Sign in

Specialized Refinishing Co.

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Specialized Refinishing Co.? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Bathtub Refinishing Specialized Refinishing Co.

Specialized Refinishing Co. Reviews (4)

Specialized Refinishing don't stick with their warranty policy, it's been almost 4 months, they didn't come back to fix the problem.Specialized Refinishing won my business by promising that they would stand behind what they do. We had the kitchen sink repaired (a crack was filled) and refinished in Feb. 2015, and immediately after the work was done, the crack appeared again. They promised that the crack would be fixed "ASAP". I have called the owner countless times; he always told us that someone would arrive to do the repair, yet his workers never showed up, due to other jobs, so they would reschedule us on a later date. And we never heard from him again until I called. He promised to get the job done by the end of the week many times, and it never happened. Most recently, I called the owner last Thursday (06/11) demanding that he give us a date. He told me to email him, so that he could give us a heads up on the schedules on last Friday (06/12) which I did, after which I still did not receive a call from him. I emailed him again on 06/15 and 06/16, and I called him on Tuesday afternoon of June 16, and again he promised to come in on Thursday, and he would email me the schedule. Today I have called him 5 times, left a message, and I also emailed him, and he didn't respond to any of them. We have been super patient with him, and I can't stand it anymore.Desired SettlementI would like to have the repair done or receive a refund. I have spent so much time writing emails and calling him for help, and I am sick and tired of waiting for him to call us back and give us these false promises. Business Response Contact Name and Title: [redacted], OwnerContact Phone: [redacted]Contact Email:[redacted]This is all very untrue and unfair to my company that I received this complaint. This is a rental property and she told me that the tenants would be off work for several weeks and that repair needed to be done by this Friday. Below is her email to me on June 11th and I promised her that the repair would be done by this Friday. She left this negative review yesterday on Wednesday. We agreed to have this done by Friday. She is on the schedule to have this repair completed by the end of the week and it will be completed as planned.I have answered every phone call from her and told her over and over again that it will be done by Friday. I am not always in the office to return my emails promptly but I always answer my phone.I am baffled at why she would leave this complaint 3 days before the end of the week. Here is her email:[redacted], Just a reminder that we would like to have the repair done sometime next week. The address is [redacted]. Thank you!Consumer Response The owner sent the technician to perform the repair, so far everything is fine.Final Consumer Response

Complaint[redacted] did a resurfacing job on our master shower that has not held up after only several months after completion. We are unhappy with the job.The resurfacing of a large master tiled shower was done in March of 2014. The product was pitched as lasting for 20 years if the proper cleaning products were used. After 2 months, the grout lines were breaking down and the floor was rough and hard to clean. [redacted] sold the job to us and he did come back once after several attempts to have him come. He gave us some caulk to fill in cracks. The surface does not appear sealed and clean looking as promised and overall is difficult to clean using the recommended products. We are very sorry we used this service and have no idea what can be done to remedy the appearance of the shower at this point.Desired SettlementI believe that we were misled as to the outcome of having our shower resurfaced. I would like to be refunded the $1300. we paid to have this very unsatisfactory process of resurfacing applied to our shower. It does not look good and we will have to replace the tile with new tile to make it look the way it should. The shower is no better with having done the resurfacing than it was before the resurfacing.Business Response Contact Name and Title: [redacted]Contact Phone: [redacted]Contact Email: [redacted]This job came out perfect and she was completely satisfied with everything before we left. When she called a couple of months later she said there was a couple of places that needed touching up. We put her on the schedule and went out and fixed all the issues that she had. I gave her some Polyseam Seal caulk in case she ever needed to recaulk anything. Caulking does have to be redone from time to time and that is why we gave it to her.She has not tried to contact us and this email that I received from the Revdex.com is the first I have heard of her being unhappy. I stand behind my work and materials a 100% and give a lifetime warranty on everything that we do.Consumer Response [redacted] did not fix the issues when he eventually came back several months later. He gave us the caulk and told us to fix the grout ourselves. I did contact him again after that and told him how unhappy we were with the results. The resurfacing work is not holding up and the guarantee is worthless. We were not told that touching up from time to time would be necessary before contracting the resurfacing job in the shower. I would not recommend the resurfacing of tile to anyone. It does not hold up. The brochure says that we would never have to deal with dirty grout lines again. What a joke! It's only been a few months and I dread every time I have to clean the shower. I was told a simple wiping down would be all that was needed to clean the tile after resurfacing. Mildew or cracking grout lines is what I am left with. The job looked good initially, very smelly process however while doing the work. It was several months after when things started to deteriorate. Gentle cleaning products need to be used and they don't attend to the build up of mildew and grime. The floor especially seems to hold the grime. I again caution anyone reading this to not buy into resurfacing. This has been a very disappointing and costly experience for us.Final Business Response If you have mildew and grime as you stated in your last reply that is out of our control. This happens from not having proper air circulation in the bathroom or from not keeping it clean. Again as I stated we stand behind our work and materials a 100% and if you are having any problems with are craftsmanship or materials we will come back out and these issues for you. The caulking that we gave you was for if you needed to do any recaulking in the future.

Work completed was very inferior quality. After 1 month of corresponding with owner to correct issues, concerns have still not been resolved.I am writing in regards to the work that was completed in two bathrooms of my home on 9-19-14. When we originally arranged the appointment, I was verbally told that the owner of the company would be present on all jobs the company completes. This was also stated in the company's pamphlet, as well as in an email from the owner on 7-16-14. Not only was this not the case, but I was also informed by the company's employees that they had recently been "turned loose" and that the owner would not be accompanying them to my home. Furthermore, the owner had also indicated that I needed to be present on the morning that the work was to be completed in order to approve the colors for my showers. This was after I had been told that I would need to come to the company's physical location in Raleigh, despite the fact that the email from 7-16-14 indicated that "we can also set up a time for me to come by and show you samples." When the employees arrived on 9-19-14, I asked to see the color before it was applied. I was then told that not only did they not have an actual sample, but that the paint would look different on the walls of the shower. There was also not a clear understanding regarding responsibility for the replacement of the hardware and spigots in the showers. Upon examination of bathroom #1, I was very concerned to note that there were large portions of overspray on the window in this bathroom. Additionally, painters' tape held a protective paper barrier in place on the wall above the shower. The employees left this barrier on the bathroom walls, indicating that it needed to remain in place until the overspray had completely dried. On 9-21-14, I attempted to gently remove approximately 6 inches of the barrier from the wall. I immediately stopped removing it when paint from the bathroom wall peeled and stuck to the underside of the tape. Issues were also found in bathroom #2. A portion of the linen closet door was covered with a barrier, and the section of the door that was not protected is covered with large sections of overspray. The linen closet door is two different colors and textures. Tape marks are also visible on this door (where tape on the barrier was removed from the covered portion of the door.) There is overspray on this bathroom's window, the mirror on the back of the bathroom door, and 2 doorknobs in the bathroom. Once again, the employees left the paper barrier stuck to the walls and ceiling above the bathtub. When I began to remove a small section of the tape used to hold the barrier in place, I noted that the tape was peeling off portions of the textured paint from the ceiling in the bathroom. On the 3 walls of tile in this bathroom, there are obvious paint strokes on the tiles. Fingerprints are also visible in this paint. There are several small, chipped sections in the tiles and places in the grout (between the tiles) that need to be filled in. I originally contacted the owner of the company by email on 9-21-14 to discuss these concerns. After numerous emails and phone calls, it was scheduled for the employees to come to my house on 9-27 to complete the work. No one came to my house and no one contacted me. Again, after numerous conversations, I was given the choice of having the work completed on 10-11 or 10-12. On 10-2-14, I responded that the work could be completed on 10-11 and requested that the owner confirm that date and a time. Since that correspondence, I have received NO communication from the owner and the work has not been completed or repaired as of today (10-13-14). Unfortunately, I paid the employees in full upon completion of the initial work on 9-19 (via personal check for $1900). Desired SettlementConsumer is requesting that the OWNER of the company correct the problems with the initial work completed. Additionally, consumer is requesting that damage done during the refinishing process also be repaired. Issues that the consumer is requesting to be completed include: overspray to be removed from 2 bathroom windows, linen closet door, mirror in bathroom, and 2 doorknobs in bathroom. Additionally, consumer is requesting that paint be replaced on bathroom walls, ceilings, and linen closet door (in bathroom) due to damage done while company employees completed initial work. Furthermore, there are visible paint strokes in tiles, 3 visible fingerprints in paint, and visible tape marks on the side of the bathtub that need to be removed and repaired accordingly. There are also several small, chipped sections in tiles and places in grout (between the tiles) that need to be filled in. Business Response Contact Name and Title: [redacted]Contact Phone: [redacted]Contact Email: [redacted]I have had multiple conversations with her prior to my emails on 10/2/14 regarding this and explaining to her that we would take care of any issues that she has. I also explained to her that we covered everything in the bathrooms and exhausted all the fumes and over spray with a commercial grade exhauster but if overspray got on anything that we would take care of it for her. I even offered to touch up the paint that came off her walls and ceiling that we had no control over. This is one of those customers that no matter what you do they are not going to be happy. She has not called once since my last email on 10/2/14 and at this point I am willing to mail her a check within reason to cover any issues she has.I never verbally told her that I would personally be on this job site. As far as colors and finishes go, everyone comes to our office and sits down with me so I can go over all the different options and finishes in detail with the customer. Some people pick the colors out online if they do not wish to come by. I never told her that she could pick the colors the morning of. I do not put anyone on the schedule until they have confirmed the colors.The reason we had to leave the paper above each unit is because the popcorn ceiling and paint in each bathroom was coming off the wall and it would off fallen into the finish of the tubs. I only stock blue painters tape to minimize this from happening. I explain to all my customers that we have to tape on the walls and they might have some touch up to do. We have no control over the quality of the paint job on the walls and ceiling prior to us coming. If you do not use a good primer before you paint this is going to happen.Consumer Response Per the response of the owner of the company, the consumer has had an estimate prepared by another company to repair/clean/repaint the bathrooms in the complaint. These refinishing issues will cost $575 to correct (covers the repair of the failing coating, cleaning and prepping of sites and refinishing the tub cosmetically). Additionally, the replacement of the screens, resurfacing of the door, ceiling repair, and cleaning of the residual overspray from the remaining bathroom fixtures/framework by a painter will cost $600. In his response, the company owner has offered to make this right by paying for the above cited corrective measures. The consumer is requesting a check for $1175 to correct the problems with the initial work (including the damages done by the employees of the owner during the process) and complete the job.Consumer Response Per the response of the owner of the company, the consumer has had an estimate prepared by another company to repair/clean/repaint the bathrooms in the complaint. These refinishing issues will cost $575 to correct (covers the repair of the failing coating, cleaning and prepping of sites and refinishing the tub cosmetically). Additionally, the replacement of the screens, resurfacing of the door, ceiling repair, and cleaning of the residual overspray from the remaining bathroom fixtures/framework by a painter will cost $600. In his response, the company owner has offered to make this right by paying for the above cited corrective measures. The consumer is requesting a check for $1175 to correct the problems with the initial work (including the damages done by the employees of the owner during the process) and complete the job.Business Response Please provide a copy of the estimates for me to review. Thank youConsumer Response Per the response of the owner of the company, the consumer has had an estimate prepared by another company to repair/clean/repaint the bathrooms in the complaint. These refinishing issues will cost $575 to correct (covers the repair of the failing coating, cleaning and prepping of sites and refinishing the tub cosmetically). Additionally, the replacement of the screens, resurfacing of the door, ceiling repair, and cleaning of the residual overspray from the remaining bathroom fixtures/framework by a painter will cost $600. In his response, the company owner has offered to make this right by paying for the above cited corrective measures. The consumer is requesting a check for $1175 to correct the problems with the initial work (including the damages done by the employees of the owner during the process) and complete the job.Consumer Response Per the response of the owner of the company, the consumer has had an estimate prepared by another company to repair/clean/repaint the bathrooms in the complaint. These refinishing issues will cost $575 to correct (covers the repair of the failing coating, cleaning and prepping of sites and refinishing the tub cosmetically). Additionally, the replacement of the screens, resurfacing of the door, ceiling repair, and cleaning of the residual overspray from the remaining bathroom fixtures/framework by a painter will cost $600. In his response, the company owner has offered to make this right by paying for the above cited corrective measures. The consumer is requesting a check for $1175 to correct the problems with the initial work (including the damages done by the employees of the owner during the process) and complete the job.Business Response Please provide a copy of the estimates for me to review. Thank youConsumer Response I am submitting pictures that the owner has been sent via text messaging at owner's request. The response was "Perfect . I do understand your issues and please send any other pictures you can. I will call you tomorrow to set up a time to take care of these issues." Owner did not do so.Here is breakdown of estimates that owner requested.First Bathroom--Remove overspray from mirror on wall, 2 door handles, 2 door hinges. Will require paint thinner, clean up and labor $45.00 Note: May need to replace hardware and wall mirror if can not be cleaned to original appearance.--Remove overspray from window, cleaning and labor $25.00--Replace screen in window damaged by overspray. Company that put in replacement windows informed us that screens could not be cleaned. $20.00--Sand overspray on bathroom door, prep, paint door and walls so that all interior surface paints match. Will require paint and labor $150.00 --Prep ceiling, paint and labor $150.00 We have not had any problems with ceilings prior to work. If your employees were not going to be able to work around a blown ceiling, we should have been made aware of that before they began the work. Second Bathroom--Remove overspray from window, cleaning and labor $25.00--Remove and replace screen from window, cleaning and labor damaged by overspray. Company that put in replacement windows informed us that screens could not be cleaned. $20.00--Prep wall, paint and labor. Professional paint company info states "there's no reason to invest a lot of time and effort in removing wallpaper before painting your walls. Removing wallpaper, especially if its been on walls for years can cause unexpected damage to your walls." Company provides specific instructions on prepping wall before painting including primer to use. Bathroom was painted specifically as recommended per company. We have not had any problems with paint on walls prior to the work performed by this company. $90.00--Prep ceiling and labor $75.00 . We have not had problems with ceilings prior to work. If your employees were not able to work around a blown ceiling, we should have been made aware of that before they began the work. -- Resurface of tub including the removal of the failed coating, reclean and reprep entire surface. Will require mask, paper, resurfacing material (primer and topcoats). $575.00 Company owner offered to make this right by paying for the above cited corrective measures and requested an estimate of prices provided. The consumer is requesting a check for $1175.00 to correct problems with the initial work which includes the damages done by the employees of the owner during the process and completion of the job. Owner indicated per response that he never told me that he would personally be on our job site. Although owner did not verbally confirm that he would be on-site, he did state in an email " please keep in mind that I am the owner and I am personally on every job site" dated 7/16/2014. Owner also wrote " once I give you pricing we can set up a time for me to come by and show you samples if you like" dated 7/11/2014. Owner has never been to my home to see the job; not before the work nor after these problems. I have had numerous repairmen in my home over the years including window replacements, roofers and contractors adding a deck. No issues with any company that has completed work for us previously have occurred.

Hired company to re glaze tub & shower. Trash in glaze on tub , can see repair on shower wall, acetone was spilled in second bath and floor ruinedHired Company to reglaze 2 tubs and showers Owner came out on 7-16-2014 to do work. Hall bath was completed and he tried to do Old master bath. There was a problem with sheet rock so he could not re glaze.Some how acid was spilled on floor in old master bath and a large white spot caused by spilled acetone is on brown tile floor.Called owner told him of problems and he said he would take care of any issues when he came back to complete job.And asked to be paid for what he had don. I, unfortunately, paid him for what he had done assuming, he would honor his word. [redacted] made a appointment to come by on 7-28 after 5 pm , he did not show nor did he call. I have emailed and called [redacted] (the owner) several times and he refuses to return my messages or get in touch with me. I am self-employed also and would never treat a customer with this disrespect Check [redacted] $800.00Desired SettlementI want debris out of glaze of tub and shower repair re done and my floor repaired or replacedCase Closed SATISFIED 2014-08-07The issues has been resolved!! Thank you for your help. [redacted]

Check fields!

Write a review of Specialized Refinishing

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit your review

Specialized Refinishing Co. Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Bathtub and Sink Repair Companies, Tile Restoration, Bathtub Refinishers

Address: 3608 S Wilmington St, Raleigh, North Carolina, United States, 27603-3564

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with Specialized Refinishing.



Add contact information for Specialized Refinishing Co.

Add new contacts
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated