Sign in

The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain

The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain Reviews (16)

[redacted] [redacted] Good afternoon, I am writing to respond to the recent Revdex.com complain we receivedI have attached different documents that were emailed to Mr [redacted] confirming the cancellation window as well as suggesting trip insurance as an optionAlthough he did not cancel within the day cancellation window, Lindsey L [redacted] our director of Revenue Management did already offer a stay credit for the guest to use this amount of money he already deposited within the remaining calendar year of which is over and above our legal requirement, yet we felt we wanted to extend this offer to him as a good will gestureI also support Lindsey L***’s decision and stand by the option we have offered to Mr***Although weather can seem like an uncontrollable challenge, this is why we offer the trip insurance option, as we are located in an area that received hundreds of inches of snow each year, this is a system that we have developed that is very similar to the other Starwood properties in the mountain areas of Colorado as well, which are also SPG participating hotels in the same umbrellaPlease let me know if you have any questions or concerns.MARK H***Director of RoomsTHE WESTIN RIVERFRONT RESORT & SPA AT BEAVER CREEK MOUNTAIN Riverfront Lane, PO Box 9690, Avon, CO usT F M

Complaint: [redacted] I am rejecting this response because I never received the email they had sent to me advising me to get travel insuranceEven if I did, it'd be too late to get travel insurance because they claimed to have sent out that email to me Jan 2016, and I had made my reservation on 6/4/(and purchased my air ticket a week after that)The initial trip payment date would be June and many travel insurance policies would not accept payment this close to my travel date (Jan 23, 2016)The first email confirmation I received on 6/4/upon making my hotel confirmation does not bear the travel insurance reminderI can send you a copy if you'd like to read it.I am also rejecting this response because there are no non-stop flights from NY to Vail, Colorodo through the end of Dec (which is when the stay credit has been offered through)So it'd be a major inconvenience for me to get there just to stay for a night or twoInterestingly, no explanation was offered on why the stay has to be charged in full a month before our arrival dayWhy the rush to get the money? Regards, [redacted] ***

Complaint: [redacted] I am rejecting this response because his summary of the situation is falseI did not seek to get different responses from different associatesI asked the same question and was given conflicting informationThe response is also different from the initial response that I received, which indicated that he would make some effort to seek an amenable resolutionI am not satisfied with the way this manner was addressed at all Regards, [redacted]

Mr. ***, Thank you for your reply. We also provide detailed information on the actual Westin.com and SPG.com booking platforms that fully outline the cancellation periods. I know it is a bit different from the average hotels, but the other Westin resorts (St. Regis Aspen, Sheraton Mountain Vista Avon, Westin Snowmass, as well as Sheraton Steamboat) all offer very similar cancellation windows during the ski season. It seems many other Starwood resort properties have developed similar systems over the recent years, and it's certainly not our intention to confuse or frustrate our guests. We would still be happy to offer a stay credit for you. You mentioned you might not be able to make it do to non-stop flight patterns the remaining portion of the year, is there another time that would be better for you to re-book for this stay credit that I can check for you? Trip insurance is certainly a great option which we offer when making the reservation, but our system is very similar to when people book non-refundable airline tickets online, they have a certain time period where they can modify the tickets (generally the first 24 hours for airlines) and after that it is nonrefundable as it is pre-paid. Our hotel rates are similar to this, however we allow all the way up until 30 days in advance of our winter season to make any charges, or completely cancel for a full refund prior to charging the credit card deposit. I just pulled straight from our website for a sample booking that I typed in for mid-march to see the exact wording. (obviously room rates and stay dates are different than your case, but this is the example of what it says when you actually booked the reservation. Cancellation Policy (my example just now from website, very similar to yours when you booked last summer with different dates and $ amounts). If you cancel between 02/16/2016 and 4:00 PM hotel time on 02/19/2016, there will be no forfeiture amount. If you cancel after 4:00 PM hotel time on 02/19/2016, the forfeiture amount will be 100 percent. There may be additional applicable charges and taxes. Rate Plan Description: See Terms & Details Link For Cancellation Policy. GTD/Deposit Policy: USD $2,634.35 deposit is due on 02/19/2016 and will be charged to the credit card provided. Please note that any charge in your reservation may charge the rate and/or require payment of cancellation fees.

Mr***, Thank you for your replyWe also provide detailed information on the actual Westin.com and SPG.com booking platforms that fully outline the cancellation periodsI know it is a bit different from the average hotels, but the other Westin resorts (StRegis Aspen, Sheraton Mountain Vista Avon, Westin Snowmass, as well as Sheraton Steamboat) all offer very similar cancellation windows during the ski seasonIt seems many other Starwood resort properties have developed similar systems over the recent years, and it's certainly not our intention to confuse or frustrate our guestsWe would still be happy to offer a stay credit for youYou mentioned you might not be able to make it do to non-stop flight patterns the remaining portion of the year, is there another time that would be better for you to re-book for this stay credit that I can check for you? Trip insurance is certainly a great option which we offer when making the reservation, but our system is very similar to when people book non-refundable airline tickets online, they have a certain time period where they can modify the tickets (generally the first hours for airlines) and after that it is nonrefundable as it is pre-paidOur hotel rates are similar to this, however we allow all the way up until days in advance of our winter season to make any charges, or completely cancel for a full refund prior to charging the credit card depositI just pulled straight from our website for a sample booking that I typed in for mid-march to see the exact wording(obviously room rates and stay dates are different than your case, but this is the example of what it says when you actually booked the reservationCancellation Policy (my example just now from website, very similar to yours when you booked last summer with different dates and $ amounts)If you cancel between 02/16/and 4:PM hotel time on 02/19/2016, there will be no forfeiture amountIf you cancel after 4:PM hotel time on 02/19/2016, the forfeiture amount will be percentThere may be additional applicable charges and taxes.Rate Plan Description: See Terms & Details Link For Cancellation Policy.GTD/Deposit Policy: USD $2,deposit is due on 02/19/and will be charged to the credit card providedPlease note that any charge in your reservation may charge the rate and/or require payment of cancellation fees

from: Mark H*** to: "[email protected]" cc: AllRiverfrontMOD
date: Wed, Sep 16, at 5:PMsubject: re: *** *** disputeTo Whom it may concern,I recently received an inquiry from Ms*** disputing $This guest booked a reservation that was communicated to the guest as having a cancellation/modification window of days prior to their arrivalSimilar to when a person books non-refundable airline tickets online, if they decide not to fly on that flight, this is already paid in advance as the airline won’t have the opportunity to rebook that business on such short noticeWe have followed up with the inquiry and spoken with both of the associates that interacted with this guest and have confirmed that we provided consistent information to the guestThe FD agent informed the guest that he could inquire with the manager, and the manager confirmed that we are unable to waive the final night’s revenue as the guest was already in house at this time and deposit was collectedUpon further investigation, it was discovered that we have notes within the guest’s reservation that showed this guest asked multiple associates at different times on 9/as 9/to try to get different responses from different staff members, even after we had already informed her her room was prepaid and she is welcome to depart early if she needs to but her final night will not be refunded.I have responded directly to the guest to inform her that I have completed my investigation and will not be refunding her $at this timePlease let me know if you have any further questions or need back up of this data I have described and I would be happy to complythanksMARKH***Director of RoomsTHE WESTIN RIVERFRONT RESORT & SPA AT BEAVER CREEK MOUNTAIN Riverfront Lane, PO Box 9690, Avon, CO usT F M

We have included the investigation and have electronic records of multiple associates (one of which was a member of management) that documented that this guest booked and payed for a pre-paid reservation online and later tried to depart early and get a refundThis is similar to a prepaid airline ticket whereby if a customer doesn't use their flight they are still charged as it was prepaid non refundableThe customer was denied refund and we have provided the customer with an electronic copy of their confirmation email which indicates the reservation they made is non refundableAt your request, all of these documents can be provided for back-up. Mark h***@westinriverfront.com

Complaint: ***
I am rejecting this response because I never received the email they had sent to me advising me to get travel insuranceEven if I did, it'd be too late to get travel insurance because they claimed to have sent out that email to me Jan 2016, and I had made my reservation on 6/4/(and purchased my air ticket a week after that)The initial trip payment date would be June and many travel insurance policies would not accept payment this close to my travel date (Jan 23, 2016)The first email confirmation I received on 6/4/upon making my hotel confirmation does not bear the travel insurance reminderI can send you a copy if you'd like to read itI am also rejecting this response because there are no non-stop flights from NY to Vail, Colorodo through the end of Dec (which is when the stay credit has been offered through)So it'd be a major inconvenience for me to get there just to stay for a night or two.
Interestingly, no explanation was offered on why the stay has to be charged in full a month before our arrival dayWhy the rush to get the money?
Regards,
*** ***

Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because I never received the email they had sent to me advising me to get travel insurance. Even if I did, it'd be too late to get travel insurance because they claimed to have sent out that email to me Jan 5 2016, and I had made my reservation on 6/4/2015 (and purchased my air ticket a week after that). The initial trip payment date would be June 2015 and many travel insurance policies would not accept payment this close to my travel date (Jan 23, 2016). The first email confirmation I received on 6/4/2015 upon making my hotel confirmation does not bear the travel insurance reminder. I can send you a copy if you'd like to read it.I am also rejecting this response because there are no non-stop flights from NY to Vail, Colorodo through the end of Dec 2016 (which is when the stay credit has been offered through). So it'd be a major inconvenience for me to get there just to stay for a night or two. Interestingly, no explanation was offered on why the stay has to be charged in full a month before our arrival day. Why the rush to get the money?
Regards,
[redacted]

[redacted]
[redacted]
[redacted]
[redacted]
[redacted]
[redacted]...

[redacted]
Good afternoon, I am writing to respond to the recent Revdex.com complain we received. I have attached 2 different documents that were emailed to Mr. [redacted] confirming the cancellation window as well as suggesting trip insurance as an option. Although he did not cancel within the 30 day cancellation window, Lindsey L[redacted] our director of Revenue Management did already offer a stay credit for the guest to use this amount of money he already deposited within the remaining calendar year of 2016 which is over and above our legal requirement, yet we felt we wanted to extend this offer to him as a good will gesture. I also support Lindsey L[redacted]’s decision and stand by the option we have offered to Mr. [redacted]. Although weather can seem like an uncontrollable challenge, this is why we offer the trip insurance option, as we are located in an area that received hundreds of inches of snow each year, this is a system that we have developed that is very similar to the other Starwood properties in the mountain areas of Colorado as well, which are also SPG participating hotels in the same umbrella. Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns.MARK H[redacted]
Director of Rooms
THE WESTIN RIVERFRONT RESORT & SPA AT BEAVER CREEK MOUNTAIN 126 Riverfront Lane, PO Box 9690, Avon, CO 81620 usT 970.790.2066    F 970.790.5555    M 720.717.9050

Complaint: [redacted]
I am rejecting this response because his summary of the situation is false. I did not seek to get different responses from different associates. I asked the same question and was given conflicting information. The response is also different from the initial response that I received, which indicated that he would make some effort to seek an amenable resolution. I am not satisfied with the way this manner was addressed at all. 
Regards,
[redacted]

from: Mark H[redacted] <[redacted]@westinriverfrontbeavercreek.com>to: "[email protected]" <[email protected]>cc: AllRiverfrontMOD <[email protected]>date: Wed, Sep 16, 2015 at 5:21 PMsubject: re: [redacted] disputeTo Whom it may concern,I...

recently received an inquiry from Ms. [redacted] disputing $120. This guest booked a reservation that was communicated to the guest as having a cancellation/modification window of 3 days prior to their arrival. Similar to when a person books non-refundable airline tickets online, if they decide not to fly on that flight, this is already paid in advance as the airline won’t have the opportunity to rebook that business on such short notice. We have followed up with the inquiry and spoken with both of the associates that interacted with this guest and have confirmed that we provided consistent information to the guest. The FD agent informed the guest that he could inquire with the manager, and the manager confirmed that we are unable to waive the final night’s revenue as the guest was already in house at this time and deposit was collected. Upon further investigation, it was discovered that we have notes within the guest’s reservation that showed this guest asked multiple associates at different times on 9/5 as 9/6 to try to get different responses from different staff members, even after we had already informed her her room was prepaid and she is welcome to depart early if she needs to but her final night will not be refunded.I have responded directly to the guest to inform her that I have completed my investigation and will not be refunding her $120 at this time. Please let me know if you have any further questions or need back up of this data I have described and I would be happy to comply. thanksMARKH[redacted]Director of RoomsTHE WESTIN RIVERFRONT RESORT & SPA AT BEAVER CREEK MOUNTAIN 126 Riverfront Lane, PO Box 9690, Avon, CO 81620 usT 970.790.2066    F 970.790.5555    M 720.717.9050

Mr. [redacted],
Thank you for your reply. We also provide detailed information on the actual Westin.com and SPG.com booking platforms that fully outline the cancellation periods. I know it is a bit different from the average hotels, but the other Westin resorts (St. Regis Aspen, Sheraton Mountain Vista Avon, Westin Snowmass, as well as Sheraton Steamboat) all offer very similar cancellation windows during the ski season. It seems many other Starwood resort properties have developed similar systems over the recent years, and it's certainly not our intention to confuse or frustrate our guests.
We  would still be happy to offer a stay credit for you. You mentioned you might not be able to make it do to non-stop flight patterns the remaining portion of the year, is there another time that would be better for you to re-book for this stay credit that I can check for you?
Trip insurance is certainly a great option which we offer when making the reservation, but our system is very similar to when people book non-refundable airline tickets online, they have a certain time period where they can modify the tickets (generally the first 24 hours for airlines) and after that it is nonrefundable as it is pre-paid. Our hotel rates are similar to this, however we allow all the way up until 30 days in advance of our winter season to make any charges, or completely cancel for a full refund prior to charging the credit card deposit.
I just pulled straight from our website for a sample booking that I typed in for mid-march to see the exact wording. (obviously room rates and stay dates are different than your case, but this is the example of what it says when you actually booked the reservation.
Cancellation Policy (my example just now from website, very similar to yours when you booked last summer with different dates and $ amounts).
If you cancel between 02/16/2016 and 4:00 PM hotel time on 02/19/2016, there will be no forfeiture amount. If you cancel after 4:00 PM hotel time on 02/19/2016, the forfeiture amount will be 100 percent. There may be additional applicable charges and taxes.
Rate Plan Description:
See Terms & Details Link For Cancellation Policy.
GTD/Deposit Policy:
USD $2,634.35 deposit is due on 02/19/2016 and will be charged to the credit card provided. Please note that any charge in your reservation may charge the rate and/or require payment of cancellation fees.

[redacted]
[redacted]
[redacted]
[redacted]
[redacted]
[redacted]...

[redacted]
Good afternoon, I am writing to respond to the recent Revdex.com complain we received. I have attached 2 different documents that were emailed to Mr. [redacted] confirming the cancellation window as well as suggesting trip insurance as an option. Although he did not cancel within the 30 day cancellation window, Lindsey L[redacted] our director of Revenue Management did already offer a stay credit for the guest to use this amount of money he already deposited within the remaining calendar year of 2016 which is over and above our legal requirement, yet we felt we wanted to extend this offer to him as a good will gesture. I also support Lindsey L[redacted]’s decision and stand by the option we have offered to Mr. [redacted]. Although weather can seem like an uncontrollable challenge, this is why we offer the trip insurance option, as we are located in an area that received hundreds of inches of snow each year, this is a system that we have developed that is very similar to the other Starwood properties in the mountain areas of Colorado as well, which are also SPG participating hotels in the same umbrella. Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns.MARK H[redacted]Director of RoomsTHE WESTIN RIVERFRONT RESORT & SPA AT BEAVER CREEK MOUNTAIN 126 Riverfront Lane, PO Box 9690, Avon, CO 81620 usT 970.790.2066    F 970.790.5555    M 720.717.9050

Complaint: [redacted]Hi there. Thanks for your detailed explanation about your payment terms. The message forwarded to me by Revdex.com was cut off at the end so I may have missed some of your points, but based on what I have read so far I am still rejecting your detailed response because of the following reasons:
1. Yes I am aware of the terms and conditions on each booking page. The city and beach properties in the Starwood family who have provided full refunds to me before in times of inclement weather and involuntary flight cancellation all display similar info on their rate pages. Most even have generous cancellation policy up to a day before arrival. But they would still provide refunds on the day of arrival when inclement weather prevents guests from getting there. And their cancellation policy would entail one day of penalty, contrary to your property which takes the whole amount of the stay. It is not reasonable to charge someone the entire stay as penalty, even though you keep arguing that it is because of your location that you need to implement that to protect your business. Beach resorts in the Caribbean have hurricane to deal with too and they are more flexible with their guests than you. 
2. You and your colleagues have mentioned to me several times that you always advise your guests to get travel insurance given your rigid and ridiculous policy to protect themselves in the event of an inclement weather like that snowstorm that I, as well as the entire population of the eastern seaboard, had experienced. But aside from the email that you claimed you had sent to me several weeks before my arrival in Jan 2016 that I didn't receive, which had the travel insurance advisory on it, the same advice was not stated on the very first booking confirmation email I had received back in June 2016. I also scanned through your property website and no where on there advises guests to get travel insurance. I travel so often for work and leisure that I don't get travel insurance all the time because I assume the Starwood property will provide me a full refund if weather prevents me from get ting there (as I have experienced in the past). 
3, It's funny how you brought up the rigid airline policy and their non-refundable fares. In fact, I had bought non-refundable fares on [redacted] going to Colorado and when the flight was cancelled, they gave me a full refund without any question. They could have easily said weather was beyond their control but they didn't. Interestingly, you keep using that as an excuse not to provide refunds.
I have not made reservation at a ski resort before. I don't ski. Reason why I made this booking was because of my friend who wanted to celebrate his 40th birthday there. He had brought in at least 12-15 guests to your property that week. Even he was stuck with me during the storm and couldn't make it out there until 3 days later. Some of his guests had even left by the time he arrived. I am surprised you and your colleagues were so steadfast with your cancellation policy despite the amount of business he has brought you that week. I even offered your director of revenue management lindsay that we meet half way and I only want half of my money back, but she refused. So you'd rather than I spend money flying out here to incur my full two nights of stay begrudgingly (through the 'generous" credit you have given me) rather than refunding half of the amount to me? I really don't get that logic.
This is getting really exhausting.
[redacted]
Regards,
[redacted]

Complaint: [redacted]
Hi there. Thanks for your detailed explanation about your payment terms. The message forwarded to me by Revdex.com was cut off at the end so I may have missed some of your points, but based on what I have read so far I am still rejecting your detailed response because of the following reasons:1. Yes I am aware of the terms and conditions on each booking page. The city and beach properties in the Starwood family who have provided full refunds to me before in times of inclement weather and involuntary flight cancellation all display similar info on their rate pages. Most even have generous cancellation policy up to a day before arrival. But they would still provide refunds on the day of arrival when inclement weather prevents guests from getting there. And their cancellation policy would entail one day of penalty, contrary to your property which takes the whole amount of the stay. It is not reasonable to charge someone the entire stay as penalty, even though you keep arguing that it is because of your location that you need to implement that to protect your business. Beach resorts in the Caribbean have hurricane to deal with too and they are more flexible with their guests than you. 2. You and your colleagues have mentioned to me several times that you always advise your guests to get travel insurance given your rigid and ridiculous policy to protect themselves in the event of an inclement weather like that snowstorm that I, as well as the entire population of the eastern seaboard, had experienced. But aside from the email that you claimed you had sent to me several weeks before my arrival in Jan 2016 that I didn't receive, which had the travel insurance advisory on it, the same advice was not stated on the very first booking confirmation email I had received back in June 2016. I also scanned through your property website and no where on there advises guests to get travel insurance. I travel so often for work and leisure that I don't get travel insurance all the time because I assume the Starwood property will provide me a full refund if weather prevents me from get ting there (as I have experienced in the past). 3, It's funny how you brought up the rigid airline policy and their non-refundable fares. In fact, I had bought non-refundable fares on [redacted] going to Colorado and when the flight was cancelled, they gave me a full refund without any question. They could have easily said weather was beyond their control but they didn't. Interestingly, you keep using that as an excuse not to provide refunds.I have not made reservation at a ski resort before. I don't ski. Reason why I made this booking was because of my friend who wanted to celebrate his 40th birthday there. He had brought in at least 12-15 guests to your property that week. Even he was stuck with me during the storm and couldn't make it out there until 3 days later. Some of his guests had even left by the time he arrived. I am surprised you and your colleagues were so steadfast with your cancellation policy despite the amount of business he has brought you that week. I even offered your director of revenue management lindsay that we meet half way and I only want half of my money back, but she refused. So you'd rather than I spend money flying out here to incur my full two nights of stay begrudgingly (through the 'generous" credit you have given me) rather than refunding half of the amount to me? I really don't get that logic.This is getting really exhausting.[redacted]
Regards,
[redacted]

Check fields!

Write a review of The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Colorado, United States, 81620

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.westinriverfrontbeavercreek.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated