Sign in

Midwest Manufacturing Inc

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Midwest Manufacturing Inc? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Midwest Manufacturing Inc

Midwest Manufacturing Inc Reviews (41)

After filing their "Installed Guest Complaint Form", receipts, and photos documenting the defective, shrinking, QuickCap decking
material I had purchased, I was sent a letter dated 7/8/2019 from their representative, Louise Fox, stating that I had to bring in the defective decking to Menards (pulling up hundreds of square feet of decking) and exchanging it for other decking material. They would not pay the thousands it would cost to deconstruct and reconstruct this deck. This, in my mind makes their "warranty" a complete and utter fraud, of no value at all. I already paid to do my deck...I should not have to pay again to have it done right. In my opinion, Midwest Manufacturing is an unethical operation. Stay away, if you value your hard earned cash!

It's kind of a scam. What they do is take your money, promise a product that they can't or won't deliver, string you along so that the time period for issuing a cash refund expires. They offer you an in-store credit but not the cash, that way you don't have the funds to buy it elsewhere. At the end of the day, you have an in-store credit but not the cash to buy the product from someone who can actually deliver it. They convert your cash into an in-store credit and they have your money! Nicely played!

I had bought the Ultradeck From MidWest MFG / Menards in Oakdale Minnesota. I had files the claim due to the deck rails had warped very badly. I filed the complaint, customer Servive in contact me amonth later 8/22/18 & promised will get back to me according the evidence provided & claim... Multiple email followed up & never reach to anyone from MidWest... What is poor MFG & very bad company. I will be patient another week then will escalate... For future everyone, DO NOT BUY Ultra Deck , if you decide to buy, you may end up just like me stuck in $12,5000 Deck (14 X 16) with warping all over entire deck...

Review: In late September of 2014 I ordered a Mastercraft (Midwest Manufacturing) door from Menards. It was installed within a couple of days. In August of this year I found that the lite frame was pulling away from the door letting air and light in. Menards advised that I needed to email Midwest with photos of the problem. They then advised that they would replace the lite frame, but that their warranty doesn't cover labor, etc. (Mind you the product was less than one year old.) Approximately 2 weeks later I received the replacement part. 4-5 weeks later, I finally had time on a nice day to fix the door only to find that they sent me the wrong size frame! I emailed them and they wrote back on 10/26 apologizing for sending the wrong one and advised they would send me the correct size. It is now 11/11 and I still do not have the correct replacement. (It is now in the 50's during the day and 30's at night). I emailed them this morning inquiring about the status and advising that I would be filing a Revdex.com complaint. They replied with a FedEx tracking number. When I looked up the tracking number there is no information.Desired Settlement: I want the correct repair part and I would like a door repair person to fix my door at Midwest's expense or to refund me so that I can pay someone to do it!

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Ms. [redacted]'s complaint.According to our records, the correct replacement window frame was sentand was delivered on November 13, 2015. This would resolve the issue theguest is having. The warranty covers the replacement of defective parts.The warranty does not cover the refund of the purchase price, monetarycompensation, labor charges, travel expenses, or finishing expenses.Midwest Manufacturing apologizes for any inconveniences Ms. [redacted]may have experienced. We are unable to offer further compensation inthis matter.

Consumer

Response:

Review: The ultra decking we purchased has a 10 year warranty and we have been experiencing shrinkage of our deck for the last few years. When notified the company tells us it is shifting and not shrinking. They also state that more supports underneath would help. It does not matter how many supports are present the fact is the boards are now shorter than when purchased and installed. I have photos to prove this and have sent them to them and they refuse to replace the deck floor. They only want to replace a few boards and we tried this a few years back when this first started to happen. I do not want a patchwork quilt deck . The shipment I received was defective and I want the entire floor replaced if I have to pay the labor to fix their defective product. I have had many correspondence with the company and they treat me like a fool. Everyone who sees the deck agrees that the boards are shrinking besides the company that manufactured them.

I am willing to send you copies of all correspondence between us to the present , as well as copies of the photos sent to them.Desired Settlement: That they send us enough material to completely change out our entire deck floor so that we have a safe place to entertain friends and family. As it is now , it is not safe to have company on it; it is a liability suite ready to happen. We would be willing to accept another color is need be because we understand that the white is discontinued. This was also stated to the company.

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Ms. [redacted]'s complaint.

We are sorry Mr. [redacted] is unhappy with our response to his claim. We have sent a

representative to inspect Mr. [redacted]'s deck boards . The inspection found the deck

boards measure the same length as when originally purchased. The deck boards have

not shrunk as Mr. [redacted] has indicated.

Composite material will expand and contract with temperature changes. An additional

nailer joist along with T-Clips to properly hold the boards in place will accommodate for

the expansion and contraction of the material. The deck boards that have been

installed will need to be reinstalled according to the Ultra Deck installation guide,

available at all Menards store locations, and on our website ,

www.midwestmanufacturing.com.

Although the issue is not a manufacturing defect, we have offered to send 15

replacement 20' deck boards to the Menards store for Mr. [redacted]'s use. Once the

boards are reinstalled according to the instructions, the gapping should be corrected.

The replacement deck boards will weather to a similar shade with use. General

cleaning of the decking is recommended to restore a uniform shade.

Please have Mr. [redacted] return a signed copy of this letter with his approval in writing

within 30 days so we may process the order for the 15 deck boards .

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

Consumer

Response:

Review: We purchased 18 trusses from Menards. Midwest manufacturing is the company who made them and sells them thru Menards. We had them delivered to our home. We had paid roofers at our home ready to install them upon delivery. When they arrived and were being installed, we noticed several were bad quality. 8 of them in all were not suitable to be sold. They had huge knot holes making them weak, several had huge cracks in them running all the way up the entire sides of the truss. This makes them unsafe. Some had half the wood missing, again making them unsafe. out of the 8 that were messed up 4 were unsafe. The roofers installed them and told us to contact the warranty that they would need to be *beefed* up with other wood to make them safe or they would need to be replaced. We put our addition on hold and contacted Menards and Midwest Manufacturing. We were hoping to get the bad ones replaced or at least refunded so we could go ahead and buy the wood to beef them up as we were told to do in order to make them safe. Now Trusses hold up the weight of the roof. These need to be good quality and strong. We spent over $1500 on these trusses and were asking for like $400 back or replacement. We waited a month to get this resolved, and nothing. Menards told us, it was not their problem that Midwest manufacturing was responsible. I contacted them by postal mail and by email. I sent them pictures documenting everything. I was told they would get a hold of us in a timely manner and it has been 3 months now. We had to continue on with the addition to our house as we need it done before winter. I feel that Menards should be held responsible if their associate company isn't upholding their product warranties or quality issues. I plan to also make a complaint against Menards.Desired Settlement: At this point we can not replace the bad ones as we had originally wanted. So now we are asking to be refunded for half other bad ones, the ones that are completely unsafe and needed to be fixed at our expense. We are asking for $400.

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Ms. [redacted]'s complaint.According to our records, a letter was written on November 5, 2015 offering a$400 Menards in-store credit per Ms. [redacted]'s request.This offer is still valid. Ms. [redacted] would need to respond with her approval inwriting so that we may notify Menards Guest Services to issue the credit.Sincerely,[redacted]

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. As long as they do indeed follow through with issuing the Menards store credit of $400. I do need to know will it be sent as a coupon to me? or how do I get the credit there?

Regards,

Business

Response:

Regarding Ms. [redacted]’s response, we sent her a letter asking her to approve the $400, but we need her approval back before we can notify Menards Guest Services to issue the credit check. Once we receive Ms. [redacted]’s approval, the credit check will be mailed to her. Also, I’m confused by the verbiage of the communication history… she says she is ok with our offer as long as we follow through, but it’s noted that “the consumer does not find our offer satisfactory”. But she did find it satisfactory.Thanks,[redacted]Midwest Manufacturing

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I have however not received any letter sent by them and they said it was mailed November 5th today is November 16. I accept the offer but if I did not receive the letter how can I write back to accept it?

Regards,

I purchased trusses from Menards in Eau Claire, WI that were made by Midwest Manufacturing (also of Eau Claire, WI). The building inspector noticed one of the trusses was cracked and asked me to get a truss repair statement from the company.
The company is charging me $75.00 for the statement because they are claiming the truss repair statement involves an engineered solution. They also admit that the truss repair is a generic repair that they have on file and can just email to me, which I can then forward to the building inspector. I’m not sure what about that process should cost $75.00 other than the fact that they know I need it to pass the inspection and are extorting $75.00 from me. The truss only cost $55.00 to begin with!
This should have been a task that took someone at the company 5 minutes to complete with a few clicks of a mouse. My guess is that no one at that company will be doing any original engineering for this, so I can only surmise the company lied about why they are charging me $75.00.
In a very curt email, the company representative told me he needed to know how the truss was broken. How should I know how the truss was broken? It could have come from the plant broken, it could have been broken in shipping, or the builder could have broken the truss; who knows how it broken? I never saw the trusses, touched the trusses, nor had anything else to do with them. I only purchased them. Yet, I am forced to pay a fee which could have very easily been caused by the manufacturer’s negligence.
I know the company manufactures a lot of building supplies and you can bet that I’ll try to avoid buying their products whenever possible.
As a side note, I also bought a faulty Mastercraft door from Menards (the hole for the latch mechanism was drilled too large). To Menards credit, they exchanged the door, but what a pain that was as I only discovered the flaw after I had installed the door.

Midwest Manufacturing has a problem with the way it manufactures products, its quality control and its customer service. My husband and I purchased two special order Mastercraft doors from Menards. These doors are made by Midwest Manufacturing. One door came missing a hinge pin the other door came with hinges not placed correctly in the frame and the handle was crooked on the inside of the door. Three and a half months later after many letters Midwest Manufacturing finally decided to let us reorder the door with the hinge and handle defects. The reordered door came with hinges not placed correctly in the frame. They made us reorder again. It has been five months since the original order was placed and we finally have a door that appears to be defect free. They originally wanted to make repairs to the door with no compensation to us for the refurbish. They only do business through the mail which made this process drag on much too long. The Menards store took the door back with the keys so I fear that they will repair and resell this door. The defects weren't easy to detect until the door was installed and then it is too late. We don't want anyone to go through what we have been through these past 5 months.

Review: We ordered a white Mastercraft front door and sidelite from Menard's sold as a set. The front door and sidelite were installed by an independent contractor whom Menard's endorsed and it wasn't until it was fully installed that we realized the door and sidelite were two different finishes and color. The appearance and color of the front door is exactly as we had ordered and what we had seen in the store but the sidelite is a different finish and color. We wanted white. Plain white, not the off-white unfinished product that the sidelite is. We have contacted Mastercraft numerous times as well as Menard's and the contractor. Menard's and the contractor agreed the door and sidelite are two different products as far as texture and color even though they were sold as a matching set. Mastercraft claims in correspondence to us that there are "no manufacturing defects." Mastercraft claims that "the smooth fiberglass doors are not sold as a prefinished color." Well if they would come out and inspect they could see for themselves that they are wrong. Menard's sold this product to us as a complete set. A representative from Menard's came to our home and said that the door was fiberglass and the sidelite is steel. We ordered a fiberglass set. Mastercraft and Menard's now claim that we could paint the door and sidelite to make them match. We specifically purchased this product as it was sold to us as white and not needing paint. We are not painters and this is not what we purchased.Desired Settlement: We want a sidelite to match our front door. If that is impossible, we want a new WHITE door and sidelite installed - even if we have to pick out a different set. We want white. Nothing that has to be painted white. Just plain white. We have put in hours and hours of time and trips to Menard's trying to get this resolved. If that is not possible, we want a refund of the purchase price and installation amount that we paid. We have dealt with this issue for over one year.

Consumer

Response:

I would like to start out by expressing my complete dissatisfaction and frustration in dealing with Midwest Manufacturing. Setting aside this dispute process, which requires written communication, Midwest has refused to communicate by other than letter. With the exception of one phone conversation with a customer service representative whose sole purpose was to deflect any responsibility. The advantage for Midwest Manufacturing in only communicating by letter is to continue making the resolution a moving target. Consistently refusing/denying responsibility and never addressing the core reason for our complaint. To recap again: Around June 2013 we visited the Menards Maplewood store and selected a door and sidelite to have installed on our home. Our goal was to select a door and sidelite that did not require painting. In our conversation with the sales rep at Menards we discussed our goal and he agreed the door we selected would not require painting. The door and sidelite were installed by a contractor and it was upon completion that it was obvious the door and sidelite did not match. The door matched exactly the door we selected in the showroom. The sidelite did not. Menards, to their credit, did send someone out to look at the door and sidelite and confirmed they did not match. However, through the series of letters with Midwest, they continued to deny our complaint. In their letter to me dated September 11, they state "the door unit that Mr. [redacted] purchased is not sold as a prefinished door unit". I don't understand that answer. We selected a door and sidelite that would work for us. We picked it out from the selections in the showroom. Upon installation, the door matched exactly what we selected, but the sidelite did not. What Midwest has effectively avoided explaining and addressing was why the door and sidelite do not match. Call it what you want - prefinished, unfinished, finished, etc. - we were provided a door and sidelite that do not match. Midwest has finally offered a refund of the door and sidelite purchase - however, that would require us to again pay a contractor to replace the door. To me, this is unacceptable. We are approaching a year and a half in dealing with this. I would imagine Midwest's strategy of wearing out and frustrating customers until they give up is probably very effective for them. However, I am not going to give up. They did not deliver a matching door and sidelite - and the resolution should not include the extra expense to me of a 2nd charge for installation.

Business

Response:

Thank you for again giving us the opportunity to respond to Mr.[redacted]'s complaint.As stated previously, the door unit that Mr. [redacted] purchased is notsold as a prefinished door unit. We conveyed this to Mr. [redacted] onmultiple occasions and ultimately offered a return authorization. That letterallowed him to return the door unit to the Menards store so that he couldpurchase a door unit that better suited his needs.Mr. [redacted] is also looking to recoup damages for installation.However, the warranty covers the replacement of parts. The warrantydoes not cover the refund of the purchase price, monetary compensation ,labor charges, travel expenses, or finishing expenses.Midwest Manufacturing apologizes for any inconveniences Mr.[redacted] may have experienced. The letter Mr. [redacted] receivedauthorizing him to return the door unit is still valid. We would be unable tooffer any compensation in this matter.Sincerely,

Review: I purchased an interior double door from Menards which was a special order manufactured by Midwest Manufacturing. The double door was picked up by my contractor and installed. The door frame was delivered unfinished and also there was visible gap when the door was closed after installation. My contractor explained the issue to Menards Customer service in Oakdale MN, and the store told us to return the door as it was a manufacturing issue. Menards store agreed to replace the door with the right product but unable to pay for the second installation fee of $200 dollars. Menards store in Oakdale MN, refereed us to Midwest Manufacturing to resolve the issue through their guest service. I contacted Midwest Manufacturing twice through Menard's Guest Service and Midwest Manufacturing declined to respond even though Menard's Guest Service agreed to resolve my legitimate complaint since it was a manufacturing issue, because we ordered the double door with finished frame and proper measurement of the gap cover in the store.Desired Settlement: Please refund me the second installation cost in the amount of $ 200.00 dollars that I paid to the contractor to install the replacement door. Previously, I submitted all the required paper work and receipt of payment to the contractor through Menard's Guest Service. Thank you for your understanding

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Mr. [redacted]'s complaint.The warranty covers the replacement of defective parts. The warrantydoes not cover the refund of the purchase price, monetary compensation,labor charges, travel expenses, or finishing expenses.Midwest Manufacturing apologizes for any inconveniences you may haveexperienced. We are unable to offer compensation in this matter

Review: Installed decking material mfg'd by Midwest Mfg, complained in writing to Menard's who sent it to Midwest Mfg and need a refund of the material and labor for installation. I have 2 small children and it is unsafe to have an unfinished deck 7 feet in the air. I also think this company needs to either improve its quality or go out of business because they just ignore product complaints and do not have any means to resolve them, no online, email or written customer complaint contact available.Desired Settlement: I submitted a request in writing for the refund of the decking material and for the labor of 2 workers at $25 per hour for 16 hours each.

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Ms. [redacted]'s complaint.According to our records, based on Ms. [redacted]'s complaint, we sent a letterwhich offered a return authorization. That letter allowed her to return thedecking she was dissatified with to the Menards store so that she couldexchange it or receive a refund for the product.Ms. [redacted] is also looking to recoup damages for installation. If Ms. [redacted] didnot like any of the decking for any reason, she should not have installed it, butrather returned it. The warranty covers the replacement of parts. Thewarranty does not cover the refund of the purchase price, monetarycompensation, labor charges, travel expenses, or finishing expenses.Midwest Manufacturing apologizes for any inconveniences Ms. [redacted] mayhave experienced. The letter Ms. [redacted] received authorizing her to return thedecking is still valid.Sincerely,

Review: We purchased a door from Menards in Janesville, WI in April of 2014 that is manufactured by Midwest Manufacturing. Menards owns Midwest Manufacturing. We have been sending correspondence to Midwest Manufacturing for well over 8 months now. They keep requesting photos & we keep sending photos that were taken by their own store representative. The door leaks. It does not leak air. At the seals, it runs down to the bottom, inside to the bottom plate, then inside our house. It is causing issues with our flooring & mold issues. We even tried to purchase a storm door thinking that might help, but they don't make one for their own door. Instead, they send back letters with instructions on how to use a caulk gun. This door was professionally installed. We have spent over $70,000.00 at Menards for an addition to our home and only get responses from Louise Fox, Guest Relations on how to caulk a door. She has been given way too much time and numerous photos on this matter. They are choosing to keep playing the we need more photos game. Unfortunately, we did not check online about this company before we made the purchase. There are an obnoxious amount of complaints from people who purchased doors from this company & have had the same problems, with no results. We are thoroughly disgusted with their complete lack of customer service & are considering legal action. We have to rip the floor up & take the house apart to remove this door & replace it. They have not even sent out a representative, which they promised they would do last June.Desired Settlement: We want the problem solved. After all this time, we want a refund in addition to the costs of removing the tile, frame, and flooring to try to fix the problems caused by this defective door that should have been addressed a long, long time ago. Thank you.

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Mr. and Mrs.[redacted]'s complaint.In the letters sent to Mr. [redacted] directly, Midwest Manufacturing informedhim that we needed pictures to further process the claim. We explainedthat the pictures needed to show where the door unit was caulked. Todate we have not received the pictures we requested. Mr. [redacted] keepssupplying the same picture that the Menards store employee took but itdoes not show what we need to see.Midwest Manufacturing received correspondence from Mr. and Mrs.[redacted] stating that they would not be sending any further pictures andthat they are dissatisfied with the door unit. Therefore, on February 17,2014, we sent a letter to Mr. [redacted] authorizing him to take the door unitback to the Menards store for a refund. This complaint has been resolvedon our end and is closed.Sincerely,~~

Consumer

Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted],and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. We have sent several letters with several different photos to Midwest Manufacturing. We requested more than once that they send a representative from their company to our home to view the door. The pictures they are asking to have, would require that we remove the door from the frame. The water leaks through the door, not the door frame. They do not even make a storm door to fit this door because this door is an outside door. It would require a specially made storm door at a cost of $1,400.00. We were willing to do a storm door to fix the problem of their disfunctional door, but not at that price. Louise Fox just kept sending insulting letters on how to use a caulk gun. This door was installed by a professional carpenter. The door does not leak at the frame, it also has been caulked properly and has a drip edge. The water is leaking through the door. We would have to rip the siding off the house to provide the unnecessary photos that [redacted] insists on. Also, this is the second door purchased due to the first door being damaged by the tines of a fork truck stuck into the door itself. This company has an unbelievable amount of complaints about their doors "leaking" on the internet. They are ridiculous to deal with, and incredibly insulting. This company is owned by Menards, who sold the door. Should we be issuing a Revdex.com complaint against Menards as well?

Business

Response:

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Mr. and Mrs.[redacted]'s complaint.We have given this guest the opportunity to return their door unit as theyrequested ; however, they claim this is unacceptable. Mr. and Mrs. [redacted]can return the door unit or we can send them a replacement door unit. Wehave sent a letter to Mr. and Mrs. [redacted] explaining their options.Sincerely,

Review: The door we ordered we had specific colors that we wanted. We were told by Menards that these would be all great. We chose not to stain our selves as we wanted to make sure that everything matched up correctly. We did not want any errors, thus adding significant charges to the door, but as we said we didn't want to take any chances of the color issues. The door is wrapped and we did not notice anything until after the door was installed. we had called Menards immedialty and we were told since it was installed we had to work with MM. This took forever to get any information from them at all. First you had to follow so many steps to even get any where with them. He had to fill out tons of forms and deliver them to Menards. He finally got an email from them. they have NO phone number and it took forever to fill out forms on what we wouldnt accept etc. Everything is done by normal mail!!!! In todays world who does that!!!!?? Especially when its at this point! We filled out the paperwork telling them how another piece of trim sent to us so WE could install it would not be acceptable WHY should we do the work etc. They are the worst company we have ever dealt with no customer service and for the amount of money we spent they should be bending over backwards for us!1 Its not like we took an in stock door got a clearance price or anything we dropped a ton of money! I expect quality in return! After doorwasinstalled we noticed color trim around side lites and wood grain trim are all different colors. We have 3-4 different colors on this door/ Kick plate is also a different color than it was to also. We paid extra money for all these items to match and nothing matches. Why we spent the extra money to make sure we had a beautiful good looking door. Nothing of which is correct but the huge dollar amount spent. Very dissappointed with the company and lack of care they take with the consumers who spend a great deal of money with this company.Desired Settlement: We want them to pay us exactly what we paid for the item and now after months and months of getting the run around want another REPUTABLE company to come and uninstall this door and re install another door of comparable for us. We do not wish to work with this company who is just a joke and not quality work nor quality any customer service or billing or guest relations or anything for that matter. They have NO way of communicating besides mailing a form they make it drag out forever and ever and than they claim they are still waiting for a response months later. Which is a joke. We have wasted so much time and energy on this that we are done. We are sure they do this with everyone and the people just get exhausted frustrated and give up. When you spend this much money on a SPECIAL order door it sure better be correct! NOW we want all of our money back and we should also be asking for the money back also for the cost of getting the door the gas-The trailer and the amount it cost us to install it in the first place. They are lucky we don't ask for all of that as well. Please help us out-or we will seek further action-this company needs to be held accountable for the lack of workmanship, concern of the customers and just plain ole rudeness! We paid $1471.78 for this door and I would like another door made with matching trim and $500.00 to install. Plus now I have to have this one taken out and another one re-installed all which is going to be a needless amount of time and money spent because they could not make it right or fix the situation immediatly instead of running us around for months.

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Mr. [redacted]'s ongoing concerns.

J am sorry that Mr. [redacted] is unhappy with the door unit he purchased. Please understand

that, like natural wood products, color may vary slightly from component piece to

component piece. I am sorry if the color variation was not acceptable to Mr. [redacted]. As

a goodwill gesture, we arc willing to send a representative out to change the sidelite

windows, while taking care to more closely match the sidelile frames to the door. If Mr.

[redacted] would prefer, as an alternative, we will issue credit for the return of the door unit.

Please ask lvlr. [redacted] to get back to us with his decision within 30 days, so wc can notify

Menards to have the appropriate paperwork issued.

We value Mr. [redacted]'s business and appreciate his cooperation in this matter.

Sincerely,

This details my correspondence about three doors that I purchased from Midwest Manufacturing. Anyone can clearly see that they produce an absolutely awful product. Please join me in boycotting this business.
August 12, 2014
Guest Relations
Midwest Manufacturing [redacted]
To Whom It May Concern:
I am writing this letter in response to your letter dated 7/21/14. I was very disappointed by the response. Did you think that we were going to go without doors on our facility for weeks while you figured out what you were going to do? We had contractors that had to complete the work by a certain date. Your awful quality doors have had replacement parts purchased for them and have been installed and painted weeks before you sent out your letter. We do not want more inferior quality garbage from your company. Furthermore, I sent detailed pictures of the defects in my first letter. Thus, I will not be filling out the ridiculous forms that you provided.
You are right that the 60” door was not damaged during shipping. The door was clearly damaged when it was put in the box at your facility. Then, you imply that we cannot read directions or use a level and that this is why the doors do not appear to be properly installed. I assure you that I am very literate. The people who installed the doors are literate. We can also follow directions. The faults in these doors are solely with Midwest Manufacturing, and the photos provided in my original complaint provide ample proof. Thus, I was deeply offended by your comment.
So, the net message is that I completely disagree with your remedy to your poor quality manufacturing. In my job, I work with lawyers around the country. I am considering suing you for the additional costs that your poor quality doors have caused me plus court costs. At the very least, I can promise you that I will never buy another Midwest Manufacturing product again. Furthermore, I will do everything in my power to disseminate my experience with your company on every appropriate feedback site on the internet. Hopefully, I can inflict 100 times the financial damage that you inflicted on my small business.
Sincerely, [redacted] Original information provided to company detailing defective doors and the associated costs:
INFORMATION: (Please explain exactly what happened.) ** from the Menards on [redacted] already sent a letter on our behalf. I enclosed a CD with images of the damaged sets of doors that I purchased on 6/4/14. [redacted] did an excellent job documenting the damage to the doors that I bought on 4/22/14 and returned.
Defects in Mastercraft 72”x80” Exterior Double Door (HLND30120250) purchased on 4/22/14:
•Overfilled door insulation resulting in a warped door. Insulation was overly protruding from the door seams. Anyone in quality control should have recognized this defect. This resulted in three hours of contractor labor to try to make the doors functional and our storage facility having no climate control for over a month. I returned the doors because the contractors found no way to make the seal on the door functional.
•My contractor was going to provide a door, but I reluctantly decided to give Menards and Mastercraft another chance. I even wound up purchasing an additional door, figuring my odds of receiving additional defective doors was low.
Defects in Mastercraft 60”x80” Exterior Double Door purchased on 6/4/14 (photographically documented on enclosed CD):
•The vinyl trim on the right exterior part of the door was warped. The nails securing the trim were even bent.
•The right corner of the threshold sill was bent up 45 degrees. The sill was caulked this way, so Mastercraft clearly knew about this defect when they shipped the door.
•One door was installed 3/16” higher than the other door. Over two hours was spent leveling the doors before this defect was noticed. Hopefully, the doors’ seals will be sufficient even with this defect.
•Once more, insulation was protruding from a door seam.
Defects in Mastercraft 72”x80” Exterior Double Door (HLND30120250) purchased on 6/4/14 (photographically documented on enclosed CD):
•The gap between the doors is so great that the insulation seal does not make contact. At night, light can visibly be seen between the two doors. The gap is particularly obvious near the top of the door.
The most disturbing idea about all of these defects is that they were obvious when they were shipped from Mastercraft. Mastercraft is knowingly shipping defective products.
WHAT DO YOU WANT? (Itemized dollar amounts, etc.)
I will tell you what your manufacturing errors cost me. I am sure that you are aware that the cost of contractors per hour is quite expensive. I would appreciate compensation. However, my expectations are very low after these experiences.
•Time contractor spent trying to accommodate door purchased on 4/22/14: 3hrs at $200/hr = $600
•Time spent repairing door (cutting out excess insulation, bending down metal threshold, making and installing new exterior trim, etc.) and leveling uneven doors (60”x80” doors purchased on 6/4/14) = 4hrs at $200/hr = $800
•New PVC trim for 60”x80” doors purchased on 6/4/14 = $26.08 (receipt enclosed)
•Time spent insulating huge gap between doors (72”x80” doors purchased on 6/4/14) = 3hrs at $200/hr = $600 plus $11.01 in materials (receipt enclosed – vinyl door seal, black sponge rubber)
Note that all of my repair materials are from Lowes. I have stopped shopping at Menards.
Also, note that I spent over $2000 dollars in time and materials repairing brand new doors that should not have required repairs. The two sets of doors only cost $1,358.37 (after $13 in rebates redeemed).
Ultimately, I want Mastercraft to manufacture quality doors. I have purchased Mastercraft doors several years ago. I thought that they were good quality for the price. However, after these experiences, I will never purchase another Mastercraft door, and I will be buying two more entry doors in the next several months. Menards frequently markets their American craftsmanship. As an American, I think that you should stop this advertising campaign. Menards and Mastercraft’s lack of commitment to quality and pride in work is against traditional American principles.

Review: I purchased and installed over 34 20' pieces of Menards Rustic Cedar Ultra Deck decking boards. All were installed per their instructions, using hardware purchased at Menards. The decking boards were produced by Menard's affiliate company Midwest Manufacturing of Eu Claire WI.

After installation, all deck boards expanded to consume most of the length and width specified clearances. The last 10 boards expanded to consume all width clearances and became warped at the ends due to the compression with adjacent boards. Midwest mfg. has repeatedly rejected my claim, stating incorrect installation, with inadequate clearance space around each board, when in fact, the defective boards expanded excessively, consuming these clearances

After multiple letters with photo documentation that disproved their statements, Midwest Mfg. simply repeats their reasons for denial, or revises their original, incorrect point with a new objection to the installationDesired Settlement: I need to replace the 10 defective deck boards. I have requested replacement from Menards. I would expect a Menards credit voucher for $258. which represents the sale price I paid, with an 11% discount which was applied to the original purchase.

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Mr. [redacted]'s complaint.The warranty covers the replacement of defective parts. The warranty does not cover the refundof the purchase price, monetary compensation, labor charges, travel expenses, or finishing expenses.According to our records, we sent a letter on April 4, 2016 authorizing Mr. [redacted] to return and exchange any UltraDeck components that he is dissatisfied with at the Menards store. Based on that letter, this complaint has been resolved.

Consumer

Response:

Review: We purchased a composite material picnic table from Menards 4 years ago, The table legs are listed as being made of durable treated wood. The wood has rotted to the point that the bolts won't hold the table together any longer. I reached out to Midwest as they are the manufacturer. Their response "To go back to the Menards you purchased the table from and fill out a guest complaint you can do this in the building materials department. They will help you through the process than send in the form, pictures, and your original receipt to us here at Midwest.". I located my receipt, took pictures and completed the complaint form. I received a letter dated 7/3 from Menards directing Midwest to respond. (Midwest is owned by Menard). I have sent numerous follow up faxes and have not received any response. It has been over 8 weeks. Summer is over, with no table for our deck.Desired Settlement: We would like a refund in full of the purchase price. Not a store credit, but a refund.

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Ms. [redacted]'scomplaint.In a letter dated September 10, 2015 which was sent to Ms. [redacted]directly, Midwest Manufacturing informed her that the warranty covers thereplacement of parts. The warranty does not cover the refund of thepurchase price, monetary compensation, labor charges, travel expenses, orfinishing expenses.The offer for the replacement picnic table satisfies the warranty and is stillvalid. If Ms. [redacted] would like to receive the replacement picnic table kit asoffered in the letter dated September 10, we would need her approval inwriting.Sincerely,~rJ~

Consumer

Response:

Review: On 11/28 I purchased 6 doors from Menards in Sioux City, IA that were manufactured by Midwest Manufacturing (a subsidiary of Menards). After installation in January, 2016, trimming and painting the doors, the jambs on 4 of the doors the veneer began to bubble.

I advised Midwest Manufacturing of the issue on 2/6/2016 and promptly received a response asking for pictures and a copy of the sales ticket. I provided those items to the representative via e-mail. After further review they asked me how the doors were painted. I advised them they were painted with 2 coats of latex paint also purchased at Menards.

The representative told me that they recommend finishing with an oil based paint, however, was unable to produce any documentation to state this. I checked their website and it only states: "Apply a minimum of two coats of paint, varnish, or sealer to all six sides of the door.". Nothing about what type of paint to use (oil or latex based).

The representative then responded that they would offer to replace the 4 door jambs that the issue occurred on. This is not an acceptable resolution as the doors have already been installed, trimmed and painted. Replacing the jambs would involve removing the trim, removing the old jamb, installing the new jamb and installing new trim. Then painting everything again.

I have offered to repair the doors by cutting out the bubbled veneer, filling the gaps, and repainting the affected areas if they would reimburse me for labor and material costs which would be significantly less than replacing the door jambs entirely. They continue to tell me that their warranty does not cover labor.

This is not a warranty issue. I received a defective product from the factory. A lemon. That, or, their installation / finishing instructions are incomplete or incorrect.

I have the full e-mail trail for documentation if it becomes necessary.Desired Settlement: The cost to repair the 4 affected doors (remove affected veneer, fill with suitable wood filler, re-paint door jamb) is estimated at $200. I would like either a check from Midwest Manufacturing (Menards) for $200 or a Menards store credit would also be sufficient as they have the same parent company and I've seen other Revdex.com complaints with this resolution so I know it is possible.

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Mr. [redacted]'s complaint.According to our records, Mr. [redacted] used a water based latex paint to paint his doorunits. The finishing recommendations on the packaging and on our website(www.midwestmanufacturing.com) state to use oil based products. The use of waterbased products causes the issue Mr. [redacted] is describing.The warranty covers the replacement of parts. The warranty does not cover the refundof the purchase price, monetary compensation, labor charges, travel expenses, orfinishing expenses.Even though Mr. [redacted] did not follow the manufacturer's recommended finishinginstructions, we offered replacement product in good faith. Midwest Manufacturingapologizes for any inconveniences Mr. [redacted] may have experienced. We would beunable to offer further compensation in this matter.Mr. [redacted] can choose to take the door units back to the Menards store for exchange orrefund or Mr. [redacted] may send his approval to us and the replacement product will beordered.Sincerely,

Consumer

Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. While I am still unable to find the proper finishing instructions on their site I did return to the store and reviewed the packaging. I am disappointed that they couldn't have produced these instructions when I first asked them about the issue and it had to escalate this far.

Regards,

Review: We purchased a Midwest Manufacturing door from the Menards in West Chicago, IL when we built our home in 2003 as were impressed with their "Lifetime Warranty." They say they "warrant the door…for as long as you own your door." However, THIS COMPANY HAS NO INTENTION OF HONORING IT'S WARRANTY!!! We had problems with this door early on as the plastic trim around the windows popped loose from around the window and had to be replaced. Unfortunately, now the vinyl coating on the bottom of the door has bubbled up over time and cracked open leaving the wood frame exposed to the elements. The frame of this door is now showing bare wood and is deteriorating rapidly. We have to get this fixed before winter.

I have filled out all the necessary warranty paperwork they Menards and have corresponded in writing with this company several times. They continue to brush us off wanting to say first that the door was "not properly installed or maintained," and then that "we did not maintain the door properly." This door was installed and has been maintained by professionals. I have sent them pictures showing the caulk around the base of the door frame.

We even had an independent contractor come out and inspect the door and he said that he could "tell that it was installed properly and that we have obviously maintained it well with paint and caulk." In his opinion, "the door is obviously defective." We even requested that a representative from Midwest Manufacturing personally come out and inspect the door…which they have NOT! You will NEVER REACH A LIVE PERSON AT THIS COMPANY…IT IS IMPOSSIBLE!!!Desired Settlement: I am seeking a replacement door/frame and reimbursement for repair costs.

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity 10 review Mr. [redacted]'s concerns.

According to the pictures provided in Mr. [redacted]'s initial complaint, it appears that the door

unit was not caulked where the frame meets the sill plate. This is in the installation instructions

as a finishing step. It is important so that the door frame does not deteriorate due to water

infiltration. Since the door unit was purchased and installed in 2003, this may have been done

at the time of installation, but the caulk would need to be removed and replaced at least

annually to avoid deterioration.

Ultimately, Midwest Manufacturing wants our guests to be happy with their products. Since Mr.

[redacted] is dissatisfied with the door unit, as a good will gesture, Midwest Manufacturing

would like to send a replacement door unit to the Menards store for his use.

The Masters window series has been discontinued. Available glass styles can be viewed in

the Mastercraft program at Mr. [redacted]'s local Menards store, or at www.menards.com.

Please have Mr. [redacted] select from the prompt ship glass styles to avoid an upcharge. If

he does select from the custom collection glass, we will be in contact with him regarding the

upcharge amount.

Please have Mr. [redacted] get back to me with his glass choice and approval in writing within

30 days so we may order the door unit.

The warranty on the door covers the replacement of defective parts. The warranty does not

cover commensurate damages such as labor charges and travel expenses.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Consumer

Response:

Dear [redacted],

Thank you for getting back to us so promptly regarding the replacement of our current door unit.

We are disappointed that you are unable to replace our current door with a comparable arched top glass door unit at no additional charge. However, we do appreciate your gesture of discounting the upcharge to $673.20.

Since we do not want to change the interior and exterior views of our home, we feel we have no alternative other than to order the only arched top glass door you still offer (as presented in your internet design #: 359810134065) at the additional upcharge of $673.20. So please go ahead and order the door unit for us.

In addition, please let us know:

-That you can have the door unit delivered directly to our home at [redacted] at no additional charge.

-How and when I should pay the balance at our local Menards store #3140, 220 W. North Avenue, west Chicago, IL 60185.

-Is there any way I can pay the balance this week (before 8-9-14) on my Menards credit card to take advantage of the Menards 11% rebate offer?

-The estimated delivery date.

Thank you for your help with this matter.

Sincerely,

Business

Response:

After our letter to you dated July 15, 2014, Mr. [redacted] had contacted us

directly. I have enclosed a copy of the letter which was sent to him on July 31,

2014. VVe wil l again wait to hear from Mr. [redacted] directly.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

Review: We purchased French doors with side lights to the tune of $4100.00 plus. We our working with a contractor on all this and he is the person who has been in contact with a Louise Fox since the problem occurred. We purchased the doors in January and they were delivered in February, 2014. They were installed the day they were delivered. Two weeks later it rained and leak was found we thought we fixed the problem until another big rain came and then the side lights leaked and potentially could have ruined the new floor we just installed if we had not discovered the leak and put plastic over the doors, which is still there to date. Our contractor has sent numerous letters and e-mails and the response is the same that labor is not included and that they will send new side lights for him and/or us to install but at our expense. They also had to send a corner seal that was not with the door for my contractor to install. I have numerous complaints from the internet on this company for this same problem.Desired Settlement: I believe if replacing the sidelights is going to solve the problem then its their responsibility to replace and install at their expense not mine since the doors were not right in the first place. I would like for the glass to be pressure checked somehow to insure that no further leaks will occur. My resolution in this is that this doesn't happen to others in the future.

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Mr. [redacted]'s

complaint.

We do not have a record of receiving a Warranty Complaint form from Mr.

[redacted] in regards to the door unit installed in his home. Please have Mr.

[redacted] submit an Installed Guest Complaint form that can be obtained

from any Menards location. Mr. [redacted] should submit the form along with

a proof of purchase and pictures of the door. All warranty claims must be

filed through Menards corporate office. Upon receipt of this information,

we will process a warranty claim. He states that his contractor has been in

contact with us, if this is the case, please have Mr. [redacted] provide the

contractor's name so that I can properly address his concerns.

Sincerely,

~~

Consumer

Response:

Review: I purchased a Mastercraft steel exterior door made by Midwest Manufacturing at the Menards store in Galesburg, IL and the window on the door leaks water when it rains. I went through Menards complaint process and asked for a new replacement door as well as reimbursement for any labor charges I would incur to change out the doors since I had already paid to have the first door installed. I received a letter in the mail from Midwest Manufacturing stating the following:

"We have been authorized by the manufacturer of the window in your Dark Oak steel door to offer a replacement for the LA-656 window with frame only. This door unit carries no labor warranty. The replacement parts would be sent to the address on the complaint form.

Enclosed please find general instructions for changing the windows or window frames in the doors. Your window style may vary from what is shown in the instructions. However, the method is the same.

For step by step window installation instructions, please refer to the Door Glass Window Replacement video at midwestmanufacturing.com in the Video Center."

I feel that it is ridiculous that they expect me to remove the old window and install the new window. This is a brand new door that I purchased that is defective, but I'm expected to fix it. I know nothing about doors, so if I do something wrong and there is an issue it is now my fault. Or, if I pay someone to do it to make sure it is done correctly they aren't going to reimburse me for that because my brand new door carries no labor warranty.

When I received the letter in the mail I sent them a long email letting them know how appalling their resolution to this issue is and in my rage made the comment send me a new window so I can fix your company's mess. The only response I got was that my email was forwarded to customer service and a new window would be ordered. I took the letter to the Menards store where I purchased the door hoping to get assistance from them, but Midwest has not cooperated with them either and is still sticking to making me install a new window.Desired Settlement: I want a new door, not just a new window.

Business

Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Ms. [redacted]'s complaint.We do not have a record of receiving any correspondence from youregarding a complaint from Ms. [redacted] in regards to the door unit installed inher home. However, according to our records, a replacement window withframe was offered to Ms. [redacted] on September 29, 2014. Ms. [redacted] sentan approval email to us stating that she was unhappy with our warranty butto send the replacement parts. The replacement parts were ordered onOctober 21 , 2014 and were sent via FedEx directly to her home. As far asMidwest Manufacturing is concerned, this complaint was resolved at thattime.Sincerely,~

Consumer

Response:

Check fields!

Write a review of Midwest Manufacturing Inc

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Midwest Manufacturing Inc Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Doors, Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Countertops

Address: 5311 Kane Road, Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States, 54703

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.midwestmanufacturing.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Midwest Manufacturing Inc, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Midwest Manufacturing Inc

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated