Sign in

Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Storage Units, Trucking, Moving and Storage Companies, Moving Services Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento

Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento Reviews (4)

Review: During our move from one house to another, 18 of our items were damaged. The company has refused to pay us $0.6/lb for the damaged items.

We moved twice this year, and both times we hired Two Men and a Truck, because we had used their services in the past and were very pleased with their service. The first move was from Elk Grove, CA, to Sacramento, CA, where we had our items placed in storage while we completed the purchase of our new house in Lincoln, CA. Prior to our second move from Sacramento, CA, to Lincoln, CA, on 6-25-13, one of the movers told me to initial several items contained in a release of liability form. Because we were being charged by the hour, I felt pressured to initial each area which was not clearly explained to me. Without further explanation, the mover arbitrarily wrote in a clause stating "Customer requests no pads, only shrink" which I did not realize had been written on the form. I would not have agreed to this clause had it been clearly explained to me. At the end of the move, we noticed 18 items had sustained some degree of damage, plus our subwoofer was missing from our house. We reported this information to Two Men and a Truck, files a claim with them, and provided them with a detailed description of each item that was damaged plus photos depicting the damage to each item as described. However, we were told by the company on 7-12-13 that our claim was denied due to the afore mentioned release of liability which I explained to them that I would not have agreed to had I fully understood the meaning of the clause that I had initialed under duresse. The company told us that the only way this matter could be resolved is for one of their employees to come to our house and make the necessary repairs themselves. One of the damaged items was our 50-inch plasma TV which showed a thick black line across the lower half of the screen after we had turned on the set following our move. We told the company that according to a service technician at [redacted] in Roseville, CA, that the TV would have to be replaced, which would cost us an additional $650 to purchase. As for the missing subwoofer, we were told to file a police report, which we did. However, the Sacramento Police Department told us that the matter could be investigated only if the missing item(s) in question amounted to $1000 or more, and the value of our subwoofer would be far below that amount. We did end up purchasing a new subwoofer for just below $400. Then on 7-19-13 we contacted our bank, [redacted] Bank, because the first move cost $956.74 which we paid with our ATM card. The bank credited that amount back to our checking account while they investigated the matter with the moving company. On 10-11-13, we received notification from [redacted] Bank that the cost of that move would be pulled from our account and given back to Two Men and a Truck because they were now willing to reimburse us the amount of $.60/lb on all damaged items, unless the company was able to repair the items themselves. Today we talked with [redacted], the claims manager at the moving company, and he told us that we probably would not be paid according to the contract because of the release of liability clause that I had unknowingly initialed. He instructed me to fax him a summary of the estimated weight of all items being claimed, plus a detailed description of all damaged items. I will be faxing the requested information to him in the morning.Desired Settlement: We would like to be reimbursed for all of our damaged items at a rate of 60 cents per pound.

Business

Response:

Initial Business Response

Prior to the start of our customer's second move with our company within the year, and more specifically within about one months time or so, the customer did in fact sign a Release of Liability requesting our crew to break company policy of padding and stretch wrapping all items for protection. Due to this fact, some of the customers goods did receive some degree of damage. Although the company was at no liberty to do so, we still honored a damage claim to a wood table far and above the actual claim value due to it's actual weight at the time of the move on 6/25/13, for a reduction of $60 off the moving total. Although the company felt the damage was a direct cause to the customer request not to have the protection padding placed on their items, it was still honored in the best interest of customer service for a repeat customer.

After the customer returned a call a week later to 17 other items, the company sent our Quality Control manager to their home to assess. Upon the assessment it was the decision that many of the items were damaged in direct relation to the customer request to break company protection policy. The customer has since filed complaints with the PUC, Two Men And A Truck corporate office, Revdex.com and their credit card bank account.

The company is willing to settle the claim with the customer at very reasonable terms, to still include many of the items damaged due to the customer request signed on the Release of Liability. The customer is claiming a total weight reimbursement for 1,620 lbs for a total of $972.

Upon the company's own research of said listed items by the item manufacturers comes to 1,485 lbs for a claim total of $891.

If the company were to only honor the valid damaged items not covered under the Release of Liability, the customer's claim total would come to $326.70. The company has a standing offer to meet the customer half way of their demands of $972, for an offer of $480, minus the $60 already reimbursed for a total of $420. This is an increase of $153.30 in good faith of customer service that the company has no obligation to pay due to the customers request on the Release of LIability.

Although the company has attempted to settle this claim, the customer has not shown any willingness to come to a fair and reasonable agreement. This standing offer has also been presented to the PUC and to the Two Men And A Truck corporate office as well.

Final Consumer Response

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

None of the workers on the day of the 2nd move ever spoke to me about requesting no pads and only shrink wrap being used for our furniture. It was raining that morning and the head worker rushed me to hurry up to initial all of the areas that were highlighted so that they could begin the work. Unfortunately, since they were in a hurry to start the work and due to the fact that we had no prior issues with the paper work from the 1st move, I initialed the highlighted areas because during our 1st move no such clause was hand written into the paper work. We have very expensive Ethan Allen furniture and leather furniture that were damaged as a result of that move. In all, 17 items were damaged as a result of the move, plus our subwoofer was stolen from among our belongings. We also have a 50-inch plasma TV that was not handled properly because we saw on the TV screen a solid black line that went horizontally across the lower half of the screen. We purchased 4 bags at $20.00 to put 2 of our box springs and 2 mattresses into so that they don't get damaged. Two of the box springs and one mattress ended up getting damaged any how. From our first move with the company all of our belongings were moved into a storage unit because our new house was still in escrow. We have no idea if anything got damaged from the first move because our items were tightly packed into a storage unit. We would never have agreed to sign such a release of liability if we had it explained to me at the start and not having the lead mover rush me to get started because of the rainy weather. Also, when we estimated the weight of all of our damaged items, we based our estimate on information we obtained from www.movers.com. Some of our product information manuals also listed the weight of the item in question. We were not informed by the company as to the estimate that they came up with which was 1485 lbs instead of the 1620 lbs we estimated. We were offered $420 for our damaged items which we do not agree to. Also we had a subwoofer that was packed in its original box and was brought onto the truck. We know that our subwoofer was stolen because it never showed up at our new house. My wife and I checked our old house, the storage unit, and the truck each time when our belongs were removed. The company asked us to file a police report and they got back with us within that week and told us that they could not investigate unless the item was valued at more than $1,000.00. So the company denies that the item was stolen. We had to replace our subwoofer which costs us $400.00.

Final Business Response

Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento per Max 4, Item 470 is making a firm compromise settlement in the amount of $426.00. The following is the complete breakdown of the calculations including explanations:

If Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento were to only honor the valid claim items not released per the Release Of Liability, the max claim amount would be $326.70, minus the $60 already credited to the claim for a remaining balance of $266.70.

The estimated claim weight presented by [redacted] for all items = 1620 lbs/Max claim total = $972

The claim weight researched by Two Men and a Truck for all items = 1485 lbs / Max Claim total = $891

Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento, in an effort of good faith and customer service, looking to meet and exceed our customers expectations, is willing to settle the claim by honoring 1/2 of the remaining $318 by the customer's claim total for all items, regardless of the signed Release Of Liability for a total of $159.

Valid Claim remaining balance = $266.70

1/2 honor compromise of customer claim amount = $159

This will make final compromise settlement total of $426.00.

I look forward to your response.

Business

Response:

Prior to the start of our customer's second move with our company within the year, and more specifically within about one months time or so, the customer did in fact sign a Release of Liability requesting our crew to break company policy of padding and stretch wrapping all items for protection. Due to this fact, some of the customers goods did receive some degree of damage. Although the company was at no liberty to do so, we still honored a damage claim to a wood table far and above the actual claim value due to it's actual weight at the time of the move on 6/25/13, for a reduction of $60 off the moving total. Although the company felt the damage was a direct cause to the customer request not to have the protection padding placed on their items, it was still honored in the best interest of customer service for a repeat customer.

After the customer returned a call a week later to 17 other items, the company sent our Quality Control manager to their home to assess. Upon the assessment it was the decision that many of the items were damaged in direct relation to the customer request to break company protection policy. The customer has since filed complaints with the PUC, Two Men And A Truck corporate office, Revdex.com and their credit card bank account.

The company is willing to settle the claim with the customer at very reasonable terms, to still include many of the items damaged due to the customer request signed on the Release of Liability. The customer is claiming a total weight reimbursement for 1,620 lbs for a total of $972.

Upon the company's own research of said listed items by the item manufacturers comes to 1,485 lbs for a claim total of $891.

If the company were to only honor the valid damaged items not covered under the Release of Liability, the customer's claim total would come to $326.70. The company has a standing offer to meet the customer half way of their demands of $972, for an offer of $480, minus the $60 already reimbursed for a total of $420. This is an increase of $153.30 in good faith of customer service that the company has no obligation to pay due to the customers request on the Release of LIability.

Although the company has attempted to settle this claim, the customer has not shown any willingness to come to a fair and reasonable agreement. This standing offer has also been presented to the PUC and to the Two Men And A Truck corporate office as well.

Consumer

Response:

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

None of the workers on the day of the 2nd move ever spoke to me about requesting no pads and only shrink wrap being used for our furniture. It was raining that morning and the head worker rushed me to hurry up to initial all of the areas that were highlighted so that they could begin the work. Unfortunately, since they were in a hurry to start the work and due to the fact that we had no prior issues with the paper work from the 1st move, I initialed the highlighted areas because during our 1st move no such clause was hand written into the paper work. We have very expensive Ethan Allen furniture and leather furniture that were damaged as a result of that move. In all, 17 items were damaged as a result of the move, plus our subwoofer was stolen from among our belongings. We also have a 50-inch plasma TV that was not handled properly because we saw on the TV screen a solid black line that went horizontally across the lower half of the screen. We purchased 4 bags at $20.00 to put 2 of our box springs and 2 mattresses into so that they don't get damaged. Two of the box springs and one mattress ended up getting damaged any how. From our first move with the company all of our belongings were moved into a storage unit because our new house was still in escrow. We have no idea if anything got damaged from the first move because our items were tightly packed into a storage unit. We would never have agreed to sign such a release of liability if we had it explained to me at the start and not having the lead mover rush me to get started because of the rainy weather. Also, when we estimated the weight of all of our damaged items, we based our estimate on information we obtained from www.movers.com. Some of our product information manuals also listed the weight of the item in question. We were not informed by the company as to the estimate that they came up with which was 1485 lbs instead of the 1620 lbs we estimated. We were offered $420 for our damaged items which we do not agree to. Also we had a subwoofer that was packed in its original box and was brought onto the truck. We know that our subwoofer was stolen because it never showed up at our new house. My wife and I checked our old house, the storage unit, and the truck each time when our belongs were removed. The company asked us to file a police report and they got back with us within that week and told us that they could not investigate unless the item was valued at more than $1,000.00. So the company denies that the item was stolen. We had to replace our subwoofer which costs us $400.00.

Business

Response:

Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento per Max 4, Item 470 is making a firm compromise settlement in the amount of $426.00. The following is the complete breakdown of the calculations including explanations:

If Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento were to only honor the valid claim items not released per the Release Of Liability, the max claim amount would be $326.70, minus the $60 already credited to the claim for a remaining balance of $266.70.

The estimated claim weight presented by James Meyer for all items = 1620 lbs/Max claim total = $972

The claim weight researched by Two Men and a Truck for all items = 1485 lbs / Max Claim total = $891

Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento, in an effort of good faith and customer service, looking to meet and exceed our customers expectations, is willing to settle the claim by honoring 1/2 of the remaining $318 by the customer's claim total for all items, regardless of the signed Release Of Liability for a total of $159.

Valid Claim remaining balance = $266.70

1/2 honor compromise of customer claim amount = $159

This will make final compromise settlement total of $426.00.

I look forward to your response.

Business

Response:

We are bound by the contract that was signed as verified by the PUC. The claim of loss/damage is not a negotiable total. A Firm Compromise Settlement per Max 4 Item 470 of $426.00 is our only option to close this claim.

Please see explanation below sent on 10.28.13 to the complainant and the Public Utility Commission of California.

Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento per Max 4, Item 470 is making a firm compromise settlement in the amount of $426.00. The following is the complete breakdown of the calculations including explanations:

If Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento were to only honor the valid claim items not released per the Release Of Liability, the max claim amount would be $326.70, minus the $60 already credited to the claim for a remaining balance of $266.70.

The estimated claim weight presented by James Meyer for all items = 1620 lbs/Max claim total = $972

The claim weight researched by Two Men and a Truck for all items = 1485 lbs / Max Claim total = $891

Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento, in an effort of good faith and customer service, looking to meet and exceed our customers expectations, is willing to settle the claim by honoring 1/2 of the remaining $318 by the customer's claim total for all items, regardless of the signed Release Of Liability for a total of $159.

Valid Claim remaining balance = $266.70

1/2 honor compromise of customer claim amount = $159

This will make final compromise settlement total of $426.00.

Consumer

Response:

I am writing to you in response to your last request for information regarding Case #65034839 against Two Men and a Truck. My wife Lisa and I are still not satisfied with the moving company's response to my claim as they are willing to settle for only $426.00. We are seeking a settlement of $962.00, which is based on $0.60/lb of the estimated weight of 18 items that were damaged during our last move with Two Men and a Truck. I am also willing at this point to accept a settlement of $891.00, which is based upon the company's estimated weight of 1485 lbs. Among the items that were damaged were some furniture and appliances as well as 2 mattress box springs and 1 mattress which were all placed in mattress bags that we purchased from them just prior to our initial move with them back on 5-21-13. We also had a subwoofer that was packed in its original box and it ended up being stolen from our belongings, and we paid about $400.00 to replace it. My wife and I thoroughly checked our previous house, the moving truck, and the storage area to make sure that none of our belongings were left behind. Two Men and a Truck were not willing to accept any responsibility for our stolen subwoofer and they told us to file a police report which Sac PD would not follow up on because the value of the stolen item was less than $1000.00.

I am aware that the reason that they are offering us a lower settlement is because of a Release of Liability form which I had initialed on the day of our 2nd move without the form being fully explained to me prior to my initials. It was raining that morning and it was dark inside the storage area where our items had been kept in storage since our first move on 5-21-13. The lead mover had me initial the form while we were inside the dark storage area and said they needed to get started right away, so I signed the Release of Liability form quickly but without my prior knowledge he had handwritten a statement saying "Customer requests no pads, only shrink wrap." I was not aware that he had put that statement in the form and I would not have agreed to it if I had known that it was there. When I explained to the claims manager at Two Men and a Truck that I was not aware of the clause that had been handwritten into the form and that it had not been fully explained to me, he just said that because I had signed the form we were not eligible for re-embursement for the full amount of $0.60/lb.

I am also aware that the next course of action would be to have arbitration between us and the moving company. Please let us know what their response will be as soon as you find out.

Thank you for your assistance in handling this matter.

Business

Response:

Our company response: We are bound by the contract that was signed as verified by the PUC. The claim of loss/damage is not a negotiable total. A Firm Compromise Settlement per Max 4 Item 470 of $426.00 is our only option to close this claim.

Please see explanation below sent on 10.28.13 to the complainant and the Public Utility Commission of California.

Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento per Max 4, Item 470 is making a firm compromise settlement in the amount of $426.00. The following is the complete breakdown of the calculations including explanations:

If Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento were to only honor the valid claim items not released per the Release Of Liability, the max claim amount would be $326.70, minus the $60 already credited to the claim for a remaining balance of $266.70.

The estimated claim weight presented by James Meyer for all items = 1620 lbs/Max claim total = $972

The claim weight researched by Two Men and a Truck for all items = 1485 lbs / Max Claim total = $891

Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento, in an effort of good faith and customer service, looking to meet and exceed our customers expectations, is willing to settle the claim by honoring 1/2 of the remaining $318 by the customer's claim total for all items, regardless of the signed Release Of Liability for a total of $159.

Valid Claim remaining balance = $266.70

1/2 honor compromise of customer claim amount = $159

This will make final compromise settlement total of $426.00.

Review: I called to schedule a move on February 9 we scheduled it for February 11, they left a message today that if I did not call them back they would take me off the schedule at 3 pm on February 10. So I told them to take me off the schedule. Also I would like to note that there is no signed contract. They sent me an email around 4 pm on February 9th trying to bill me for $348 cancellation fee. I do not feel I should owe them anything.Desired Settlement: I do not owe them anything. I should not pay them anything.

Business

Response:

In most circumstances, we have a 48 hour cancellation policy, for customers who schedule their move outside of that time frame. This is because we reserve the truck and the men for that day for that specific customer. That way, customers can be rest assured that we will show up when we are scheduled to do so. When people cancel within that time frame, it can be challenging to find the crew replacement work for that day - since we have turned away other jobs in order to accommodate the customer who had previously reserved that truck and crew. In light of the circumstances, we can void the cancellation fee for this customer.

Review: We hired this company to move our family's belongings. They left a large amount of our things behind, stating they could not fit them in their truck.

On March 5, 2013, I contacted Two Men and a Truck to move my husband, myself, and our five young children from Fair Oaks to Concord, CA. I spoke with a representative who asked me how many rooms, what furniture we had, what we would be moving and quoted me a cost of between $800-900.00. We were moving to Concord to take care of my mother, who was very ill on hospice. I told the representative that we needed to get done quickly on our move day, that the live-in nurse would be leaving on that day, and I would be the one caring for my mom. We were dropping our keys to our landlord on the way down to Concord on moving day. We set the move up for March 11, 2013... to be completed by the afternoon. The representative suggested I add two more men since I told them we had a lot to get done quickly. We did add and pay for the two extra men, now being quoted an estimate of $1600.00. My husband went down to their center in Sacramento on the Saturday before our move to buy boxes and packing material, so we could start before the movers got there on Monday morning. The Sunday night before our move, my mother passed away. We struggled through the move Monday morning... watching the four men carry our already packed by us boxes and packing things and carrying things out of our home. Before they got to the garage at all, and some of our kitchen, and peripherals... one of the men said their truck was full and they couldn't take anything else!! They said they had no other trucks available, but for an extra fee they could come back on a later day!! Our move was this day, we were to turn in our keys and I was to be in our new place of residence... now not to take care of my mom, but to take over her final affairs and ownership of the home. The move was not to encompass any other days. We drove to Concord with the movers bringing what they could in their truck. We knew many of our belongings were still in the home we had just moved from and were renting. It was and is still sickening to think about. They unloaded our things and had me sign a paper charging us $2600.00... $1,000.00 more than their last quote and an incomplete job.

Two days later, my husband went back up to Fair Oaks in a taxi to pick up our second car we still had at our old home... the maintenance man was looking at the home and said if we could find a way to get some more of our things, he would give us the key we turned in... but that would be more days we would be charged rent. My husband took back the key and the following week we rented a U-haul trailer, loaded up our family and the van we owned at the time, and drove back to Fair Oaks to get some of our things. We couldnt fit much in our 5 by 8 trailer and still had to leave a great deal, including collectable trains, childrens toys clothes, tools , a glider, bbq grill, and so much more. Our landlord sent us an itemization of cleaning and a $500.00 charge to throw our things away at the dump... things that were ours and not garbage!!! We just couldnt bring them. My husband and I have spoken repeatedly to a representative named [redacted] at Two Men and a Truck. In my last conversation with her she told me, "I can not help you", when asked if we will see compensation for our loss. She suggested I speak to [redacted] operations manager, who I left a message for that was unreturned. Now the mailbox is full. I spoke with [redacted] today June 11, 2013, who put me on hold to "read the notes", and then transferred me to her voicemail. I have tried for months to work with this company to receive compensation for our loss, to no avail. They did a terrible job, left our things, and charged us more. We deserve to be reimbursed something for the monetary and punitive damage they've caused by our loss of items we can not afford to buy, or obtain again.Desired Settlement: We are seeking a full monetary reimbursement from this company. The things we lost total 1,000.00's, not to metion the charge for the U-haul and gas, and the charge by our landlord to dispose of our items (that charge was taken out of our security deposit). The childrens toys and clothes that were lost will have to be repurchased. We will have to repurchase tools, and many other things that were left. Some things that were left were pictures and sentimental items we can not replace. We are asking for a full refund for this move, and if not a full refund, then some portion close to the cost of the move. That at least, would be a token of compensation for the loss and hardship they have caused us.

Business

Response:

Business' Initial Response

Contact Name and Title: [redacted] - President

Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Contact Email: [redacted]@twomen.com

I will defend our position in order of reference by the customer's statement.

We NEVER give estimates over the phone. Only when we perform an on site inspection do we give an estimate. Anything verbal that we give over the phone is a general average of how long a move, according to their square footage, may take. We stress that this is just an average amount of time and that each move is controlled by variables such as the amount of belongings' one has, how well prepared they are for the move, disassembly and reassembly of items, traffic, weather, stairs, parking, tight corners, etc.

When the customer first booked the move (2 men) we were only to move boxes from the garage to the new location. The following day the scope of the move changed and that is why we added the 2 extra men to the move. The customer had originally booked their move only 3 days in advance as well.

The information that they provided was not a complete list of the items that they had, they had much, much more. As well as they had stated we would be moving tools - what was said as tools was actually in fact engine and other large miscellaneous car parts. We are household movers and we have no way of safely transporting those types of items - and we were never made aware that these were the types of items that would be transported. Also, we don't move these items because they can cause dirt, grease and grime to get on our current customer's belongings or a future customer's belongings.

Our trucks are all one sized and not all the customer's belongings fit. We had explained this to the customer prior to booking about our truck size and also noted that sometimes moves require 2 trucks, but we did not have 2 trucks available for that day. On move day, we did not have a second truck available for the customer, but we were able to have one the next day, which would have been at the same hourly rate at what she was currently paying for. So whether the truck was there that day or the day after, the cost would have been the same.

The customer declined to utilize our offer for the second truck.

The customer's hourly total came to $2306.25 not $2600.00 - the supplies that they had purchased were added on to their bill. Also, we had to wait at the customer's house while they removed and cleaned up from the recent death of her mother. The customer was aware that she would remain on the clock during this time. Our crew estimated that this was another hour to an hour and a half. Her hourly rate was $207 per hour.

When the salesperson showed up on move day to see the progress of the move, she had a beer in hand - and upon his inspection he stated that it was a lot of "trash" that was left behind. The customer also acknowledged that they knew that their move would take longer because our Movers had ended up taking apart a play set and we packed boxes, both of which the customer had intended to do.

The customer could have taken us up on the offer to get their remaining items, but they did not. In fact, the customer did no such complaining on move day, a day after and not even a week after their move. We found out that the customer had a complaint through our credit card company stating that the customer had fought a charge on their credit card. The customer never called us or attempted to tell us of their disappointment until they received our company's favorable decision in the credit dispute, which was almost a month after their move.

Upon receiving their complaint and hearing from them about all the valuables that couldn't be moved and that were thrown away by the rental property, we performed our due diligence and spoke with the property and maintenance manager of their previous home. We were informed by them that the items that were left behind was "garbage". It included some broken shelving, bags of clothes, some auto parts, a dresser and food that was left in the fridge. There was no mention, nor when asked, did they say that the items that were left reflected the list of items that the customer had stated to us.

Based on all the information we gathered from the customers, the crew, the Move Consultant, our Operations Manager, the credit card company, the Rental and Maintenance Manager of their property we had come to the conclusion that no one in our company did anything wrong or misguided that would cause undue hardship to the customer or their move. We have stated this as well to the customer on multiple occasions.

We had spoken with the customer on every attempt but the 2. With her last attempt being the most recent when she stated that if she didn't speak with someone immediately, she would go to the Revdex.com and file a complaint.

Unfortunately, the store manager, [redacted] was out that day and her phone call was transferred to his assistant, [redacted]

There is no justification or evidence that we have done anything wrong, as well as we have a written email by the maintenance manager that includes the following, "customer #### told manager ##### that whatever was left at the property when he was finished was going to stay and that he would not be coming back to collect it. A few days later the ##########s turned in the keys and we took over possession and started repairs and cleaning."

I have compassion for what the customer went through during this time, but we couldn't let that be factor in deciding a resolution.

During our move from one house to another, 18 of our items were damaged. The company has refused to pay us $0.6/lb for the damaged items.

We moved twice this year, and both times we hired Two Men and a Truck, because we had used their services in the past and were very pleased with their service. The first move was from Elk Grove, CA, to Sacramento, CA, where we had our items placed in storage while we completed the purchase of our new house in Lincoln, CA. Prior to our second move from Sacramento, CA, to Lincoln, CA, on 6-25-13, one of the movers told me to initial several items contained in a release of liability form. Because we were being charged by the hour, I felt pressured to initial each area which was not clearly explained to me. Without further explanation, the mover arbitrarily wrote in a clause stating "Customer requests no pads, only shrink" which I did not realize had been written on the form. I would not have agreed to this clause had it been clearly explained to me. At the end of the move, we noticed 18 items had sustained some degree of damage, plus our subwoofer was missing from our house. We reported this information to Two Men and a Truck, files a claim with them, and provided them with a detailed description of each item that was damaged plus photos depicting the damage to each item as described. However, we were told by the company on 7-12-13 that our claim was denied due to the afore mentioned release of liability which I explained to them that I would not have agreed to had I fully understood the meaning of the clause that I had initialed under duresse. The company told us that the only way this matter could be resolved is for one of their employees to come to our house and make the necessary repairs themselves. One of the damaged items was our 50-inch plasma TV which showed a thick black line across the lower half of the screen after we had turned on the set following our move. We told the company that according to a service technician at [redacted] in Roseville, CA, that the TV would have to be replaced, which would cost us an additional $650 to purchase. As for the missing subwoofer, we were told to file a police report, which we did. However, the Sacramento Police Department told us that the matter could be investigated only if the missing item(s) in question amounted to $1000 or more, and the value of our subwoofer would be far below that amount. We did end up purchasing a new subwoofer for just below $400. Then on 7-19-13 we contacted our bank, [redacted] Bank, because the first move cost $956.74 which we paid with our ATM card. The bank credited that amount back to our checking account while they investigated the matter with the moving company. On 10-11-13, we received notification from [redacted] Bank that the cost of that move would be pulled from our account and given back to Two Men and a Truck because they were now willing to reimburse us the amount of $.60/lb on all damaged items, unless the company was able to repair the items themselves. Today we talked with [redacted], the claims manager at the moving company, and he told us that we probably would not be paid according to the contract because of the release of liability clause that I had unknowingly initialed. He instructed me to fax him a summary of the estimated weight of all items being claimed, plus a detailed description of all damaged items. I will be faxing the requested information to him in the morning.

Check fields!

Write a review of Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Moving & Storage Company, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Trucking

Address: 8440 Elder Creek Rd  Sacramento Ca 95826, Sacramento, California, United States, 95828

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

twomenandatruck.com


Add contact information for Two Men And A Truck/Sacramento

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated