Sign in

Rice House

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Rice House? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Chinese Food Rice House

Rice House Reviews (12)

Revdex.com:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.I want to make this very clear, not once have I made one threatening e-mails, I have simple tried to work out the matters regarding my RVAs, for my rv being a Model diesel pusher with only 26,miles, with a value over over $85,000.00This RV, was always kept indoors, until it was in [redacted] rental programThis rv was in great shape before going into the program I never once mentioned to [redacted] that I didn't want the rv properly maintained, as he states in the responseThese repairs should have been done prior to me picking the rv up [redacted] was notified per his agreement days notice to pull rv out and I would be picking the unit up.Not once in the response has [redacted] stated to a settlementAs for sending all correspondence to his attorney, I will be doing the sameIf, this matter is not resolved, this matter will be taken to courtAs for social media, I have that right to use to inform peopleI have not used one slander towards [redacted] or BackRoads Rv, I am simple stating the facts! My final response is to resolve this matter in a timely manner, if not I will seek the court of law.Regards, [redacted]

Please see our responses in ALL CAPSWe rented a Freedom Elite RV from Back Roads RV from 2/12/to 2/21/$was deducted from our returned security deposit for a privacy curtain that we were never informed was stored in an upper cabinet and which we never looked for, happened upon, or touchedWe received only a checkThere was no accounting document included with the checkCUSTOMER IS INCORRECTWHILE IT IS TRUE THAT WE SENT THEIR DAMAGE DEPOSIT BACK IN THE FORM OF A CHECK (AS WE DO WITH ALL OUR RENTERS) ENCLOSED IN THE ENVELOPE WAS A CHECK FOR $WITH A WRITTEN BREAKDOWN OF THE AMOUNT WE CHARGED FOR THE MISSING CURTAINHE WAS INFORMED THAT THE PRIVACY CURTAIN WAS MISSING AT THE TIME THEY RETURNED THE RV.WE LOOKED FOR IT AND CHECKED ON PREVIOUS RENTAL PAPERWORK, AND CHECKED W/ OUR STAFF TO SEE IF THERE WAS ANY POSSIBILITY OF OUR MISTAKING THE MISSING CURTAIN – THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT THE CURTAIN HAD NOT BEEN PRESENT IN THE RV AT DEPARTURE.In addition, we assumed $in additional transportation expense back to Phoenix unnecessarilySee details below under "other complaints with this rental experience." THIS IS UNFOUNDED – THEY DID NOT HAVE TO TAKE THE TAXI THAT WE CALLED FOR THEMOUR POSTED ADVERTISED SATURDAY HOURS ARE AM TO PM, NOT PM AND THEY WERE TO HAVE THE RV BACK BY NOON (WHICH THEY DID) BUT THEN WE CONTACTED THE [redacted] FOR THEM (AS THEY HADEN’T YET) AND WAS TOLD THE SOONEST A [redacted] WOULD BE AVAILABLE WOULD BE OR 3:PMTHEY COULD HAVE ASKED THE TAXI WE CALLED FOR THEM TO LEAVE AND WAITED FOR THE [redacted] .HAD THEY WAITED FOR THE SHUTTLE, THEY WOULD HAVE HAD TO WALK ABOUT FEET OUT TO THE FRONT OF OUR COMPLEX, WITH THEIR LUGGAGE AND WAIT ON THE CURB FOR OVER AN HOUR UNTIL THE SHUTTLE ARRIVEDTHEY WERE NOT FORCED TO TAKE A TAXI.The owner asked about the curtain at the end of the return inspection, stating that he always points out the curtain location in the initial walk-throughWe do not remember any mention of the curtain during the initial inspectionWhen we asked about whether he would be deducting for it, he told us in his smiling, soft-spoken manner that we would lose only about $We then inspected all spaces and lifted all cushions in the unit thinking the curtain might have been misplaced or fallen under a cushion in the prep processThe owner left the unit while we did thisWhen we returned to the office without the curtain, the office gal said “When you get home and find the curtain, give us a call.” [redacted] brought our largest piece of luggage into the office, opened it, and began lifting its contents out for her inspectionThe gal spun her back to the suitcase and stated that she refused to go through the luggage with usThe owner was not in the office at this pointThe exchange became emotional as the office gal, with an air of sarcastic incredulousness, found it necessary to take issue with our minimalist style of camping, including the fact that we would not find it absolutely necessary to use the curtain(We never felt exposed or inappropriately revealing as there was a privacy curtain around the bed and a solid door to the bathroom, and our personal preferences are for a sense of open airiness.) After inquiring and being told that we had a wonderful vacation when we first arrived, she also sarcastically stated "i'm sorry if you didn't have a good vacation." I (THE OFFICE GAL) WAS THE ONE WHO ASKED HIS WIFE TO LEAVE THE OFFICE – SHE WAS DISUPTIVE AND I HAD PHONE CALLS TO MAKE AND A PHONE TO ANSWER – WHEN SHE REFUSED – AFTER SEVERAL REQUESTS, WE CHOSE TO CALL THE POLICE – THIS IS OUR RIGHT AS A BUSINESS OPERATOR..The owner then returned to the office from the back room and demanded that [redacted] leave his office or he would call the policeInitially [redacted] refused and he disappeared again to call the policeThe police Event # is [redacted] Eventually [redacted] decided to sit on the hot sidewalk outside the office as there was no bench or perch of any kind to use insteadThe owner then exited the building from a different door holding a cell phone to his ear and walked out of sight behind the building, we assume to cancel his call to the policeWe left when an arranged taxi arrivedTHIS WAS WHEN WE CANCELLED THE POLICE – AFTER THEY HAD DEPARTED .See details below under "other complaints with this rental experience." On 2/26/15, [redacted] called Back Roads RV to inform them that we never found the curtainOther complaints with this rental experience include: 1.The solid sliding door to the tub jammed after the owner demonstrated it to us in the initial inspection and cautioned us to always lock it in place for travelAs a result we could not bath or shower or use the tub for storage during the period of our rental2.When we first arrived to return the unit, the gal seemed surprised that we hadn’t already made arrangements for the $shuttle back to Phoenix and offered to call it for usWe had purposely not made these arrangements because we didn’t know how much time the return of the unit would takeWe agreed to let her call for usHowever, because the shuttle would not be arriving until around pm, and without first discussing this fact with us, she booked a private taxi which cost us $We then learned from exchanges between the owner/operator and his office gal that, because we were not leaving as quickly as expected, the gal would be missing a shower she had planned on attending at pmCOMPLETELY IRRELEVANT GIVEN THAT WE CLOSE AT PM AND WHETHER I LEFT OR NOT, THE OWNER WAS STAYING UNTIL PM We had been given a handout when we picked up the unit on 2/12/Item #on this handout states "No walkthroughs after pm(unless arranged in advance)." We arrived at 11:on 2/21/We were never informed of the need to accommodate a shower party at pm on the 21st WELL THIS IS JUST PROOF THAT THEY DO NOT READ OR COMPREHEND THEIR PAPERWORK OR CONTRACT WIH USOUR POSTED HOURS OF OPERATION ARE 9AM TO PM WEEKEDAYS AND 10AM TO 2PM SATURDAYSTHE NO WALK THROUGHS AFTER 4PM HAS TO DO WITH DEPARTURES NOT RETURNSTHEY WERE TO BE BACK WITH THE RV NO LATER THAN NOON ON THE SATURDAY THE 22nd OF FEBRUARY AND THEY WERE RIGHT AT NOON AS WE SAID.3.The oven and some dishes were soiled when we received the unitWe didn’t identify this until we started using the RVCompany failed to provide written explanation of curtain charge with partial security deposit returnThe company has unethical collection practicesCustomer service personnel demonstrated inappropriate behaviorWhen [redacted] indicated she had a gluten allergy and would be cooking regularly in the RV, the office gal agreed to provide a griddle and colander that are not normally part of the kitchen packageThe griddle was providedThe colander was missedIn general and based on our former experience, the kitchen package was extremely limitedIt is our opinion that Back Roads RV routinely engages in unfair and adversarial practices with their customers, and wonder if these practices more frequently affect customers who are not localOur reasons for these opinions are: 1.When we first arrived to pick up the RV, the office gal informed us that we would have to purchase an additional insurance rider because the documents we had faxed were not adequateWe paid for the additional rider but wondered why this had not been necessary when we rented a similar unit in Alaska under the same personal auto insurance policyMR [redacted] WAS REPEATEDLY INFORMED OF THE NEED FOR INSURANCE AND IN FACT WE CALLED HIS AGENT HIS AGENT’S ASSISTANT INFORMED ME THAT “MR [redacted] JUST DOESN’T WANT TO PAY FOR THE ADDITIONAL INSURANCE” WE HAVE NO CONTROL OVER THE REQUIREMENTS OF OUR INSURANCE COMPANY AND WE COMPLY WITH THESE REQUIREMENTS In these exchanges, the office gal offered her observations about “what the public is capable of” and that “the nicest people often turn out to be the worst” with a surprising attitude of familiarity2.The owner was consistently smiling and soft spoken during the initial inspection of the unit and repeatedly apologized for having to spend our time in this way since “we were such experienced campers and certainly not in need of a 1-hour tutorial, but it was his insurance carrier that required it.” Having rented many different vehicles, apartments, and equipment over the years, we knew from the outset that there was something different about this experience and that the unit would be very closely scrutinized upon returnWe spent a whole afternoon the day prior to its return cleaning and packing our personal belongingsThe only objects not packed were some water bottles and our GPS on the front console, and some perishable food in the frig that we intended to take with usAs soon as we entered the unit after the exterior inspection, the owner identified the objects on the console, projecting the attitude that we were just like all the other campers who did not clean out their returned unitsHowever, to us it is extremely notable that early in the controversy over the curtain, the office gal stated that “we obviously didn’t misuse the unitIt is obviously in good shape.” We left the premises when the taxi arrived WE DO NOT BEGIN OUR RETURN INSPECTION OF THE UNIT UNTIL ALL PERSONAL BELONGINGS ARE REMOVED AS STATED MR AND MRS [redacted] ARRIVED AT NOON AND IT TOOK THEM OVER MINUTES TO CLEAN OUT THE UNIT SO THAT WE COULD DO OUR INSPECTION.THEY WERE PROVIDED WITH AN INVOICE FOR THE PRIVACY CURTAIN WITH THEIR DAMAGE DEPOSIT REFUND WHICH WAS RETURNED WITHIN THE ALLOTTED TIME – NOTHING THAT WE DID WAS CONTRARY TO THEIR CONTRACT REGARDING THE COLANDAR; HAD THEY BROUGHT THE ISSUE OF A COLANDER TO OUR ATTENTION DURING THE RENTAL WE WOULD HAVE AUTHORIZED THEM TO PICK ONE UP AT A DOLLAR STORE AND WE WOULD HAVE REIMBURSED THEM – THIS IS THE FIRST WE HEARD ABOUT IT.IT HAS TAKEN THEM OVER MONTHS TO LODGE THIS COMPLAINT AND MR [redacted] ’S PARTING WORDS TO ME IN OUR LOBBY WERE“I APOLOGIZE FOR MY WIFE’S BEHAVIOR – SHE GETS A LITTLE EMOTIONAL SOME TIMES”

Contact Name and Title: [redacted] Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: [redacted] @gmail.com One of our managers by the name of [redacted] has refunded the amount of $in cash back to the customer on 9-17-

To Whom It May Concern:Thank you for informing us of this complaintWe are very sorry that Mr [redacted] is unhappy but please allow me to respond and fill in the rest of the storyBack Roads RV is an RV Rental business that provides private RV owners an opportunity to enjoin us and put their RV in our rental poolWe then rent them to the public and attempt to make the RV owner some money to offset the enormous expense of ownership and in some cases storage fees (as we store them FREE)Mr [redacted] has obviously not read his agreement between himself and our business (RV Bailment and Agency Agreement attached)He has also been very threatening and has said (see below) that he will do what he can to damage our businessWhen he first dropped his RV off with us it needed repairs before we could rent it outWe fronted the cost of repairs to it and other things that we needed to do before we could rent it to the publicWe eventually reimbursed ourselves for these repairs out of rental proceeds as our written agreement with him states we will doBecause Mr [redacted] ***’s RV is large (Class A Diesel) it was at the highest of our rental rates and as such it didn’t rent as often as some of our lessor expensive RV's Consequently he requested to end our agreement with him prematurely (it clearly states that it is a year agreement) We gave him the option of terminating the agreement immediately or taking advantage of two other scheduled rentals that would bring him income to cover outstanding balance and leave quite a bit of revenueWe preferred to honor the rentals be were willing to release him without the full noticeHe agreed to leave the RV and we completed the rental and sent him a large check for his share of the incomeNow over two weeks later this complaint appearedHe picked his RV up on March 20, and I went through it with him and he signed off on the final departure sheet( copy attached)He was not rushed through his checkout with me and if anyone was in a hurry to get going it was heAdditionally, the unit has been in HIS possession since the 20th of March and yet his threatening e-mail comes in days laterIf these issues had been raised immediately upon removal from our program they might carry more weight, but we have no control over what Mr [redacted] did or did not do since that timeThe next item in his letter has to do with the fuses that were removed so that rental customers could not use the hydraulic leveling jacksI told him we did that because we do not allow our renters to use them(Most RV's don’t have them and they can be easily damaged) It simply needed the $fuse put back in the holderRegarding the water pumpI was not told about it and obviously if the water pump for the RV sinks and toilet has failed again it would have been replaced at no charge by us if we had been given the opportunityAs for him not receiving a receipt, our Agreement does not require us to provide the owners with copies of receiptsThey receive a detailed monthly statement from us and are free to call and ask questions if they have anyI did leave two (2) phone messages for Mr [redacted] where I stated that once he brought the RV back in for the door panel we would address these items and that there was no cause for threatsApparently his response was to contact you – but ne neglected to mention this in his complaintI quite frankly do not know about the bathroom door but as for the volt lights inside and oil changes etcPlease understand that this RV is an year old RV that has been subjected to years of sitting outside in the hot Arizona sun and as such there were a lot of things that were simply dry rotted and our written agreement states that we can take care of these things and bill the owner back for our expensesHad he left the RV in our care they would have been addressed, at his costKeep in mind that Mr [redacted] did not see these items on his final walkthrough with usAs for maintenance items like oil changes we can front the costs for same but we do reimburse ourselves the cost of doing soOur agreement simply states that we will rent the RV to the public for the owner, store it for FREE and split the rental income with the owner 50/We cover all the costs of operating a business such as employee's wages, taxes, advertising, lot rent, etcout of our halfAnd, we front all the costs for insurance, repair and maintenance so the Owner is never out of pocket to usAs our agreement states, we have the right to reimburse ourselves the costs for insurance, repair and maintenance itemsMr [redacted] had made it clear to us prior to picking up the RV that he did not want us spending any additional money on the unit since he was taking it out of the rental pool For this reason, we did not perform the oil change or make any of the small, referenced repairsWe would be glad to do the oil and filter change and change out his dry rotted interior light lenses that our shop taped, but he needs to reimburse us for those repairs and now he apparently already paid someone else to replace themMy final comment regarding Mr [redacted] is that I have and will copy my attorneys with all of his correspondence and social media attempts to damage my businessShould I loose even one rental or incur any cost as a result of his slander he will see me in a court of lawSincerely, [redacted] Back Roads RV Rentals###-###-#### EMAIL FROM [redacted] 4-9-***,I have had several issues with my rv, since I picked it from from your companyI was not given adequate amount of time to go over the rv properFor one, the fuses were out of the slides and leveling systemOne of my statements in Nov your company charged me $plus labor $40.00, the water pump does not work, I just had to have that fixedThe bathroom door was broken in several places, two of the overhead light covers are broken and was clear tap to hold them together.The inside door panel was broke, still waiting for the door panel you charged me forI have had the rv inspected from a rv dealer, the oil needed to be changed, air filter needed to be replacedI want to get theses matters handled in a timely manner and would like to resolve thisPlease get back to me on resolving these above stated issuesThank you, [redacted] 4-10-***, I will also notify a couple news stations and take to social media, regarding your company [redacted] From my Android phone on T-MobileThe first nationwide 4G network-------- Original message -------- From: [redacted] Date: 04/10/9:AM (GMT-07:00) To: ***[redacted] [email protected]: Re: A-PROBLEMS Good Morning ***,I contacted [redacted] industries when I got in this morning and spoke with ***He had originally told me the door panel would be shipped to him in about weeksThat was on Mar19th Then he was to ship it to usObviously we haven't received it yet so he is looking into it and said he would get back with meI told him I need it as soon as possibleI will let you know as soon as I know, [redacted] -----Original Message----- From: [redacted] To: smartrving < [redacted] > Sent: Thu, Apr 9, 1:pm Subject: A-PROBLEMS Don, I have had several issues with my rv, since I picked it from from your companyI was not given adequate amount of time to go over the rv properFor one, the fuses were out of the slides and leveling systemOne of my statements in Nov your company charged me $plus labor $40.00, the water pump does not work, I just had to have that fixedThe bathroom door was broken in several places, two of the overhead light covers are broken and was clear tap to hold them togetherThe inside door panel was broke, still waiting for the door panel you charged me forI have had the rv inspected from a rv dealer, the oil needed to be changed, air filter needed to be replacedI want to get theses matters handled in a timely manner and would like to resolve thisPlease get back to me on resolving these above stated issuesThank you, [redacted] -----Original Message-----From: smartrving < [redacted] >To: smartrving < [redacted] >Sent: Sat, Apr 11, 11:amSubject: Revdex.com [redacted] ***Sent: 4/11/2:02:AM From: Revdex.com To: [redacted] Subject: Send Dispute to Business This complaint requires action on your partAfter reading this message - click here to view your optionsThis message originally read on 4/11/Revdex.com Serving Central, Northern and Western Arizona N12th Street, Phoenix AZ WGurley Street, Prescott AZ W16th Street, Suite 205, Yuma AZ ###-###-#### | ###-###-#### | ###-###-#### arizonaRevdex.com.org4/11/ [redacted] Back Roads RV Rentals N Dysart Rd, LOT B El Mirage AZ Dear [redacted] : Revdex.com of Central, Northern and Western Arizona (Revdex.com) recognizes that a loyal customer base is valuable and would like to call your attention to correspondence from one of your customers who has contacted Revdex.com for assistanceWe have assigned the following complaint ID# : [redacted] for reference purposesPlease realize Revdex.com does not judge the validity of issues presented by a consumer; we understand that there are two sides to every disputeAs part of its mission, Revdex.com assists businesses and consumers by opening lines of communication with the facilitation of disputes, and providing company reports to summarize how a company resolves any issues that may ariseOur hopes are that you will recognize this Revdex.com service as a positive effortOur intent is to be of assistance only to the extent that we may accomplish a fair and reasonable resolveAt this time, we request you review the issues presented and consider how the matter can be addressed and/or resolvedPlease provide Revdex.com with a written response within calendar days of the date of this letter, advising of the position your company will takeIf you prefer, the customer may be contacted directly to resolve this matter, in which case Revdex.com requests notification of the outcomePlease understand that the consumer's complaint and your response may be publicly posted on the Revdex.com websitePlease do not include any information that personally identifies your customerRevdex.com may edit the complaint or your response to remove personally identifiable information or inappropriate languageIf you received this complaint via email simply click on the “ Submit a Response”, link located on the left, when you are ready to respondYou may also send your response to [email protected], or by mail or fax to ###-###-####To learn more about Revdex.com's Dispute Resolution process, visit [redacted] Please contact us if you feel you have received this letter in error

As I mentioned yesterday I hope this back and forth communication doesnt turn into a continual never ending process and just a name calling contest that will serve no ones best interestHopefully my reply to the claimants last response will be the end of itAs my reply's have indicated we really need to refer to our written agreement with Mr [redacted] and most if not all the questions and concerns will be answeredMr [redacted] joined our commercial pool of rental RV's in July of He signed a year agreement that can only be canceled prematurely with a written request days prior to the date he wishes to terminateHe didnt do that, he called and said he wanted to take his RVI told him that we had a Very Good rental on the books that would generate quite a bit of money for him if he would let us honor the two rentals that collectively would be about days He Ok'd itAlso to set the record straight, his RV is years oldBefore we could send his RV out on it's first rental (July 2014) we had to (front the cost ) for a new awningAll the vinyl was dry rotted Sun rotted, and flakingWith that said we took the cost for same out of his first proceed check and he still netted $ So much for his statement that his RV had been was stored indoors In fact he has netted $3,in the months that he was with us (after any expenses inclcommercial insurance)What he is not acknowledging is that we rent RV's out to individuals and we try to generate income for both ourselves and the RV owner ( [redacted] ) as we do all the work and we split the RV rental income with the ownerWe do not wrap the RV's in cotton balls and stand guard over them each dayWe send statements to each RV owner who participates with us about days after the completion of the preceding monthOn those statements we outline any income or expenses we incurred on the part of each RV that is privately ownedNow for his statement that he didnt have the proper time to go over the RV the day he came to get itNot my problemHe could have spent all day here if he wishedIf something was found on that day we could have addressed it immediatelyHe opted to check it over, sign off and leaveThen over two weeks later he contact you and complained We have absolutely no control over what may or may not have happened to the RV over that two week periodI do specifically want mention the leveling jack fuse he found missingAs he has repeatedly been told we DO NOT LET RENTERS USE THE POWER LEVELING JACKS and we simply pull the fuse outOur shop personel were told to prep the RV for departure before [redacted] came to get it (they didnt know [redacted] was picking it up permanently) so they didnt pop the fuse in its holderAs I stated in my first reply it is a simple fuse and there was a reason it had been taken outOur mistake, SorryIn conclusion I have agreed to order the plastic inner entry door panel as it was crackingProblem is I ordered it from [redacted] industries(***) and unfortunately [redacted] didnt order it when he said he didI have stayed in touch with him and have all the reciprocating emails to prove it but the inner door liner has finally been ordered and [redacted] from [redacted] Industries apologized all over himself fo forgetting to order it from the manufacture of the door panel in the first place As for any other items he mentioned in his claimAs I stated in my first responseMaintenance items such as oil changes etc are typically ***e by us and billed to the owner of the RVIn light of the circumstances and because he wanted the RV back as soon as possible and because (as I understand) he either works at or owns a small car dealership I assumed he could have the needed oil change ***e for a lot less than what I would do it for as we hire a service to come out and change all our oil so they can capture all the old drain oilBut it's pretty expensive (relatively) and we would have taken the cost for it out of his last proceed check anywayAs for anything else he speaks of we will do nothing else for him and when the door panel comes in I will contact him to come pick it up but he can install it himselfOnce again I suggest he read our contract(Attached to previous response) ***Back Roads RV Rentals###-###-####

Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/12/21) */
If she is dissatisfied with the order, I can give her a customer creditI am not sure why she did not receive oneI am not sure who helped her out, but she can come up here and we can give her a replacement meal or a customer credit to our
restaurant

Contact Name and Title: [redacted]
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: [redacted]@gmail.com
One of our managers by the name of [redacted] has refunded the amount of $23.08 in cash back to the customer on 9-17-15.

Please see our responses in ALL CAPSWe rented a Freedom Elite RV from Back Roads RV from 2/12/15 to 2/21/15. $24.99 was deducted from our returned security deposit for a privacy curtain that we were never informed was stored in an upper cabinet and which we never looked for, happened upon, or...

touched. We received only a check. There was no accounting document included with the check. CUSTOMER IS INCORRECT. WHILE IT IS TRUE THAT WE SENT THEIR DAMAGE DEPOSIT BACK IN THE FORM OF A CHECK (AS WE DO WITH ALL OUR RENTERS)…. ENCLOSED IN THE ENVELOPE WAS A CHECK FOR $475.99 WITH A WRITTEN BREAKDOWN OF THE AMOUNT WE CHARGED FOR THE MISSING CURTAIN. HE WAS INFORMED THAT THE PRIVACY CURTAIN WAS MISSING AT THE TIME THEY RETURNED THE RV.WE LOOKED FOR IT AND CHECKED ON PREVIOUS RENTAL PAPERWORK, AND CHECKED W/ OUR STAFF TO SEE IF THERE WAS ANY POSSIBILITY OF OUR MISTAKING THE MISSING CURTAIN – THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT THE CURTAIN HAD NOT BEEN PRESENT IN THE RV AT DEPARTURE.In addition, we assumed $30.84 in additional transportation expense back to Phoenix unnecessarily. See details below under "other complaints with this rental experience." THIS IS UNFOUNDED – THEY DID NOT HAVE TO TAKE THE TAXI THAT WE CALLED FOR THEM. OUR POSTED ADVERTISED SATURDAY HOURS ARE 10 AM TO 2 PM, NOT 4 PM AND THEY WERE TO HAVE THE RV BACK BY 12 NOON (WHICH THEY DID) BUT THEN WE CONTACTED THE [redacted] FOR THEM (AS THEY HADEN’T YET) AND WAS TOLD THE SOONEST A [redacted] WOULD BE AVAILABLE WOULD BE 3 OR 3:30 PM. THEY COULD HAVE ASKED THE TAXI WE CALLED FOR THEM TO LEAVE AND WAITED FOR THE [redacted] .HAD THEY WAITED FOR THE SHUTTLE, THEY WOULD HAVE HAD TO WALK ABOUT 1000 FEET OUT TO THE FRONT OF OUR COMPLEX, WITH THEIR LUGGAGE AND WAIT ON THE CURB FOR OVER AN HOUR UNTIL THE SHUTTLE ARRIVED. THEY WERE NOT FORCED TO TAKE A TAXI.The owner asked about the curtain at the end of the return inspection, stating that he always points out the curtain location in the initial walk-through. We do not remember any mention of the curtain during the initial inspection. When we asked about whether he would be deducting for it, he told us in his smiling, soft-spoken manner that we would lose only about $30. We then inspected all spaces and lifted all cushions in the unit thinking the curtain might have been misplaced or fallen under a cushion in the prep process. The owner left the unit while we did this. When we returned to the office without the curtain, the office gal said “When you get home and find the curtain, give us a call.” [redacted] brought our largest piece of luggage into the office, opened it, and began lifting its contents out for her inspection. The gal spun her back to the suitcase and stated that she refused to go through the luggage with us. The owner was not in the office at this point. The exchange became emotional as the office gal, with an air of sarcastic incredulousness, found it necessary to take issue with our minimalist style of camping, including the fact that we would not find it absolutely necessary to use the curtain. (We never felt exposed or inappropriately revealing as there was a privacy curtain around the bed and a solid door to the bathroom, and our personal preferences are for a sense of open airiness.) After inquiring and being told that we had a wonderful vacation when we first arrived, she also sarcastically stated "i'm sorry if you didn't have a good vacation." I (THE OFFICE GAL) WAS THE ONE WHO ASKED HIS WIFE TO LEAVE THE OFFICE – SHE WAS DISUPTIVE AND I HAD PHONE CALLS TO MAKE AND A PHONE TO ANSWER – WHEN SHE REFUSED – AFTER SEVERAL REQUESTS, WE CHOSE TO CALL THE POLICE – THIS IS OUR RIGHT AS A BUSINESS OPERATOR..The owner then returned to the office from the back room and demanded that [redacted] leave his office or he would call the police. Initially [redacted] refused and he disappeared again to call the police. The police Event # is [redacted]. Eventually [redacted] decided to sit on the hot sidewalk outside the office as there was no bench or perch of any kind to use instead. The owner then exited the building from a different door holding a cell phone to his ear and walked out of sight behind the building, we assume to cancel his call to the police. We left when an arranged taxi arrived. THIS WAS WHEN WE CANCELLED THE POLICE – AFTER THEY HAD DEPARTED .See details below under "other complaints with this rental experience." On 2/26/15, [redacted] called Back Roads RV to inform them that we never found the curtain. Other complaints with this rental experience include: 1.The solid sliding door to the tub jammed after the owner demonstrated it to us in the initial inspection and cautioned us to always lock it in place for travel. As a result we could not bath or shower or use the tub for storage during the period of our rental. 2.When we first arrived to return the unit, the gal seemed surprised that we hadn’t already made arrangements for the $38 shuttle back to Phoenix and offered to call it for us. We had purposely not made these arrangements because we didn’t know how much time the return of the unit would take. We agreed to let her call for us. However, because the shuttle would not be arriving until around 3 pm, and without first discussing this fact with us, she booked a private taxi which cost us $79.84. We then learned from exchanges between the owner/operator and his office gal that, because we were not leaving as quickly as expected, the gal would be missing a shower she had planned on attending at 1 pm. COMPLETELY IRRELEVANT GIVEN THAT WE CLOSE AT 2 PM AND WHETHER I LEFT OR NOT, THE OWNER WAS STAYING UNTIL 2 PM We had been given a handout when we picked up the unit on 2/12/15. Item #6 on this handout states "No walkthroughs after 4 pm. (unless arranged in advance)." We arrived at 11:45 on 2/21/15. We were never informed of the need to accommodate a shower party at 1 pm on the 21st.  WELL THIS IS JUST PROOF THAT THEY DO NOT READ OR COMPREHEND THEIR PAPERWORK OR CONTRACT WIH US. OUR POSTED HOURS OF OPERATION ARE 9AM TO 5 PM WEEKEDAYS AND 10AM TO 2PM SATURDAYS. THE NO WALK THROUGHS AFTER 4PM HAS TO DO WITH DEPARTURES NOT RETURNS. THEY WERE TO BE BACK WITH THE RV NO LATER THAN NOON ON THE SATURDAY THE 22nd OF FEBRUARY AND THEY WERE RIGHT AT NOON AS WE SAID.3.The oven and some dishes were soiled when we received the unit. We didn’t identify this until we started using the RV. 4. Company failed to provide written explanation of curtain charge with partial security deposit return. 5. The company has unethical collection practices. 6. Customer service personnel demonstrated inappropriate behavior. 7. When [redacted] indicated she had a gluten allergy and would be cooking regularly in the RV, the office gal agreed to provide a griddle and colander that are not normally part of the kitchen package. The griddle was provided. The colander was missed. In general and based on our former experience, the kitchen package was extremely limited. It is our opinion that Back Roads RV routinely engages in unfair and adversarial practices with their customers, and wonder if these practices more frequently affect customers who are not local. Our reasons for these opinions are: 1.When we first arrived to pick up the RV, the office gal informed us that we would have to purchase an additional insurance rider because the documents we had faxed were not adequate. We paid for the additional rider but wondered why this had not been necessary when we rented a similar unit in Alaska under the same personal auto insurance policy. MR [redacted] WAS REPEATEDLY INFORMED OF THE NEED FOR INSURANCE AND IN FACT WE CALLED HIS AGENT.  HIS AGENT’S ASSISTANT INFORMED ME THAT “MR [redacted] JUST DOESN’T WANT TO PAY FOR THE ADDITIONAL INSURANCE” WE HAVE NO CONTROL OVER THE REQUIREMENTS OF OUR INSURANCE COMPANY AND WE COMPLY WITH THESE REQUIREMENTS In these exchanges, the office gal offered her observations about “what the public is capable of” and that “the nicest people often turn out to be the worst” with a surprising attitude of familiarity. 2.The owner was consistently smiling and soft spoken during the initial inspection of the unit and repeatedly apologized for having to spend our time in this way since “we were such experienced campers and certainly not in need of a 1-hour tutorial, but it was his insurance carrier that required it.” Having rented many different vehicles, apartments, and equipment over the years, we knew from the outset that there was something different about this experience and that the unit would be very closely scrutinized upon return. We spent a whole afternoon the day prior to its return cleaning and packing our personal belongings. The only objects not packed were some water bottles and our GPS on the front console, and some perishable food in the frig that we intended to take with us. As soon as we entered the unit after the exterior inspection, the owner identified the objects on the console, projecting the attitude that we were just like all the other campers who did not clean out their returned units. However, to us it is extremely notable that early in the controversy over the curtain, the office gal stated that “we obviously didn’t misuse the unit. It is obviously in good shape.” We left the premises when the taxi arrived.  WE DO NOT BEGIN OUR RETURN INSPECTION OF THE UNIT UNTIL ALL PERSONAL BELONGINGS ARE REMOVED.  AS STATED MR AND MRS [redacted] ARRIVED AT NOON AND IT TOOK THEM OVER 30 MINUTES TO CLEAN OUT THE UNIT SO THAT WE COULD DO OUR INSPECTION.THEY WERE PROVIDED WITH AN INVOICE FOR THE PRIVACY CURTAIN WITH THEIR DAMAGE DEPOSIT REFUND WHICH WAS RETURNED WITHIN THE ALLOTTED TIME – NOTHING THAT WE DID WAS CONTRARY TO THEIR CONTRACT.  REGARDING THE COLANDAR; HAD THEY BROUGHT THE ISSUE OF A COLANDER TO OUR ATTENTION DURING THE RENTAL WE WOULD HAVE AUTHORIZED THEM TO PICK ONE UP AT A DOLLAR STORE AND WE WOULD HAVE REIMBURSED THEM – THIS IS THE FIRST WE HEARD ABOUT IT.IT HAS TAKEN THEM OVER 2 MONTHS TO LODGE THIS COMPLAINT AND MR. [redacted]’S PARTING WORDS TO ME IN OUR LOBBY WERE.. “I APOLOGIZE FOR MY WIFE’S BEHAVIOR – SHE GETS A LITTLE EMOTIONAL SOME TIMES”

To Whom It May Concern:Thank you for informing us of this complaint. We are very sorry that Mr. [redacted] is unhappy but please allow me to respond and fill in the rest of the story. Back Roads RV is an RV Rental business that provides private RV owners an opportunity to enjoin us and put their RV in...

our rental pool. We then rent them to the public and attempt to make the RV owner some money to offset the enormous expense of ownership and in some cases storage fees (as we store them FREE). Mr. [redacted] has obviously not read his agreement between himself and our business (RV Bailment and Agency Agreement attached). He has also been very threatening and has said (see below) that he will do what he can to damage our business. When he first dropped his RV off with us it needed repairs before we could rent it out. We fronted the cost of repairs to it and other things that we needed to do before we could rent it to the public. We eventually reimbursed ourselves for these repairs out of rental proceeds as our written agreement with him states we will do. Because Mr. [redacted]’s RV is large (Class A Diesel) it was at the highest of our rental rates and as such it didn’t rent as often as some of our lessor expensive RV's . Consequently he requested to end our agreement with him prematurely (it clearly states that it is a 1 year agreement) We gave him the option of terminating the agreement immediately or taking advantage of two other scheduled rentals that would bring him income to cover outstanding balance and leave quite a bit of revenue. We preferred to honor the rentals be were willing to release him without the full notice. He agreed to leave the RV and we completed the rental and sent him a large check for his share of the income. Now over two weeks later this complaint appeared. He picked his RV up on March 20, 2015 and I went through it with him and he signed off on the final departure sheet( copy attached). He was not rushed through his checkout with me and if anyone was in a hurry to get going it was he. Additionally, the unit has been in HIS possession since the 20th of March and yet his threatening e-mail comes in 20 days later. If these issues had been raised immediately upon removal from our program they might carry more weight, but we have no control over what Mr. [redacted] did or did not do since that time. The next item in his letter has to do with the fuses that were removed so that rental customers could not use the hydraulic leveling jacks. I told him we did that because we do not allow our renters to use them.... (Most RV's don’t have them and they can be easily damaged) It simply needed the $039 fuse put back in the holder. Regarding the water pump. I was not told about it and obviously if the water pump for the RV sinks and toilet has failed again it would have been replaced at no charge by us if we had been given the opportunity. As for him not receiving a receipt, our Agreement does not require us to provide the owners with copies of receipts. They receive a detailed monthly statement from us and are free to call and ask questions if they have any. I did leave two (2) phone messages for Mr. [redacted] where I stated that once he brought the RV back in for the door panel we would address these items and that there was no cause for threats. Apparently his response was to contact you – but ne neglected to mention this in his complaint. I quite frankly do not know about the bathroom door but as for the 12 volt lights inside and oil changes etc.... Please understand that this RV is an 8 year old RV that has been subjected to years of sitting outside in the hot Arizona sun and as such there were a lot of things that were simply dry rotted and our written agreement states that we can take care of these things and bill the owner back for our expenses. Had he left the RV in our care they would have been addressed, at his cost. Keep in mind that Mr. [redacted] did not see these items on his final walkthrough with us. As for maintenance items like oil changes we can front the costs for same but we do reimburse ourselves the cost of doing so. Our agreement simply states that we will rent the RV to the public for the owner, store it for FREE and split the rental income with the owner 50/50. We cover all the costs of operating a business such as employee's wages, taxes, advertising, lot rent, etc. out of our half. And, we front all the costs for insurance, normal repair and maintenance so the Owner is never out of pocket to us. As our agreement states, we have the right to reimburse ourselves the costs for insurance, normal repair and maintenance items. Mr. [redacted] had made it clear to us prior to picking up the RV that he did not want us spending any additional money on the unit since he was taking it out of the rental pool For this reason, we did not perform the oil change or make any of the small, referenced repairs. We would be glad to do the oil and filter change and change out his dry rotted interior light lenses that our shop taped, but he needs to reimburse us for those repairs and now he apparently already paid someone else to replace them.. My final comment regarding Mr. [redacted] is that I have and will copy my attorneys with all of his correspondence and social media attempts to damage my business. Should I loose even one rental or incur any cost as a result of his slander he will see me in a court of law. Sincerely,[redacted] Back Roads RV Rentals###-###-#### EMAIL FROM [redacted] 4-9-15 [redacted],I have had several issues with my rv, since I picked it from from your company. I was not given adequate amount of time to go over the rv proper. For one, the fuses were out of the slides and leveling system. One of my statements in Nov 2014 your company charged me $122.90 plus labor $40.00, the water pump does not work, I just had to have that fixed. The bathroom door was broken in several places, two of the overhead light covers are broken and was clear tap to hold them together.The inside door panel was broke, still waiting for the door panel you charged me for. I have had the rv inspected from a rv dealer, the oil needed to be changed, air filter needed to be replaced. I want to get theses matters handled in a timely manner and would like to resolve this. Please get back to me on resolving these above stated issues. Thank you, [redacted] 4-10-[redacted], I will also notify a couple news stations and take to social media, regarding your company. [redacted] From my Android phone on T-Mobile. The first nationwide 4G network. -------- Original message -------- From: [redacted]Date: 04/10/2015 9:32 AM (GMT-07:00) To: [redacted].[redacted][email protected]: Re: A-3 PROBLEMS Good Morning [redacted],I contacted [redacted] industries when I got in this morning and spoke with [redacted]. He had originally told me the door panel would be shipped to him in about 2 weeks. That was on Mar. 19th Then he was to ship it to us.. Obviously we haven't received it yet so he is looking into it and said he would get back with me. I told him I need it as soon as possible. I will let you know as soon as I know, [redacted] -----Original Message----- From: [redacted] <[redacted].[redacted][email protected]> To: smartrving <[redacted]> Sent: Thu, Apr 9, 2015 1:47 pm Subject: A-3 PROBLEMS Don, I have had several issues with my rv, since I picked it from from your company. I was not given adequate amount of time to go over the rv proper. For one, the fuses were out of the slides and leveling system. One of my statements in Nov 2014 your company charged me $122.90 plus labor $40.00, the water pump does not work, I just had to have that fixed. The bathroom door was broken in several places, two of the overhead light covers are broken and was clear tap to hold them together. The inside door panel was broke, still waiting for the door panel you charged me for. I have had the rv inspected from a rv dealer, the oil needed to be changed, air filter needed to be replaced. I want to get theses matters handled in a timely manner and would like to resolve this. Please get back to me on resolving these above stated issues. Thank you, [redacted] -----Original Message-----From: smartrving <[redacted]>To: smartrving <[redacted]>Sent: Sat, Apr 11, 2015 11:50 amSubject: Revdex.com [redacted]Sent: 4/11/2015 2:02:07 AM From: Revdex.com To: [redacted] Subject: Send Dispute to Business This complaint requires action on your part. After reading this message - click here to view your options. This message originally read on 4/11/2015 Revdex.com Serving Central, Northern and Western Arizona 4428 N. 12th Street, Phoenix AZ 85014 1569 W. Gurley Street, Prescott AZ 86305 350 W. 16th Street, Suite 205, Yuma AZ 85364 ###-###-#### | ###-###-#### | ###-###-#### arizonaRevdex.com.org4/11/2015 [redacted] Back Roads RV Rentals 8628 N Dysart Rd, LOT B El Mirage AZ 85335 Dear [redacted]: Revdex.com of Central, Northern and Western Arizona (Revdex.com) recognizes that a loyal customer base is valuable and would like to call your attention to correspondence from one of your customers who has contacted Revdex.com for assistance. We have assigned the following complaint ID# : [redacted] for reference purposes. Please realize Revdex.com does not judge the validity of issues presented by a consumer; we understand that there are two sides to every dispute. As part of its mission, Revdex.com assists businesses and consumers by opening lines of communication with the facilitation of disputes, and providing company reports to summarize how a company resolves any issues that may arise. Our hopes are that you will recognize this Revdex.com service as a positive effort. Our intent is to be of assistance only to the extent that we may accomplish a fair and reasonable resolve. At this time, we request you review the issues presented and consider how the matter can be addressed and/or resolved. Please provide Revdex.com with a written response within 7 calendar days of the date of this letter, advising of the position your company will take. If you prefer, the customer may be contacted directly to resolve this matter, in which case Revdex.com requests notification of the outcome. Please understand that the consumer's complaint and your response may be publicly posted on the Revdex.com website. Please do not include any information that personally identifies your customer. Revdex.com may edit the complaint or your response to remove personally identifiable information or inappropriate language. If you received this complaint via email simply click on the “ Submit a Response”, link located on the left, when you are ready to respond. You may also send your response to [email protected], or by mail or fax to ###-###-####. To learn more about Revdex.com's Dispute Resolution process, visit [redacted]. Please contact us if you feel you have received this letter in error.

Revdex.com:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.I want to make this very clear, not once have I made one threatening e-mails, I have simple tried to work out the matters regarding my RV. As, for my rv being a 2006 Model diesel pusher with only 26,000 miles, with a value over over $85,000.00This RV, was always kept indoors, until it was in [redacted] rental program. This rv was in great shape before going into the program.  I never once mentioned to [redacted] that I didn't want the rv properly maintained, as he states in the response. These repairs should have been done prior to me picking the rv up. [redacted] was notified per his agreement 30 days notice to pull rv out and I would be picking the unit up.Not once in the response has [redacted] stated to a settlement. As for sending all correspondence to his attorney, I will be doing the same. If, this matter is not resolved, this matter will be taken to court. As for social media, I have that right to use to inform people. I have not used one slander towards [redacted] or BackRoads Rv, I am simple stating the facts! My final response is to resolve this matter in a timely manner, if not I will seek the court of law.Regards,[redacted]

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
The response from the Back Roads RV IS NOT ACCEPTABLE.We arrived at 11:45 a.m. as stated. It absolutely DID NOT take 30 minutes to remove our GPS and water bottle from the front console, a handful of refrigerated items from The REFRIGERATOR, and 2 to 3 pieces of luggage from the exterior storage compartment.  This process did not take even the better part of 30 minutes.If [redacted] can be criticized for her emotional response to the circumstances, the behavior of the office gal MUST BE RECOGNIZED AS NO LESS EMOTIONAL. HER BEHAVIOR WAS DISTINCTLY AGGRAVATING AND HER SARCASM ABSOLUTELY OBJECTIONABLE AND BELITTLING. It also must be recognized that the owner/operator of the business appeared to be deliberately absent during all the exchanges that took place with the office gal. He was present only to conduct the walk through of the unit and to tell [redacted] to leave the office. In the end, we feel we experienced deliberate good guy-bad guy style of operation.We are owed the claimed $66.83 because we never received the privacy curtain and we were denied the opportunity to demonstrate that we did not have the curtain in our luggage. In addition, the office gal was extremely presumptuous in booking the more expensive private cab without first discussing the circumstances with us or the cost with us.  As stated in the original complaint, we came to realize our transaction was interfering with a personal social event that she planned to attend at 1 pm that afternoon.  None of our information indicates we are beyond the acceptable complaint period. We were on vacation for a full month. We returned to tax time, the need to catch up with our personal business, and needs of our personal day to day life.Back Roads RV does not conduct business in an ethical manner or businesslike manner. THE BUYING PUBLIC NEEDS TO HAVE ACCESS TO OUR FULL COMPLAINT INCLUDING THIS RESPONSE to evaluate whether Back Roads RV is the business for them! 
Regards,
[redacted] & [redacted]

As I mentioned yesterday I hope this back and forth communication doesnt turn into a continual never ending process and just a name calling contest that will serve no ones best interest. Hopefully my reply to the claimants last response will be the end of it. As my reply's have indicated we really need to refer to our written agreement with Mr. [redacted] and most if not all the questions and concerns will be answered. Mr. [redacted] joined our commercial pool of rental RV's in July of 2014. He signed a 1 year agreement that can only be canceled prematurely with a written request 30 days prior to the date he wishes to terminate. He didnt do that, he called and said he wanted to take his RV. I told him that we had a Very Good rental on the books that would generate quite a bit of money for him if he would let us honor the two rentals that collectively would be about 30 days.  He Ok'd it. Also to set the record straight, his RV is 9 years old. Before we could send his RV out on it's first rental (July 2014) we had to (front the cost ) for a new awning. All the vinyl was dry rotted Sun rotted, and flaking. With that said we took the cost for same out of his first proceed check and he still netted $893.58.  So much for his statement that his RV had been was stored indoors.  In fact he has netted $3,646.95 in the 8  months that he was with us (after any expenses incl. commercial insurance). What he is not acknowledging is that we rent RV's out to individuals and we try to generate income for both ourselves and the RV owner ([redacted]) as we do all the work and we split the RV rental income with the owner. We do not wrap the RV's  in cotton balls and stand guard over them each day. We send statements to each RV owner who participates with us about 15 days after the completion of the preceding month. On those statements we outline any income or expenses we incurred on the part of each RV that is privately owned. Now for his statement that he didnt have the proper time to go over the RV the day he came to get it. Not my problem. He could have spent all day here if he wished. If something was found on that day we could have addressed it immediately. He opted to check it over, sign off and leave.... Then over two weeks later he contact you and complained.  We have absolutely no control over what may or may not have happened to the RV over that two week period. I do specifically want mention the leveling jack fuse he found missing. As he has repeatedly been told we DO NOT LET RENTERS USE THE POWER LEVELING JACKS and we simply pull the fuse out. Our shop personel were told to prep the RV for departure before [redacted] came to get it (they didnt know [redacted] was picking it up permanently) so they didnt pop the fuse in its holder.. As I stated in my first reply it is a simple .39 fuse and there was a reason it had been taken out..... Our mistake, Sorry. In conclusion I have agreed to order the plastic inner entry door panel as it was cracking. Problem is I ordered it from [redacted] industries. ([redacted]) and unfortunately [redacted] didnt order it when he said he did. I have stayed in touch with him and have all the reciprocating emails to prove it but the inner door liner has finally been ordered and [redacted] from [redacted] Industries apologized all over himself fo forgetting to order it from the manufacture of the door panel in the first place.  As for any other items he mentioned in his claim.... As I stated in my first response. Maintenance items such as oil changes etc are typically [redacted]e by us and billed to the owner of the RV. In light of the circumstances and because he wanted the RV back as soon as possible and because (as I understand) he either works at or owns a small car dealership I assumed he could have the needed oil change [redacted]e for a lot less than what I would do it for as we hire a service to come out and change all our oil so they can capture all the old drain oil. But it's pretty expensive (relatively) and we would have taken the cost for it out of his last proceed check anyway. As for anything else he speaks of we will do nothing else for him and when the door panel comes in I will contact him to come pick it up but he can install it himself. Once again I suggest he read our contract................... (Attached to previous response) [redacted]Back Roads RV Rentals###-###-####

Check fields!

Write a review of Rice House

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Rice House Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 8438 N Lindbergh Blvd, Florissant, Missouri, United States, 63031-7136

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.ricehousestl.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Rice House, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Rice House

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated