Sign in

Veterans Advantage, Inc.

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Veterans Advantage, Inc.? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Veterans Advantage, Inc.

Veterans Advantage, Inc. Reviews (19)

• Apr 16, 2021

Read the Terms of Service !
The "Terms of Service" unclearly states that their intentions are to charge you with very few, if any, benefits in return. I would stay away from this organization forever. Just the fact that they chose to use "VA" as their acronym seems intentionally misleading.

My rating for this organization is Double-F-Minus.

• Dec 05, 2020

THANK YOU
Everything I have read says "STAY AWAY", it would seam like this site is more about taking advantage of military affiliated personnel. I was looking to join the Veterans Advantage program because supposedly you can get cheaper tickets through American Airlines. While trying to get more educated on the website I did not find any worthwhile information. So here I am and now I see why. Thanks but NO THANKS

Review: Veterans Advantage, Inc has placed unexplained and unauthorized charges on my credit card.

Account_Number: [redacted]

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund

The following charges were placed on my credit card: 29 Apr 2013 VETERANS ADVANTAGE XXX-XXX-XXXX DC $149.8627 Mar 2013 VETADVANTAGEXXXXXXXXXX XXX-XXXXXXX DC$19.8030 Apr 2012 VETERANS ADVANTAGE XXX-XXX-XXXX DC $149.8629 Mar 2012 VETADVANTAGEXXXXXXXXXX XXX-XXXXXXX DC$19.80I am seeking to have the 29 Mar 2012 ($19.80), the 27 Mar 2013 ($19.80), and the 29 Apr 2013 ($149.86) charges refunded because they were not authorized.

Business

Response:

*onsumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/05/01) */

Before I contacted Revdex.com I had quit my membership in Veterans Advantage. They mailed me a form, which I have not completed, which would only refund me back a portion of the funds I feel they unfairly took from me.

Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/05/03) */

Thank you for bringing Mr. [redacted] concerns to our attention. The charges made to Mr. [redacted] account were not unexplained nor were they unauthorized. Our records indicate that Mr. [redacted] joined our program on X-XX-XX through our partner[redacted]s website. [redacted] joined for himself and three family members [redacted] chose to add to his account: [redacted] and [redacted]. The accounts were then renewed through our continuous service program which [redacted] expressly agreed to upon enrollment. We inform members of our renewal policy several times and in several places:

1. The Temporary Member *ard issued immediately upon completion of enrollment

2. The Program's Terms of Service, which appear on our member Website

3. In the Welcome Letter sent by USPS to each member

4. In the printed Benefits Directory sent to each new member

A member may also choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time. We have no record of a request to do so.

On X-XX-XX a $19.80 charge was made to cover processing for the 4 member packets - $4.95 each. Membership materials were mailed for each person on 3-8-13. Then on X-XX-XX the annual fee of $149.86 ($59.95 for the primary card and $29.97 for each supplemental card) was charged. On X-XX-XX Mr. [redacted] contacted our customer service call center to cancel his accounts. Due to the $50,000 MEDEVA* coverage and $5,000 AD & D insurance policies which are in place for each of our members, we ask that cancellation and refund requests be made in writing and include a forfeiture of coverage. This request was made of Mr. [redacted] and [redacted] agreed. The form was mailed to the address on file and was never returned. We have issued a refund to Mr. [redacted] for the charge of $19.80 and for the charge of $149.86; [redacted] and his family members have been removed from coverage under our group insurance policy. We consider this matter to be fully resolved.

Review: Veterans Advantage offers a 30 trial, which I signed up for. I had every intention to cancel my 30 day trial. Located on their website is a section which states "manage your billing and auto renew options".

When going into this section, there are no options to manage the auto renew, and there is no way to cancel the membership. Veterans Advantage does not allow members to cancel their accounts online, instead forcing them to call in. I did not have any time to call that day, so I opted to call at a later date.

Admittedly, I forgot to call within the 30 days. Instead I called on the 31st day, realizing my mistake. It was too late and I was billed for the full year. My mistake, and I hoped I would find a use for my membership. Unfortunately I did not - as Veterans Advantage does not offer any real discount on any services - every hotel / travel website I used, many, many times, the discount was exactly the same (or worse) that any person could have found online, or gotten for free, or simply paid less without the discount.

Choosing to be proactive and not get billed for an additional year, I called Veterans Advantage on 12/11/2015 to cancel my membership before it renewed a second time. After a nearly 10 minute hold time, I was able to cancel my membership.

This evening I noticed a $4.95 charge on my debit card from Veterans Advantage. Reading through their terms and conditions, I noted that the $4.95 service charge relates to trial members who cancel - since my membership was a full membership (1 full year paid for), there is absolutely no reason why I was charged.

Additionally, the woman I spoke with on the phone did not bother to inform me that my card would be charged. On top of this, the Veterans Advantage website does not allow me to remove my card information, so they have the ability to charge me any time they choose - just as they don't allow customers to change their membership options online.Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the money charged to me to cancel my account - $4.95.

Business

Response:

Review: Without authorization credit card filing 11/28/2015. $59.95. No service or product given. MasterCard notifiedDesired Settlement: Cease and desist charge and contact. Scam

Business

Response:

Review: The Veterans Advantage card does nothing more than what the [redacted] card does . And for a lot less price. the price for this card for me was $199.95 it's value for the service it renders is not worth the price as advertised $4.95 Much less then the overblown price of $199.95. This is a Blatant scam.Desired Settlement: return the $199.95 to my account and destroy my contract I want nothing to do with this scam ,that takes advantage of our Veterans.

Business

Response:

Review: I agreed to this service for 1 Year, I called to un-subscibe on december 28,2012 and requested no renewal, I was informed that a few days earlier I was being charged for the upcoming year.My member ID# is LYNXXXXXXXXI asked that I not be charged for this year and was told it was too late and nothing could be done.IU just recently became aware that I had recourse to file a complaint otherwise I would have done it immediately.

Product_Or_Service: Vet rewards card

Account_Number: LYNXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund

Refund for this years dues, I have never used or benefited from this service and I worried they will continue to charge me annually.

Business

Response:

Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/27) */

Thank you for bringing Mr. [redacted]'s concerns to our attention. We have reviewed Mr. [redacted]'s record and found that when he joined Veterans Advantage on December 29, 2011 his account was entered into our automatic renewal program. He joined for himself and also for Ms. [redacted] Downs.

Veterans Advantage is a benefit program for veterans and their families that partners with companies that wish to acknowledge those who have served with special offers and discounts on their goods and service. As a convenience to our members, Veterans Advantage is a continuous service program. We inform members of our renewal policy several times and in several places:

1. The Temporary Member Card issued immediately upon completion of enrollment

2. The Program's Terms of Service, which appear on our member Website

3. In the Welcome Letter sent by USPS to each member

4. In the printed Benefits Directory sent to each new member with the membership kit

A member may also choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time. We have no record of a request from Mr. [redacted] to opt out of this program. This is why his membership account had been renewed. Renewal kits for Mr. [redacted] and Ms. Downs were mailed on 12/18/12 and the renewal fee was charged on 12/29/12. Our recording of the conversation indicates that Mr. [redacted] contacted Veterans Advantage on 1/2/13 (not 12/28/12). As was explained to him by our representative, Jason Ball, refunds cannot be processed for the time the membership is active. At this time Mr. [redacted]'s account was removed from continuous service so that no further charges would be processed. The accounts for Mr. [redacted] and Ms. Downs remain current and active. Both of them have had full use of the card, partner discounts and benefits package associated with membership. Both accounts will remain current through 12-29-13.

Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/28) */

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.)

I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHEN I WAS CHARGED ON 12/29/12 A SATURDAY, AND I CALLED ON THE 2ND BUSINESS DAY 1/2 2013, THEY COULD NOT REVERSE THE CHARGE FOR THIS YEAR. THEY ADMIT I PROTESTED THE CHARGE. THEY CAN CHARGE ME FOR THE USE OF THE CARD FOR 3 DAYS AND REFUND ME THE REST. I DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR LOGIC.

Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/07/08) */

We are sorry to hear that Mr. [redacted] does not want to continue with the Veterans Advantage program and have requested a refund in the amount of $89.92 on his behalf. A refund check will mail to his adress on file in the next 2 weeks. Thank you for your assistance in resolving this matter.

Review: I joined veterans advantage in 2012, since then I have not been able to utilize any of their purported benefits. I asked for a refund and after four months and contacting Revdex.com I received a check with an incorrect name on it that I won't even attempt to cash as my bank questions me about checks that do have my correct name on them.I changed my mind and decided to keep the membership as I plan to travel. I have been trying to obtain the documents necessary to prove coverage if a medical emergency were to occur, however the company that is supposed to provide coverage "Chartis" is no longer underwritten by "National Union Fire Insurance Company of [redacted] and employees also deny a business association with veterans advantage. The "policy #'s" are not in the database of the two aforementioned underwriting companies.Desired Settlement: I want the proper documents that prove coverage with my name on them.

Business

Response:

Re: [redacted] – Complaint ID # [redacted]

Thank

you for providing additional information regarding [redacted]

filing. We are pleased that she has

chosen to remain a member of Veterans Advantage. We understand she is seeking additional

confirmation of the Veterans Advantage Group Insurance coverage.

Veterans

Advantage offers a Prepaid Benefits Plan that includes up to $50,000 of [redacted] Insurance coverage, anytime

a member travels more than 100 miles from home, up to $5,000 Accident

(“A&D”) Group Insurance Policy (policy # [redacted]) coverage

(accidents are the 5th leading cause of death) with no age limits or health

exam required and up to $50,000 coverage for Repatriation of Remains. This

group insurance policy is held in the Veterans Advantage name. The policy cannot be altered to reflect an

individual member’s name.

Our

records indicate that Ms. [redacted] spoke with our call center representative,

[redacted], and received information detailing coverage under this policy along with

the Travel Guard customer service number ([redacted]) to call with any further

questions. We believe Ms. [redacted] may have

mistakenly contacted the underwriter of the policy – [redacted] of [redacted], **, a subsidiary of [redacted] – seeking information. This is

not the correct party to contact regarding customer service or coverage

information. This may explain why the business association with Veterans

Advantage could not be confirmed.

We

have emailed Ms. [redacted] outlining the policy coverage and offering additional

assistance should she have questions or concerns. We consider this matter to be

fully resolved.

Consumer

Response:

As of now, I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

If there are any more problems with this business, let it be known that I will contact you in the future. Thank you for your assistance.

Sincerely,

Review: In their website it states: "Veterans Advantage has been created to deliver greater respect, recognition and rewards for all who have served in the U.S. Military, including Veterans, Active Duty Military, National Guard and Reserves, and their family members."

Upon enrolling you are led to believe that there are all kinds of benefit discount(s) offered by many business and it is not explained fully until after enrollment. It is after you enrolled that you are able to read the fine print in the discount offer(s) by the different busines(s). Example to get a discount at [redacted], you must spend $300. [redacted] you must spend $75. [redacted] only online, but you must spend $100. This was not clearly stated prior to enrollment.

I printed a 20 percent coupon for [redacted] and once at the store on Veterans Day was told that practically the whole store is not 20 percent off. It happened at the [redacted] store in [redacted] and I dealt with the manager of the store on Veteran's Day. I felt insulted, disrespected and rip off and to make matters worse it happened on Veteran's Day. I asked the store manager if there was anything he could do, but was told that there was nothing he could do. Where is the respect, recognition and reward that the company claims with the above statement.

[redacted] and [redacted] offer 10 percent discount on anything on the store. All I have to do is show my ** Id card and get a 10 percent discount at the register. This program is no gimmicks, no membership. It shows respect, gratitude and rewards for serving this country.

Members advantage leaves much to be desired. Instead, once I notified a Supervisor/Manager named Kisha on 11/16/2015 was told that I would have to pay a processing fee. If this is not another slap on the face, I do not know what is. Is this respect, recognition and rewards? It certainly contradicts your statement above. It means false advertisement. I have filed a dispute with my credit card. I also requested to have someone in upper management contact me.

I expect the full amount back with no fee of any kind. I will not give you part of my limited income without any benefit since I am also a fully disable veteran.Desired Settlement: A full refund of $ 99.82

Review: Veterans Advantage put my memberbership on automatic renewal. Charged me for a 3 year membership on renewal that I did not request or given warning to. When I called, they said I signed up for the renewal, which I did not. I requested them to cancel this serve and give me a full refund. Customer service representative [redacted] said they couldnt do it as it was not policy to do over the phone. What is this a tactic to take a veterans money?? Retailers can easlily refund money back onto credit cards. Veterans Advantage had no problem taking the money without my authorization. Said [redacted] had to mail me a request form first then I had to mail back before they could cancel/refund. What a way to help your veterans!! I am requesting a full refund from Veterans Advantage.

Account_Number: STAXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund

Refund of the $149.86 charge and $19.80 charge.

Business

Response:

Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/05/03) */

Thank you for bringing [redacted]'s concerns to our attention. Our records indicate that [redacted]'s account was renewed through our continuous service program which she expressly agreed to upon enrollment. We inform members of our renewal policy several times and in several places:

1. The Temporary Member Card issued immediately upon completion of enrollment

2. The Program's Terms of Service, which appear on our member Website

3. In the Welcome Letter sent by USPS to each member

4. In the printed Benefits Directory sent to each new member

A member may also choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time. We have no record of a request to do so.

The charges made were not for a three year membership as [redacted] states. They were for a one year renewal of accounts for [redacted] and the 3 supplemental card holders she named on her account: [redacted] and [redacted], II. On March 3, 2013 a $19.80 charge was made to cover processing for the 4 member packets - $4.95 each. Membership materials were mailed for each person on 3/8/13. Then on April 2nd the annual fee of $149.86 ($59.95 for the primary card and $29.97 for each supplemental card) was charged. On 4/11/13 [redacted] contacted our customer service call center to cancel her accounts. Due to the $50,000 [redacted] coverage and $5,000 AD & D insurance policies which are in place for each of our members, we ask that cancellation and refund requests be made in writing and include a forfeiture of coverage. This request was made of [redacted] and she agreed. The form was mailed to the address on file and we have heard nothing again until this Revdex.com complaint. We have issued a refund to [redacted] for the charge of $19.80 and for the charge of $149.86; she and her family members have been removed from coverage under our group insurance policy. We consider this matter to be fully resolved.

Review: Let this letter confirm that I called this day to obtain a copy of the charge against my credit card by Veterans Advantage. I was told that by the terms of their agreement with me that they were not required to provide me with a copy of the charge they made. Whether I agreed to that term in fine print at the beginning of our relationship is now irrelevant. I needed to opt out of your questionable agreement, and talked to a fast talking script reader, not a customer service representative. I needed a receipt, which was not provided. The charge against my account was made on March 7, 2013. To receive any relief, I as told you required my fililng out forms, anything to delay and distract me from continuing on my quest to cancel and perhaps let another auto-renew date, without notice, go by. NO further charges against my credit card are authorized, and I will notify the credit card company. I persisted, and finally received confirmation that I have effectively terminated our relationship this day. The confirmation for cancellation is XXXXXXEB. I requested an email back confirming this action, but that request was declined. Altogether my experience with Veterans Advantage convinced me that they are in fact disregarding business ethics and declining to use reasonable business practices, such as failing to provide email contacts for customer complaints, receipts, confirmation of charges against credit cards and the like.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation)

Copy of receipt and cancellation of auto-renewed billing ASAP.

Business

Response:

Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/03) */

Thank you for bringing Mrs. [redacted]'s concerns to our attention. Our records indicate that Mr. [redacted] joined our program (for himself and his wife) through our partner United Airlines' website on 3-8-12. At that time, the account was entered into continuous subscription service. We inform members of our renewal policy several times and in several places:

1. The Temporary Member Card issued immediately upon completion of enrollment

2. The Program's Terms of Service, which appear on our member Website

3. In the Welcome Letter sent by USPS to each member

4. In the printed Benefits Directory sent to each new member

A member may also choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time. We have no record of a request from either Mr. or Mrs. [redacted] to do so. On 4/23/13, Mrs. [redacted] contacted our customer service call center to cancel the account. The account was cancelled at her request. Our VP of Marketing, [redacted], followed up with Mr. [redacted] directly and issued a refund of the $89.92 renewal fee charged on 3-8-13. Mrs. [redacted] said that this was "acceptable" to her. An email confirmation was sent. Coverage provided by our Over $50,000 MEDEVAC policy and $5,000 AD&D Policy for Mr. and Mrs. [redacted] was cancelled effective 3-8-13.We consider this matter to be fully resolved.

Veterans Advantage is extremely responsive to our customers. Our customer service call center is available Monday- Friday, 9 am- 9 pm ET, and on Saturdays 11 am- 4 pm ET. In addition, an email contact form is available off of our home page: https://www.veteransadvantage.com/cms/contact

Review: OFFERING THE LOWEST COMPANION TRAVEL Fly for less this summer, get exclusive airline tickets, plus a gift certificate for two tickets, with one low price. My husband (26 yrs retired veteran) and I was enthused that (company name) had a promotion advertising once you became a member, you would receive a travel voucher offering two tickets for one low price. After calling the 24 hr. reservation number I was quoted a price for two tickets over $1000 with taxes. I did some research and found 2 lower priced tickets with taxes for under $800.00. We found this promotion to be more of a marketing tool for their companies than offering consumers the lowest companion tickets as stated. I have contacted both companies however to no avail, or solution. Enclosed is a copy of the travel voucher, that I cannot use, it is out of my budget range.Desired Settlement: I know their is significant lower discounted tickets available especially at large group rates. Please lets be fair in our advertising, and remember ethics, and ask our selves: DO we really VALUE our customers, and their trust and confidence? Their has to be lower discounted prices available, then what they offered. If not, the travel prices I found would save the company some money, and keep us happy as well. Please lets be fair! Please offer us 2 economical, lower airline tickets.

Business

Response:

Thank

you for your recent notification of Mrs. Booker’s complaint. We have been in touch with Mrs. Booker on

multiple occasions. As has been

explained to her, we advertise the Companion Certificate as “Two Tickets…One

Low Price.” Generally, our members report significant savings when booking

travel through this special offer.

We fully researched Mrs. Booker’s claims and we were

informed by our partner that Mrs. Booker was offered flights that were

available in inventory, but she declined. The total cost she was quoted was

$802.00, not over $1000.00. The price she found online was just under $800.00,

but that was the cost for 1 ticket. Doing a true comparison, Mrs. Booker would

have to book 2 tickets at $800 and her actual cost would be $1600.00. There is a

significant savings when flights are booked with our partner.

The desired settlement that Mrs. Booker seeks is “2

economical, lower airline tickets.” This

has already been offered to her by our partner.

We recognize the savings as substantial and the offer of “two

tickets…one low price” is accurate. The

voucher that Mrs. Booker has is valid for travel through 6/15/15, we encourage

her to use it.

Business

Response:

We are sorry that Mrs. Booker cannot make use of the

Discounted Companion Air Fare Certificate provided to her. To cancel her membership and obtain a refund

for the membership fees paid we request that she return the membership

materials: VetRewards Card, Member Benefits Directory, and the Discounted Companion

Air Certificate number: [redacted].

They can be sent to: Veterans Advantage

Membership Service, P. O. Box 4143, Greenwich, CT 06830.

Once received, a refund will be issued.

Consumer

Response:

Review: 10073989

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

Cheryl Booker

Review: I called to make sure there was no auto renewal for membership after receiving a new card in the mail. I made the call on 10/27/2015 and sure enough there was an auto renewal so I cancelled it. I later saw a charge of $4.95 on my debit card from Veterans Advantage. I called and spoke to Denise and was told it was a nonrefundable handling charge because they had sent out the new card. I asked for a manager after getting no help and was put on terminal hold. Mine is not the only complaint as seen on the internet.Desired Settlement: To have someone check into this organization for defrauding and scamming veterans with hidden fees and very fine if any small print about renewals as well as making sure all veterans who were scammed get a refund.

Business

Response:

Thank you for brining Mr. [redacted]'s concerns to our attention. It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to provide all our members with exemplary service. I regret that Mr. [redacted] has not had this experience. Our records indicate that Mr. [redacted] enrolled in continuous service with his origninal application for membership. We inform our members in several places about the Continuous Subscription service including: with the digital VetRewards Card provided upon enrollment, in the Member Benefits Directory mailed to the member with the permanent VetRewards Card and in the Terms and Conditions link available on our homepage at www.[redacted].com. We provide a continuous subscription model because we offer over $50,000 of group insurance to our current members. We don't want members to find themselves with lapsed insurance coverage when they most need it. However, one can be removed from continuous service at any time. Our records show no such request from Mr. [redacted].

Review: First off, I would like to say, it is non american to make a veteran pay to get discounts from companies. The companies should be ashamed and the profiteering company should be embarrassed.

I bought the Veterans Advantage just to try it out. I take many [redacted] bus trips and wanted to use it for that. I would save 19 dollars a ticket per there website. I then attempted to buy the ticket online. It took my VeteransAdvantage travel id but was no lower.

I called Veterans advantage, they said to call [redacted] and so I did, not the price was 12 dollars higher than the web with my discount. The [redacted] clerk told me I would have to go to the office to get the discount. Well I could not do it when I was ready to travel because I would not get the advanced purchase price. So I would have to drive up there and back to get the ticket. That is 20 dollars in gas.

Veterans advantage said that should not have happened, that they had a contract with greyhound, so I tried again. Two hours later I was fed up. I asked for a refund, since there site was deceptive in trade practices by lying to me. She took my information, then said oh you got the trial, so we will not refund you.

So I buy something from there company because they tell me something that is not true then they do not give me my money back.Desired Settlement: I just want my five dollars back. That is all.

Business

Response:

Thank you for bringing Mr. [redacted]’s concerns to our

attention. It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to provide exceptional

customer service for our members and we regret that this was not Mr. [redacted]’s

experience.

Our records indicate that Mr. [redacted] joined Veterans Advantage as

a 30-day trial member on November 21, 2105. [redacted] Lines, our nation’s

leader in intercity bus transportation, is proud to honor America’s Veterans

and their families with a special 20%

OFF walkup fare. To receive this discount one must

present a VetRewards Card ID at the [redacted] terminal to obtain the discount.

The Veterans Advantage discount does not apply to the online

reservation or advanced sales that Mr. [redacted] made. We take

great care to follow best practices throughout our operations and make every

effort to fully explain each benefit on our website and in all promotional

materials.

We have highlighted below key differences between standard

[redacted] Web fares and [redacted] Veterans Advantage Walk-up fares. We inform

members that they may wish to select the lower price provided through

a Web fare, but there may be penalties for exchanges and there are no

refunds.

[redacted] Veterans Advantage “Walk up” Fares

Unrestricted fare: exchangeable, refundable, no fee penalties

Available on all routes

Guaranteed 20% Off

Veterans Day and every day

No advance purchase necessary-just show your VetRewards Card and save

Veterans Advantage Enhanced Member Support

Veterans Advantage $50,000 of Global MEDEVAC insurance coverage

[redacted] Standard “Web” Fares

Fully restricted fares: non-exchangeable, non-refundable

Limited to certain routes

Discount varies

Not everyday

Advance purchase required

We are sorry that Mr. [redacted] was unable to make use of the

[redacted] discount provided through the Veterans Advantage program. Our

CEO personally placed a phone call to Mr. [redacted] today to discuss

this matter, but he hung up on him. We have refunded the $4.95

processing fee as requested and have cancelled Mr. [redacted]’s account with

Veterans Advantage.

We consider this matter to be fully resolved. Please let me know if any additional information is required.

Consumer

Response:

That is funny because the customer service person I talked to on the telephone, told me that they do accept internet reservations and also telephone reservations. She also went on to tell me that the company had been having problems with greyhound.Why would I want to spend 20 in gas to save 19 dollars on a ticket.

Review: Cancelled membership due to unable to use as advertised. Membership claims to be able to receive discount at [redacted]....was not able to. As well as claims have Global Health Insurance....Not able to use. Said company did not honor may cancellation of membership which was 6 months prior to renewal. Said company then billed credit card for renewal AFTER cancellation at time of renewal. Said company was contacted to cancel and refund dues as promised. Said company still has not done either as promised, as well as product is not as promised either.Desired Settlement: Cancel membership as requested twice and refund of membership dues. Product does not work as advertised.

Business

Response:

Thank you for bringing Mr. [redacted] concerns to our

attention. We have contacted Mr. [redacted] directly to address his claims that the Veterans Advantage benefits are not

available as advertised. After speaking

with him, he understands that he did follow the correct procedures to obtain

his discounts.

Veterans Advantage provides a variety of discounts that is

accessed through different channels. For

example: the 20% discount offer with

[redacted] is accessed through a printed coupon, the 5% discount on flights

with [redacted] Airlines is available by phone with the Veterans Advantage member

ID number and the discount provided on [redacted] service is provided online

only with a promotion code. Veterans

Advantage members can access the Members Only area of our website at [redacted]

to securely access all codes necessary to obtain discounts with detailed

instruction on how to access them.

Mr. [redacted] was not aware of this resource and also misunderstood

the coverage provided under the Group Insurance Plan included with the Veterans

Advantage member plan. Mr. [redacted] also reported an issue with our partner,

[redacted]. He should have been able to obtain a 20% discount at the [redacted]

Mall location in [redacted]. We have

reported this issue to [redacted] and they have told us that they have

corrected the situation.

We offered Mr. [redacted] a complimentary one-year membership

for himself and his family. He declined

this offer. A refund of $19.80 has been

issued, as Mr. [redacted] requested. We consider this matter to be fully resolved.

Review: Veteran's Advantage billed my credit card $9.90 for renewal material without contacting me first.

The girl at the customer support number said it was their policy to send out a new pamphlet and membership card 1 month before the renewal date. seemed very reluctant to try and get the billing reversed.

I then cancelled my membership renewal at that time.Desired Settlement: 1. Credit my account and

2. send a notice of pending charges before actually making the charge to all subscribers..

Business

Response:

Review: The company billed me charges without warning or explanation. After I was charged $4.95, I looked into it further. The company claims to offer an auto-bill service as a "convenience." However, there is no way to opt-out of out it without calling them during their business hours. This is an unethical and dishonest business practice. It is more inconvenient to try to opt-out. The business relies on customers who will simply not opt-out because of the steps involved.Desired Settlement: An apology, a refund, and a change in their policy. Provide an opt-out feature on their website. DO NOT enroll customers automatically in the auto-bill feature without their consent.

Business

Response:

Re: [redacted] – Complaint ID # [redacted]

We have just received your correspondence regarding [redacted]. Thank you for bringing his concerns to our attention.

The charges made to[redacted] account were not unexplained nor were they unauthorized. They in no way represent an “unethical and dishonest business practice.”

Our records indicate that [redacted] joined our program on 03-26-2014 with a special 20% off offer through[redacted]. At this time his account was included in a continuous service program which he expressly agreed to upon enrollment. We inform members of our renewal policy several times and in several places:

1. The Temporary Member Card issued immediately upon completion of enrollment

2. The Program’s Terms of Service, which appear on our member Website

3. In the Welcome Letter sent by [redacted] to each member

4. In the printed Benefits Directory sent to each new member

A member may also choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time. We have no record of a request from [redacted] to do so. On 02-24-2015 a $4.95 charge was made to cover processing for his renewal member packet. An updated VetRewards Card and membership materials were mailed on 03-05-2015. Due to the $50,000 M[redacted] coverage and $5,000 [redacted] insurance policies which are in place for each of our members, we ask that cancellation and refund requests be made over a recorded phone line to our Customer Service Call Center and then in writing via a cancellation form that includes a forfeiture of coverage. Our Call Center representatives are available to help during our extended business hours of Monday-Friday, 9am-9pm ET, and also Saturdays 11am-4pm ET. We believe these hours are more than adequate to accommodate the working schedules of our members.

We have issued a refund to[redacted] for the charge of $4.95, cancelled his account, and removed him from coverage under our group insurance policy. We consider this matter to be fully resolved.

Review: The advantage of membership are the alleged discounts however when you shop around you quickly find you can do better elsewhere. No email contact.

This organization deliberately fails to provide an email contact thus you are left to deal with their trlemarketing team. Their product of discounts on goods and services are sub standard in the industry and when I call to point out the obvious problems and better deals I encounter they tell me that is the way it is. The service is flawed and the promise is exaggerated and I just closed out my membership rather than face the automatic renewal. I have talked with a few other vets who have had similar problems and all have resigned their membership.Desired Settlement: I would like to have a letter from the leadership of this organization telling me their reaction to the concerns of their customer. I did not get any such courtesy when speaking with their telemarketing staff.

Business

Response:

Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/19) */

Thank you for bringing Mr. [redacted]'s concerns to our attention. Our CEO and Founder,[redacted] called Mr. [redacted] and spoke with him on Saturday, April 6th. Mr. [redacted]'s concern was that [redacted] did not receive competitive rates as a Veterans Advantage member compared to rates offered to the public on a car rental in Baltimore, MD. Mr. [redacted] said [redacted] would provide details of the rental so that Veterans Advantage could further investigate the situation. Veterans Advantage provides real discounts that are used by our members every day. One impartial review of our program is provided by [redacted] an Army Commanding Officer and blogger who saved $783 on his consumer purchases over the past year. Here is the link to his blog:

Although Veterans Advantage provides substantial discounts from national partners, it is not necessary to use the discounts to benefit from the program. Veterans Advantage includes $50,000 of Emergency Medical Travel Insurance free with membership; $5,000 of Accidental Death & Dismemberment insurance is also included. A free comprehensive financial analysis package is also available. The value of these free services with membership totals over $800.

Mr. [redacted] further explained that the Veterans Advantage call center is a customer service vehicle and not a telemarketing effort. Mr. [redacted] reviewed the recording of Mr. [redacted]'s call on April 3rd and found that [redacted] the Veterans Advantage representative acted with professionalism and courtesy and cancelled Mr. [redacted]'s membership as requested.

Consumer Response /* (2110, 7, 2013/04/23) */

(The consumer indicated [redacted]/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.)

Review: The Veteran's Advantage "DISCOUNT" for [redacted] INCREASES the cost of [redacted]'s services. The increase is almost double. $170 weekly rate increases to $300+. Using VA's discount code's [redacted] or [redacted] on [redacted].com. I called an [redacted] agent and the discounts resulted in the same thing: increased cost of service.Desired Settlement: Veteran's Advantage needs to fix this with [redacted] IMMEDIATELY. They could be costing veteran's more money.

Business

Response:

Check fields!

Write a review of Veterans Advantage, Inc.

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Veterans Advantage, Inc. Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Veterans & Military Organizations, Civic and Social Organizations (NAICS: 813410)

Address: 81 Holly Hill Ln, Greenwich, Connecticut, United States, 06830-6071

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with Veterans Advantage, Inc..



Add contact information for Veterans Advantage, Inc.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated