Sign in

iFixandRepair

2976 Pelham Pkwy STE D, Pelham, Alabama, United States, 35124-1733

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about iFixandRepair? Use RevDex to write a review

iFixandRepair Reviews (%countItem)

Bricked My iPhoneX
I travelled from Kansas City to Savannah to spend time with my family over Christmas. During my drive my wife complained that she couldn’t hear me well when I was holding my phone to my ear. She complained that the voice was cutting in and out. When I switched to speaker she was able to hear me again without issue. When I arrived in Savannah my brother who is a" techie” did some research and found that the problem was probably the bottom speaker which could repaired with an $8 part. He also found Ifixitandrepair and told me he would trust them because they are a fairly large brand that has numerous locations around the country and since my phone was in perfect working order other than the speaker issue he thought it would be an easy fix.

I drove to the Oglethorpe Mall location is Savannah and talked with a gentleman named Nick who told me he could fix the phone in one hour for $70. I had my computer with me and specifically asked if I needed to backup my phone because I had a lot of pictures and documents that were important to me that weren’t backed up and if lost would be a major blow to me personally and professionally. He told me I did not need to do it because this was an easy fix he has done many times and there was no way I would lose information. I left the store to do some shopping and checked back in about 45 min later. Nick was working still working on the phone. I left to grab some food and returned about 30 min later to find Nick looking discouraged. He told me he was having an issue and he would need more time. I had a family event planned that afternoon so we decided to the best course of action was to leave my phone with Nick. He told me he would call me when he had it working and he expected it to be the next morning.

I didn’t hear from him so I called around noon the next day and got the shops owner who is hard to understand over the phone so I asked to speak with Nick. Nick wasn’t available until later so I left my number and asked for an update when new information was available. This process went on for 3 more days. I would call, the owner would answer, he would tell me I needed to speak to Nick who wasn’t available until later. No one ever took the time to call me with information over this time frame. I would have to call, sit on hold, and wait for Nick to get on the phone to tell me he needed more time to fix my phone.

Finally it was time for me to travel home so I called to tell them I needed to pick up my phone whether or not it was fixed. The owner answered then told me my phone was not repairable. I asked him what he could do for me since I came in with a phone that had a small issue and after it spent four days with him it was not working at all. He started talking so fast I couldn’t understand so I asked to talk to Nick and was told he was in the store but on the other line. I waited, and waited and waited. I hung up and called back, was hung up on and called back again to get the owner to put me on hold again for over 20 minutes. Nick never came to the phone so I hung up and drove to the store.

Nick and the store owner were both in an empty store. I bring up this point because they never called any of the numbers I provided. Not once did they reach out to me over this 4 day ordeal.

I walked in with my wife and my brother so I would have some witnesses to this encounter. They said sorry we couldn’t fix your phone. I said you didn’t fix my phone but you’re telling me it is not working at all when the only issue it had before you “ didn't fix it” was with the speaker. I asked if there was anything they could do to help me out. After going back and forth with the owner and Nick for about 10 minutes and them taking absolutely zero responsibility and telling me that phones sometimes just break even when the repair is done perfectly, the best they came up with was to offer to sell me a refurbished iPhone xs with 256gb for $350 and give me a discount if I’d leave my iPhone with them.

A few things stuck out to me here…..if my phone was not repairable why would they offer me a discount only if they could keep it? The answer in my mind is that they planned to fix my phone and resell it as refurbished which means they wanted to make money off of me after breaking my phone. This wasn’t an offer to take care of their customer. This was an offer that would make them more money even after treating a customer like trash and breaking a working phone. I refused their offer and left the store.

All in all this was a horrible experience. If my phone was in jeopardy of breaking during repair, which was the excuse given me after they took my phone and bricked it, why did they tell me there was no need to back it up before I gave them my phone? If it was a hard repair, why wouldn’t your techs give advice not to make the repair as it is risky. I’ve talked to numerous people about this issue and all of them tell me the most likely cause of the bricked phone was a mistake during repair. Mistakes happen. I know this and accept it. The issue is the store has taken no responsibility for making the mistake and I am out a phone and all the data it contained. I have purchased a new phone and have accepted the fact that I’ve lost my data and photos but there is a terrible taste in my mouth about this and I would like to bring it to corporates attention in the hopes that the Oglethorpe mall location is not indicative of your companies normal business practices.

• Feb 14, 2020

Owner damaged my laptop through service and did not provide me with invoice number to provide
Hi! I recently did business with ifixandrepair Hoover, AL location for laptop repair in the Galleria Mall. I called in the beginning of January to order my part, the older man said he would notify me when it arrived. A week went by, no contact. I went and asked was my part in they said yes. I brought my laptop to them at in the middle of January to get my charging port replaced. I explained to him that my outside body frame of the laptop was damaged and I was willing to pay for him to fix. He said he would find a way for it to be in there and cover the port properly. For weeks it's been lack of communication and urgency to fix the product. After fixing the charging port, he claimed it needed a new battery which I allowed him to order. It took almost two weeks for the battery to come in. When I pick up my laptop, tell me why this man HOT GLUED my charging port in to hold it in place rather than ordering me a new housing for my computer. I've been working with computers for years and know for a FACT this isn't legitimate. He claims the laptop is now short circuit and there is nothing he can do to fix it. I just bought this laptop a couple of months ago so there is no way it should be short circuit when I was using it before hand. The staff destroyed my device using their hot glue tactic. When I asked for my invoice he said don't worry about it because nothing could be done. I've taken it to three computer shops all of which are saying they are not suppose to do that just replace the housing. The staff there is not trained properly and destroyed my $800 investment that I use on a daily for my business. I need this issue situated with a replacement of my device. I've contacted corporate they have not responded back yet.

Desired Outcome

I would like a replacement version of my laptop or equal value of the device when I purchased it

iFixandRepair Response time Feb 17, 2020

I recently did business with ifixandrepair ***, AL location for laptop repair in the ***. I called in the beginning of January to order my part, the older man said he would notify me when it arrived. A week went by, no contact.

*The Day he contacted us to Order the Part was JAN 23, 2020 and the Part Arrived JAN 27, 2020 We Called and attempted to reach the Customer, No Answer.

I went and asked was my part in they said yes.

*It Arrived the Day we indicated to the customer it would Arrive. We are not ***, *** or any other Parcel Carrier. We can only quote the day they tell us it is expected.

I brought my laptop to them at in the middle of January to get my charging port replaced. I explained to him that my outside body frame of the laptop was damaged and I was willing to pay for him to fix. He said he would find a way for it to be in there and cover the port properly.

*Customer indicated he did not want to spend allot of money to repair the Laptop. The Device arrived DEAD, Outer Casing severely damaged. The charge Port was torn completely out of the Laptop. The casing around the area were the charge port was suppose to be was destroyed. Not enough was there to hold the port in the Laptop. Once the port arrived in the mail and the laptop was taken apart to install the new port, the Laptop failed to Power on, the battery was tested for voltage and it had no reading. At that point a Battery was needed to be order to test the Device further, since we could not get a reading on his and the laptop would not show any life signs when plugged in. The customer was told that the port would not power on his device and a battery would need to be ordered. Batteries Cannot be sent over night because of laws prohibiting shipping. The fastest closest vendor was selected, and ordered. And ground shipping was the only option to get the item, and it took the time that the vendor quoted for it to arrive. The customer was advised again. We have a sense of urgency with every repair, and we understood the urgency of the customer. But we cannot get any item any faster than the parcel carrier delivers it. The Original Part for the Charge Port was ordered on JAN 23, 2020 and Arrived JAN 27, 2020 the Customer brought the Laptop in on FEB 1, 2020 and We ordered the Battery on FEB 1, 2020 and it Arrived FEB 11, 2020 and we contacted the customer that the battery did not correct the problem. And that he had damaged his device beyond our ability to repair. He came and collected his device on FEB 12, 2020.

For weeks it's been lack of communication and urgency to fix the product. After fixing the charging port, he claimed it needed a new battery which I allowed him to order. It took almost two weeks for the battery to come in. When I pick up my laptop, tell me why this man HOT GLUED my charging port in to hold it in place rather than ordering me a new housing for my computer. I've been working with computers for years and know for a FACT this isn't legitimate. He claims the laptop is now short circuit and there is nothing he can do to fix it. I just bought this laptop a couple of months ago so there is no way it should be short circuit when I was using it before hand. The staff destroyed my device using their hot glue tactic. When I asked for my invoice he said don't worry about it because nothing could be done. I've taken it to three computer shops all of which are saying they are not suppose to do that just replace the housing.

*We were told to limit the amount of money to spend to fix the device, if he wanted the housing replaced, he did not indicate it, the fact that his device was nearly destroyed visually should have been a sign that he had destroyed it internally. We generally always quote prices for housings, and in his case there was none available, we looked at the initial examination, and there were none available. Where the Hot Glue was put is nowhere near any electronic parts that could remotely be damaged.

The staff there is not trained properly and destroyed my $800 investment that I use on a daily for my business. I need this issue situated with a replacement of my device.

*We have been in this Location for over 8 years, and We exercise every avenue that is possible to repair each and every device and we take extreme amount of pride in what we do. Our staff is comprised of educated and trained technicians. With Military and college backgrounds.

I've contacted corporate they have not responded back yet.

*At the time of picking up the DEAD Device the customer was not charged any diagnostic and not charged for the parts ordered for his device. The Customer quoted that it was an $800 laptop and he had just bought it. If the customer had just bought it and paid $800 than it was quite clear that laptop had seen a very hard and destructive life. Upon checking the dates that the model presented it was at least 2 years old. Since the dates and times speak for themselves, it is clear we had a sense of urgency. We treat every item given to us as if it was our own. Had the customer been less slanderous and expecting to extort a replacement device the store could have entertained a negotiation. The store currently has located a replacement device and it is on its way. While the store cannot demand the customer take down his slanderous and lacking facts posts or complaints. At no time has the customer attempted to talk to the store directly to see what options there are or could be. At no time has the customer been treated poorly or without respect.

Customer Response time Feb 17, 2020

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This merchant is lying. I never expressed that I wanted to spend a lot of money. The only issue I was pressed for was time so please specify when exactly I said I was limited on funds for repair? The merchant held my device for three hours just for diagnostic so if there was an issue with the circuit board and battery I'm sure the merchant would have picked up on it DURING their diagnosis which proves my point even more that the merchant did not know what they were doing. I expressed to him in the shop that I was willing to pay for housing for my device if it needed it that do not excuse you to hot glue my part when multiple computer shops specify that you are suppose to use POXY TAPE for repairs like that not hot glue. The device was never dead, otherwise you wouldn't have been able to start the order in the first place. As I stated above I will need a replacement of my device or I will be contacting my lawyers to situate the matter because this is ridiculous

iFixandRepair Response time Feb 18, 2020

If the customer read the entire response he would see that a replacement device has been ordered. It is due to arrive Friday 21 FEB 2020. When his device was presented for repair it was DEAD, in all honesty we should have handed it back and refused the service.

At this point his hostile manner is not going to benefit his position. He is certainly within his rights to secure a lawyer to battle for something that is resolvable without.

The options at this point are he can continue down the path he is choosing to pursue. Or he can bring it in when the new unit arrives and we call to get his data put on the new device.

By accepting the new laptop he will then forfeit his current unit, also any complaint would be null and void and any and all complaints removed, or changed to positives.

Customer Response time Feb 18, 2020

(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
No one is being hostile & I read the response throughly. Your responses however have been hostile and slanderous as well. As I stated before you could have turned down service for the device but it was repairable at the time I submitted it to you.

I will be in Friday afternoon, February 21st to exchange my current device for a new one. Once I receive my replacement device in my possession with my information transferred I will remove my review from social media

Check fields!

Write a review of iFixandRepair

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

iFixandRepair Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Address: 2976 Pelham Pkwy STE D, Pelham, Alabama, United States, 35124-1733

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

ifixandrepair.com
ifixandrepair.com

E-mails:

Sign in to see

Add contact information for iFixandRepair

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated