Write a review Sign In

American HomePatient

HOSPITAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES

If you had an experience with this company please share with it by adding a review
Start page > HOSPITAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES > American HomePatient
Add Review

American HomePatient Reviews (11)

Satisfaction rating: 
User tmclknd1 time 12.01.2018

Again no minus star available. I received a phone call from this company about six months ago. The caller stated it is time to order new supplies. So I said ok. The caller also said is "xxxxx" your insurance. I said yes. When I hung of the phone I realized AMP is not my provider. I have called them, I have written them yet they continue to send me bills. If this hurts my credit. I will sue upside downside and backwards.

tmc


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Judy Edney time 26.11.2017

American Home Patient has been great!


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User goldheart time 02.10.2017

American Home Patient lacks patient care and concern. I recently received a CPAP machine from therm. Upon calling to report a problem with the machine, it has not reached over a month during which I've been without it. I have had to make several calls with promises of return broken. Now waiting weeks for a replacement promised to be provided promptly -- with no communications. In addition to this I've had to intercede between my doctor and American Home Patient to ensure they get information they need for Medicare. If I can figure out how to switch to a different service under Medicare coverage, I will in a heartbeat. Awful


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Kzelez time 28.09.2017

Can't get needed supplies for my CPAP. I had a great supplier, but now I am retired and
have to use AHP. Medicare hoops have been crazy, but I have completed them. But AHP can't seem to send the supplies and will not allow discussion with a supervisor. Multiple calls get me nowhere.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User David M Cohen time 15.09.2017

I hesitate to be so blunt but in my case this is the truth: by using American Home Products, I have put my life at risk. I have been diagnosed with sleep apnea, a life threatening condition, in which breathing involuntarily stops at times during sleep. A sufferer could die from the physical effects of failure to breathe properly or from becoming uncontrollably sleepy when driving or engaging in another potentially dangerous activity. The standard treatment involves the use of a cpap machine by the sufferrer when sleeping to keep the air passages open.I was given a prescription for a cpap machine which I gave to AHP. I used the machine every night, all night, for four years. I thought machine was beginning to act funny. So, after two phone calls, an AHP therapist graciously picked up the machine from my home. After six sleepless nights, I heard nothing so I called. I was told that repairs could take a month. I asked for a loaner. Was told that the person would check. I have heard nothing. Meanwhile, my apnea remains untreated. I can't get to sleep because I can't breathe and because I am afraid I will die. There is no sense of urgency on the part of AHP. It appears to have as much concern for its patients as a cable television company


Mark as useful (2 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Ricknav time 01.08.2017

I will not bother writing a soliloquy although I have every detail of my misfortuneate dealings with this fraudulent company recorded. The short version is that I was pigeon-holed to this company by my doctors office for the purchase of a BiPAP machine. Turns out they were not on my insurance company's preferred list and right off the bat I got stuck paying out-of-pocket. My fault for trusting my doctors office. Thus far, the unit has performed admirably. The billing department of American HomePatient has been a nightmare. I purchased the unit in October of 2015. Did not receive my first statement until around May 2016. AND that was not until I had already called them numerous times. This first statement only listed (what I later found out to be) a single charge for a disposable supply order I had received a month or so earlier. Iy was for only around $60. That's it. This is the way it's been with these people up until ... today ... 8/1/2017. And it's still ongoing. Whenever I received a statement it never reflected an accurate or current listing of charges. I have spoken to several "supervisor's" that have never told the truth or followed through on anything. I made payments every month but told them that I would not pay in full until they provided me with a final statement that had written out that this was the final amount I owed and that there would be no more charges. They have never done so to this day. They have turned me over to their internal collections department several times asking for a minimal amount (compared to the total bill) each time, that I went ahead and paid. Then in May of 2017, I received a statement for a little over a thousand dollars. It, again, made no mention of it being a final amount or bill. I called Nd asked if this was the case and was told that it was. So I paid it and was promised a statement would be mailed to me indicating my balance to be zero. I have since been contacted three times wig notice that I still owe another $200. When I called for the first two I was eventually told nevermind, that it was a mistake. Then in July 2017, I received a threatening letter from a law firm out if CA. I called and explained my situation to a man there who was able to give me the date of the exact claim in question (the company has never told me anything) and I explained that that claim was listed on the May statement that I had already paid. I have since called that man back, you inquire as to the status of this suit and, of course, have never heard anything further. Fortunately, my insurance company has an excellent website and I have every claim that American HomePatient has ever filed, when, where & how. Have had this info all along and tryed to get these corrupt people to understand. But they are corrupt and not about the business of operating legally, professionally or ethically. So as far as they are concerned, they will just keep saying I owe another sum of money, forever. Without any proof. If there is any honest, authority out there that can, please look into this company. Like I said, I have every document they've ever sent me as well as the names of most of major liers I've spoken with. Dates & times. But what good does it do. These are classic criminals and they have the protection of the law.


Mark as useful (2 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User liss65matie time 06.09.2017

Hi Rick, I am so sorry you have had such a bad experience with your billing. I am not sure what city and state you are in, I am a Collection Specialist at a billing center in Pennsylvania. I work with the ins co to get claims paid. Unfortunately I do not work with the pts billing. Although I work in Pa, I work with our stores out of Virginia, Ohio, Pa, Maryland, and a little of Wv and specialise in Blue Cross & Blue Sheild. If u live in any of the state's I have listed I would be more than glad to try and help you. If you do not live in any of the state's I listed I would not be able to help you because I would not have access to your account . Feel free to email me and maybe I can help or get you to the correct dept. lisa.patterson@ahom.com. Thank you,


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Rndd time 12.07.2017

Would give -1 star if I could. Being billed for supplies I or my husband did not order nor do we have any in our possession. This is fraud. And since the bill says it's 120+ days late if I find they've reported this false amount to the credit bureau we will sue the socks off of them!


Mark as useful (2 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User DMyers time 03.06.2017

If I could give this company less than 1 star I would. My husband is an oxygen patient with American Homepatient and I have been days trying to get oxygen delivered. AHP uses Lifegas to deliver the oxygen in our area. For 2 days we were told that Lifegas had no phone service due to storms to contact them for delivery. There were no severe storms in our area. Besides that how can you use a sub-contractor for life sustaining supplies that have no emergency system in place if their phones were down. I have called for 4 days now and still no oxygen. Lifegas was supposed to deliver the portable oxygen today. It is now 10:00pm and no delivery. I have called American Homepatient 4 times today and they continued to tell me that it was scheduled for delivery. Now Lifegas is closed and they cannot contact them. Since they are an approved Medicare supplier we cannot change companies. I will be calling Medicare on Monday morning to file and complaint. Worst customer service I have ever, ever experienced.


Mark as useful (4 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer1645950 time 12.06.2016

Review: I purchased supplies from the company while I was working at my old job. I explained to the person on the phone that I needed to have my insurance company within the week because I had a new job and my insurance at my current job would cover the expense. They stated that they would and took my order. I then received bill notices for unpaid suppliee. I called them and told them what happened and they said they would listen to the recordings and get back to me. Several weeks later I get another stating that if I didn't pay the outstanding balance they would send me to collections. I tried to call back and they will not discuss the matter further. They didnt even call to discuss their findings.Desired Settlement: I want them to charge my old insurance company like they said they would. I would like them to actually inveetigate this issue and work with me to come to a resolution.


Mark as useful (2 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer667001 time 06.01.2016

Review: I received an Invoice, *** for BIPAP ST Non compliant bill date 11/18/2013 for service date 11/05/2013 in the amount of $5,8000.00. I called and asked what this is for and they said for on compliance however the BIPAP machine does cost about $1,500 and asked for a breakdown of the bill. 11/29/2013 *** said it was for non compliant and non payment from the insurance company, but according to ***, *** my insurance they were never billed from American Homepatient or never denied preauthorization, no bill submitted nor a denial number. *** from American homepatient said I did not give my proper readings and did not respond to phone calls which was not true. I returned two phone calls and mailed the computer chip in a self addressed envelop from American Homepatient 10/22/2013. They acknowledged the envelop but it was damaged and the chip was lost. A message was left 10/28/2013 and I returned the message 11/01/13 with my readings; therefore in compliance. 12/02/13 *** indicated that I was in compliance but *** indicated that the *** did not approve, but the fact is that never billed and that I was compliant 11/01/2013 and a notice was billed on 11/18/2013 for non compliant for 11/05/2013 but I was Compliant at that time according to ***, ***, and *** all American Homepatient but *** refuses to acknowledge this but said I will have to wait at least two weeks. Why? I wanted this removed and they would not and would not give me how they figured $5,800 when the insurance pays $350.00 for 2 months and the cost of the machine is approximately 1,500? No answer.Desired Settlement: I want a credit indicating Invoice *** balance due is $0.00. Moreover, an explanation of why this occurred and why there is such a delay in the billing from the service. Why I was told my insurance company denied this when in fact it has never been submitted as of 12/03/2013 for 11/05/2013. The machine should revert to me at some point due to the fact of the durable equipment reaching its payoff.

Consumer

Response:

From: *** <***>

Date: Fri, Dec 13, 2013 at 10:20 AM

Subject: case ***

Good morning:

My case *** with American Home Patient has been resolved today 12/13/2013. Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Regards,


Mark as useful (2 votes)
Reply
Check fields!

Submit Review

Satisfaction rating:

American HomePatient rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Category: HOSPITAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES

Address: 2733 E Ash St, Springfield, IL, 62703-5606

Website: http://www.ahom.com

27 people are currently seeking American HomePatient contact information. If you have any available please add it here.