Sign in

Simply Self Storage

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Simply Self Storage? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Storage Units, Storage, Merchandise Warehouse Simply Self Storage

Simply Self Storage Reviews (42)

Revdex.com:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted] , and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Regards,*** [redacted]

I am sorry to read about Mr***’s disagreement with our policies As he wrote, our move in and move out policies are not only clearly stated in our lease, but are also communicated with all tenants at the time of move in We are diligent about it so we can hopefully avoid any confusion We certainly understand that moving in costs as well as procedures for vacating when are services are no longer required are very important to our tenants, so we make sure they are reviewed clearly at the time of move in – and shown on the lease for the tenant to refer to if needed Each contract with all our tenants company-wide, is a month to month lease The monthly rental term is renewed automatically on the first of every month that the unit is occupied When a person moves in, rent is prorated from the day of move in through the end of the month After that, subsequent rent is due on the first of each and every month In Mr***’s case – he paid $for the few days of rent in July It should be noted that he also paid a one time administration fee of $and $ for July’s prorated insurance Mr***'s rent for August was due on 8/1/totaling $162($rent and $insurance) Since payment is now late (per Mr***’s executed lease) he now has late fees and is locked out of our gate As for vacating (as communicated to Mr [redacted] verbally at the time of move in, and documented in his lease), we require a day written notice before the end of the month – to be effective on the last day of the month We take great pride in our customer service and the way we run our business We are consistently upfront about all of our policies – especially those pertaining to cost to the customer On our website and in our sales communication with prospective tenants we also discuss the benefits of our month to month leases – which are standard throughout the Self Storage industry We appreciate you bringing Mr***’s concern to our attention, and hope this helps answer any questions he might have Because of Mr***’s frustrations and for the time he took to communicate them to us, I took the liberty of waiving the late fee that is currently on his account I hope this helps Thank you,

Simply Self Storage had engaged in fraudulent advertisingThey state on their website and outside the building the first month's rent is freeIt is unacceptable I am blamed for their sloppy customer serviceIf the office hours stated are to be open on Saturdays at 8:am then they should be soIt is not my responsibility when they do their bankingI was understandably upset with Danny B [redacted] for not showing up until 10:am to begin workingI made my complaint very clear to Danny B [redacted] that I would not accept their lack of professionalismMsB [redacted] also attempted to pressure me into signing a three month lease which I rejected, further infuriating meI had movers waitingThey cost moneyMsB [redacted] stated she would waive all fees but I must pay the $insurance costAt that point I had no choice but to agree as I was on a strict time constraintMsB [redacted] assured me she would communicate with her supervisor her waiving the fees and my request for the refund of the $I was forced to payI am disabled and I felt I was being discriminated and taken advantage of for my obvious physical limitationsMsB [redacted] assured me all would be taken care of and I would not need to pay the April rentShe informed me if I notified her in writing via email I was vacating the unit by the 10th of the month, which I did, there would not be a fee for May I have witnesses with my movers and [redacted] to verify my complaintIt is also not my responsibility to contact the collection agency Regards, [redacted]

Dear Representative of the Revdex.com:I received your letter dated February 3, 2016, In regards to a complaint you received from our patient, [redacted] ***Prior to receiving this letter, I received a call from Ms[redacted] explaining to me her thoughts & opinions regarding the office policies of Shasta Critical CareDuring this conversation, I explained to Ms [redacted] that while I respect her thoughts & opinions, my job is to adhere to the policies set in place by the physicians that own the groupHowever, I also went on to agree with Ms [redacted] that my office canceling an appointment an hour before the scheduled appointment time due to not having the necessary dictated report back was irresponsible on the part of the officeIt was at the point, I agreed to refund the $"No Show" fee in fullMs [redacted] was very grateful & at the end of the conversation thanked me for my assistance & willingness to listen to her complaintShe went on to say she completely understood how the confusion took place and why her appointment had to be cancelled when it was.At this time, this complaint has been handled and closed within our officeIf you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact me at [redacted] Kindly, [redacted]

RE: Complaint# [redacted] This morning was the first we had heard/read of this complaintWhatever the initial attempt to contact us was, was not receivedWe were sorry to learn of Ms [redacted] negative experience at our store as this was an honest mistakeThe original price of the item she purchased was originally priced over $We will refund her $todayThe assumption she made that we were attempting anything dishonest was not appreciated and far from the truth Sincerely,*** [redacted] The Columns

Thank you for sharing your concern with us It is common for us to have banners and/or signs that will offer free rentThese signs and banners always have an asterisk and'or disclaimer that certain restrictions apply These offers are for new tenants to rent with us and vary based on occupancy at the time of rental You reserved your unit through a service called Sparefoot which offered a gift card to you upon you renting with our company Therefore, your promotion was the gift card In reviewing your file, the insurance has been included from the time of rentalThere is a page with your lease that covers the premium and coverage limits We will gladly provide a copy to you upon request We appreciate the opportunity to help clarify questions and concernsThank you for choosing Simply Self Storage

On May 26th, 2015; [redacted] and her husband rented a 10xat Simply Self Storage Neptune located at [redacted] At the time of move in both [redacted] were explained the leasing agreement by the management staffAfter reviewing the leasing agreement with the local management staff, the lease was signed by the coupleThe couple’s signature on the lease states that they are in agreement with all terms & conditions of Simply Self Storage Neptune in said leaseOn, June 1st, 2015, [redacted] came into the Neptune office asking to vacate however at that failed to pay the monthly rent and had failed give a day vacate notice prior to June 1stThese terms of the lease were explained to the couple prior to their signature as it is Simply Self Storage’s policy to explain how to vacate and when rent is due before a customer completes the move in processCopied below are two excerpts from the [redacted] lease: “MOVING OUT: When You move out, You must give Us days prior written notice before the end of the month, clean out Your Space, and remove Your lockYou will owe rent until the end of the monthIf We find Your Space unlocked and vacant, We may assume You have moved out and rent the Space to someone elseIf You leave items/trash in Your Space, You will pay a minimum $clean-out fee plus dumpster fees (It may be higher depending on what You leave)If You leave Your lock on the Space You will continue to owe rent even if the Space is emptyWe may report to a credit bureau any amount You leave owing Us including clefees and costs.” “RENT: You will pay Your rent by the 1st of the month without receiving a billIf You want an invoice, We will charge You $per month in addition to Your rentYou will indicate such by answering the above question “Monthly invoice ($per month)?” You will not fail to pay Your rent just because You did not receive an invoiceWe may change the Monthly Rent by mailing You a notice at least days before the change takes effectIf someone else pays Your rent, We may accept it, and We will not be responsible for any consequences of the paymentRent is not refundable, no matter when in the month You vacate the SpaceYou agree that no cash shall be placed in any drop slot at anytimeAny cash payment of rent must be made in a manner so that You receive a receipt from Us.” Based upon the information provided, the Revdex.com can see how [redacted] were in default of their leasing contractWe have shown a few of the terms the [redacted] ’s agreed to upon signing their lease before moving their belongings into Simply Self Storage NeptuneIn closing, we hope this letter answers all of your questions and we thank you for your valuable time reading this noticeSincerely; Ellen A [redacted] Simply Self Storage Management

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the responseIf no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved] Complaint: [redacted] I am rejecting this response because:It still does not explain why they double charged me a late feeThey charged me a $late fee twice in the same month look at the invoice it clearly shows thatThen this is the continued response you get from themThere is no supervisor or anyone to talk to to resolve this besides some employee at the location who just says she has to talk to her boss yet she won't let you talk with her boss or anyone else at the companyIt was paid in full however because I tried to fix this error with the extra charge for late fees they put this on my credit report Regards, [redacted]

For reference, the complaint ID is [redacted] I've also learned that the district managers name is Shawn B [redacted] and I believe his email is: Sb [redacted] @simplyss.comI have sent the same information to him today as I have yet to hear back from anyoneHopefully they will respond to youThanks!

This is not predatory We have an will always state our standards clearly to our customers before they rent from us.There are no suprises and in the years I have been a District Manager with Simply Self Storage covering states, I cannot remember another complaint about this. I appreciate the feedback about the way we run our business, and I am sorry that you are unhappy with our company, but I'm not sure there is much more I can say.I stand by our policy and the way we handled this situation It is not only our policy, but that of the iindustry.From one of our main competitior's websites :Our lease are month to monthRent is prorated from the day you move in to the end of the monthWe prorate 1st month only

Please see the attached for the response to complaint #***Thank You

I have paid my August rent (attempted first on Sunday, August 9th and then completed in-person August 11th).Also, I did provide written notice on Sunday, August 9th of my official move-out date for August 19th.You failed to address the business practice of pro-rating the first month and refusing to pro-rate the last month rentAs I mentioned before this is a predatory and unfair business practiceI resubmit my request for a refund of the second half of August rent

Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/12/05) */
Property manager has reached out to tenant to clarify concernA credit of 50% off next month's rent has been given to tenant as a result of the misunderstandingTenant has accepted this offer
Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13,
2015/12/07) */

I am sorry that Mr*** is still unhappy with our services, and hope to add some clarification of our policies via the wording of our mutually agreed to contract.Per the verbiage in Mr***'s lease (which he admits to understanding and agreeing to), we are unable to issue the refund.Also note in the lease paragraphs below - it states that moving in after the 15th (which Mr*** did) creates a minimum rental of the current month and the month that follows.Please note : I have already processed a credit of $onto his account to cover the late fee he incurred., but the $in rent for he is disputing is owed in full I feel bad that Mr*** feels that these policies are unfair, and I understand his frustrations, but we are unable to process a refund at this time I sincerely hope this information is helpful in providing closure to this case If I can be of any further assistance with this situation, please let me know.Thank you,JMOVING IN: If your space is not the exact dimensions We say it is you do not have any right to reduce your rent, receive a refund or adjustment. You must lock your space, either with your own lock or one your purchase from us. Your lock must be in good working condition and adequate to secure your space. This rental agreement is a month to month rental agreement, which shall commence on the date of execution (insert date of rental) and shall continue through the last day of the current month (if the space is rented before the 15th of the month) or next month (if rented on or after the 15th). Thereafter the term of this rental agreement shall automatically renew each and every month unless a notice is given ten (10) days prior to the end of the last month of the tenancy by either party. MOVING OUT: When you move out, you must give us days written notice before the end of the month, clean out your space and remove your lock. You will owe rent until the end of the month. If we find your space unlocked and vacant we may assume you have moved out and rent the space to someone else. If you leave items/trash in your space you will pay a minimum $clean out fee plus dumpster fees (it may be higher depending on what you leave). If you leave your lock on the space you will continue to owe rent even if the space is empty. We may report to a credit bureau any amount you leave owing us including clean up a fees and costs

This customer was auctioned on 4/at South Euclid. I talked to him on Monday. His issue was that he said that he was working on getting the money together, and expected us to delay the auction until he had it all. As no attempt for payment was made prior to the expiration of the
auction on 4/20, it was sold legally by the lien laws of Ohio. It sold for $80, just as he states. He also told me that he tried to open an account on Storage Treasures to attempt to bid on his unit, but he said that the system would not let him. I informed him that Storage Treasures is a third-party site, which we have no control over, so if he had issues with the bidding process, it may have been something on his end that was causing the issue. I calmly and politely told the customer that since we did not receive payment by the expiration of the auction on 4/20, we had no other recourse but to auction it as per Ohio lien law. I also told him that we have made attempts to contact the winning bidder to see if they’d be interested in selling the items back to the customer, but to date, they have not returned our calls. He asked both myself and the property (more like demanded at the latter) that we give him the winning bidder information. We refused, stating that we need to respect the privacy of the winning bidder. Before we concluded our conversation on Monday, he thanked me for my time, answers, and professionalism, and stated that he’d be contacting a lawyer In terms of the auction itself, the auction is clean (lien letters mailed on-time with the correct auction dates posted on it), we’ve made 5-calls per month to the customer, and all of the T’s are crossed and I’s dotted

On May 26th, 2015; *** *** and her husband rented a 10xat Simply Self Storage Neptune located at *** *** ***At the time of move in both *** * *** *** were explained the leasing agreement by the management staffAfter reviewing the leasing agreement with the local management
staff, the lease was signed by the coupleThe couple’s signature on the lease states that they are in agreement with all terms & conditions of Simply Self Storage Neptune in said leaseOn, June 1st, 2015, *** *** came into the Neptune office asking to vacate however at that failed to pay the monthly rent and had failed give a day vacate notice prior to June 1stThese terms of the lease were explained to the couple prior to their signature as it is Simply Self Storage’s policy to explain how to vacate and when rent is due before a customer completes the move in processCopied below are two excerpts from the *** lease: “MOVING OUT: When You move out, You must give Us days prior written notice before the end of the month, clean out Your Space, and remove Your lockYou will owe rent until the end of the monthIf We find Your Space unlocked and vacant, We may assume You have moved out and rent the Space to someone elseIf You leave items/trash in Your Space, You will pay a minimum $clean-out fee plus dumpster fees (It may be higher depending on what You leave)If You leave Your lock on the Space You will continue to owe rent even if the Space is emptyWe may report to a credit bureau any amount You leave owing Us including clefees and costs.” “RENT: You will pay Your rent by the 1st of the month without receiving a billIf You want an invoice, We will charge You $per month in addition to Your rentYou will indicate such by answering the above question “Monthly invoice ($per month)?” You will not fail to pay Your rent just because You did not receive an invoiceWe may change the Monthly Rent by mailing You a notice at least days before the change takes effectIf someone else pays Your rent, We may accept it, and We will not be responsible for any consequences of the paymentRent is not refundable, no matter when in the month You vacate the SpaceYou agree that no cash shall be placed in any drop slot at anytimeAny cash payment of rent must be made in a manner so that You receive a receipt from Us.” Based upon the information provided, the Revdex.com can see how *** * *** *** were in default of their leasing contractWe have shown a few of the terms the ***’s agreed to upon signing their lease before moving their belongings into Simply Self Storage NeptuneIn closing, we hope this letter answers all of your questions and we thank you for your valuable time reading this noticeSincerely; Ellen A*** Simply Self Storage Management

Please let this serve as our answer, if any other info is need please
contact me at the above email address:
On 12-2-the property manager did an inspection of the office suite and found items in the office and the storage unit, she notified *** *** via phone. The tenant vacated the office and storage unit on 12-3-and failed to remove the lock from the storage unit. Per our lease it states the lock must be removed or the tenant will be chargedThe lease also states that rent is due on the first of the month and this is a month to month lease, so since they still had the office and storage occupied, the tenant owes for the month. The deposit was used to cover the damages caused to the office suite and the tenant was provided a copy of the invoice from the company used to restore the space back to the condition it was in when they rented it
Thanks,
*** ***
District Manager GA/TX
Simply Self Storage
Billy Williamson Drive, Suite
Macon, GA

Simply Self Storage had engaged in fraudulent advertising. They state on their website and outside the building the first month's rent is free. It is unacceptable I am blamed for their sloppy customer service. If the office...

hours stated are to be open on Saturdays at 8:30 am then they should be so. It is not my responsibility when they do their banking. I was understandably upset with Danny B[redacted] for not showing up until 10:30 am to begin working. I made my complaint very clear to Danny B[redacted] that I would not accept their lack of professionalism. Ms. B[redacted] also attempted to pressure me into signing a three month lease which I rejected, further infuriating me. I had movers waiting. They cost money. Ms. B[redacted] stated she would waive all fees but I must pay the $9.00 insurance cost. At that point I had no choice but to agree as I was on a strict time constraint. Ms. B[redacted] assured me she would communicate with her supervisor her waiving the fees and my request for the refund of the $9.00 I was forced to pay. I am disabled and I felt I was being discriminated and taken advantage of for my obvious physical limitations. Ms. B[redacted] assured me all would be taken care of and I would not need to pay the April 2017 rent. She informed me if I notified her in writing via email I was vacating the unit by the 10th of the month, which I did, there would not be a fee for May 2017. I have witnesses with my movers and [redacted] to verify my complaint. It is also not my responsibility to contact the collection agency. 
Regards,
[redacted]

For reference, the complaint ID is [redacted]. I've also learned that the district managers name is Shawn B[redacted] and I believe his email is:  Sb[redacted]@simplyss.comI have sent the same information to him today as I have yet to hear back from anyone. Hopefully they will respond to...

you. Thanks!

Revdex.com:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Regards,[redacted]

Check fields!

Write a review of Simply Self Storage

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Simply Self Storage Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Truck Rent & Lease, Moving Supplies, Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Address: 460 County Rd, Cliffwood, New Jersey, United States, 07721-1176

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.simplyss.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Simply Self Storage, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Simply Self Storage

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated