Sign in

Liberty Tax Services

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Liberty Tax Services? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Tax Return Preparation, Tax Consultant Liberty Tax Services

Liberty Tax Services Reviews (47)

Dear [redacted] This letter is in response to your letter of April 2, 2014, ID of [redacted] The client came to our office on April 1,2014, to review and sign his income tax returnAt that time, the client was informed of their tax liability and paid for their tax preparation feesAs is policy for our office, after finishing the client’s return, it was double checked and an error was found in the reporting of their tier Medicare tax which resulted in an increase of his tax liability to the IRSWe called the client on April 1, 2014, and informed them of the change and of the new tax liabilityWe also informed the client that his tax preparation fees would be refunded to themThe tax preparation fees were refunded in full on April 2,As per the clients request, a voucher was mailed to the client for the difference owed to the IRS as well and the clients new copies and a gift vouch for a free income tax return for As always, we strive for accuracy but when an occasional error is made? we do our best to make the customer wholeReturning the customers filing fees and paying any penalty due to the error is our policy, however because the error was corrected before it was filed with the IRS no penalty was assessed Thank you for your attention in this matterIf you have any further question please call me at [redacted] Sincerely, [redacted]

July 1, 2015This letter is in reference to the aforementioned complaint id that we recently received at our officeHowever, that complaint is not related to our officeThe complaint references a Liberty Tax Service office off [redacted] in Washington, DCOur address is in Wheaton, MD, am not sure why our office even received this complaintPlease forward this information to the correct office, whose address is on the letter as: [redacted] NE Washington, DC ***We do not wish to have this complaint related or registered in any way with our officeIf you need any additional information from me, please don’t hesitate to contact me at ( [redacted] ***.Thank you, Shannon S.Office Manager

Business failed to honor previous arrangement of future services! Liberty Tax employees Dede T [redacted] made an aggrement with me, to get my amendment done for the first time home buyers payment "refund" for yearsShe was gonna charge me $for years - & (and was apparently free and I wasn't aware of this until Friday 04/07/2017) Dede had advised me that I could go ahead and pay it and I wouldn't have to worry about having to pay when I was ready to file the ammendmentI went to the branch office to start the process only to be told by Cindy B [redacted] that I would have to $for each yearAfter several moments of arguing about what was agreed upon, she stated she could process my return amendment for free but no other year(s)So I left that info with her & she stated "someone" would work on it over the weekend and contact me when it's completedI haven't received a call yet I called Liberty Tax corporate office and made a complaint and received a Issue of

Hello,In response to the above case number here are the factsMs [redacted] is correct in that initially her and her boyfriends stuff was mixed up, but that was resolved and all was fineYes, her boyfriend did owe and would have had to pay the fees unless he wanted to come back in during March and get it done for freeShe filed on January 31, We filed her return with all of the documents that she provided to usWe did not have any direct deposit issues, the only issue was that she could not provide us her direct deposit informationShe did not understand that only a paper check to her home has no feesThe only way we get paid and can hold the fees out of her money is to charge a $ [redacted] fee to have a paper check printed in our office; as a prior Liberty customer she should be well aware of thatShe has beefsHer first one is that the IRS took $ [redacted] of her refund for a Federal debt that she has and there was enough for us to get our feesIt happens all of the timeThe second problem is that when I spoke to her on February 28th she stated that she received a 1098T in the mail for tuition and that when she called us and asked about filing an amendment that we said it would cost $ [redacted] so rather than drive all the way to [redacted] she filed it in [redacted] and paid $ [redacted] Then she called the office the next day and stated that she paid $ [redacted] for it and that it was our fault that she didn't have it to file, that it with was mixed up with her boyfriends stuffI called her back and told her that if that was the case we would have done it for free and that to keep the peace and give her the benefit of the doubt, that if she would bring me a receipt for what she paid for the amendment that I would be more than happy to refund her for the cost of the amendmentShe said that she refused toNow as a good business person, I would be stupid to refund that money without proof of what she paid, especially when she has changed her storyFinally, her total tax prep fees were $***, but she was given a $ [redacted] rebate, so she only paid $ [redacted] plus the $ [redacted] bank feeI am not sure where she is coming up with the $***, because even if she is totaling $ [redacted] plus [redacted] that totals $ [redacted] so now I guess her amendment cost has now gone down to $ [redacted] This is a scam from someone who wants to get overThis is the first one who has ever gone this farAt this point, if she will present me proof of the amount that she paid for the amendment, I will gladly refund her for that and the $ [redacted] just to get her off of my back and give me the pleasure of telling her to take her business elsewhere; but I absolutely refuse to give her one dime until she presents me with that proofI think that is only good businessThere are scammers out there everywhere.Thank you.-- Jill B*** Liberty Tax Service [redacted] [redacted]

July 1, 2015This letter is in reference to the aforementioned complaint id that we recently received at our officeHowever, that complaint is not related to our officeThe complaint references a Liberty Tax Service office off [redacted] in Washington, DCOur address is in Wheaton, MD, am not sure why our office even received this complaintPlease forward this information to the correct office, whose address is on the letter as: [redacted] NE Washington, DC ***We do not wish to have this complaint related or registered in any way with our officeIf you need any additional information from me, please don’t hesitate to contact me at ( [redacted] ***.Thank you, Shannon SOffice Manager

The fee charged was actually $and is a standard fee that is generated based on the form that was used to fileThe customer would have been made aware of that at the time of filingWe will contact him directly to resolve any issues he has

The customer's return was processed and sent to the IRSUnfortunately, the IRS did not release his refund, which is beyond our control

Hello Johana, Thank you for your letter received This is in reference to ID [redacted] What MsVance has described is 100% false, she is lying We offer a tuition free tax school with a small fee for books This is on all signage and documenation used nationwide by Liberty Tax Service along with being verbally communicated to each person that after taking the class then a person can apply for employment, and that soley taking the class does not guarentee employment The class started on timeClasses were completely separate We are a large 2,hundred square foot office that often runs multiple classes, separate and distinct and have never in all my years with Liberty ever received one complaint about any interference between classes simply because there is no interference between classesAll other students have had a fantastic experience and many are doing great, being brought on with us, etc Our office is kept in pristine shape, clean and spotless which we believe reflects our professionalism and team atmosphere As far as the staff and instructors we do annoynmous feedback from students about each instructor Our instructors get stellar reviews and the highest ratings possible in virtually every category Again, these are anonymous and we appreciate all feedback and positive criticism, however due to the level of training and professionalism we require at our office we are fortunate to have what I consider the best staff possible As far as pay she was written a check from the office for time worked, she did not assist in signing or helping sign anyone up for any health insurance policies She had been told the check would be mailed to her at which point it was immeidately The only thing that she said that was accurate was she registered for class and bought the books; she then showed up for some classes and was almost removed from class/office previously due to showing late and her attitude She is banned from our office for these reasons If you have any questions feel free to contact me directly, my contact info is below, thank you Will S [redacted] Liberty Tax Service Franchise Owner Office: Cell: Office located Across from Hanes Mall In the Toys R Us/ Marshalls' Shopping Center Silas Creek Parkway Winston Salem, NC

Liberty Tax prepared my taxes wrong yet charged me for a preparation fee
I was in contact with Liberty Tax 04/05/2017, almost months ago and still no resolutionI keep getting emailed Mary S*** who keeps stating she is forwarding the issue and working on it but still no resolution or contactI'm highly upset that noone from Liberty Tax informed me that my taxes were amendedA year has passed and no one still has called! The preparation was done wrong & I think all preparation fees should be waived and refunded due to thisI have proof that my agi was done incorrectly from a copy of my amended taxes & this years filing was refused based on last years wrong number which could have possibly ended up with me being audited and or fined by the IRS! The number is wrong because last years filing was amended without MY knowledgeThere was ample opportunity and several methods of contact provided to Liberty Tax to get in touch with me and still nothing

July 14, Revdex.comAttn: *** *** *** *** *** *** ** ***
RE: Response to Complaint ID -***Dear Ms***:We are writing in response to the Complaint filed by *** *** (Customer) on 06/07/
Please review the following:The Customer came to our office on 01/29/to complete their Federal, State, and Local Income Tax returnsCustomer alerted the tax preparer that they must file an Injured Spouse form with their return because of past due obligations of the Primary Taxpayer of which the Spouse is not responsibleThe Customer had filed this special form in previous tax returns, so she knew processing would take 8-weeks timeThe income tax returns were completed and signed on the same day they came to our office.Customer states that the tax preparer refused to enter her as the Primary TaxpayerWe do acknowledge that the tax preparer should have obliged by the taxpayer's requestHowever, this would not have affected the amount of refund with the Injured Spouse form.Customer states that the Internal Revenue Service had reported that our office waited close to two weeks to submit her completed tax return from the day the tax forms were signedOur records indicate that the Federal tax return was submitted successfully and accepted on 01/30/2016; one day after the completion date of 01/29/2016.The Customer did contact our office two times between 01/30/and 04/18/to ask about the status of her returnWe explained that the return was still being processed by the Internal Revenue Service and that we could not speed up the process, especially on an Injured Spouse return.The Customer received her Federal tax refund on 04/19/The Customer came to our office and stated the amount was lower than expected because she was not listed as the Primary TaxpayerOur manager explained that she would check the return and research what might have happenedOur manager immediately submitted an issue on 04/20/with our Corporate Office asking if when filing an Injured Spouse return, would the Customer's position on the tax form affect the refund amountOur Corporate office said it would have made no difference if the Customer was listed as Primary or Secondary.When the manager was reviewing the Customer's tax return, she noticed that the number of credits was not correct on the Injured Spouse formThe manager then contacted the Customer on 04/22/to explain that the form was filled out incorrectly and that the Customer would have to file a corrected Injured Spouse formThe manager completed the corrected form and had the Customer come to the office to sign the corrected form so the corrected form could be submitted to the Internal Revenue ServiceThe manager immediately faxed a copy to the Internal Revenue Service and submitted a copy through the U.SMail that same dayThe manager alerted the Customer that the corrected form would take approximately 8-weeks to process through the Internal Revenue Service.The Customer contacted our Corporate office on 04/saying that we were not in contact with herHowever we did not receive any voicemail messages or phone calls when the office was open during our off season posted hoursOur Corporate office alerted us that she was upset on 05/10/Our manager called her that day to assure her that the return was still being processed with the Internal Revenue Service and that we would have to most likely wait the full 8-weeks for the Internal Revenue Service to respond.Since we acknowledge that the initial return did contain a mistake on our behalf, as is our policy, we will be returning the $for the tax preparation along with the $bank processing fee as a customer courtesyAt Liberty Tax we pride ourselves on accuracy and customer satisfactionAlthough we are human and human error does occur, we have very few customer complaintsOn the rare occasion when a mistake is made, we do everything in our power to rectify the situation and make it up to our loyal customer baseWe apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused to the Customer and hope she returns to have her taxes completed in the futureSincerely,
JR*** ***Owner

We have contacted the client regarding this complaint, but we have not heard back from themThey can contact me at ###-###-#### or ***

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ***, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved b
I want the balance of the check , since the fee is 385, the remaining bal should come to me
In order for the Revdex.com to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above
Sincerely,
*** ***

I originally contacted the Lake Wales branch in I had them to prepare my business return, and because I referred someone, I qualified for a $incentive It took me to well after the tax season, and many phone calls to the Haines City branch to finally receive the incentive I decided to give them another chance for the season, and got burned in a different way I took everything in well before the deadline, and they told me that they would give me a call in March I did receive a call in March, but was told that she didn't know why she called me I have spoken with a male and a female of the Haines City branch, and continue to get nowhereThe very last time that I spoke with the female was 5/25/16, and she told me that she would give me a call when I could go to the branch and pick up my paperwork to file it myself because the tax season is over and they cannot file it for free for me I was expecting a $return, but since it is now beyond the season, they will now file what was originally a free return, for a fee of $(surprise, surprise) I contacted the branch office in Lakeland, and was promised a call back; I am still awaiting that call I called the Lakeland office again today, spoke with a male who said that I must have spoken with the girl who was not in today, and was given a lot of who shot John I have been given so many different stories from each location, until my head hurts I would like for them to file my return at the original no cost to me, and handle the IRS's penalty fee for filing late My paperwork was complete and in on time they dropped the ball on this
Very displeased
Angelia L***

The customer came in to our office during a time of year when we run a promotion that allows you to receive $Cash on the spot for doing your taxes with usHe received that compensation and his taxes were filedWe charge our service fee based on the forms that are used to file the returnIf the customer's refund amount was higher, he would have gotten more money back, however, that was not the case based on his income at the time of filing

Business failed to honor previous arrangement of future services!
Liberty Tax employees Dede T*** made an aggrement with me, to get my amendment done for the first time home buyers payment "refund" for yearsShe was gonna charge me $for years - & (and was apparently free and I wasn't aware of this until Friday 04/07/2017)
Dede had advised me that I could go ahead and pay it and I wouldn't have to worry about having to pay when I was ready to file the ammendmentI went to the branch office to start the process only to be told by Cindy B*** that I would have to $for each yearAfter several moments of arguing about what was agreed upon, she stated she could process my return amendment for free but no other year(s)So I left that info with her & she stated "someone" would work on it over the weekend and contact me when it's completedI haven't received a call yet
I called Liberty Tax corporate office and made a complaint and received a Issue of

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved
Sincerely, ***
***

July 14, 2016Revdex.comAttn: *** *** *** *** *** *** ** ***RE: Response to Complaint ID -***Dear Ms***:We are writing in response to the Complaint filed by *** *** (Customer) on 06/07/Please review the following:The Customer came to
our office on 01/29/to complete their Federal, State, and Local Income Tax returnsCustomer alerted the tax preparer that they must file an Injured Spouse form with their return because of past due obligations of the Primary Taxpayer of which the Spouse is not responsibleThe Customer had filed this special form in previous tax returns, so she knew processing would take 8-weeks timeThe income tax returns were completed and signed on the same day they came to our office.Customer states that the tax preparer refused to enter her as the Primary TaxpayerWe do acknowledge that the tax preparer should have obliged by the taxpayer's requestHowever, this would not have affected the amount of refund with the Injured Spouse form.Customer states that the Internal Revenue Service had reported that our office waited close to two weeks to submit her completed tax return from the day the tax forms were signedOur records indicate that the Federal tax return was submitted successfully and accepted on 01/30/2016; one day after the completion date of 01/29/2016.The Customer did contact our office two times between 01/30/and 04/18/to ask about the status of her returnWe explained that the return was still being processed by the Internal Revenue Service and that we could not speed up the process, especially on an Injured Spouse return.The Customer received her Federal tax refund on 04/19/The Customer came to our office and stated the amount was lower than expected because she was not listed as the Primary TaxpayerOur manager explained that she would check the return and research what might have happenedOur manager immediately submitted an issue on 04/20/with our Corporate Office asking if when filing an Injured Spouse return, would the Customer's position on the tax form affect the refund amountOur Corporate office said it would have made no difference if the Customer was listed as Primary or Secondary.When the manager was reviewing the Customer's tax return, she noticed that the number of credits was not correct on the Injured Spouse formThe manager then contacted the Customer on 04/22/to explain that the form was filled out incorrectly and that the Customer would have to file a corrected Injured Spouse formThe manager completed the corrected form and had the Customer come to the office to sign the corrected form so the corrected form could be submitted to the Internal Revenue ServiceThe manager immediately faxed a copy to the Internal Revenue Service and submitted a copy through the U.SMail that same dayThe manager alerted the Customer that the corrected form would take approximately 8-weeks to process through the Internal Revenue Service.The Customer contacted our Corporate office on 04/saying that we were not in contact with herHowever we did not receive any voicemail messages or phone calls when the office was open during our off season posted hoursOur Corporate office alerted us that she was upset on 05/10/Our manager called her that day to assure her that the return was still being processed with the Internal Revenue Service and that we would have to most likely wait the full 8-weeks for the Internal Revenue Service to respond.Since we acknowledge that the initial return did contain a mistake on our behalf, as is our policy, we will be returning the $for the tax preparation along with the $bank processing fee as a customer courtesyAt Liberty Tax we pride ourselves on accuracy and customer satisfactionAlthough we are human and human error does occur, we have very few customer complaintsOn the rare occasion when a mistake is made, we do everything in our power to rectify the situation and make it up to our loyal customer baseWe apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused to the Customer and hope she returns to have her taxes completed in the future.Sincerely,JR*** ***Owner

Revdex.com:At this time, I have not been contacted by Liberty Tax Services regarding complaint ID ***.Sincerely,*** ***

May 21, 2014[redacted],We are in recept of the aforementioned complaint id. It is unfortunate that it has come even to your offices. [redacted] has caused issues in our offices for a number of months now. When he initially contacted the office, he accused us of forging his signature....

However, this never occurred. As part of our companys written guarantee, accuracy is guaranteed and we provide a double check to all returns processed by the office before being sent to the IRS and state. Now, when [redacted]s return was processed, it was discovered that he was entitled to more money in his refurid. He was contacted on the number he provided us to inform him of the change. No additional signatures were necessary because he had already authorized us to file his return. Despite being explained this several times, he refused to stop calling the office. He then started threatening employees and at one point said he was going to blow our office up. It was at that point that we contacted the [redacted] County Police Department to file a complaint of harassment because he was calling our offices every 5 minutes for hours. With the police report filed, the police also contacted [redacted] to inform him that he could no longer contact or visit our office. He was not allowed to enter our office when he showed up on /4/14 and was told that by the police (to which he also claimed he never received a call. He was never attacked by anyone in any office. According to his complaint, none of this should have happened, and he is correct. Our office did nothing wrong.We believe that he has mental issues and continues to call our offices as well as the Liberty Corporate Office. He will not be receiving a refund because there was no error made on his tax return and the subsequent events that occurred that him banned from contacting us are his own fault,We do not wish to have this complaint related in a negative way with our office as we provided [redacted] with excellent customer service even up until the point he threatened the lives of the staff here. If you need any additional information from me, please don't hesitate to contact me at ###-###-####.

Hello,In response to the above case number here are the facts. Ms. [redacted] is correct in that initially her and her boyfriends stuff was mixed up, but that was resolved and all was fine. Yes, her boyfriend did owe and would have had to pay the fees unless he wanted to come back in during March and...

get it done for free. She filed on January 31, 2017. We filed her return with all of the documents that she provided to us. We did not have any direct deposit issues, the only issue was that she could not provide us her direct deposit information. She did not understand that only a paper check to her home has no fees. The only way we get paid and can hold the fees out of her money is to charge a $[redacted] fee to have a paper check printed in our office; as a prior Liberty customer she should be well aware of that. She has 2 beefs. Her first one is that the IRS took $[redacted] of her refund for a Federal debt that she has and there was enough for us to get our fees. It happens all of the time. The second problem is that when I spoke to her on February 28th she stated that she received a 1098T in the mail for tuition and that when she called us and asked about filing an amendment that we said it would cost $[redacted] so rather than drive all the way to [redacted] she filed it in [redacted] and paid $[redacted] Then she called the office the next day and stated that she paid $[redacted] for it and that it was our fault that she didn't have it to file, that it with was mixed up with her boyfriends stuff. I called her back and told her that if that was the case we would have done it for free and that to keep the peace and give her the benefit of the doubt, that if she would bring me a receipt for what she paid for the amendment that I would be more than happy to refund her for the cost of the amendment. She said that she refused to. Now as a good business person, I would be stupid to refund that money without proof of what she paid, especially when she has changed her story. Finally, her total tax prep fees were $[redacted], but she was given a $[redacted] rebate, so she only paid $[redacted] plus the $[redacted] bank fee. I am not sure where she is coming up with the $[redacted], because even if she is totaling $[redacted] plus [redacted] that totals $[redacted] so now I guess her amendment cost has now gone down to $[redacted]. This is a scam from someone who wants to get over. This is the first one who has ever gone this far. At this point, if she will present me proof of the amount that she paid for the amendment, I will gladly refund her for that and the $[redacted] just to get her off of my back and give me the pleasure of telling her to take her business elsewhere; but I absolutely refuse to give her one dime until she presents me with that proof. I think that is only good business. There are scammers out there everywhere.Thank you.-- Jill B[redacted] Liberty Tax Service[redacted] [redacted]

Check fields!

Write a review of Liberty Tax Services

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit your review

Liberty Tax Services Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: TAX RETURN PREPARATION

Address: 24034 Joy Road, Redford, Michigan, United States, 48239

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

LibertyTax.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Liberty Tax Services, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Liberty Tax Services

Add new contacts
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated