Sign in

Two Men And A Truck - Chico

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Two Men And A Truck - Chico? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Two Men And A Truck - Chico

Two Men And A Truck - Chico Reviews (15)

• Dec 15, 2019

In regards to the complaint made by [redacted] , we do feel that we have compensated the customer fairly considering the conditions of her contractAs you will see in the documents attached, [redacted] did sign for our "basic" valuationThis means that we pay to the pound for anything that is damaged or broken [redacted] did have two pieces of glass break on her hutch, that was an expensive repair due to the etchingThe customer also confirmed that there had been previous damage done to the glass that had been broken, that was not professional repairedBased on the valuation she chose, we were not liable to cover the entire cost to have the glass replacedDuring this phone call to report the broken glass, the customer also told me that she was misinformed about our rates, and that two shelves were missing from the hutch with the broken glassAgain in the attached documents you will see that the customer did sign all the paperwork agreeing to our ratesOur movers always go over the rates and have the customers sign the agreement before they begin any serviceEven though both of these contracts were signed, we decided to pay for the full cost of the glass broken to accommodate her frustrationsThe customer agreed that this was a fair compromiseThe glass did cost $to repair, which is beyond the valuation she choseI told [redacted] that we would do our best to locate the missing shelves that she spoke of, but did not promise to replace themWe searched our trucks, warehouse, and even called her old landlord to see if any belongings were left behindWe were unable to find the missing pieces, but did feel that the compensation previously stated was still reasonableThe customer also signed the contracts indicating that our movers did indeed do a final walk through of her home before we moved her belongings into her new homeThis gives our movers the go ahead to move on to the next location, and that the customer is satisfied with what items are on the truckAgain our truck came back to our warehouse empty, meaning the other missing items did not come back with usIf they were left behind we were no longer responsible, based on the final walk through done with the customerWe did contact her landlord a second time just to be thoroughOur movers are professional, and would have informed the customer immediately if any items were left on our truckWe do not feel like we should be responsible to replace these items, especially considering we already went above and beyond the valuation option she signed for

• Nov 05, 2019

I am not sure how to begin so I will list each item that seems relevant to a complaint that is listed by Ms***Agreed Move Date was not met Response: The agreed Move Date was as soon as one of our trucks could get to her home She was fully aware of the situation that we were unloading in Anaheim and as long as everything went smooth and traffic cooperated we would be able to load on the 30th of June Our men and truck was delayed due to circumstances out of our control and [redacted] was made fully aware of this from both office and our movers on several occasions This has not been an issue and was never even discussed until now Now meaning months later after we have decided to file in small claimsSent to small of a truckResponse: 100% absolutely not We run only sizes24' and 26' We had a 26' truck (our biggest and roughly cubic feet bigger than any available rental) They generally can fit a 3-bedroom home depending on itemsMs [redacted] did not describe adequately what she had The guys informed us upon arrival of the extreme number of boxes, misc items and unpacked items that were not gone over between myself and Ms [redacted] at any time We had no reason to suspect her items would not fit I was told a small two bedroom apartment Instead of having our men do a change order, I informed them to do whatever is necessary to get her items on the truck in lieu of our extra expense and time Subsequently our men could not get all the items on the truck Instead of leaving the items and again not doing a change order, I authorized the men to rent a storage unit nearby and place the remainder of items in the unit until we had another truck down in the area and able to pick up Not once did I even suggest [redacted] pay for this We truly were with the mindset of helping her out because of the circumstances I paid for the unit for months until we picked up the items and brought them to our Chico warehouse.Items were not placed where they needed to be: We met her realtor at the home on [redacted] Her realtor did not know where items went and was completely unaware of what needed to be done I informed the men to do there best and if needed when [redacted] got up there we would come back up to help her out I informed [redacted] of this and sent men back up when she came into townDamages: I told [redacted] on a few occasions we were happy to take care of her damages All I needed was proof she paid for them and or we would pick them up and take care of it ourselves(very common practice for us) She never took us up on either because in doing so it would require her to pay us.Storage Items: Upon arrival of storage items in Chico, Ms [redacted] was informed of her items arriving and did not reach out to us for delivery because she understood she would have to pay We have had them in our warehouse for months storing for free Summary: We have been accused of stealing and improper business ethics by Ms*** This has all been done to avoid paying us for over months We agreed to move all her items from point A to point B We have done so and I must add in a fashion that few if any other companies would of done I truthfully believe that because of our intent to file in small claims Ms [redacted] has reached out to the Revdex.com for this matter In my last conversation with Ms***, I asked if she ever intended to pay Her answer was "probably not" and at time I informed her that her items were not being held in lieu of payment and she is more than welcome to come get them I would deliver them in a heart beat if I felt we would get paid I believe we as a company have bent over backwards and have fulfilled every requirement per law and moral code for Ms***

• Nov 04, 2019

Revdex.com:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me

Tell us why here
After a year I must admit I am losing track of what we are responding to. Ms*** has a way of twisting information and just absolutely playing by rules only know to her. I guess we will go step by step again
Going backwards from latest letter:
A. (No Booklet) We have receipt of booklet at our office she has signed. I assume she lost it because of her amazing organizational skills clearly portrayed in her moving. To claim a non-legal move sounds like an attempt to not pay per California Law as she was told by the PUC who she tried to complain to prior to this last letter
B. Letter from realtor. Not sure if *** is covering for herself or does not remember the situation. She complained to our men for having to do this for Ms*** upon her arrivalShe then gave little to no information on where to put items and left abruptly after opening. I can supply a letter from our movers stating so if needed.
CNot arriving on time. Our truck left from Costa Mesa on July 2nd to travel to Chico. Ms*** new about it and was to contact her realtor to let her know it would be a delivery on the 3rd. We had no reason to believe Ms*** would not do this and in result prompted the phone call to Mrs*** on the 3rd disrupting her schedule. This is a direct result of Ms*** not being organized with her move and ABSOLUTELY no fault of TMT..
In summation Ms*** was not ready to move upon our arrival months ago. Information given to us over the phone was not accurate. She was not prepared, organized or forthright in her situation. She had over a trucks worth of items of which we stored in Costa Mesa at our expense. Upon us getting them from Costa Mesa we tried calling Ms*** for delivery. She would not respond because we believe had no intention to pay for her move or was incapable at the time, allowing for the non communication for awhile after words. She has been told by us, the state of California and I am sure whatever she has researched on line that in order to file a claim payment must be made. Our insurance company will only listen to a claim if payment has not been made for the services. To date and to my knowledge she has put no cost associated with her "damages" and has shown no receipts or expense that they have caused her. To date TMT has paid fuel, per diem, truck expense, labor expense, staff expense, and material expense to move Ms*** roughly miles. We paid for her to move (period) We paid to move nine thousand pounds of HHG roughly miles. We paid to store extra items for months because of Ms***'s lack of organization and responsibility. We have paid to store her items in Chico for roughly six months.. In our best determination, after doing this for a very long time and servicing well over thousand customers that Ms*** has had no intention of paying and is completely void of understanding for any situation out side of hers. We as a company have gone above and beyond to help Ms*** with absolutely zero acknowledgement. She is free to call anyone other than us to have her goods moved up to Paradise. Our warehouse will make her items available upon request. Attached with the storage paperwork will be a revised bill payable upon receipt of items

I am rejecting this response because:
Most of the statement from *** is not correct. *** ( who answers the phone) did not disclose the rate for the truck, she quoted $an hour. I wrongly assumed it was the rate for both the packing and the actual moving, in fact when I was calculating the total cost based on the time, I used that figure and was in shock when it turned out to be much more. I signed the contract without any explanation from the movers and didn't read it completely (my fault)The contract has a small square with the rate for the truck and it is not very well written or visible for someone with poor eyesight The movers did not do a walk thru with me after they were finished loading the truck. They would have left my largest picture behind if I had not seen it still hanging in my living room. I believe whoever packed the shelves from the curio cabinets did not wrap two of the shelves and just set them up against the wall, therefore they did not see them. Yes, they did indeed replace the two side glass panels (*** told me over $300)When I spoke to *** about the rate they charged I told her I felt they misinformed me as to the rate for the service. After a very long discussion she asked if they had new glass panels etched and replaced and replaced the two glass shelves if that would be acceptable. Of course I said it would be fine. This is my recollection of the incident

This is in regard to the complaint I filed against Two Men and a Truck*** *** *** *** **The man I dealt with Primarily was named "*** ***" and the he gave me *** as his contact number.I am enclosing new information as per your requestI was dismayed and surprised to read the response that Mr*** sent the Revdex.com regarding his promises and the actions of his crew, as was my Realtor, *** *** and my witnessMr*** repeatedly lied to the Revdex.comI have enclosed proof.Enclosed please find a letter from Ms *** wherein she disputes Mr***'s claims that she did not give instructions to his crew, as well as proof that his crew did not keep their appointed unload dateShe gave specific instructions to the crew and also witnessed the damaged boxesShe also witnessed my clothes not moved in wardrobe boxes (which Mr*** failed to mention in his letter to you, but which caused much damage and expense to me) and she also saw that boxes were not put in southern California having surgeries in July, Also, post-operations, I was unable to lift anything as both surgeries removed underarm lymph nodes, as well as the cancer.Additionally Mr*** claimed to you that he had to keep my possessions in storage for monthsEnclosed please find the email Mr*** wrote to me wherein he admits he will deliver the rest of my items by July 31, items which he failed to move on the date I hired his company to move me, and which proves he told me he would deliver my items within days not the months he claimed in his letter to you! My friend waited for his delivery but he and his crew never showed up nor did they call her or me! As I told you, I called Mr*** many times but could not leave any messages as his voicemail was fullI did not have email access at this time, but he called me with this same promise as on his email of a delivery which he never performed, He still has my items.Finally, I located my copy of the bank contract I was given by Mr***'s crew which proves that Mr***'s crew never gave me the Moving Booklet as required by law, so the move itself was not legalHowever, I am willing to pay a small amount in exchange for the return of my items in good condition that the Two Men crew left behind and which I photographed them taking to a storage unit.Sincerely,*** ***

In regards to the complaint made by [redacted], we do feel that we have compensated the customer fairly considering the conditions of her contract. As you will see in the documents attached, [redacted] did sign for our "basic" valuation. This means that we pay .60 to the pound for anything that is...

damaged or broken. [redacted] did have two pieces of glass break on her hutch, that was an expensive repair due to the etching. The customer also confirmed that there had been previous damage done to the glass that had been broken, that was not professional repaired. Based on the valuation she chose, we were not liable to cover the entire cost to have the glass replaced. During this phone call to report the broken glass, the customer also told me that she was misinformed about our rates, and that two shelves were missing from the hutch with the broken glass. Again in the attached documents you will see that the customer did sign all the paperwork agreeing to our rates. Our movers always go over the rates and have the customers sign the agreement before they begin any service. Even though both of these contracts were signed, we decided to pay for the full cost of the glass broken to accommodate her frustrations. The customer agreed that this was a fair compromise. The glass did cost $250.00 to repair, which is beyond the valuation she chose. I told [redacted] that we would do our best to locate the missing shelves that she spoke of, but did not promise to replace them. We searched our trucks, warehouse, and even called her old landlord to see if any belongings were left behind. We were unable to find the missing pieces, but did feel that the compensation previously stated was still reasonable. The customer also signed the contracts indicating that our movers did indeed do a final walk through of her home before we moved her belongings into her new home. This gives our movers the go ahead to move on to the next location, and that the customer is satisfied with what items are on the truck. Again our truck came back to our warehouse empty, meaning the other missing items did not come back with us. If they were left behind we were no longer responsible, based on the final walk through done with the customer. We did contact her landlord a second time just to be thorough. Our movers are professional, and would have informed the customer immediately if any items were left on our truck. We do not feel like we should be responsible to replace these items, especially considering we already went above and beyond the valuation option she signed for.

Although we do still feel that we have appropriately accommodated the customer, we are willing to compromise and pay $40.00 to close this complaint.

I am not sure how to begin so I will list each item that seems relevant to a complaint that is listed by Ms. [redacted]. Agreed Move Date was not met.  Response:  The agreed Move Date was as soon as one of our trucks could get to her home.  She was fully aware of the situation that we...

were unloading in Anaheim and as long as everything went smooth and traffic cooperated we would be able to load on the 30th of June.  Our men and truck was delayed due to circumstances out of our control and [redacted] was made fully aware of this from both office and our movers on several occasions.  This has not been an issue and was never even discussed until now.  Now meaning 8 months later after we have decided to file in small claimsSent to small of a truck. Response: 100% absolutely not.  We run only 2 sizes. 24' and 26'.  We had a 26' truck (our biggest and roughly 300 cubic feet bigger than any available rental).  They generally can fit a 3-4 bedroom home depending on items. Ms. [redacted] did not describe adequately what she had.  The guys informed us upon arrival of the extreme number of boxes, misc items and unpacked items that were not gone over between myself and Ms. [redacted] at any time.  We had no reason to suspect her items would not fit.  I was told a small two bedroom apartment.  Instead of having our men do a change order, I informed them to do whatever is necessary to get her items on the truck in lieu of our extra expense and time.  Subsequently our men could not get all the items on the truck.  Instead of leaving the items and again not doing a change order, I authorized the men to rent a storage unit nearby and place the remainder of items in the unit until we had another truck down in the area and able to pick up.  Not once did I even suggest [redacted] pay for this.  We truly were with the mindset of helping her out because of the circumstances.  I paid for the unit for 3 months until we picked up the items and brought them to our Chico warehouse.Items were not placed where they needed to be:  We met her realtor at the home on [redacted].  Her realtor did not know where items went and was completely unaware of what needed to be done.  I informed the men to do there best and if needed when [redacted] got up there we would come back up to help her out.  I informed [redacted] of this and sent men back up when she came into townDamages:   I told [redacted] on a few occasions we were happy to take care of her damages.  All I needed was proof she paid for them and or we would pick them up and take care of it ourselves. (very common practice for us).  She never took us up on either because in doing so it would require her to pay us.Storage Items:  Upon arrival of storage items in Chico, Ms. [redacted] was informed of her items arriving and did not reach out to us for delivery because she understood she would have to pay.  We have had them in our warehouse for 4 months storing for free.   Summary:   We have been accused of stealing and improper business ethics by Ms. [redacted].  This has all been done to avoid paying us for over 7 months.  We agreed to move all her items from point A to point B.  We have done so and I must add in a fashion that few if any other companies would of done.  I truthfully believe that because of our intent to file in small claims Ms. [redacted] has reached out to the Revdex.com for this matter.  In my last conversation with Ms. [redacted], I asked if she ever intended to pay.  Her answer was "probably not" and at time I informed her that her items were not being held in lieu of payment and she is more than welcome to come get them.  I would deliver them in a heart beat if I felt we would get paid.  I believe we as a company have bent over backwards and have fulfilled every requirement per law and moral code for Ms. [redacted].

Revdex.com:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Review: My name I [redacted], my mailing address is [redacted]. My phone is [redacted].

I am filing a complaint against Two Men and a Truck, [redacted]. the man I dealt with primarily was name “[redacted]” and he gave me [redacted] as his contact number.

Briefly, the movers did not do any of the agreed-upon items: they did not:

Move me on the date agreed, so I had to get other accommodations as my lease was up;

They sent too small of a truck, they did not move all my items as per our agreement, but still have possession of mine 7 months later! And they refuse to return them;

They broke many items including my bed and hutch, lampshades…

They failed to unload items into proper rooms as per our agreement, but instead oiled everything into a one-car garage and the living-room!

They did not use wardrobe boxes. At the unload they did not hang up any of my clothes but tossed them into their boxes just a few feet from the empty closets!

I have enclosed dated photos and I have plenty more. I have witnesses including my Realtor, [redacted], of [redacted], Chico; also a friend of 23 years, [redacted], who drove to the house with me as I am battling Stage III breast cancer. Also, I had to pay others to have my furniture repaired and I have cancelled checks and photos of the repairs.

In more detail, I agreed for Two Men and a Truck to move all my belongings from Costa Mesa, CA to Paradise, CA, on June 30, 2015, and deliver all to 582 [redacted]., Paradise, CA, directly. “[redacted]” was very cordial as he emailed the apartment office, where I was living in a townhouse, that his company would move my items listed as two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a garage and about 60 potted plants. He emailed that he would “disassemble and assemble” my furniture and put things in the appropriate rooms. I agreed to these. Because Two Men and a Truck, [redacted] told me, was moving another person to Anaheim at the end of June, he said he could do it on June 30th and offered to do this work for $2,500.00, which I agreed to.

Nothing that I had agreed to happened. The movers did not arrive until late afternoon on June 30, did not have a large enough truck (the Anaheim move was a one bedroom and I had expressed concern to [redacted] as I specifically told [redacted] I had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom) and they did not complete the move that day. They stayed in a motel nearby, while I had to negotiate to remain an additional day at my townhouse but my lease was up.

The next day, the movers returned, unloaded some of their truck, put other items of mine in it and drove to a storage unit in another town, even though there were units available nearby. I asked when these items of mine would be returned to me, but they did not know. Later, [redacted] told me that “it might be six months” before I would get the rest of my items! He said, “it depends on when we get another move down there.” I have yet to receive my items!

I repeatedly called [redacted] but his voicemail was full and did not allow me to leave a message. Meanwhile I underwent 21 radiation treatments (I can provide all documentation from [redacted]), I called the Redding office trying to get a hold of [redacted] but when I finally spoke with him last week he repeatedly called me “a piece of [redacted]! That’s right you’re a piece of [redacted]!” I reminded him that I had never called him any name, but he just kept yelling at me saying I was, “a piece of [redacted]!” so I said quietly, “Excuse me.” And I gently hung up. It is frightening to try to deal with someone who is nice one minute then completely unhinged the next. Revdex.com please help me.

The whole time I was attempting to oversee this move, I knew I had breast cancer but did not yet know it was Stage III. I was very fatigued, had limited mobility from several core biopsies taken under my arm and in the breast. Two weeks after the load-up for the move, I had the first of 2 surgeries (July 14 & July 30.) at the move-out, I had to deal with the movers piling heavy boxes of books atop boxes marked fragile and asked them not to treat my items so roughly, which after they broke some things, they were more careful. It was very stressful!

They did not finish the move until late June 2nd, did not deliver all my items to Paradise – not to date! – broke many items, did not “assemble” items they had taken apart, did not put my clothes in wardrobe boxes and did not hang any of my clothes up at the [redacted] destination, but put together Two Men and Truck boxes and dumped all my clothes in them – still on their hangers! I was in no condition to remedy their errors.

My Realtor, [redacted], met the movers at the house, opened it for them, and instructed them to place the plants on the tarps I had provided for that purpose. Instead, the movers put the potted plants directly onto the carpet leaving it filthy! (see photos) and they set heavy boxes atop fragile ones (see photos), broke my new-in-box vertical blinds set (see photos), broke my bed (see photos), broke a hutch (see photos), removed lampshades form boxes and tore them (see photos), and never put a single box in the kitchen nor bathroom even though they were marked kitchen (see photo) and bathroom! As I said, I was in no condition to move boxes – and I had hired Two Men to move! So, I had to hire others to do their job.

The movers at [redacted] took advantage of the fact that I had cancer and was not able to be at the unload. My Realtor trusted them to complete the unload and left them at the house after letting them in and giving them instructions on which items went in which rooms. I had given a written list to the movers in Costa Mesa, as well.

Two men from the movers returned about a week later – after many calls from me – to reassemble one table and he called me into the room to show me how the unload movers had left a chest = open with thing spilling out! (see photo). I was exhausted so left them to reassemble the bed – which they damaged and put together upside-down! And hammered nails thru fine teak wood instead of using the proper hardware! It will never be as it was before their move of it.Desired Settlement: It is heartbreaking to hire and trust people to do a job as I can concentrate on fighting this disease, cancer. I would like my items back – and have photos of them in the Orange County storage unit – which is the last time I saw them, more than 7 months ago. I have tried to negotiate with Two Men and a Truck, but instead of reasonable discussion I have been threatened repeatedly with lawsuits and been sworn at!

It is unreasonable to expect me to pay $2,500 when none of the agreed- upon work was done, and Two Men and a Truck did so much damage and caused me so much trauma and added expense.

I am weary of getting [redacted]’s abusive and threatening phone calls, his name calling, and his illegally holding my items hostage while insisting I pay him $2,500! Two Men and a Truck failed to move my things on the agreed-upon date, put many of my things in storage after sending a too-small truck, contracted to do a job they were obviously not qualified to do and ended up breaking my bed and other furniture and things, and causing me more expense because they failed to do the job I hired them to do. This they did and took advantage of the fact that I was unable to be at the unload, was too ill to oversee them and had already given move-out notice so unable to hire another company at the 11th hour when they failed to show up on time but arrived too late and with too little truck.

Business

Response:

I am not sure how to begin so I will list each item that seems relevant to a complaint that is listed by Ms. [redacted]. Agreed Move Date was not met. Response: The agreed Move Date was as soon as one of our trucks could get to her home. She was fully aware of the situation that we were unloading in Anaheim and as long as everything went smooth and traffic cooperated we would be able to load on the 30th of June. Our men and truck was delayed due to circumstances out of our control and [redacted] was made fully aware of this from both office and our movers on several occasions. This has not been an issue and was never even discussed until now. Now meaning 8 months later after we have decided to file in small claimsSent to small of a truck. Response: 100% absolutely not. We run only 2 sizes. 24' and 26'. We had a 26' truck (our biggest and roughly 300 cubic feet bigger than any available rental). They generally can fit a 3-4 bedroom home depending on items. Ms. [redacted] did not describe adequately what she had. The guys informed us upon arrival of the extreme number of boxes, misc items and unpacked items that were not gone over between myself and Ms. [redacted] at any time. We had no reason to suspect her items would not fit. I was told a small two bedroom apartment. Instead of having our men do a change order, I informed them to do whatever is necessary to get her items on the truck in lieu of our extra expense and time. Subsequently our men could not get all the items on the truck. Instead of leaving the items and again not doing a change order, I authorized the men to rent a storage unit nearby and place the remainder of items in the unit until we had another truck down in the area and able to pick up. Not once did I even suggest [redacted] pay for this. We truly were with the mindset of helping her out because of the circumstances. I paid for the unit for 3 months until we picked up the items and brought them to our Chico warehouse.Items were not placed where they needed to be: We met her realtor at the home on [redacted]. Her realtor did not know where items went and was completely unaware of what needed to be done. I informed the men to do there best and if needed when [redacted] got up there we would come back up to help her out. I informed [redacted] of this and sent men back up when she came into townDamages: I told [redacted] on a few occasions we were happy to take care of her damages. All I needed was proof she paid for them and or we would pick them up and take care of it ourselves. (very common practice for us). She never took us up on either because in doing so it would require her to pay us.Storage Items: Upon arrival of storage items in Chico, Ms. [redacted] was informed of her items arriving and did not reach out to us for delivery because she understood she would have to pay. We have had them in our warehouse for 4 months storing for free. Summary: We have been accused of stealing and improper business ethics by Ms. [redacted]. This has all been done to avoid paying us for over 7 months. We agreed to move all her items from point A to point B. We have done so and I must add in a fashion that few if any other companies would of done. I truthfully believe that because of our intent to file in small claims Ms. [redacted] has reached out to the Revdex.com for this matter. In my last conversation with Ms. [redacted], I asked if she ever intended to pay. Her answer was "probably not" and at time I informed her that her items were not being held in lieu of payment and she is more than welcome to come get them. I would deliver them in a heart beat if I felt we would get paid. I believe we as a company have bent over backwards and have fulfilled every requirement per law and moral code for Ms. [redacted].

Consumer

Response:

This is in regard to the complaint I filed against Two Men and a Truck. [redacted]. The man I dealt with Primarily was named "[redacted]" and the he gave me [redacted] as his contact number.

Review: My wife was provided with a "Binding Estimate of Cost" document that clearly laid out the cost. We were charged $74.00 more than was allowed.

On 8/9/13 my wife was provided with a "Binding Estimate of Cost" document by Two Men's estimator. On the document, it very clearly lays out the total hours (3-4 on the first day and 4-5 on the second day), then has a plus sign ("+") followed by the amount for "Boxes and Supplies Sold Separate" ("$88.00 or Less"), then an equals sign ("=") with a "Total Cost" on the document of "$875-$1125.00". Two Men charged us $74.00 for boxes and supplies on top of the $1125.00 maximum amount of the "Binding Estimate of Cost". I received a call at home a day or two after the move (concluded on 8/15/13) from their office saying that the mover had miscalculated and that we owed more money than was written up on their document from that day. I told them I did not have the document, that my wife did, and that I would have her call them. They called back before my wife had called them (the next day or perhaps the second day after the initial call) and wanted to talk with me again. I again told them that my wife was the one who had met the estimator and that they should talk to her. The person I spoke with clearly wanted resolution and to push forward with the higher charge. He explained to me his interpretation of the "Binding Estimate of Cost" page, saying the "Total Cost" was only for the estimated 7-9 hours of labor. I did not have the paperwork, so I relied on his interpretation and authorized the charge. When I saw the paperwork, I realized I had been deceived and that he was telling me that the "Total Cost" (even added up with the boxes and supplies as it was with the plus and equals signs on the page) wasn't really the total cost. My wife called Two Men to protest, but since they had their authorization (given erroneously by me), they refused to reverse the charge. Desired Settlement: We want our $74.00 returned. We want for the "Binding Estimate of Cost" and the "Total Cost" listed to be what they say.

Business

Response:

Initial Business Response

Contact Name and Title: [redacted]

Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Contact Email: [redacted]@twomen.com

Honestly I have no Idea how this could be taken any different. We charge $125.00hr for our services. The low end of the estimate would be the 7hrs by $125.00hr and the high end would be 9hrs by $125.00hr which gives you an estimate of $875.00 to $1125.00. I always put supplies sold separate because it is not part of our labor. The binding estimate is for labor and time. Supplies are separate. If the customer is that confused than so am I. I will take into consideration making it easier to read and understand going forward. Our manager fielded the original phone call from the [redacted] and I was under the impression it was dealt with...$74.00 will be refunded because of apparent miscommunication.......NOT DECEPTION!

Final Consumer Response

(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

I appreciate the company's response and definitely encourage them to create a new form that does not lead to these types of misunderstandings. The one currently in use is very unclear. Perhaps put "Total Cost for Labor" and "Total Cost for Supplies", but just having "Total Cost" with the way it was written up is misleading. Thank you for your prompt refunding of the funds in dispute.

Review: On January 27, 2016 the company moved my belongings from my home on [redacted], to my new home at [redacted] In the process of moving my curio cabinets, they broke two engraved glass panels in one of the units. After unpacking my things, I discovered two glass shelves missing. When I spoke to manager, she promised they would not only have the broken panels replaced, but would replace the shelves that were missing. Since that time I discovered a stool missing and the last straw was this morning when I got up and desperately needed my walker. I discovered the walker is not here either. Having spoken with [redacted]) about missing things previous, I knew she would not replace anything the movers missed. I feel they should be responsible for these items. I also was not informed by the lady who answered the phone ([redacted]) about the cost of the actual truck. The packing was done one day at $93 an hour. They did not tell me the actual moving would be #139 per hour. they said it was in the contract, but I didn't get that until the day they moved me.Desired Settlement: I feel they should replace the shelves, the stool and my walker.

Business

Response:

In regards to the complaint made by [redacted], we do feel that we have compensated the customer fairly considering the conditions of her contract. As you will see in the documents attached, [redacted] did sign for our "basic" valuation. This means that we pay .60 to the pound for anything that is damaged or broken. [redacted] did have two pieces of glass break on her hutch, that was an expensive repair due to the etching. The customer also confirmed that there had been previous damage done to the glass that had been broken, that was not professional repaired. Based on the valuation she chose, we were not liable to cover the entire cost to have the glass replaced. During this phone call to report the broken glass, the customer also told me that she was misinformed about our rates, and that two shelves were missing from the hutch with the broken glass. Again in the attached documents you will see that the customer did sign all the paperwork agreeing to our rates. Our movers always go over the rates and have the customers sign the agreement before they begin any service. Even though both of these contracts were signed, we decided to pay for the full cost of the glass broken to accommodate her frustrations. The customer agreed that this was a fair compromise. The glass did cost $250.00 to repair, which is beyond the valuation she chose. I told [redacted] that we would do our best to locate the missing shelves that she spoke of, but did not promise to replace them. We searched our trucks, warehouse, and even called her old landlord to see if any belongings were left behind. We were unable to find the missing pieces, but did feel that the compensation previously stated was still reasonable. The customer also signed the contracts indicating that our movers did indeed do a final walk through of her home before we moved her belongings into her new home. This gives our movers the go ahead to move on to the next location, and that the customer is satisfied with what items are on the truck. Again our truck came back to our warehouse empty, meaning the other missing items did not come back with us. If they were left behind we were no longer responsible, based on the final walk through done with the customer. We did contact her landlord a second time just to be thorough. Our movers are professional, and would have informed the customer immediately if any items were left on our truck. We do not feel like we should be responsible to replace these items, especially considering we already went above and beyond the valuation option she signed for.

Consumer

Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

Most of the statement from [redacted] is not correct. [redacted] ( who answers the phone) did not disclose the rate for the truck, she quoted $93 an hour. I wrongly assumed it was the rate for both the packing and the actual moving, in fact when I was calculating the total cost based on the time, I used that figure and was in shock when it turned out to be much more. I signed the contract without any explanation from the movers and didn't read it completely (my fault). The contract has a small square with the rate for the truck and it is not very well written or visible for someone with poor eyesight. The movers did not do a walk thru with me after they were finished loading the truck. They would have left my largest picture behind if I had not seen it still hanging in my living room. I believe whoever packed the shelves from the curio cabinets did not wrap two of the shelves and just set them up against the wall, therefore they did not see them. Yes, they did indeed replace the two side glass panels ([redacted] told me over $300). When I spoke to [redacted] about the rate they charged I told her I felt they misinformed me as to the rate for the service. After a very long discussion she asked if they had new glass panels etched and replaced and replaced the two glass shelves if that would be acceptable. Of course I said it would be fine. This is my recollection of the incident.

Business

Response:

Although we do still feel that we have appropriately accommodated the customer, we are willing to compromise and pay $40.00 to close this complaint.

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Review: My name I [redacted], my mailing address is [redacted]. My phone is [redacted].

I am filing a complaint against Two Men and a Truck, [redacted]. the man I dealt with primarily was name “[redacted]” and he gave me [redacted] as his contact number.

Briefly, the movers did not do any of the agreed-upon items: they did not:

Move me on the date agreed, so I had to get other accommodations as my lease was up;

They sent too small of a truck, they did not move all my items as per our agreement, but still have possession of mine 7 months later! And they refuse to return them;

They broke many items including my bed and hutch, lampshades…

They failed to unload items into proper rooms as per our agreement, but instead oiled everything into a one-car garage and the living-room!

They did not use wardrobe boxes. At the unload they did not hang up any of my clothes but tossed them into their boxes just a few feet from the empty closets!

I have enclosed dated photos and I have plenty more. I have witnesses including my Realtor, [redacted], of [redacted], Chico; also a friend of 23 years, [redacted], who drove to the house with me as I am battling Stage III breast cancer. Also, I had to pay others to have my furniture repaired and I have cancelled checks and photos of the repairs.

In more detail, I agreed for Two Men and a Truck to move all my belongings from Costa Mesa, CA to Paradise, CA, on June 30, 2015, and deliver all to 582 [redacted]., Paradise, CA, directly. “[redacted]” was very cordial as he emailed the apartment office, where I was living in a townhouse, that his company would move my items listed as two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a garage and about 60 potted plants. He emailed that he would “disassemble and assemble” my furniture and put things in the appropriate rooms. I agreed to these. Because Two Men and a Truck, [redacted] told me, was moving another person to Anaheim at the end of June, he said he could do it on June 30th and offered to do this work for $2,500.00, which I agreed to.

Nothing that I had agreed to happened. The movers did not arrive until late afternoon on June 30, did not have a large enough truck (the Anaheim move was a one bedroom and I had expressed concern to [redacted] as I specifically told [redacted] I had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom) and they did not complete the move that day. They stayed in a motel nearby, while I had to negotiate to remain an additional day at my townhouse but my lease was up.

The next day, the movers returned, unloaded some of their truck, put other items of mine in it and drove to a storage unit in another town, even though there were units available nearby. I asked when these items of mine would be returned to me, but they did not know. Later, [redacted] told me that “it might be six months” before I would get the rest of my items! He said, “it depends on when we get another move down there.” I have yet to receive my items!

I repeatedly called [redacted] but his voicemail was full and did not allow me to leave a message. Meanwhile I underwent 21 radiation treatments (I can provide all documentation from [redacted]), I called the Redding office trying to get a hold of [redacted] but when I finally spoke with him last week he repeatedly called me “a piece of [redacted]! That’s right you’re a piece of [redacted]!” I reminded him that I had never called him any name, but he just kept yelling at me saying I was, “a piece of [redacted]!” so I said quietly, “Excuse me.” And I gently hung up. It is frightening to try to deal with someone who is nice one minute then completely unhinged the next. Revdex.com please help me.

The whole time I was attempting to oversee this move, I knew I had breast cancer but did not yet know it was Stage III. I was very fatigued, had limited mobility from several core biopsies taken under my arm and in the breast. Two weeks after the load-up for the move, I had the first of 2 surgeries (July 14 & July 30.) at the move-out, I had to deal with the movers piling heavy boxes of books atop boxes marked fragile and asked them not to treat my items so roughly, which after they broke some things, they were more careful. It was very stressful!

They did not finish the move until late June 2nd, did not deliver all my items to Paradise – not to date! – broke many items, did not “assemble” items they had taken apart, did not put my clothes in wardrobe boxes and did not hang any of my clothes up at the [redacted] destination, but put together Two Men and Truck boxes and dumped all my clothes in them – still on their hangers! I was in no condition to remedy their errors.

My Realtor, [redacted], met the movers at the house, opened it for them, and instructed them to place the plants on the tarps I had provided for that purpose. Instead, the movers put the potted plants directly onto the carpet leaving it filthy! (see photos) and they set heavy boxes atop fragile ones (see photos), broke my new-in-box vertical blinds set (see photos), broke my bed (see photos), broke a hutch (see photos), removed lampshades form boxes and tore them (see photos), and never put a single box in the kitchen nor bathroom even though they were marked kitchen (see photo) and bathroom! As I said, I was in no condition to move boxes – and I had hired Two Men to move! So, I had to hire others to do their job.

The movers at [redacted] took advantage of the fact that I had cancer and was not able to be at the unload. My Realtor trusted them to complete the unload and left them at the house after letting them in and giving them instructions on which items went in which rooms. I had given a written list to the movers in Costa Mesa, as well.

Two men from the movers returned about a week later – after many calls from me – to reassemble one table and he called me into the room to show me how the unload movers had left a chest = open with thing spilling out! (see photo). I was exhausted so left them to reassemble the bed – which they damaged and put together upside-down! And hammered nails thru fine teak wood instead of using the proper hardware! It will never be as it was before their move of it.Desired Settlement: It is heartbreaking to hire and trust people to do a job as I can concentrate on fighting this disease, cancer. I would like my items back – and have photos of them in the Orange County storage unit – which is the last time I saw them, more than 7 months ago. I have tried to negotiate with Two Men and a Truck, but instead of reasonable discussion I have been threatened repeatedly with lawsuits and been sworn at!

It is unreasonable to expect me to pay $2,500 when none of the agreed- upon work was done, and Two Men and a Truck did so much damage and caused me so much trauma and added expense.

I am weary of getting [redacted]’s abusive and threatening phone calls, his name calling, and his illegally holding my items hostage while insisting I pay him $2,500! Two Men and a Truck failed to move my things on the agreed-upon date, put many of my things in storage after sending a too-small truck, contracted to do a job they were obviously not qualified to do and ended up breaking my bed and other furniture and things, and causing me more expense because they failed to do the job I hired them to do. This they did and took advantage of the fact that I was unable to be at the unload, was too ill to oversee them and had already given move-out notice so unable to hire another company at the 11th hour when they failed to show up on time but arrived too late and with too little truck.

Business

Response:

I am not sure how to begin so I will list each item that seems relevant to a complaint that is listed by Ms. [redacted]. Agreed Move Date was not met. Response: The agreed Move Date was as soon as one of our trucks could get to her home. She was fully aware of the situation that we were unloading in Anaheim and as long as everything went smooth and traffic cooperated we would be able to load on the 30th of June. Our men and truck was delayed due to circumstances out of our control and [redacted] was made fully aware of this from both office and our movers on several occasions. This has not been an issue and was never even discussed until now. Now meaning 8 months later after we have decided to file in small claimsSent to small of a truck. Response: 100% absolutely not. We run only 2 sizes. 24' and 26'. We had a 26' truck (our biggest and roughly 300 cubic feet bigger than any available rental). They generally can fit a 3-4 bedroom home depending on items. Ms. [redacted] did not describe adequately what she had. The guys informed us upon arrival of the extreme number of boxes, misc items and unpacked items that were not gone over between myself and Ms. [redacted] at any time. We had no reason to suspect her items would not fit. I was told a small two bedroom apartment. Instead of having our men do a change order, I informed them to do whatever is necessary to get her items on the truck in lieu of our extra expense and time. Subsequently our men could not get all the items on the truck. Instead of leaving the items and again not doing a change order, I authorized the men to rent a storage unit nearby and place the remainder of items in the unit until we had another truck down in the area and able to pick up. Not once did I even suggest [redacted] pay for this. We truly were with the mindset of helping her out because of the circumstances. I paid for the unit for 3 months until we picked up the items and brought them to our Chico warehouse.Items were not placed where they needed to be: We met her realtor at the home on [redacted]. Her realtor did not know where items went and was completely unaware of what needed to be done. I informed the men to do there best and if needed when [redacted] got up there we would come back up to help her out. I informed [redacted] of this and sent men back up when she came into townDamages: I told [redacted] on a few occasions we were happy to take care of her damages. All I needed was proof she paid for them and or we would pick them up and take care of it ourselves. (very common practice for us). She never took us up on either because in doing so it would require her to pay us.Storage Items: Upon arrival of storage items in Chico, Ms. [redacted] was informed of her items arriving and did not reach out to us for delivery because she understood she would have to pay. We have had them in our warehouse for 4 months storing for free. Summary: We have been accused of stealing and improper business ethics by Ms. [redacted]. This has all been done to avoid paying us for over 7 months. We agreed to move all her items from point A to point B. We have done so and I must add in a fashion that few if any other companies would of done. I truthfully believe that because of our intent to file in small claims Ms. [redacted] has reached out to the Revdex.com for this matter. In my last conversation with Ms. [redacted], I asked if she ever intended to pay. Her answer was "probably not" and at time I informed her that her items were not being held in lieu of payment and she is more than welcome to come get them. I would deliver them in a heart beat if I felt we would get paid. I believe we as a company have bent over backwards and have fulfilled every requirement per law and moral code for Ms. [redacted].

My wife was provided with a "Binding Estimate of Cost" document that clearly laid out the cost. We were charged $74.00 more than was allowed.

On 8/9/13 my wife was provided with a "Binding Estimate of Cost" document by Two Men's estimator. On the document, it very clearly lays out the total hours (3-4 on the first day and 4-5 on the second day), then has a plus sign ("+") followed by the amount for "Boxes and Supplies Sold Separate" ("$88.00 or Less"), then an equals sign ("=") with a "Total Cost" on the document of "$875-$1125.00". Two Men charged us $74.00 for boxes and supplies on top of the $1125.00 maximum amount of the "Binding Estimate of Cost". I received a call at home a day or two after the move (concluded on 8/15/13) from their office saying that the mover had miscalculated and that we owed more money than was written up on their document from that day. I told them I did not have the document, that my wife did, and that I would have her call them. They called back before my wife had called them (the next day or perhaps the second day after the initial call) and wanted to talk with me again. I again told them that my wife was the one who had met the estimator and that they should talk to her. The person I spoke with clearly wanted resolution and to push forward with the higher charge. He explained to me his interpretation of the "Binding Estimate of Cost" page, saying the "Total Cost" was only for the estimated 7-9 hours of labor. I did not have the paperwork, so I relied on his interpretation and authorized the charge. When I saw the paperwork, I realized I had been deceived and that he was telling me that the "Total Cost" (even added up with the boxes and supplies as it was with the plus and equals signs on the page) wasn't really the total cost. My wife called Two Men to protest, but since they had their authorization (given erroneously by me), they refused to reverse the charge.

Check fields!

Write a review of Two Men And A Truck - Chico

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Two Men And A Truck - Chico Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Moving & Storage Company, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Trucking

Address: 3851 Morrow Ln Ste 9, Chico, California, United States, 95928-8305

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

twomenandatruck.com


Add contact information for Two Men And A Truck - Chico

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated