Sign in

Zan's Refuse Services

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Zan's Refuse Services? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Garbage Removal Zan's Refuse Services

Zan's Refuse Services Reviews (47)

• Dec 05, 2021

NEG STARS would be more appropriate. Worst EVER, avoid like the plague!
Worst EVER, avoid like the plague! Don't believe me hit up the BBB and look for yourself.
I thought this would be a great service since the owners cousin owns the trash service that picks up at my Westend house and has for over 13 years, and we love them and have never been missed! So when my Westend company rec Zans for my Southside house, b/c they do not pick up in southside I thought great! I signed up and did not give it another thought. I should have known when my new trash can drop off was late that there were going to be issues but I thought OK no big I am new so that is OK they will get it to me and they did, two weeks late (that I paid for) but they told me I would get a credit. I have only been a customer since June and so far they have missed me week, after week, after week, they only come b/c I call and complain. One week they never came and never called me back, and never gave me a credit so we are done. I called twice yesterday and never got a call back to confirm my pick up or to address my concerns/cancellation and credits that I have never gotten. Worst thing is my neighbors went and changed to them as well b/c I boasted about my Westend company and these guys will be great too and they have already cancelled their service. So yesterday was the last straw. I have to look back to see what I have paid for and then get out AND they WILL refund me all these missed weeks b/c this is the WORST service I have ever had. I should not have to chase you down for a service I paid for. I run a business as well and this is UNACCEPTABLE. The excuses go on and on...other refuse companies are not having this issue, just them.
Update..9/2 they tried to cancel me for a month I've already paid for and they sent me a bill for October which I will not be paying! Oh and a charge to pick up my can, which I will also NOT be paying. The bill said bc I cancelled w/o 60 days notice. First off I never signed anything or was even told about this policy when I signed up over the phone, or when I called many times to complain, or when I called to finally to cancel. Seems all of those times may have been a good time to inform me but yet NO. I left messages that were never returned, and trash that was never picked up until a week or more later. If someone would have called me back and informed me of all this I would have kept them until the 60 days were up and the trashed them! I am beyond pissed! I emailed some chic named Deb and am waiting on the paperwork that I signed saying I was made aware of a 60 day cancellation notice or I would be subject to x y and z. That was last Monday, haven't heard a word and it's been over a week. I've never had this much trouble getting what I paid for! Update 12/5: no word from them on anything, just another bill with no answers! Read the BBB they are a horrible company who have so many complaints just like mine. Next stop the states attorney to complain. They should not be allowed to do business like this. I have nothing telling me I should have to pay them for something I did not get or for cancelation. Maybe if they had held up their end of the bargain this would not be an issue. My time is valuable and I have wasted so much chasing them up and down for my trash pick up. They owe me and everyone else who has complained. I have a cancelation policy as well for my company but I make consumers WELL aware of it, that way this doesn't happen. Seems they need to be held accountable for their horrible service, not compensated for it in cancelation fees.

We sincerely apologize to Mr. [redacted].  Our management has properly reviewed Mr. [redacted]’s account and have found that one of our employees, who has since been dismissed, failed to properly follow up and correct any error Mr. [redacted] reported with the service and missing his home.   A...

refund for the month of January will be issued and mailed out this Monday and we sincerely apologize for how we dropped the ball.  Mr. [redacted] was our customer for about a year and is extremely familiar with how our reliable service executed on collecting his residence’s waste before this isolated incident occurred.   With that said, we would gladly welcome Mr. [redacted] back with 3 months free service to show how sorry we really are and how much we value his business.  We’re sorry that one of our employees failed to meet this customer’s needs, even when the customer allowed ample time to repair the issue.  This ex employee’s actions or lack thereof are certainly not indicative of our overall service and definitely not in line with how we treat our customers; which is why this employee has been released from our company.

On Thursday 3/3/16 we received an after hours message from the customer stating that she was missed and that she wanted to cancel the service . This is the only time that we have received a call in regards to her trash service.  I called the customer first thing Friday morning 3/4/16 and addressed the problem.  I also made the customer aware of the 30 day cancellation policy. The customer refused to let us continue and wanted the service cancelled.

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: [redacted]I would like to clarify that the contents of the response from the business were not entirely true.  As I stated in my complaint, two calls were made to the business on Friday, February 12th (morning and evening).  Per the time stamp on my phone, 8:55am and 5:20pm respectively.  The fact that the business does not own their error is baffling to me.  On their website, they boast an A+ rating from the Revdex.com.  This is not the case.  All I can say is, buyer beware!
Regards,
[redacted]

We did receive a call from the customer on February 10th after the customer waited an entire week to call to let us know that the trash was not collected. She then called after hours on February 12th and we returned her call and spoke to her on February 16th when we were back in the office...

(we were closed February 15th for inclement weather)  at that time we did explain to her that we will correct this and get the trash picked up immediately and she said she was cancelling the service.   We've already refunded her money and will be collecting her container tomorrow.

The customer is not stating the truth.  We removed the last quarterly charge (3/1/16-5/30/16), Picked up her trashcan last Friday 3/11/16  and canceled the account.  We spoke to her the morning she filed the complaint and we can prove that.  Our business with her is finished and she is more than welcome to call us if she wants to discuss this further but we will not continue to take our time to respond to her baseless claims.

I spoke with Mr. [redacted] in reference to his trash container.  He lives in a townhome style set up.  Our cans are not labeled or assigned to any one specific in this type of property layout.  Our containers are used to hold trash that is to be picked up by our trash trucks weekly. ...

The cleanliness of the inside of the can is the responsibility of the individuals using the can as it is their trash that is placed in the container. Due to the containers not being labeled or specific house assigned there is no way for us to know what container goes to what specific townhome.  I recommended to Mr. [redacted] that for future he would probably want to place a couple of strips of Duct tape on the lid with his specific address on it, so that our workers would know which address that specific can needed to be returned to.  He was not happy with my suggestion & asked me to have someone come & clean the container.  I explained that was not part of our service, that our obligation is to empty the container of trash & it was the individuals responsibility to keep the inside of the container clean.  He then asked for me to swap out his container for a new one.  Again I explained that we don't swap out containers just because they get trash residue build up inside of them, that all that was needed was for it to be washed out with any cleaner or bleach if he chose to do so, I again suggested that after he had done that, to place the tape on the lid with his address so we could ensure he received that same can back.  Although he was never really rude or disrespectful, did argue that he didn't want to clean the can & insisted that we come find the container he used to have.  I again explained it would be impossible for us to do so & he was welcome to check with his neighbors to see if maybe they would be willing to swap or if they had what was believed to be his container. He demanded to speak with my manager, I explained that I am the Manager & there was no one else who handles this type of situation.  He demanded to speak to the owner & I again explained that the owner didn't work out of the office & he doesn't handle customer service issues, that's what he hired me for.He then became disgruntled & asked for my name & title & hung up.We do not have assigned containers, we do not clean out a customers container for them, we do not swap out containers just because they get dirty from their trash.Please feel free to contact me should you have any additional questions or concerns.Thank you,[redacted]Office Manager. Zan's Refuse Service

Our company operates on a normal schedule on all holidays except Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Day. The week of July 3rd we were operating on a normal schedule and Mr. [redacted]'s trash was not out Tuesday July 4th. When the trash is no out on a holiday week we will get the trash the following...

week. The days that we are on a delayed schedule are listed on our website as well as the 30 day cancellation policy. Mr. [redacted] was notified of the policy when he called in to cancel his service. Since the quarter was paid in advance no monies will be refunded. Please see the attached from our website Service Cancellation PolicyAll residential customers must give a 30 day written notice to cancel their service with Zan’s Refuse Service.  Residential customers may cancel before their payment cycle concludes, however no monies will be refunded and we can continue collecting until the conclusion of that time period pending homeowner approval.  Zan’s Refuse Service holds the right if proper cancellation is not provided it does not have to refund any money for service cancellationHis account is now closed and nothing else will be billed going forward.

I spoke with Mr. [redacted] Tuesday 5-26-15, he at informed me for the first time that his service had been missed.  I politely apologized for the inconvenience & offered to have our driver do a re-direct and have it taken care of in the next couple of business days.  He seemed happy with...

our turn around time.  Mr. [redacted] called me again today 5-27-15 at was furious that his trash still not been picked up.  I explained that he just notified us of the missed service & that I would have someone there by tomorrow 5-28-15.  He demanded we come today & explained that I couldn't get someone out there today & he demanded yet again that we will do what he said.  I explained that it takes 48 hours to turn around a missed service for redirect.  He yelled stating "well your Revdex.com rating is about to drop"  "thanks for nothing" & hung up on me.  Mr. [redacted] has not ever called into our office to inform me that we were missing his service.  Effective immediately Mr. [redacted] account has been closed due to his aggressive behavior towards our office staff.  We have issued a one month reimbursement to cover any services that had been missed.  We will not be doing any trash service for Mr. [redacted] home on regular pick up or for any redirect this week, again due to his treatment of our staff. If you should have any additional questions please feel free to contact me at [redacted].Thank you,[redacted]Office ManagerZan's Refuse Service, INC.

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]
Regards,
[redacted]
 Zans has know about our trash issues for over a year.  They need to send a check for 57.00 I do not accept their offer.  They have cause alot of problems with us.  We have had to deal with trash sitting for weeks.  Crows getting in trash.  Neighbors coming over and asking when trash is getting picked up cause it smells.  This has happpen on several times over a year.  If they do not want to send me a 57.00 I will contact 12 on your side news and have their business broad casted that they do not do business well.  I think I have been fair for asking for my 57.00 back after everything we have been through for over a year.  They do not think they did anything wrong which in fact they did they have stolen so much money from us with not picking up trash.  57.00 is fair cause I bet they stole more from us with missing weeks.

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]. When I called the business on 3/3, it most certainly was not the first time that I contacted the business.  The receptionist that I spoke to stated that she was new and offered to find out why our trash was not being picked up, at which point I explained to her that this has been an on going issue.  She then told me that there was a 30 day cancellation policy and that I would be charged for the month of March.  I explained that I did not want to continue with their service because they were providing the service as promised, and that I was not going to pay an additional $**.00 for non service.  The receptionist very kindly stated that she would talk to her boss when he got in to see how he wanted to handle this and that she would call me back by 2:00 pm on 3/4.  Today is 3/10.  ZANS has not called me back, the trash can still has trash in it and after the can sitting out on the curb for 15 days, I finally brought it up in the yard.  I have emptied the can for the most part into another companies can.  This is currently 3 consecutive weeks that the trash has not been picked up.  It is now 7 days since I was told I would receive a call trying to resolve the matter, and like the trash pick up, I am still waiting.
Regards,[redacted]

This morning I received a phone call from Zans stating that if I cancelled the service, I will still be charged a $**.00 fee for the month of March.  I disputed this with the company asking why would I continue to pay for a service that is not being provided.  The woman state that it is...

their policy and that she would speak with the owner and get back to me.Sincerely,[redacted]

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]
Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: c[redacted]
Regards,[redacted]

On Thursday 3/3/16 we received an after hours message from the customer stating that she was missed and that she wanted to cancel the service . This is the only time that we have received a call in regards to her trash service.  I called the customer first...

thing Friday morning 3/4/16 and addressed the problem.  I also made the customer aware of the 30 day cancellation policy. The customer refused to let us continue and wanted the service cancelled.

Her recollection of that phone call is highly inaccurate.   To put it mildly, she refused to listen to anything I had to say regarding her account or service as she repeatedly demanded her account to be closed out and kept on demanding over and over again, ‘refund my...

money!’   She unfortunately was unwilling to have an intelligent conversation about the matter and did want to hear anything I had to say. As our usual policy, her container will be removed from her home this Friday (10/24/14) and her refund of $37.57 will be mailed out within the next week.

The customer is not stating the truth.  We removed the last quarterly charge (3/1/16-5/30/16), Picked up her trashcan last Friday 3/11/16  and canceled the account.  We spoke to her the morning she filed the complaint and we can prove that.  Our business with her is finished and she is more than welcome to call us if she wants to discuss this further but we will not continue to take our time to respond to her baseless claims.   

Tell us why here...

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]
Regards,
[redacted]  Zans has know about our trash issues for over a year.  They need to send a check for 57.00 I do not accept their offer.  They have cause alot of problems with us.  We have had to deal with trash sitting for weeks.  Crows getting in trash.  Neighbors coming over and asking when trash is getting picked up cause it smells.  This has happpen on several times over a year.  If they do not want to send me a 57.00 I will contact 12 on your side news and have their business broad casted that they do not do business well.  I think I have been fair for asking for my 57.00 back after everything we have been through for over a year.  They do not think they did anything wrong which in fact they did they have stolen so much money from us with not picking up trash.  57.00 is fair cause I bet they stole more from us with missing weeks.

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]. When I called the business on 3/3, it most certainly was not the first time that I contacted the business.  The receptionist that I spoke to stated that she was new and offered to find out why our trash was not being picked up, at which point I explained to her that this has been an on going issue.  She then told me that there was a 30 day cancellation policy and that I would be charged for the month of March.  I explained that I did not want to continue with their service because they were providing the service as promised, and that I was not going to pay an additional $19.00 for non service.  The receptionist very kindly stated that she would talk to her boss when he got in to see how he wanted to handle this and that she would call me back by 2:00 pm on 3/4.  
Today is 3/10.  ZANS has not called me back, the trash can still has trash in it and after the can sitting out on the curb for 15 days, I finally brought it up in the yard.  I have emptied the can for the most part into another companies can.  This is currently 3 consecutive weeks that the trash has not been picked up.  It is now 7 days since I was told I would receive a call trying to resolve the matter, and like the trash pick up, I am still waiting.
 
Regards,
[redacted]

This customer’s service was suspended for 3 weeks due to non-payment on their account for our services.  They finally paid and came off suspension recently....

  We verified with our driver who does their route that they were indeed collected this past Monday, which is their typical day of collection.  We have left 2 voicemails with this homeowner over the last 3 days since they filed this complaint to understand what they are referring to.    Perhaps they are referring to the prior week where all of Richmond was impacted by the snow storm.  Unfortunately this homeowner refuses to return our calls so we really don’t know.    If you are able to make contact with this person, then please stress with them the importance of paying their bills on time.  What’s even worse is that we reviewed our call logs and have zero messages from this homeowner regarding their account, which means they never reached out to us in the first place regarding this issue.   Like many companies, if our lines are busy, our customers can always leave us a message as we respond to every single phone call we receive.   How else would a locally owned and operated waste hauler like us last for over 30 years with an A+ rating in the community, when all of competitors have been acquired by County Waste?  We take our customers concerns very seriously and this is a bogus claim.

Zan's has been collecting my trash for a couple of years now and I have no complaints whatsoever. They never miss a pickup, take anything I put out, and don't make a mess.

Check fields!

Write a review of Zan's Refuse Services

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit your review

Zan's Refuse Services Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Rubbish & Garbage Removal, Solid Waste Collection (NAICS: 562111)

Address: PO Box 651, Midlothian, Virginia, United States, 23113-0651

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

This website was reported to be associated with Zan's Refuse Services.


E-mails:

Sign in to see

Add contact information for Zan's Refuse Services

Add new contacts
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated