Sign in

J C D Repair

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about J C D Repair? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews J C D Repair

J C D Repair Reviews (3)

Review: On May 1, 2013 I brought my daughter's iPhone to JCD Repair (JCD) to have a damaged screen replaced. The screen repair cost $86.50 and at that time I was informed that the repair was covered for 6 months under JCDs Repair Warranty.On July 15 2013 my daughter informed me that she was having a problem with her iPhone the screen had suddenly gone blank. The next day I brought her iPhone to JCD to have it fixed under their Repair Warranty. At that time I was informed by JCD that my daughter must have caused the damage herself by dropping her phone (which she refutes and for which there were no visible evidence) and as such this problem was not covered by JCDs Repair Warranty. In order to obtain a functional phone I was obliged to pay JCD for a second repair to my daughters iPhone which cost me $77.85.On July 17 2013 I wrote to JCD Repair asking to see a full copy of their Repair Warranty. On July 19th 2013 JCD Repair emailed me with the following message:Hi [redacted],Here's the basic verbiage that you're interested in:"Our warranty covers any part or repair defects. This would include something like a small dead spot on a touchscreen, dust under the screen, or some other problem related to the new part we installed. Our warranty does not cover new, physical damage to your device."Feel free to email me back directly if you have any additional questions or concerns.[redacted] OwnerJCD RepairXXX-XXX-XXXXMy complaint is that this language seems so brief/vague/general that it would appear to exclude any and all claims against JCD's Repair Warranty since JCD could always claim (as they did in my case) that the fault was (irrespective of whether or not there was any visual evidence) due to some "physical damage" to the phone and not JCD's prior repair work.Best[redacted]

Product_Or_Service: iPhone repair

Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation)

JCD Repair institute warranty language that allows their customers to clearly understand under what circumstances a repair is and is not covered under their Repair Warranty such that this determination is not be left to the subjective judgement of JCD's employees.

Business

Response:

Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/07/24) */

Contact Name and Title: [redacted] Owner

Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Contact Email: [redacted]@jcdrepair.com

It turned out there was disagreement between the customer and some of our technicians as to the exact nature as to why his daughter's phone was no longer working again.

He was issued a 100% refund on July 23 - 1 day before he opened this complaint.

In short, the customer's complaint is not valid because his daughter's phone was fixed under our warranty policy and he paid nothing out of pocket the second time around.

Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/07/25) */

(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Review: I sent them my cell because it had a cracked screen but was still fully functional. There wasn't anything else wrong with the phone when I shipped it to them. I got the phone back quickly the screen was fixed. But the button to increase the volume was broken it didn't depress all the way. The power button was broken it was turned into a touch button, the lightest touch caused the phone to turn off, the phone would just turn off randomly and takes numerous tries to make it turn back on, the phone developed a charging issue and the phone runs hot and seems to either be using more energy or is unable to sense how much juice is in the battery because it goes from 51% down to 3% and then back up to 51% in a matter of minutes. I told them about these issues I sent the phone back to them they didn't respond for days and pretty much just said sorry we've never seen this problem before and proceed to ignore my email. When I shipped it back to them the only thing they fixed was the volume button. All the other problems they caused still exist. On their website they promise to ship a phone they can't fix back in the same condition. In this case they took a phone that was fully functioning with the only problem being a cracked screen. And they sent me back a phone that is virtually useless. So I basically paid them $100+ to break my phone.Desired Settlement: A full refund plus damages for the cost that I will have to pay to get a replacement phone. Since they already acknowledged that they're unable to fix the damage they did to my phone. I'm still under contract so I'd have to pay full price from sprint to get a new phone their website shoes 499.99 while [redacted] is showing 349.99 for a contract-less Samsung galaxy s3. So a settlement of 450.99- 599.99 which covers the cost of a new phone and a refund for their failed repairs. I'd also be willing to possibly settle for a used/new phone of equal or greater value and a full refund.

Business

Response:

Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/04) */

This phone was sent in to us, fixed, and went out without any problems at all. Eventually the volume button did develop a small issue as a result of our repair and we took that back and fixed it.

At that time, the customer complained of a number of other issues with the phone and when we opened it up and looked at it, it had corrosion on the inside of the phone indicating that the phone had been damaged by liquid after our initial repair.

We refunded this customer over 60% of his initial payment, he has a phone that works better than when he sent it to us (with a cracked screen), and he damaged it again after our work on the phone.

Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/06) */

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

The phone doesn't have any water damage the water damage stickers haven't changed color. not only do they offer bad service but they lie. I responded back to them that my phone was damaged as soon as I got it. you had to open it to perform your so called repair yet you conveniently overlooked this so called water damage? if it existed how did you miss it in your initial repair. And if the phone has water damage how come the stickers haven't changed colors? Your claim of water damage is just a cop out and baseless.

On May 1, 2013 I brought my daughter's iPhone to JCD Repair (JCD) to have a damaged screen replaced. The screen repair cost $86.50 and at that time I was informed that the repair was covered for 6 months under JCDs Repair Warranty.On July 15 2013 my daughter informed me that she was having a problem with her iPhone the screen had suddenly gone blank. The next day I brought her iPhone to JCD to have it fixed under their Repair Warranty. At that time I was informed by JCD that my daughter must have caused the damage herself by dropping her phone (which she refutes and for which there were no visible evidence) and as such this problem was not covered by JCDs Repair Warranty. In order to obtain a functional phone I was obliged to pay JCD for a second repair to my daughters iPhone which cost me $77.85.On July 17 2013 I wrote to JCD Repair asking to see a full copy of their Repair Warranty. On July 19th 2013 JCD Repair emailed me with the following message:Hi [redacted],Here's the basic verbiage that you're interested in:"Our warranty covers any part or repair defects. This would include something like a small dead spot on a touchscreen, dust under the screen, or some other problem related to the new part we installed. Our warranty does not cover new, physical damage to your device."Feel free to email me back directly if you have any additional questions or concerns.[redacted] OwnerJCD RepairXXX-XXX-XXXXMy complaint is that this language seems so brief/vague/general that it would appear to exclude any and all claims against JCD's Repair Warranty since JCD could always claim (as they did in my case) that the fault was (irrespective of whether or not there was any visual evidence) due to some "physical damage" to the phone and not JCD's prior repair work.Best[redacted]
Product_Or_Service: iPhone repair
Order_Number: XXXXX

Check fields!

Write a review of J C D Repair

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

J C D Repair Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Appliances - Small - Service & Repair

Address: 3642 Wallingford Ave. N., Seattle, Washington, United States, 98103-8242

Phone:

+1 (206) 632-1096
+1 (206) 569-5068
Show more...

Website:

www.jcdrepair.com


Add contact information for J C D Repair

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated