for a whole piece. The installer also stated that in order to fix the wrinkle the pool would need drained and filled again. I paid a lot of money for water and sewage for this and this is totally unacceptable. I want my liner fixed and the refund that they promised me.Desired Settlement: I want the management to take responsibility and have the courtesy to return a phone call and to offer the compensation that they promised me. I also want my liner fixed the way it was supposed to be in the first place that should have been done at the install. I will not pay to have my pool refilled. This is their( pool city) responsibility to have my pool installed the way it should have in the first place. Maybe they should hire new installers that are responsible and courteous.

Business

Response:

I have been away for the past two weeks. Our installer inspected this complaint. The wrinkle in the liner is highly exaggerated. We will see that this is addressed before the season is ended. As for the compensation that was offered, this was due to the delays that were mostly due to the highest rainfall during a summer since 1973. This too will be addressed once the pool is adjusted.

Review: Purchased tree advertised in store as "BALSAM HILL" which is a manufacturer of higher quality artificial Christmas trees, picked up took home opened box tree was very disappointing - looked at manufacturer NOT Balsam Hill, returned tree to store store manager would only give store credit claiming it is their "open box policy" regarding returns - my sales receipt does not make this claim nor is it posted at any check out or in the store anywhere but she would not budge regarding a refund - I have no use for a store credit so I agreed to take another tree different model - same thing tag on floor reads "BALSAM HILL" when I picked it up the box is clearly NOT a Balsam Hill box is stamped Balsam Hills called manager to pick up area expressed my dissatisfaction and that I wanted a Balsam Hill tree not a miss-represented made in Thialand tree marketed as Balsam Hill and again she would not budge regarding a refund to my credit card sighting their open box policy - this is very deceptive I was under the understanding I was purchasing a "BALSAM HILL" Christmas tree-I do not want this tree I want to return it for a full refund so that I can purchase a true Balsam Hill tree - their open box policy is not disclosed anywhere! I can not buy another tree unless my credit card is refunded - feel like I have been hijacked and now being held hostage. Box on this tree remains un-opened for return.Desired Settlement: Return for full REFUND on my credit card NBOT store credit.

Consumer

Response:

On Wed, Dec 23, 2015 at 12:20 PM, [redacted]> wrote:Yes [redacted] I returned the tree to Pool City this morning and have a receipt for full credit on my credit card. I do not believe it is in the best interest of unsuspecting shoppers that they are marketing a tree as "Balsam Hill" very miss leading.

Review: We purchased our pool on 5-13-12 and installed @ memorial day that year. The Pool was 27 x 54 Quest II w/panel(Royal Package). The pool was to be anti-corrosion walls so it wouldn't rust out. We opened our pool this year to find 2 holes in one of the walls that are under our deck. We live in the country so we had just paid $1100 to have our pool filled. it was gushing water! When we purchased our pool we were told it would be under warranty. So we called Pool City and were told to go online to this pool warranty company and file a complaint..but when we went on it said that you had to register your pool within 30 days of purchase, which no one ever told us to do. So we called back to Pool City 2 days later and they said we were given the wrong info to call another number. the gentleman we talked to said to send pictures. A week later we called back and he said he never got them, so I tried to send again.we kept getting undeliverable email addresses. So we called again and got another email address (3rd email). He told us he was sitting at the desk he would look at the pictures and get right back to us. this was on June 5th. To date we have not heard back and when we try to call he is never at his desk. We have emailed them again yesterday, still no response; pool is 2 years old! There is no reason for a $4500 pool to rust in that short time period. He told us on the phone that they were having problems with this pool and if they covered it would only be the wall of the pool and we would have to pay all labor and for the liner. It is the manufacturers fault that they made a faulty product and should cover since it is only 2 years old. We can't do anything with the pool until this if fixed and no one will call us back. We are losing water as it is. When we called again today they would not let us speak to anyone but him, so we left another voicemail. They already told us pool is defective. on last call they asked if we called manufacturer, but they never told us to do that.Desired Settlement: We would like the area of the pool that is defective to be replaced including the liner and labor. I actually think they should have to pay for the water that we had to pay to have put in also. Someone needs to make a $4500 purchase of a pool that is 2 years old right.

Business

Response:

I just finished speaking with Mr. [redacted] this morning. I explained to him that the premature rusting of his pool wall is common where a cut or tear in the liner is present. I am fairly certain that this is the situation in his case. I instructed him to apply a patch to the area of liner affected to eliminate further deterioration of the pool wall. I also instructed him where he can file a claim under his warranty. I will assist him with the repair process.

The warranty clearly states that the factory is not responsible for labor, liner or water. I assured Mr. [redacted] that I would help with the expense in these areas. There will be charges for the labor and liner, but I can adjusted these figures to help with the repair.

It is unfortunate when these types of situation occur. I would like to think that Pool City has been very fair in our approach at handling these matters with the customer in mind.

Sincerely,

[redacted]Pool City Director of Service and Installation

Consumer

Response:

Review: On August 14, 2015, Pool City Installers took down my old pool, removed it from my property, and smoothed the area for the new 24 foot pool to be installed. I wrote them a check for $1113.84 for this service. The check was written to a [redacted]. After they left, I realized that they left the old pool liner laying in my yard. When my new pool was installed, I told the installers that it had been left, and they told me I needed to call the people who took the old pool down. I have talked to the man who left it (Dave), Pool City Installers, and the man I bought the pool from (Chuck). Every time I speak with one of them, they are extremely polite and apologetic, but the pool liner is still laying in my yard, and it is now October.Desired Settlement: All I want them to do is come to my house and remove the old pool liner from my yard.

Business

Response:

Ms. [redacted],We dispatched a service man to the [redacted]'s residence and removed the remaining liner that was left behind. This was completed on Thursday October 8th.Mark B[redacted]Pool City

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Review: We bought a pool and paid in full to have it installed asap. We left messages on the installer's phone([redacted]) at first and never heard back from him. We called the store and had the Director of Service and installation ([redacted]),the father come out to our home and he "guaranteed" we would be in our pool the weekend of June 6th, 2014. Not only did he guarantee but he also said he would have the installer put back the ladder they had to remove from the deck when the pool was installed and also that the installer would connect our filter and hoses due to waiting so long and that the installer (his son) never called us back to set up a date. Our pool was delivered several weeks and was sitting our yard before we even had the installer finally call us. When the installer, his son finally came out he did a couple of things and left. We were constantly calling him to finish the job, which as of today is still not done and it is June 8th, 2014. We are all very dissatisfied with this service and for anyone else having this issue, I think something needs to be done. The installer had other jobs, I understand that but finish the ones you started, don't keep us trying to track him down to get the work finished. He, the installer always had excuses, promised to call us back and never did. If Pool City wants to be "well known" for their product and services, it is far from the truth. Even the Director of Service and Installation (father) needs to be addressed on the services his son is not doing and the promises that were never kept. The pool is up but the work is not finished as of June 8th, 2014.Desired Settlement: I just want other consumers to know about the dissatisfied services from this installer and also the "Director of Service and Installation". The Pool City in West Mifflin, Pa. 15122. I do not recommend them.

Business

Response:

[redacted]The customer is complete as I type this response. We installed them on Thursday, the 5th, and installed their skimmer on Saturday, the 7th. There was a misunderstanding with regard to the ladder and filter. It has now been corrected.

We're sorry that the install couldn't be earlier but as I have shared with you already, mother nature has had her part in the delays.

Sincerely,

[redacted] Pool City

Review: I purchased a pool from Pool City on 5/26/2012, from the leveling the yard for 24'x54', it became a nightmare. $1000.00 later the sub- contractors hired by Pool City showed up with a utility truck and told it was 3 tons of sand....NOT. I questioned them on this and they insisted that it was( my brother-in- law is a landscaper & said there is no way a utility truck can handle 3 tons of sand in 1 trip. Needless to say they continued to assembly the pool, the following day the pump was leaking crazy & they had to send 2 different sub- contractors because the fitting were stripped because of being put on wrong. Then they leave and we finally get in our pool and rocks are poking through the bottom so we call Pool City AGAIN, 1 st they said it was something we did...really it was the 1 st time we got in the pool, so the sent another sub-contractor & used a plunger to pull with suction on the rocks on the bottom. I continued to call and they wanted to argue about the problem instead of solving it! Now this summer we go to close it (1 yr old) and their is a 6" slice along the were the walls come together & the bolts are poking through the liner, so I called again & now they are telling me the liner is only cover if damage to seams, but still don't want to fix the problem that stemmed from a yr ago. I feel they should handle it & fix this because it was their error to begin with!!! They hired these sub-contractors..not me, it's their responsibility I've paid over $4000 for this product & expected it to be installed correctly.Desired Settlement: I would like the proper sand amount put in and the liner replaced, I paid for all of this the 1st time and I don't feel that I should have to pay again due to their errors! I paid for 3 tons of sand and might of received 1/2 ton and I paid for a higher grade of liner and now this, the pool was a yr old 6/22/12 was when they actually came to put pool together.

Business

Response:

Mr. [redacted],

I made arrangements to visit the [redacted] home to inspect this complaint. I arrived there this morning and observed the cut in the liner that they are complaining of. It was apparent to me right away that this damage was most likely caused by the ladder coming in contact with the wall seam. The cut is approximately 2 1/2" long with an additional cut of about 3/4-1" right below the larger one. When I informed Mr. [redacted] of my opinion he proceeded to go into a foul mouthed tirade accusing Pool City of being the cause of the cut liner.

It should be noted that last year when the pool was installed and they had issues with the pool, Pool City responded and corrected his problems. It has been over a year since Pool City or any of their agents have been to the [redacted] home. I have no idea how we could be found responsible for this damage. Before I was able to discuss any options that may be available to them I was ordered to leave his property.

It is my professional opinion that the ladder was installed this season tight against the wall seam. The rubbing of the ladder against the liner is most likely the cause of this damage. There is simply no other explanation as to how the cut developed in the liner. I can not find fault or reason for Pool City to provide the [redacted] with their "Desired Settlement".

Pool City Director of Service and Installation

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear in the attached 2 documents.

Regards,

Business

Response:

To be clear on Pool City's position, I still believe that the ladder was the most likely cause of this cut in the liner. I spoke with Mr. [redacted] to hear from him what his opinion was regarding the cut in the liner. We clearly disagreed just as the customer disagrees with my opinion. I see where Mr. [redacted] and Mr. [redacted] quote the [redacted] for a replacement price on the liner. Mr. [redacted] estimate states that there is only a thin layer of Duct tape over the seam of the wall. What Mr. [redacted] could not tell me was what came in contact with the liner to cause the cut in the liner. There needs to be some kind of an abrasive action that would result in the cut that I observed during my visit. I never insulted or was anything but professional in my assessment of this damage. Mr. [redacted] was extremely abusive in a verbal sense. The only comment that he may have taken offense to was when I asked him to speak to me in a civilized tone.

Simply put, I did not offer the words that the [redacted] wanted to hear. I see they are in possession of their contract. If they feel the damage truly was a result of the installation, then I am sure they will find that the installation warranty extends from the contractor for the period of one year from the date of installation. As this was not reported to Pool City until early September 2013 I can only refer them to the original installer.

[redacted], to clarify my comments to Mrs. [redacted], I told her any possibility of a courtesy on Pool City's part was left with the rude behavior of her husband during my visit. I extended an ear upon my arrival at the [redacted] home. I listened to what Mr. [redacted] had to say. I inspected the damaged liner and gave him my opinion. Aside from asking him to speak to me in a civil tone, I never said another word and left when asked to get off his property.

Pool City Director of Service and Installation

Consumer

Response:

Revdex.com, as a reply to Mr. [redacted] response, we had been in contact with Pool City from the first day the pool was installed he can check his records and see that there was a problem from the very get go, and how would we know how many layers of duct tape should be applied. Pool City hired these contractors not us, we are under they assumption they are professionals! There is a store credit still at the West Mifflin store due to all these problems. Mr [redacted] stated he was being professional in coming to see the the pool and stated to my husband what did you do? REALLY! He also stated to Mr. [redacted] that he was not going to replace it and we can get an attorney because he would drag it out as long as he could! Very professional!!! So I'm assuming now we contact our attorney?

Business

Response:

I again bring your attention to the obvious point that when Mrs. [redacted] called us last year we responded by sending out a technician to address their concerns. This past month when they called we again responded to the call. The message I delivered is not what they wanted to hear. I simply asked Mr. [redacted] what did he feel caused the damage just as he had inquired of me. If that is unprofessional, then I am guilty. My conversation with Mr. [redacted] did not go the way it was described by Mrs. [redacted]. Mr. [redacted] did state that he was contacting his lawyer as he (not so politely) asked me to leave his property. I did share that with Mr. [redacted]. The opinion of Mr. [redacted] and Mr. Nichols (her contractors) is incorrect. They are both former contractors of Pool City. I am not sure what their motives are but suffice to say that they do not have the experience and education that I have attained over thirty-six (36) years in this industry. I am confident in my opinion regarding the damage I inspected. Any consideration that I may have offered, as a courtesy, would now be considered an admission of guilt in the [redacted]'s eyes. Unfortunately, Mr. [redacted]'s promptly discharged me from his property before any talk could take place. Pool City is not responsible for this damage.

Pool City Director of Service and Installation

Review: I purchased my pool on May 28th, 2012. Today is July 16 and I still have boxes stacked in my garage with no pool to swim. They keep giving me the excuses as to the rain holding up the schedule. I paid almost $4000.00 for my pool and my kids can't use it. They don't tell you any of this when you purchase the pool. You are at their mercy. They treat the customers horrible. Now, they said we would be installed on July 25th. My response is that I want a full refund. I am waiting on a decision of how they can appease me.Desired Settlement: I either want my pool in and running within the next few days or I want my money back.

Consumer

Response:

Pool City has 3 different contractors that they use. They are not employed by pool city. When you speak with the installer they tell you that you are on their list. If it rains it will back up the list. My sales representative told me today when I was in the store that they have 6 stores and each store sells approximately 250 to 300 pools a summer. If they are using only 3 outside contractors then everyone is waiting.

I do not feel that customer should wait this long and when you inquire they only say that you are on the list.

Business

Response:

The amount of time that has transpired between the date of purchase and installation does appear to be more than we like to see. The fact that we experienced unusually high amounts of rainfall in the month of June surely contributed to this delay. For that matter, the entire amount of rainfall has lead to many delays on installation this season. We are attempting to move this customer's installation date up earlier than was planned. Hopefully we can get it installed today.

Pool City Director of Service and Installation

Check fields!

Write a review of Pool City Inc.

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Pool City Inc. Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS & DESIGN, SWIMMING POOL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES, SWIMMING POOL SERVICE & REPAIR, BILLIARD EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES, FURNITURE-OUTDOOR, HOME THEATER, PATIO EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES, SPAS & HOT TUBS - DEALERS, SAUNA EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES, SWIMMING POOLS- ABOVE GROUND

Address: 5555 Mountain View Dr, West Mifflin, Pennsylvania, United States, 15122

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.shoppoolcity.com


Add contact information for Pool City Inc.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated