Sign in

Maritime Documentation Center

100 24th St W Ste 1-108, Billings, Montana, United States, 59102-4771

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Maritime Documentation Center? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews License Services, Information Bureaus Maritime Documentation Center

Maritime Documentation Center Reviews (%countItem)

Maritime Documentation Center is a complete scam. They prey on unsuspecting vessel owners and charge outrageous fees for their service. They immediately renewed my Certificate of Documentation upon receiving my application, even though my current Certificate didn't expire for another two months. Additionally, my application was for a two year renewal; however, when I contacted the National Vessel Documentation Center they indicated payment had been received for only one year. As a result, I was cheated out of $75 for my second year renewal. This company needs to be investigated for fraudulent business practices. They don't even deserve one star.

Firm strongly implies they working on behalf of the US Coast Guard. Their website is solely designed to deceive victims into deceiving boaters that they are working as an official affiliated 3rd party client hired by the Coast Guard to receive payments and renewals for them. Then add a criminal amount of fees to do so. If I had just been deceived into believing they were the Coast Guard my fees for paying the Coast Guard directly would have been $102. They charged me $525.00. I thought is was a mistake and called them back. When asking about the fee structure they told me the additional money was for fees and taxes. Seriously?

Here is the link to their website when doing as search for the US Coast Guard Documentation Center
***
And the actual link for the Coast Guard Documentation
*** Tell me they are not trying to deceive?
From the US Coast Guard
The NVDC is aware that there are commercial entities that offer to manage the certification/renewal process on behalf of vessel owners for a fee. The Coast Guard does not endorse any of these companies, and the companies do not operate on behalf of the Coast Guard in any way. Any fees charged or agreements offered by such companies are in no way associated with the NVDC certification process. In addition, these companies are not authorized to issue any form of documentation, including travel letters and/or permits that authorize operation of ANY vessel. Customer complaints can be made through the *** website at *** Have contacted Maritime Documentation Center Immediately after recognizing my mistake. They emailed me back a cut and past legal response. Not a customer service based institution. Website predators!

Maritime Documentation Center Response time May 11, 2020

This message is written in response to the Complaint No.: *** received April 17, 2020 on behalf of Mr. *** regarding his application for Reinstatement of USCG Documentation.

Maritime Documentation Center (MDC) is an online, third -party document processing service that specializes in Coast Guard Documentation services. MDC makes no attempt to represent ourselves as a governmental entity. In fact, the following disclaimer appears on every navigable page of the website.

© 2019 Maritime Documentation Center. All Rights Reserved. Maritime Documentation Center is NOT the U.S. Coast Guard or the National Vessel Documentation Center; we are a third party private agency that handles USCG Documentation processing to NVDC.

MDC’s website address ends in “.us”. The Coast Guard’s website ends in .mil denoting a branch of the US military. Maritime Documentation Center Corp.’s website is completely different in appearance, language, and function from the National Vessel Documentation Center’s website.

This “.us” website address is simply the top-level, or most basic, domain for websites in the United States, very similar to website endings such as “.com” or “.net”. It does not denote or imply affiliation with a governmental entity, and the website otherwise clearly identifies our third-party nature, as described above.

Furthermore, the website itself is replete with disclosures detailed the third-party nature of Maritime Documentation Center. MDC makes the third-party nature of its service quite clear through repeated disclosure, and all fees submitted include applicable application and processing fees to the National Vessel Documentation Center of the US Coast Guard. As a result, Mr. ***’s statement that “any fees charged or agreements offered by [Maritime Documentation Center Corp.] are in no way associated with the NVDC certificate process”, is patently false. The fees required for the NVDC’s certification process are included in the fees submitted through the website. This is a fact that is made abundantly clear by the Authorization Statement of the website that is required to be personally selected at the time of purchase in order to successfully submit an application.

The Authorization statement that was personally selected at time of purchase is as follows:

“I agree to pay the above total amount according to the card issuer agreement and hereby authorize the charge for the total amount above for the processing of selected USCG documents. I understand that my application will be processed in the order in which it is received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. I understand that application and processing fees are non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center and as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). “

The Authorization clearly indicates that the client certified he’d understood that his application would be received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm, for the processing of selected USCG documents. Additionally, it clearly states that all application and processing fees submitted would be non-refundable.

This clause is due, in part, to the fact that all funds submitted to the National Vessel Documentation Center (NVDC) are non-refundable as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). This was the case with ***’s application as well, when MDC successfully processed a Renewal of USCG Documentation to the NVDC on March 18, 2020, the following day after his request was received.

On April 17, 2020, *** sought out the website maintained by Maritime Documentation at www.maritimedocumentation.us in an effort to renew the Coast Guard Documentation of his vessel “KICKS”.

Despite being made aware of the fact that there was no obligation to use our firm’s service by the website, *** chose to do so on April 17, 2020, by submitting his application for the Reinstatement of his vessel’s Documentation and agreeing to the total charge amount of $450 USD to do so.

Once his service request was received by MDC, operations began immediately to fulfill his request.

After his application was already in process, *** elected to dispute the charge with his financial institution on April 24, 2020.

This practice, commonly referred to as a Chargeback, is also mentioned in the site’s Terms and Conditions of Use. According to the Terms and Conditions already accepted by *** at time of purchase, “by initiating a Charge Back, [the client] is declaring that the he/she no longer wishes to continue receiving services from our company, thus automatically cancelling the application. Cancelled applications are still subject to the No-Refund Policy, and all application and processing fees remain nonrefundable.”

As a result, Mr.’s application has now been cancelled according to the Terms and Conditions of Use.

Since operations began on ***’s application, he was in the process of receiving the service he’d requested. Despite this, Mr. took further steps to attempt to recover his funds afterward by submitting a charge dispute with his financial institution. As dictated by the website, and agreed to at the time of purchase, this action causes the application to be cancelled according to the No-Refund policy accepted at the time of purchase.
As a result, no refund is due to Mr. *** at this time.

For further assistance with a specific service request, please email [email protected]

Company website gives the impression that they are a US Government agency. They charged for a three year renewal of US Coast Guard (Homeland Security) official vessel documentation. They processed an application which resulted in a 10 Month renewal. They charged $225 when the cost is $26 for 12 months. They do not answer phone calls. Their chat session resulted in "no help". There was obviously someone typing replies.

They need to be shutdown. What can Revdex.com do other than publish numerous complaints?

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Apr 10, 2020

This message is written in response to the Complaint No.: *** received March 30, 2020 on behalf of Mr. *** regarding his application for Renewal of USCG Documentation. Maritime Documentation Center (MDC) is an online, third -party document processing service that specializes in Coast Guard Documentation services. MDC makes no attempt to represent ourselves as a governmental entity. In fact, the following disclaimer appears on every navigable page of the website. © 2019 Maritime Documentation Center. All Rights Reserved. Maritime Documentation Center is NOT the U.S. Coast Guard or the National Vessel Documentation Center; we are a third party private agency that handles USCG Documentation processing to NVDC.According to the complaint submitted by ***, he claims that MDC “gives the impression that they are a US Government Agency”. MDC’s website address ends in “.us”. The Coast Guard’s website ends in .mil denoting a branch of the US military.This “.us” website address is simply the top-level, or most basic, domain for websites in the United States, very similar to website endings such as “.com” or “.net”. It does not denote or imply affiliation with a governmental entity, and the website otherwise clearly identifies our third-party nature, as described above. Furthermore, the website itself is replete with disclosures detailed the third-party nature of Maritime Documentation Center. On March 17, 2020, *** sought out the website maintained by Maritime Documentation at www.maritimedocumentation.us without any prior solicitation in an effort to renew the Coast Guard Documentation of his vessel “***”. Despite being made aware of the fact that there was no obligation to use our firm’s service by the website, *** chose to do so on March 17, 2020, by submitting his application for Renewal of his vessel’s Documentation and agreeing to the total charge amount of $225 USD to do so.Before a client can submit any application, or any associated funds through the website successfully, they’re required to authorize to the total charge amount according to the Authorization statement. The Authorization statement that was personally selected at time of purchase is as follows: “I agree to pay the above total amount according to the card issuer agreement and hereby authorize the charge for the total amount above for the processing of selected USCG documents. I understand that my application will be processed in the order in which it is received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. I understand that application and processing fees are non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center and as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). “The Authorization clearly indicates that the client certified he’d understood that his application would be received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm, for the processing of selected USCG documents. Additionally, it clearly states that all application and processing fees submitted would be non-refundable. This clause is due, in part, to the fact that all funds submitted to the National Vessel Documentation Center (NVDC) are non-refundable as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). This was the case with ***’s application as well, when MDC successfully processed a Renewal of USCG Documentation to the NVDC on March 18, 2020, the following day after his request was received.MDC processed ***’s application to the National Vessel Documentation Center as a Renewal of USCG Documentation on March 18, 2020. MDC received confirmation of successful receipt of the Renewal from the National Vessel Documentation Center on March 18, 2020. ***’s Documentation was renewed successfully and was issued a new Certificate on March 19, 2020. Due to federal regulations, each new Certificate of Documentation is valid for one year after the new expiration date. As a result, the Documentation is now current, and set to expire on March 31, 2021. Unsatisfied that his Certificate would not somehow remain valid beyond that point, MARCH *** elected to dispute the charge with his financial institution, despite the fact that he’d received his Certificate already on April 6, 2020. This practice, commonly referred to as a Chargeback, is also mentioned in the site’s Terms and Conditions of Use. According to the Terms and Conditions already accepted by *** at time of purchase, “by initiating a Charge Back, [the client] is declaring that the he/she no longer wishes to continue receiving services from our company, thus automatically cancelling the application. Cancelled applications are still subject to the No-Refund Policy, and all application and processing fees remain nonrefundable.”As a result, Mr.’s application has now been cancelled according to the Terms and Conditions of Use. As *** has already received the service originally requested, and has even taken further steps to attempt to recover his funds afterward, there is no refund due to him at this time. For further assistance with a specific service request, please email [email protected]

Customer Response time Apr 18, 2020

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because: We are replying to the misleading and limited reply from Maritime Documentation Center(MDC) undated.“Maritime Documentation Center” even in their reply is trying to perpetuate the impressionthat they are a government agency. Specifically, by referencing 46 CFR 67.500(e). This is fromthe Code of Federal Regulations. It states that funds paid to the government are notrefundable. Whereas we wrongfully thought we were dealing with the government, we werenot. Therefore, that regulation applies to “Maritime Documentation Center” not us.The letter is in fact virtually a form letter. The same letter with minor modifications appears onthe Revdex.com website dated 2/12/2020.The company is very skillful in its use of “Search Engine Optimization” (SEO).Almost any search with the words “USCG Documentation”, “boat documentation”, “Vesseldocumentation” etc. will yield an AD from ‘Maritime Documentation Center” in the top 5. Theymust spend a great deal of money for this to happen.In their letter it states “On March 17, 2020 *** sought out the websitemaintained by ‘Maritime Documentation Center” when in fact I searched for USCGDocumentation trying to find the site maintained by the Federal Government only to be misledto the ‘Maritime Documentation Center” website.Yes, I did cancel my Credit Card.When I received a new Documentation certificate I inquired as to why when I had applied for athree (3) year certificate. This is their response.First, multiyear renewals are only available through the USCG for vessel with only the recreationalendorsement. Your vessel has both recreational and coastwise endorsements.Second, the annual renewal is $26.00 per year. This office is in receipt of the annual renewal fee of$26.00, which is correct for a coastwise endorsed vessel. Therefore, the Certificate of Documentationwas renewed.2Thirdly, you submitted your renewal request through a third party, Maritime Documentation.Maritime Documentation is not the Department of Homeland Security, US Coast Guard. You will needto contact Maritime Documentation with regards your multiyear renewal.This is how I found out I had been scammed.Additional information about their misleading practices can be found all over the internet.Hopefully others will see this post before they get scammed. I will do my best to inform othersas I have circulated this information to many in the boating community.

Sincerely

If I could take hundreds of dollars in stars away I would. Despite my revoking all authorization, this business proceeded in charging me days after anyway. Instead of returning the STOLEN money, they then mislead my bank that no "refund" was owed - citing some internal arbitrary bs procedure. Do yourself a favor, stay away from these crooks and go to the US Coast Guard directly instead.

This company sent paperwork that copied official USCG letterhead and materials regarding my boat documentation. I submitted the required paperwork to renew my documentation the first of November. I JUST received notice from the USCG that this company is fraudulent and that they NEVER intended to renew my documentation. It was just a scam. This company charged me $75 back in November and I had to call the USCG to find out where my renewal was because NO ONE answers emails or the phone with this company. So we have fraudulent advertising and theft of funds! Fortunately the USCG is aware of this situation with this company so I am not being assessed a late fee for my renewal, but this company needs to be shut down. I did a company search through the Montana Secretary of State and it is a bunch of shells with no real contact information.

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Feb 13, 2020

This message is written in response to the Complaint No.: *** received February 12, 2020 on behalf of Mr. *** regarding his application for Renewal of USCG Documentation. Maritime Documentation Center (MDC) is an online, third -party document processing service that specializes in Coast Guard Documentation services. MDC makes no attempt to represent ourselves as a governmental entity. In fact, the following disclaimer appears on every navigable page of the website. © 2019 Maritime Documentation Center. All Rights Reserved. Maritime Documentation Center is NOT the U.S. Coast Guard or the National Vessel Documentation Center; we are a third party private agency that handles USCG Documentation processing to NVDC.According to the complaint submitted by *** BALL, he claims that MDC represents itself as the National Vessel Documentation Center. As the disclaimer above clearly illustrates, this is a false claim. Furthermore, the website itself is replete with disclosures detailed the third-party nature of Maritime Documentation Center. According to his complaint, Mr. *** submitted an application for the Renewal of his vessel’s USCG Documentation on November 26, 2019. However, our records do not show any such application associated with his vessel. Even if Mr. application had been submitted with MDC, all potential clients are required to authorize to the total charge amount according to the Authorization statement, before submitting an application, or funds of any kind through the website. The Authorization statement is as follows: “I agree to pay the above total amount according to the card issuer agreement and hereby authorize the charge for the total amount above for the processing of selected USCG documents. I understand that my application will be processed in the order in which it is received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. I understand that application and processing fees are non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center and as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). “The Authorization clearly indicates that the client understands that his application would be received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm, for the processing of selected USCG documents. Additionally, it clearly states that all application and processing fees submitted would be non-refundable. This clause is due, in part, to the fact that all funds submitted to the National Vessel Documentation Center (NVDC) are non-refundable as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). Because no application has been received here at www.maritimedocumentation.us, no refund is due to Mr. *** at this time. We invite Mr. to verify his confirmation emails to ascertain who he submitted his application with. For further assistance with this matter, or a specific service request, please email ***.

Customer Response time Feb 13, 2020

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because: Regardless of what the credit card language says, the charge was made and I did not receive my renewal, and the USCG did not receive the application from this vendor and it the USCG says they are processing renewals within 2 weeks. I have filed a fraud complaint through my credit card company and your company will be receiving a charge back. Good for you being able to sleep at night and hide behind shell companies and fancy words. The bottom line is that you took my money and did ZERO! But I have it back. So good day to you.Sincerely

This is deceptive at best and fraudulent at worst. They absolutely present themselves as associated with the coast guard.

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Feb 12, 2020

This message is written in response to the Complaint No.: *** received February 10, 2020 on behalf of Mr. *** regarding his application for Renewal of USCG Documentation. Maritime Documentation Center (MDC) is an online, third -party document processing service that specializes in Coast Guard Documentation services. MDC makes no attempt to represent ourselves as a governmental entity. In fact, the following disclaimer appears on every navigable page of the website. © 2019 Maritime Documentation Center. All Rights Reserved. Maritime Documentation Center is NOT the U.S. Coast Guard or the National Vessel Documentation Center; we are a third party private agency that handles USCG Documentation processing to NVDC.According to the complaint submitted by ***, he claims that MDC represents itself as the National Vessel Documentation Center. This is a false claim. Furthermore, the website itself is replete with disclosures detailed the third-party nature of Maritime Documentation Center. On September 1, 2019, *** sought out the website maintained by Maritime Documentation at www.maritimedocumentation.us without any prior solicitation to renew the Coast Guard Documentation of his vessel “THE ***”. Despite being made aware of the fact that there was no obligation to use our firm’s service, *** chose to do so on September 1, 2019, when he submit his application for Renewal of his vessel’s Documentation and agreed to the total charge amount of $150 USD to do so.Before a client can submit any application, or any associated funds through the website successfully, they’re required to authorize to the total charge amount according to the Authorization statement. The Authorization statement that was personally selected at time of purchase is as follows: “I agree to pay the above total amount according to the card issuer agreement and hereby authorize the charge for the total amount above for the processing of selected USCG documents. I understand that my application will be processed in the order in which it is received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. I understand that application and processing fees are non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center and as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). “The Authorization clearly indicates that the client certified he’d understood that his application would be received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm, for the processing of selected USCG documents. Additionally, it clearly states that all application and processing fees submitted would be non-refundable. This clause is due, in part, to the fact that all funds submitted to the National Vessel Documentation Center (NVDC) are non-refundable as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). This was the case with ***’s application as well, when MDC successfully processed a Renewal of USCG Documentation to the NVDC on September 3, 2019.MDC processed ***’s application to the National Vessel Documentation Center as a Renewal of USCG Documentation on September 3, 2019. MDC received confirmation of successful receipt of the Renewal from the National Vessel Documentation Center on September 3, 2019. ***’s Documentation was renewed successfully and was issued a new Certificate on September 10, 2019. ***’s application was then processed successfully, but he proceeded to dispute the charge with his financial institution nonetheless, on May 28, 2019. At this point Mr.’s application has been completed, and the service he’d requested has been fulfilled. As a result, there is no refund due to him at this time. For further assistance with a specific service request, please email ***.

Customer Response time Feb 13, 2020

Complaint: ***

I am partly rejecting this response because the physical literature sent via post is misleading. However, I accept it due to my lack of due diligence. There isn’t one forum, boating organization, or individual that would recommend this and I looked too late. I am wholly rejecting the claim that I attempted to dispute the charges. I didn’t know it was a “sham” until I started reviewing my vessel docs. I’m not even sure how I could dispute a charge in May that I have not made until September. Another example of why this business will be out of business soon enough.

Sincerely

On September 12, 2019 I paid $75 to document my vessel. I received a confirmation email. I never received my documentation and as of today (1/6/2020) the NVDC said they never received a request for documentation from this company. This is fraud pure and simple.

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Jan 07, 2020

Due to the client's dissatisfaction with the service, a refund has been initiated for the transaction has already been initiated.

For any other questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact us by email directly at [email protected]

Customer Response time Jan 07, 2020

Revdex.com:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely

Maritime Documentation is a really good company.I used them a few months ago and I have to say the experience was wonderful.Everyone there is very knowledgeable and the customer service is friendly and helpful.Thanks again, Maritime Documentation!!

On May 15 and May 29, 2018, I used Maritime Documentation Center to renew the US Coast Guard Certificate of Documentation for two separate vessels for a 5 year period. The cost for the 5 year renewal was $375 per vessel.
Neither vessel was renewed for 2019. They claimed that it was due to a backlog of renewals at the US Coast Guard. I emailed them numerous times throughout the spring and summer.
Now both certificates are expired and I have had to renew them directly through the US Coast Guard website and pay a late fee of $31 each.
The sole purpose of the Maritime Documentation Center is to renew US Coast Guard docs on time, and they failed to do so for both of my vessels. The public should know about this scam service.

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Dec 04, 2019

This message is written in response to the Complaint No.: *** received November 26, 2019 on behalf of Mr. *** regarding his applications for Renewal of USCG Documentation. Maritime Documentation Center (MDC) is an online, third -party document processing service that specializes in Coast Guard Documentation services. MDC makes no attempt to represent ourselves as a governmental entity. In fact, the following disclaimer appears on every navigable page of the website. © 2019 Maritime Documentation Center. All Rights Reserved. Maritime Documentation Center is NOT the U.S. Coast Guard or the National Vessel Documentation Center; we are a third party private agency that handles USCG Documentation processing to NVDC.According to the complaint submitted by ***, he claims that MDC is a scam because his renewal application was not processed. This position is false because Maritime Documentation Center processed Renewal applications for both vessels successfully for the years of both 2018 and 2019. This process was completed in accordance with the description of the service as it appeared on the website, and the Terms and Conditions of Use accepted at the time of purchase. On May 15, 2018, and May 29,2018, *** sought out the website maintained by Maritime Documentation at www.maritimedocumentation.us without any prior solicitation beyond the Vessel Renewal Courtesy Notice in an effort to renew the Coast Guard Documentation of his vessel “UNNAMED” and “***”. Despite the website making him aware of the fact that there was no obligation to use our firm’s service, *** chose to do so on May 15, 2018 and May 29, 2018, when he submit his applications for Five Year Advanced Paid Renewal of two Documented vessels and agreed to the total charge amount of $375 USD each to do so.Before a client can submit any application, or any associated funds through the website successfully, they’re required to authorize to the total charge amount according to the Authorization statement. The Authorization statement that was personally selected at time of purchase is as follows: “I agree to pay the above total amount according to the card issuer agreement and hereby authorize the charge for the total amount above for the processing of selected USCG documents. I understand that my application will be processed in the order in which it is received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. I understand that application and processing fees are non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center and as per ***. “The Authorization clearly indicates that the client certified he’d understood that his application would be received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm, for the processing of selected USCG documents. Additionally, it clearly states that all application and processing fees submitted would be non-refundable. This clause is due, in part, to the fact that all funds submitted to the National Vessel Documentation Center (NVDC) are non-refundable as per ***. This was the case with *** application as well, when MDC successfully processed a Renewal of USCG Documentation to the NVDC on May 17,2018, and May 29, 2018, followed by the Renewals processed on April 29, 2019, and April 30, 2019 the following year.Regarding Mr.’s claims this was not done in a timely manner, please see the description of the Advanced Payment Renewal option as it appears on the website: USCG RENEWAL DOCUMENTATION ADVANCED PAYMENT OPTION*You can eliminate the possibility of late fees, as well as reinstatement fees, by paying your yearly renewal documentation in advance. Your certificate of documentation will be automatically renewed each year, for the number of years selected, by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. NOTE: The NVDC only issues their vessel renewals for a period/duration of one year each. Your yearly certificate will be valid for one year only. You will receive one (1) Year long certificate each year, depending on how many additional years you have ordered. For each individual year of renewal a new renewal will be AUTOMATICALLY forwarded to your designated address at time of renewal(s). This may require that the vessel owner update their current address to facilitate the renewal process.As the description states, the clients who choose to select this service understand that the Renewals would be administered by MDC each year, per the number of years selected. MDC processed ***’s applications to the National Vessel Documentation Center as a Renewal of USCG Documentation successfully for both years. MDC received confirmation of successful receipt of the Renewal from the National Vessel Documentation Center both in 2018, and 2019. Contrary to ***’s claim, neither vessel is expired, and both are now current through May of 2020. As *** has already received the service originally requested, and the Renewal period remains active in accordance with the description of the service he’d selected, there is no refund due to him at this time. For any other questions or concerns on this matter, please email ***.

I ordered an abstract on a boat, realized they were not the Coast Guard as I had googled and thought them to be, I then called, and emailed to tell them to stop the process. They did not answer, later sent an email stated they would not refund me. I told them to then go ahead with the over priced abstract ($25.00 with Coast Guard, $75.00 through them) they sent an email stating they cancelled the processing and would not refund me.

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Nov 20, 2019

This message is written in response to the Complaint No.: *** received November 11, 2019 on behalf of Mr. *** regarding his application for Abstract of Title of USCG Documentation. Maritime Documentation Center (MDC) is an online, third -party document processing service that specializes in Coast Guard Documentation services. MDC makes no attempt to represent ourselves as a governmental entity. In fact, the following disclaimer appears on every navigable page of the website. © 2019 Maritime Documentation Center. All Rights Reserved. Maritime Documentation Center is NOT the U.S. Coast Guard or the National Vessel Documentation Center; we are a third party private agency that handles USCG Documentation processing to NVDC.On November 12, 2019, *** sought out the website maintained by Maritime Documentation at www.maritimedocumentation.us without any prior solicitation beyond the Vessel Renewal Courtesy Notice in an effort to acquire the Abstract of Title for the Coast Guard Documentation of the vessel “SUMMER DREAM”. Despite being made aware of the fact that there was no obligation to use our firm’s service by the website, *** chose to do so on November 12, 2019, when he submit his application for Abstract of Title and agreed to the total charge amount of $75 USD to do so.Before a client can submit any application, or any associated funds through the website successfully, they’re required to authorize to the total charge amount according to the Authorization statement. The Authorization statement that was personally selected at time of purchase is as follows: “I agree to pay the above total amount according to the card issuer agreement and hereby authorize the charge for the total amount above for the processing of selected USCG documents. I understand that my application will be processed in the order in which it is received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. I understand that application and processing fees are non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center and as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). “The Authorization clearly indicates that the client certified he’d understood that his application would be received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm, for the processing of selected USCG documents. Additionally, it clearly states that all application and processing fees submitted would be non-refundable. This clause is due, in part, to the fact that all funds submitted to the National Vessel Documentation Center (NVDC) are non-refundable as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). This was the case with ***’ application as well, when MDC successfully processed a Abstract of Title to the NVDC on November 13, 2019, the following day after request was received.MDC processed ***’ application to the National Vessel Documentation Center as a Abstract of Title on November 13, 2019. MDC received confirmation of successful receipt of the Renewal from the National Vessel Documentation Center on November 13, 2019. ***’ Documentation was updated successfully and was issued a new Abstract of Title on November 19, 2019. This completed document was delivered via email to the contact email address provided on November 19, 2019. According to records, Mr. requested the cancellation of his application on November 18, 2019, and a full refund. Documentation Processors assigned to his file responded on November 18, 2019, re-iterating the Cancellation Policy as outlined by the website. The Documentation Processor even pointed out that the application had already been processed at the time as well. As the agreed upon Terms and Conditions stipulate, once operations begin all application and processing fees submitted remain nonrefundable, even in the event of a cancellation. At this point Mr.’ application has been processed and completed as originally requested. According to the Terms and Conditions of Use accepted at the time of purchase, all application and processing fees submitted remain nonrefundable. As *** has already received the service originally requested, and even took further steps to attempt to recover his funds afterward, there is no refund due to him at this time. For further assistance with a specific service request, please email ***.

Customer Response time Nov 20, 2019

Revdex.com:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID, they have NOT sent me the abstract, I did try to stop the procedure as I found it unnecessary per the new owner. They advised me of the no refund policy at which time I agreed and said to send me the abstract. Then then said they cancelled it. I did NOT receive this abstract as they indicated in there reply to this complaint. They also had an option to expedite these for additional fees which I did not take. However I will pay for it, but ONLY if I receive it. This is not unreasonable. SEND me the abstract that supposedly they acquired for me and I will release the funds. I would be glad to contact the Coast Guard to see if their request was even made. I believe they are taking advantage of me and I am not pleased with this. Please be advised I expect them to contact with me immediately about this and advise when I will receive this abstract. If they do not contact me immediately about this I will peruse court action.

Sincerely

This company represents themselves as the USCG closely as possible to trick people into submit their renewal. The minute I hit the “Make Purchase” button, I saw it said they are not the USCG. This company tricks people. Even their logo looks like the coast guard Lugo. Immediately after making the purchase I asked that they cancel my order and refund my money. Literally less than 30 seconds after the purchase. Today they sent me an email reply stating that they will cancel my order but not refund my money. However, the renewal with the real coast guard costs $26 which they no longer have to pay. Yet they won’t reimburse any of my purchase. They’re crooks.

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Nov 14, 2019

This message is written in response to the Complaint No.: *** received November 4, 2019 on behalf of Mr. *** regarding his application for Renewal of USCG Documentation. Maritime Documentation Center (MDC) is an online, third -party document processing service that specializes in Coast Guard Documentation services. MDC makes no attempt to represent ourselves as a governmental entity. In fact, the following disclaimer appears on every navigable page of the website. © 2019 Maritime Documentation Center. All Rights Reserved. Maritime Documentation Center is NOT the U.S. Coast Guard or the National Vessel Documentation Center; we are a third party private agency that handles USCG Documentation processing to NVDC.According to the complaint submitted by ***, he claims that MDC tricks customers into submitting applications because the website is “geared to look very official”. MDC’s website address ends in “.us”. The Coast Guard’s website ends in .mil denoting a branch of the US military.This “.us” website address is simply the top-level, or most basic, domain for websites in the United States, very similar to website endings such as “.com” or “.net”. It does not denote or imply affiliation with a governmental entity, and the website otherwise clearly identifies our third-party nature, as described above. Furthermore, the website itself is replete with disclosures detailed the third-party nature of Maritime Documentation Center. *** claims that the banner picture of the website is evidence of misrepresentation. The banner on the homepage the website does not depict a shield, logo, or any other such emblems indicating that it is affiliated with the US Coast Guard. On November 2, 2019, *** sought out the website maintained by Maritime Documentation at www.maritimedocumentation.us without any prior solicitation beyond the Vessel Renewal Courtesy Notice in an effort to renew the Coast Guard Documentation of his vessel “EL SEA PAVER”. Despite being made aware of the fact that there was no obligation to use our firm’s service, *** chose to do so on November 2, 2019, when he submit his application for Renewal of his vessel’s Documentation and agreed to the total charge amount of $75 USD to do so.Before a client can submit any application, or any associated funds through the website successfully, they’re required to authorize to the total charge amount according to the Authorization statement. The Authorization statement that was personally selected at time of purchase is as follows: “I agree to pay the above total amount according to the card issuer agreement and hereby authorize the charge for the total amount above for the processing of selected USCG documents. I understand that my application will be processed in the order in which it is received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. I understand that application and processing fees are non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center and as per ***). “The Authorization clearly indicates that the client certified he’d understood that his application would be received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm, for the processing of selected USCG documents. Additionally, it clearly states that all application and processing fees submitted would be non-refundable. This clause is due, in part, to the fact that all funds submitted to the National Vessel Documentation Center (NVDC) are non-refundable as per ***. According to records, Mr. requested the cancellation of his application on November 2, 2019, and requested a refund. Documentation Processors assigned to his file responded on November 4, 2019, re-iterating the Cancellation Policy as outlined by the website. As the Terms and Conditions stipulate, once operations begin all application and processing fees submitted remain nonrefundable, even in the event of a cancellation. Despite agreeing to these terms, Mr. *** proceeded to dispute the charge with his financial institution nonetheless, on November 7, 2019. This practice, commonly referred to as a Chargeback, is also mentioned in the site’s Terms and Conditions of Use. According to the Terms and Conditions already accepted by *** at time of purchase, “by initiating a Charge Back, [the client] is declaring that the he/she no longer wishes to continue receiving services from our company, thus automatically cancelling the application. Cancelled applications are still subject to the No-Refund Policy, and all application and processing fees remain nonrefundable.”At this point Mr.’s application has been cancelled according to the Terms and Conditions of Use. Since *** requested the processing of his application, and then requested his application to be cancelled according to the Terms and Conditions of Use, and even took further steps to attempt to recover his funds afterward, there is no refund due to him at this time. For further assistance with a specific service request, please email ***.

Oct 07, 2019

I experienced everything everyone else has said.
My husband commented, "since they have our $225, contact them & re-instate the cancellation."
I called, no return call.
I emailed & was answered by Jonathan Smith who said, "you have to file a new application form." That's another $75. I responded that I would not pay any further monies should I fill out the application, but, you can't fill it out without paying.
Are they crazy???
They unfortunately "took us all," there is no a darn thing any of us can do about it, except feel duped.
I am so frustrated!!!!!

This morning 9:58 California time I googled vessel documentation renewal. Without thinking I clicked on Maritime Documentation Center website thinking it was the US Coast Guard NVDC. Immediately upon hitting the SUBMIT button I realize my mistake and called them only to hear an ear full and could not even talk. They informed me that since I had signed the form and checked the boxes that the fees were NON-REFUNDABLE. I called my CC company, but they could not stop the charge and would have to file a dispute. On Maritime Documentation Center page they cite (46 CFR 67.500 (E) for their reason for NON-REFUNDABLE fees, but this is a COAST GUARD regulation and does not apply to private 3rd party companies. They still have not returned my money.

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Nov 14, 2019

This message is written in response to the Complaint No.: *** received October 7, 2019 on behalf of Mr. *** regarding his application for Renewal of USCG Documentation for his vessel. Maritime Documentation Center (MDC) is an online, third -party document processing service that specializes in Coast Guard Documentation services. MDC makes no attempt to represent ourselves as a governmental entity. In fact, the following disclaimer appears on every navigable page of the website. © 2019 Maritime Documentation Center. All Rights Reserved. Maritime Documentation Center is NOT the U.S. Coast Guard or the National Vessel Documentation Center; we are a third party private agency that handles USCG Documentation processing to NVDC.On October 7, 2019, *** utilized a search engine to seek out the website maintained by Maritime Documentation at www.maritimedocumentation.us without any prior solicitation. Despite being made aware of the fact that there was no obligation to use our firm’s service by the disclaimer of the website, Mr. *** chose to do so on October 7, 2019, when he submit his application for Renewal of his vessel’s Documentation and agreed to the total charge amount of $75 USD to do so.Before a client can submit any application, or any associated funds through the website successfully, they’re required to authorize to the total charge amount according to the Authorization statement. The Authorization statement that was personally selected at time of purchase is as follows: “I agree to pay the above total amount according to the card issuer agreement and hereby authorize the charge for the total amount above for the processing of selected USCG documents. I understand that my application will be processed in the order in which it is received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. I understand that application and processing fees are non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center and as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). “ The Authorization clearly indicates that the client certified that he understood that his application would be received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm, for the processing of selected USCG documents. Additionally, it clearly states that all application and processing fees submitted would be non-refundable. This clause is due, in part, to the fact that all funds submitted to the National Vessel Documentation Center (NVDC) are non-refundable as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). This fact is made clear to the client, however it is also clearly stated that the application was non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center as well. This was the case with ***’s application as well, when MDC began the process of Renewal of USCG Documentation to the NVDC on October 7, 2019, the same day the request was received. According to records, Mr. *** requested the cancellation of his application on October 7, 2019, and a refund. Documentation Processors assigned to his file responded on October 7, 2019, re-iterating the Cancellation Policy as outlined by the website. As the Terms and Conditions stipulate, once operations begin all application and processing fees submitted remain nonrefundable, even in the event of a cancellation. Please see the cancellation policy that Mr. ***’s application is subject to at the following link: http://maritimedocumentation.us/terms-and-conditions/ At this point Mr.’s application has been cancelled according to the Terms and Conditions of Use, due to his cancellation. As stipulated, and agreed to at the time of purchase, all application and processing fees submitted remain nonrefundable. Therefore, no refund is due to him at this time. For further assistance with a specific service request, please email ***@maritimedocumentation.us.

I paid this company $700 to renew my coast guard sticker over 3 months ago and still have received nothing today. I tried to contact them regarding my boat registration and have gotten no response nor can get anyone to answer their support queued chat line.

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Oct 24, 2019

This message is written in response to the Complaint No.: *** received October 2, 2019 on behalf of Ms. *** regarding her application for Reinstatement of USCG Documentation. Maritime Documentation Center (MDC) is an online, third -party document processing service that specializes in Coast Guard Documentation services. MDC makes no attempt to represent ourselves as a governmental entity. In fact, the following disclaimer appears on every navigable page of the website. © 2019 Maritime Documentation Center. All Rights Reserved. Maritime Documentation Center is NOT the U.S. Coast Guard or the National Vessel Documentation Center; we are a third party private agency that handles USCG Documentation processing to NVDC.According to the complaint submitted by *** MARSHALL, she says she completed an application three months ago, and haven’t received the completed Certificate back yet, and now requests a refund as a result. On August 6, 2019, *** sought out the website maintained by Maritime Documentation at www.maritimedocumentation.us without any prior solicitation. Despite being made aware of the fact that there was no obligation to use our firm’s service by the website, *** chose to do so on October 6, 2019, when she submit her application for Reinstatement of her vessel’s Documentation and agreed to the total charge amount of $450 USD to do so.Prior to that *** submitted an application for Renewal of USCG Documentation for the same vessel, authorizing a total charge of $150 to do so. Before a client can submit any application, or any associated funds through the website successfully, they’re required to authorize to the total charge amount according to the Authorization statement. The Authorization statement that was personally selected at time of purchase is as follows: “I agree to pay the above total amount according to the card issuer agreement and hereby authorize the charge for the total amount above for the processing of selected USCG documents. I understand that my application will be processed in the order in which it is received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. I understand that application and processing fees are non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center and as per ***. “The Authorization clearly indicates that the client certified that she understood that her application would be received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm, for the processing of selected USCG documents. Additionally, it clearly states that all application and processing fees submitted would be non-refundable. This clause is due, in part, to the fact that all funds submitted to the National Vessel Documentation Center (NVDC) are non-refundable as per ***. This was the case with *** application as well, when MDC successfully processed a Reinstatement of USCG Documentation to the NVDC on August 9, 2019. This application is currently in process, and will culminate in the receipt of the completed Certificate of Documentation by mail, as originally requested.Furthermore, in order to successfully submit an application of any kind through the website, the client is required to agree to the Terms and Conditions of Use stipulated by the website. You can find the Terms and Conditions of Use in full at the following link: These Terms and Conditions of Use also point out that no exact time frame regarding applications can be given as every application is unique. At this point Ms. application has been processed, and will soon be completed by the National Vessel Documentation Center as originally requested at the time of purchase. As stipulated, and agreed to at the time of purchase, all application and processing fees submitted remain nonrefundable. Therefore, no refund is due at this time. For further assistance with a specific service request, please email

Customer Response time Oct 24, 2019

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because: they admit that I had faithfully submitted the funding for renewal Coast Guard sticker which they have said to provide but to date have received nothing for the money. Taking money with no receipt of goods is fraud.

Sincerely

Customer Response time Nov 14, 2019

I rechecked the US Coast Guards’ DB and found that on 10/31/19, the Maritime Documentation Center did finally order my sticker. However, that order was not for the 5 year sticker as promised but rather a 1 year sticker and no change of address was done. This means that the1 year sticker will be sent to my old house which was subsequently sold and we no longer live in that city so we will never receive any such sticker.The transaction was to be as follows:08/02/2019 for $150.00 - Renewal for coast guard sticker08/05/2019 for $38.00 - Address Change08/06/2019 for $450.00 - Reinstatement of coast guard sticker with 5 year term.I placed the order on the 2nd and then realized that they had our old home address so I tried to call but didn't get a response and so had gone online to make the address change. The next day Isabel *** called me back demanding more money as it was to be a reinstatement and not just a renewal. I paid the additional monies and ensured that they knew about the needed change of address.Because I still only have the 1 year, not the 5 year as promised, no change of address and the corresponding sticker will not be received due to the neglected change of address; I still have had fraud committed and demand reconstitution of either the promised product or a full refund.

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Dec 03, 2019

Please see the following description of the Advanced Payment Renewal option as it appears on the website:

USCG RENEWAL DOCUMENTATION ADVANCED PAYMENT OPTION*You can eliminate the possibility of late fees, as well as reinstatement fees, by paying your yearly renewal documentation in advance. Your certificate of documentation will be automatically renewed each year, for the number of years selected, by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. NOTE: The NVDC only issues their vessel renewals for a period/duration of one year each. Your yearly certificate will be valid for one year only. You will receive one (1) Year long certificate each year, depending on how many additional years you have ordered. For each individual year of renewal a new renewal will be AUTOMATICALLY forwarded to your designated address at time of renewal(s). This may require that the vessel owner update their current address to facilitate the renewal process.

As pointed out in the initial response, and confirmed by the client in the message above, the application was processed to the National Vessel Documentation Center successfully. This was done in accordance with the Terms and Conditions of Use stipulated by the website as well as the description of the service included above.

Because the requested service was rendered successfully, no refund is due at this time. This matter is now closed and no further complaint responses will be addressed through this platform. For any further questions or concerns about this matter, please correspond directly by email at [email protected]

Like everyone else that has filed a complaint on this business, they trick you into thinking you are dealing with the US Coast Guard. Absolutely no refund policy even though I canceled immediately.

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Sep 26, 2019

This message is written in response to the Complaint received September 26, 2019 on behalf of Mr. *** regarding his application for Transfer/Exchange of USCG Documentation. Maritime Documentation Center (MDC) is an online, third -party document processing service that specializes in Coast Guard Documentation services. MDC makes no attempt to represent ourselves as a governmental entity. In fact, the following disclaimer appears on every navigable page of the website. © 2019 Maritime Documentation Center. All Rights Reserved. Maritime Documentation Center is NOT the U.S. Coast Guard or the National Vessel Documentation Center; we are a third party private agency that handles USCG Documentation processing to NVDC.According to the complaint submitted by ***, he claims that MDC tricks customers into believing they are dealing with the US Coast Guard. On September 23, 2019, *** sought out the website maintained by Maritime Documentation at www.maritimedocumentation.us without any prior solicitation. Despite being made aware of the fact that there was no obligation to use our firm’s service by the website, *** chose to do so on September 23, 2019, when he submit his application for Transfer/Exchange of his vessel’s Documentation and agreed to the total charge amount of $525 USD to do so.Before a client can submit any application, or any associated funds through the website successfully, they’re required to authorize to the total charge amount according to the Authorization statement. The Authorization statement that was personally selected at time of purchase is as follows: “I agree to pay the above total amount according to the card issuer agreement and hereby authorize the charge for the total amount above for the processing of selected USCG documents. I understand that my application will be processed in the order in which it is received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. I understand that application and processing fees are non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center and as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). “The Authorization clearly indicates that the client certified that he understood that his application would be received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm, for the processing of selected USCG documents. Additionally, it clearly states that all application and processing fees submitted would be non-refundable. This clause is due, in part, to the fact that all funds submitted to the National Vessel Documentation Center (NVDC) are non-refundable as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). This was the case with *** application as well, when MDC successfully processed a Renewal of USCG Documentation to the NVDC on June 17, 2019, the following day after request was received. According to records, Mr. *** requested the cancellation of his application on September 24, 2019, and a refund. Documentation Processors assigned to his file responded on September 24, 2019, re-iterating the Cancellation Policy as outlined by the website. As the Terms and Conditions stipulate, once operations begin all application and processing fees submitted remain nonrefundable, even in the event of a cancellation. At this point Mr. application has been cancelled according to the Terms and Conditions of Use, due to her cancellation. As stipulated, and agreed to at the time of purchase, all application and processing fees submitted remain nonrefundable. Therefore, there is no refund due to him at this time. For further assistance with a specific service request, please email ***.

Customer Response time Sep 26, 2019

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because: it does not resolve the issue

Sincerely

This company, Maritime Documentation Center, has designed their corporate name and their website to mimic the US Coast Guard "National Vessel Documentation Center" and they dupe people into believing that they are dealing with the US Coast Guard. After they duped me into believing that they were the USCG, I called them the next day and asked for a refund. They refused. To make matters worse, they submitted my vessel documentation annual renewal more than 3 months prior to my renewal being due---thus resulting in screwing me out of 3 months term that was current documentation was still valid. They use a web site address (www/maritimedocumentation.us) that leads one to believe that you are dealing with the real USCG. They should really use a "....com)" address, but use "....us" to intentionally confuse. Further, they use terms such as "contact an ADMINISTRATOR for more information". The use of the word "administrator" is clearly ment to mimic a Government type organization, not a normal company/corporation. The Revdex.com knows what you are deal with here-----they have had over 30 complaints and there Revdex.com Score is "F". These people should be put our of business. I have also filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission---complaint ID# is ***.

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Sep 26, 2019

This message is written in response to the Complaint received September 25, 2019 on behalf of Mr. *** regarding his application for Renewal of USCG Documentation. Maritime Documentation Center (MDC) is an online, third -party document processing service that specializes in Coast Guard Documentation services. MDC makes no attempt to represent ourselves as a governmental entity. In fact, the following disclaimer appears on every navigable page of the website. © 2019 Maritime Documentation Center. All Rights Reserved. Maritime Documentation Center is NOT the U.S. Coast Guard or the National Vessel Documentation Center; we are a third party private agency that handles USCG Documentation processing to NVDC.According to the complaint submitted by *** MCCAHAN, he claims that MDC tricks customers into believing they are dealing with the US Coast Guard because the website address ends in “ .us” instead of “.com”, and because Maritime Documentation Center referred to members of its staff as “Administrators”. MDC’s website address ends in “.us”. The Coast Guard’s website ends in .mil denoting a branch of the US military.This “.us” website address is simply the top-level, or most basic, domain for websites in the United States, very similar to website endings such as “.com” or “.net”. It does not denote or imply affiliation with a governmental entity, and the website otherwise clearly identifies our third-party nature, as described above. Furthermore, “Administrator” is not a known military rank of governmental office. It merely denotes MDC employees with more authorization than others to assist clients as required. On August 18, 2019, *** sought out the website maintained by Maritime Documentation at www.maritimedocumentation.us without any prior solicitation. Despite being made aware of the fact that there was no obligation to use our firm’s service by the website, *** chose to do so on August 19, 2019, when he submit his application for Renewal of his vessel’s Documentation and agreed to the total charge amount of $75 USD to do so.Before a client can submit any application, or any associated funds through the website successfully, they’re required to authorize to the total charge amount according to the Authorization statement. The Authorization statement that was personally selected at time of purchase is as follows: “I agree to pay the above total amount according to the card issuer agreement and hereby authorize the charge for the total amount above for the processing of selected USCG documents. I understand that my application will be processed in the order in which it is received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. I understand that application and processing fees are non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center and as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). “The Authorization clearly indicates that the client certified that he understood that his application would be received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm, for the processing of selected USCG documents. Additionally, it clearly states that all application and processing fees submitted would be non-refundable. This clause is due, in part, to the fact that all funds submitted to the National Vessel Documentation Center (NVDC) are non-refundable as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). This was the case with ANN BEARDSLEY’s application as well, when MDC successfully processed a Renewal of USCG Documentation to the NVDC on June 17, 2019, the following day after request was received.MDC processed *** application to the National Vessel Documentation Center as a Renewal of USCG Documentation on August 19, 2019. MDC received confirmation of successful receipt of the Renewal from the National Vessel Documentation Center on September 19, 2019. *** Documentation was renewed successfully and was issued a new Certificate on September 3, 2018. According to records, Mr. *** requested the cancellation of his application on September 20, 2019, and a refund. Documentation Processors assigned to his file responded on September 20, 2019, re-iterating the Cancellation Policy as outlined by the website. As the Terms and Conditions stipulate, once operations begin all application and processing fees submitted remain nonrefundable, even in the event of a cancellation. At this point Mr. application has been cancelled according to the Terms and Conditions of Use, due to his request. As stipulated, and agreed to at the time of purchase, all application and processing fees submitted remain nonrefundable. Furthermore, his Documentation has been successfully Renewed, as originally intended. Therefore, the requested service has already been rendered, and there is no refund due to him at this time. For further assistance with a specific service request, please email ***.

Customer Response time Sep 27, 2019

Complaint: ***

I disagree that I was not "solicited" by the business. I received a letter that looked like it was official US Coast Guard business via US Mail.

I disagree with the business the their use of the domain ".us" and the term "Administrator" is not used to confuse and dupe customers into believing that they are dealing directly with the US Coast Guard. (typically, legitimate companies use the .com domain and use the terms of "manager, supervisor, etc" to denote more senior employees.

The use of the "***" application information (in Paragraph 11)is not relevant to this case and appears to be an instance of the business using some form of a "stock" response to various complaints

In Paragraph 14 the business states "According to records..." I requested a cancellation of this transaction on September 20th. This is not true. I requested a cancellation on August 20th and the business sent me an email on August 20th at 5:11pm stating that they are denying my refund request.

In Paragraph 15 the business states that my application has been "cancelled". This is a rather stupid comment since the US Coast Guard issued the Certificate on September 3, 2019. Note that the business processed my renewal in such a manner that I lost 3 months of existing validity on my current Certificate. They could have waited another 30 days to process my application and I would not have been screwed out of 3 months of existing validity. This company truly deserves the "F" rating they currently have from the Revdex.com.

Sincerely

Absolute garbage company. They present themselves as an official government agency, despite having a small print disclaimer halfway down the page. Even the header picture shows a USCG-colored boat, but without the lettering. They're preying on the new boaters and the unaware. Horrible business practice.

This is not a legit business. You pay for a service and when you don't receive your documentation no one will speak to you about it. It took a month for an email response stating that they won't refund monies because I had ended up filing NVDC myself so that the document didn't have to be reissued. They offer zero customer service and hang up on you when they're done telling you to file online. They will not speak to at all unless you want to pay for more services. Don't get sucked into this one if you are depending on having documentation filed on time, its not a legit business.

Like everyone else here, I thought I was dealing with the Coast Guard, but Marine Documentation is a middleman with no worth whatsoever. I paid them $375 for a five-year renewal (something I could have gotten directly from the Coast Guard for around $150), and within a minute after I clicked "Pay" realized I had been suckered. I immediately called and cancelled, but was told I couldn't. I filed for a refund with my credit card company but after Marine Documentation contacted them (in fairness, I did agree "no refunds"--but I thought it was the Coast Guard's site at the time), they reinstated the $375 fee. I am mad at myself for falling for this, and disgusted by this reprehensible company. I'll be calling the Coast Guard on Monday to see if there's anything else I can do.

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Aug 06, 2019

This message is written in response to the Complaint received July 27, 2019 on behalf of Ms. *** regarding her application for Renewal of USCG Documentation. Maritime Documentation Center (MDC) is an online, third -party document processing service that specializes in Coast Guard Documentation services. MDC makes no attempt to represent ourselves as a governmental entity. In fact, the following disclaimer appears on every navigable page of the website. © 2019 Maritime Documentation Center. All Rights Reserved. Maritime Documentation Center is NOT the U.S. Coast Guard or the National Vessel Documentation Center; we are a third party private agency that handles USCG Documentation processing to NVDC.According to the complaint submitted by ***, she claims that MDC tricks customers into submitting applications. On June 15, 2019, *** sought out the website maintained by Maritime Documentation at www.maritimedocumentation.us without any prior solicitation beyond the Vessel Renewal Courtesy Notice in an effort to renew the Coast Guard Documentation of her vessel “***”. The Vessel Renewal Courtesy Notice that *** received was a courtesy notice of an upcoming vessel renewal date. The Document states plainly that is a solicitation. Furthermore, the notice was replete with disclosures including a release of obligation, that points out that the site is maintained by a private firm, and even encourages the recipient to disregard the message if it was believed to have been received in error. The notice even explicitly states that use of our services include additional processing fees beyond the government’s fees alone. Despite being made aware of the fact that there was no obligation to use our firm’s service, *** chose to do so on June 15, 2019, when she submit her application for Prepaid Five Year Renewal of his vessel’s Documentation and agreed to the total charge amount of $375 USD to do so.Before a client can submit any application, or any associated funds through the website successfully, they’re required to authorize to the total charge amount according to the Authorization statement. The Authorization statement that was personally selected at time of purchase is as follows: “I agree to pay the above total amount according to the card issuer agreement and hereby authorize the charge for the total amount above for the processing of selected USCG documents. I understand that my application will be processed in the order in which it is received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm. I understand that application and processing fees are non-refundable as per Maritime Documentation Center and as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). “The Authorization clearly indicates that the client certified she’d understood that her application would be received by Maritime Documentation Center, a private documentation firm, for the processing of selected USCG documents. Additionally, it clearly states that all application and processing fees submitted would be non-refundable. This clause is due, in part, to the fact that all funds submitted to the National Vessel Documentation Center (NVDC) are non-refundable as per 46 CFR 67.500(e). This was the case with ***’s application as well, when MDC successfully processed a Renewal of USCG Documentation to the NVDC on June 17, 2019, the following day after request was received.MDC processed ***’s application to the National Vessel Documentation Center as a Renewal of USCG Documentation on June 17, 2019. MDC received confirmation of successful receipt of the Renewal from the National Vessel Documentation Center on June 17, 2019. According to records, Ms. *** requested the cancellation of his application on May 6, 2019, and requested a refund. Documentation Processors assigned to her file responded on June 17, 2019, re-iterating the Cancellation Policy as outlined by the website. As the Terms and Conditions stipulate, once operations begin all application and processing fees submitted remain nonrefundable, even in the event of a cancellation. ***’s application was then processed successfully, but she proceeded to dispute the charge with her financial institution nonetheless, on May 28, 2019. This practice, commonly referred to as a Chargeback, is also mentioned in the site’s Terms and Conditions of Use. According to the Terms and Conditions already accepted by *** at time of purchase, “by initiating a Charge Back, [the client] is declaring that the he/she no longer wishes to continue receiving services from our company, thus automatically cancelling the application. Cancelled applications are still subject to the No-Refund Policy, and all application and processing fees remain nonrefundable.”At this time, it appears the funds were successfully disputed, thereby temporarily removing the affected funds immediately. No further details on the status of this file is currently available. At this point Ms.’s application has been cancelled according to the Terms and Conditions of Use, due to her cancellation, and subsequent charge dispute.As *** has already received the service originally requested, and even took further steps to attempt to recover her funds afterward, there is no refund due to her at this time. For further assistance with a specific service request, please email ***.

Customer Response time Aug 06, 2019

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because:

The "Courtesy Renewal Notice" sent by Marine Documentation Center was totally unsolicited. In addition, their renewal notice and their website look remarkably like the official notice from the U.S. Coast Guard. It is an attempt to mislead. Even the Coast Guard has a webpage noting these sorts of fraudulent attempts.

Yes, I signed no refunds. I thought I was dealing with the Coast Guard, even though MDC's website does say it's a third party. I am at fault for not reading carefully enough, and I admit that.

But the Coast Guard charges $26 per year and I signed up for five years, or $130 (this is the first year that option has been available); Marine Documentation charges $375 for the same service. I will be getting NOTHING from them for the exhorbitant increase of $245. Convenience of not renewing? Ha. I'm not even sure they will renew and it will now be more work on my part to ensure they do.

When we called to get their address to file a complaint, we were told they couldn't give out that information. What legitimate business declines to give out a postal address? We have also contacted the Montana (yes, they are in a landlocked state...fishy right there!) State Attorney General's Office, the FBI, the US Postal Service, the Coast Guard, and the Revdex.com. If I can think of anyone else, I'll file a complaint with them too.

Sincerely

Maritime Documentation Center Response time Aug 13, 2019

This message is written in response to your rejection of the last response.

As previously stated, your application was submitted in accordance with the Terms and Conditions of Use stipulated by the website that is available in full at the following link: http://maritimedocumentation.us/terms-and-conditions/

For any other questions or concerns regarding this matter, please feel free to email ***.

Customer Response time Aug 13, 2019

Complaint: ***

I am rejecting this response because: what you are doing might (I repeat might) be legal, but it is unethical, underhanded, misleading, and ought to be criminal at the very least. The FBI has a thick file on you. We are filing a complaint with the State of California as well.

I will not accept your response until it includes a refund for $349.

Sincerely

Great experience with Maritime Documentation! It is truly a stress free process when you use their website.Would use again and would recommend them to anyone.

Check fields!

Write a review of Maritime Documentation Center

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Maritime Documentation Center Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 100 24th St W Ste 1-108, Billings, Montana, United States, 59102-4771

Phone:

+1 (800) 535-8570
Show more...

Website:

maritimedocumentation.us

E-mails:

Sign in to see

Add contact information for Maritime Documentation Center

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated