Write a review Sign In

Sharp Energy

GAS-PROPANE

Have you had any experience with this company? Share it by adding a review!
Start page > GAS-PROPANE > Sharp Energy
Add Review

Sharp Energy Reviews (12)

Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer8612735 time 03.05.2018

As she stated, we responded to the smell of propane.  We determined there was no leak, however we did determine there were minor traces of CO (carbon monoxide).  We shut off her furnace and her propane tanks and "red tagged" the system.  She was told this by our technician.I...

have no idea why she is complaining. I have no idea what the $99.95 is for. We even credited the service call of $179.00There is nothing more we are doing on this matter.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer8306434 time 16.04.2018

Hi [redacted], I reviewed this complaint that Mr. John Rodenbaugh had...

submitted and have found that the company sent a refund check to him back on September 24, 2015 for the amount of $150.30.  Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns. Thank you, [redacted] Customer Experience Manager


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer6706162 time 04.04.2018

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
Its interesting that you even received an unprofessional response.  Perhaps it's lack of training or education in terms of customer service.  It's disappointing.  I would ask the company president if he approves of an ignorant response too.
Regards,


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Alison Rodriguez time 06.01.2018

The most unethical company in the business,we are on a one salary fixed income and had to drop their automatic refill, because they were filling the 500 gallon tank every 2 weeks for gas that we didn't need .So we now call as we need ,with this period of cold weather the gas was used faster than usual,so today when I call them with an emergency ,because we are out of gas ,they told us that they don't make emergency calls to customers that aren't on the auto refill and that best that they could do would be a week from today,so we stand here with no heat,hot water or stove .Not very ethical!


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Anonymous time 19.01.2018

The same exact thing happened to me as well. I had to wait a whole week until they filled my tanks up. I couldn't cook and my son and I both suffered. The only differences between our story is I had a 1,300 dollar credit at the time.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Alison Rodriguez time 12.01.2018

A week later and still NO GAS! amazing customer service!


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer598547

Review: With the having 2 mild winters, being a 60+ year old conservative consumer on a limited income with health issues (fighting cancer), it appears that I did not use/purchase a sufficient amount of product. (yet to know what that is). I was given this extra large tank, which I did not want because of the cost to fill it, stating that there were NO smaller tanks available at that time. This year I was charged rent on the tank, with no communication (like a "just a reminder") from Sharp (expect a bill) calls to the office to find ways to resolve this, like smaller tank, payment arrangement, amount required to eliminate rental fee etc fell on unconcerned staff. They then came out and picked up their tank (Wintertime) which still had 130 gals of, paid for, propane in it. They then charged me 120.00 past due rent ( with no time frame on rental period),$139.00 pick up fee/propane removal fee and stated that they ([redacted] do not refund propane. My Complaint 1) lack of communication with customers and unwillingness to provide customer service/needs 2) waiting until winter to take my heat source ( for rental fee) 3) refusing to refund balance of paid product after deduction of fees and/or sending me a paper statement with the break down, stating that this not company policy to do soDesired Settlement: Refund of paid propane and partial rental fee Investigation of fair customer service practices and more transparent disclosures.

Business

Response:

1/20/2014 Complaint # [redacted] account was reviewed and the decision was made to give her a refund for the propane that was in the tank. [redacted] was contacted and was satisfied with the decision. Thank you, [redacted] Customer Experience Manager Sharp Energy

Sent on: 1/20/2014 4:16:01 PM

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer598543

Review: We’re a small church with a regular attendance of about 15 people, including children. Sharp filled our 500-gallon above-ground tank on Oct 22, 2014. They were gracious to allow us to make monthly payments of $250 on the $721 bill. After making 2 payments, our 13-year old heating system broke. We spent $1,600 to fix it, but it wasn’t repairable and it wasn’t refundable. We spent another $1,800 to convert over to an all-electric system. In December, I called Sharp to let them know that we no longer needed the LP gas and tank. The tank read 65% full at that time. They told me to NOT pay the last payment on the bill and that they would schedule to have the tank picked up. I called Sharp at the end of January 2015 to inquire about our account because the only paperwork I had received was 3 late payment notices for the payment they told me NOT to pay. Sharp had closed the account, but never sent a final statement until I asked for one. The statement shows that they credited our account for 300 gallons of LP on Jan 12, 2015. It also shows a $705 service charge to remove the tank and close the account. That $705 is the difference between the gas credited and the amount they told us NOT to pay. Sharp then explained that it isn’t their policy to issue a refund for gas left in the tank. I asked what they did with our 300 gallons of LP? They replied that they resold it to their other customers. We planned to use the refund we didn’t get from Sharp to pay toward our other unexpected recent expenses.Desired Settlement: Refund difference in the value of the gas picked up and the amount of the last payment that we were told NOT to pay.

Business

Response:

Business Response to a Complaint [redacted] was contacted and was advise that he would be receiving a refund of $405.73. Mr. [redacted] is satisfied with the refund. Sent on: 2/18/2015 9:12:54 AM

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer598534

Review: I'm a new homeowner; my customer experience has been very disappointing. It'd be much easier if I had a utility provider that genuinely cared for the safety of myself and my kids. I called in on Sunday, November 15th concerned about a possible propane leak. I was told someone would come in the morning, so I took off from work. No one came by 11am, so I called the office I was told I would get a call to confirm. I didn't get a call until I was at a doctor's appt. This is completely unacceptable, an evening emergency call would be handled with more care. The president delegated my complaint, to the Dover, DE Operations Manager, which was handled even more poorly than all my previous interactions. The call follow-up call on Tuesday, November 24th, we haven't been able to stay at my residence. So, I really don't appreciate being blown off, especially after learning that the technician didn't communicate that there was a carbon monoxide leak identified. I am disgusted by his arrogance and lack of professionalism with handling my concern. Offering to perform a complimentary leak check, how does that help the situation?

Business

Response:

As she stated, we responded to the smell of propane. We determined there was no leak, however we did determine there were minor traces of CO (carbon monoxide). We shut off her furnace and her propane tanks and "red tagged" the system. She was told this by our technician.I have no idea why she is complaining. I have no idea what the $99.95 is for. We even credited the service call of $179.00There is nothing more we are doing on this matter.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer598541

Review: We cancelled service in August 2013. Had already paid for procap price. Did not get any propane this season. We are on the budget plan and have made two payments thus far. We have a large balance due us and they will NOT give us our money until they receive tanks. Tanks are empty now and awaiting pickup. We called last Friday the 13th and was told they would be picked up on Monday the 16th. Thursday the 19th we just called again and was told it would be "next week" before they can be picked up. This is unethical, cavalier, uncaring, arbitrary, and just plain wrong for a company to do this to I believe only us. They also informed us it would be "about 4-6 weeks" for a refund to be issued. If I took 4-6 weeks to pay my bill, I would be in constant arrears and subject to financial penalty.Desired Settlement: Refund delivered to house, its OK to give it to the driver who picks up the tanks.

Business

Response:

[redacted] received a refund of $316.05.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer598545

Review: I have a vacation home in Ocean View, De. The house is heated by electricity and has a supplemental propane tank. I have an automatic delivery system with Sharp Energy for the propane. When I am not in the home, which is most of the winter months, I set the heat to 50 degrees. This obviously saves me money and conserves energy. To my surprise, I received a bill for $120 from Sharp for "Tank Rental." When I called to inquire, I was told that I had not used enough propane in 2013, so they are charging me for the tank (please note that this tank is probably 10 years old.)

As I mentioned above, I am on automatic delivery. When I asked why they did not delivery propane in December 2013, so I could avoid this charge, I was told that my tank was not at the "delivery level."

With all the emphasis on energy conservation, and all the money that we know energy companies make, do they really have to charge customers for conserving energy?Desired Settlement: I think that this practice should end and my money should be refunded.

Business

Response:

Good afternoon,

I received this complaint from [redacted] and I contacted the customer on May 27, 2014 to let her know that after reviewing the her account that she should not have been charged the $120.00 tank fee.

[redacted] did receive a refund check of $120.00. Please contact me with any questions or concerns.

Thank you,

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer598539

Review: This is in reference to the Sharp Energy- Georgetown office.

When I request a delivery of propane I am always overcharged. This is understandable given the nature of the business.

What is not understandable is that the over payment is considered a credit. The credit, according to an individual I spoke to on the phone from the Georgetown office, stated it is never applied to my account. This amount will only accumulate as I order propane. I was told the money would be returned after I stopped being a customer, or if I write in and ask for it back. This overpayment should be applied to the account or returned automatically, not kept and have to ask in writing for it back. Every bill I have, if I overpay it is applied to my account or returned except for this company.

I am in the process of writing my request to get my overpayment returned to me.Desired Settlement: Change of policy to more mainstream practices. Apply any credits toward the next purchase or refund the credits to the name holder on the account.

Business

Response:

Hi [redacted], I reviewed this complaint that Mr. John Rodenbaugh had submitted and have found that the company sent a refund check to him back on September 24, 2015 for the amount of $150.30. Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns. Thank you, [redacted] Customer Experience Manager


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Check fields!

Submit Review

Satisfaction rating:

Sharp Energy rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Category: GAS-PROPANE

Address: 520 Commerce St, Salisbury, MD, 21804-5046

Website: http://sharpenergy.com/

137 people are currently seeking Sharp Energy contact information.