Sign in

Colorado River Adventures

Sharing is caring! Have something to share about Colorado River Adventures? Use RevDex to write a review
Reviews Campgrounds, Resort Colorado River Adventures

Colorado River Adventures Reviews (90)

• Apr 02, 2021

KQ Resort and CRA member
KQ ranch is so run down that its not even funny any more. Clubhouse is so out-dated my 2004 RV has better amentias, their so-call cabins which are trailers are falling apart due to over-used and lack of being maintained, dry rot, sun damage, ac not being repaired and window mounted unites installed, inside these trailers one can see how over used they truly are
Maintenance Staff is more worried about riding around in golf carts then keeping up with maintenance and it clearly shows.
Since we have been members we have not been able to get a trailer or cabin at KQ when requested and forget about getting a trailer or cottage at Emerald Cove as they are always taken and more so now since reservation are now being made as much as 90 days out which was explained to us at last up-grade sales pitch at $4000 which we did not take.
Store, Gate Staff very friendly but no-one else was around at KQ, Emerald Cove is a hole another can of worms.
CRA is oversold

• Jun 04, 2020

Unhappy
Joined CRA back in '2000. We were smittened by KQ ranch in Julian, along with the promise of camping anytime I wanted. No reservations necessary, just show up any time they promised. Didn't take long to find out that was a complete lie.
Within no time the place was so over sold you could hardly get a space. We stayed at many CRA campgrounds and it's the same bull at all of them. Emerald Cove--camping in a dust bowl. You'd be very lucky to snag one of those prized River bank spots. Between the snowbirds and the rental trailers CRA rents there's very few spots to be had. Plus the place is a dump! Save your money folks. This is just a ponzi that I pray will implode. Beware...They claim you can sell it and then make it all but impossible to do so...Or credit has taken a hit because we can't sell and won't pay the dues on a campground we can no longer drive to as we now live on the east coast.

We have called Colorado River Adventures and left messages with Arlene Santos asking to cancel our membership. To date, we have not received a call back. What is the process to cancel our membership. There has been no interest from anyone to buy it per our online add. Please advise. Thank you, OCM.

We were asked to attend a meeting today where we were to be told of upgrades available to our membership. We were offered $50 to attend. We did attend and were interested in some of the upgrades but the cost of almost $4000 was too high. At that point we were told that the offer of $50 was not valid since we attended such a presentation within a year. This explanation is not true since the only meeting we attended was one we were required to attend was to get new membership cards. Without these we were told we could not use the resorts. All of our dues have always been current.

I was pressured into buying into a contract with CRA I am so unhappy and embarassed I did this. I took my family for spring break to Pismo Beach I rented a condo for 100 dollars which I thought was crazy since I did pay 14000 for the contract and with all the membership fees included after 30 years adds up to over 100000 dollars I could of left a small house for my kids for that price! Any way the condo when we arrived in Pismo Beach was a run down pull trailer we asked if we could get one of the newer condos and was told they were dirty and the housekeeper wouldnt be in until wednesday it was a monday so it was raining so we stayed since I had already paid for the craptacular trailer! I will never use CRA I could of gotten Good Sams membership for 60 dollars a year and a National Park pass for 100 dollars WTF! I was coherced and lied too and will post this everywhere on the net! DONT BUY CRA YOU WILL BE SOOOOO SORRRRRY!

We purchased our membership from another member and paid the $1100 transfer fee at the time. there was considerable pressure when we went to the office for us to upgrade and were told IF we did not upgrade we could never sell our membership, only cancel it and loose our investment. This was fine with us. A few years later, we attended an upgrade appointment for a $100 incentive. And were then told that IF we did not upgrade they would increase our dues by 10% a year and when I replied that if that happens we will cancel our membership. The sales person then brought in her manager who told us we can never cancel our membership as long as we lived and then pulled out our contract from their files to show us that we could only sell it! She presented the contract we had signed and it had multiple changes in red ink, that they had added after we had signed it. I told them that I have my copy of the contract I signed without the changes in red ink. She threatened legal action if we tried to cancel our contract and led us our of the office.
The parks are great, but the sales management leaves a lot to be desired. We used the membership quite a bit the first few years but rarely use it for the past 8 years. We will be sending in our Notarized letter to cancel it soon and I will report back how they handle it.

• Aug 03, 2020

So what happened. Where you able to cancel?

We received a letter from Aspen National Collections today, December 6, 2016. The letter was referencing an account with KQ Ranch. We would like to dispute the validation of this debt.
We attended a tour at KQ Ranch in January 2016. We decided to sign up for the membership after our sales lady assured us several times what was offered at each location offered with the Colorado River Adventure membership. We visited 3 locations. KQ Ranch was the only location that came close to being what our CRA sales lady promised. We visited Emerald Cove, the headquarter location in Parker, AZ, about a month later and discovered we were misled. The CRA sales lady assured us the Parker, AZ location had jet skis and boats available for rent through Colorado River Adventure. She assured us they only charge for things that take “Gas or Grass”. She used this phrase multiple times. We have a motor home and do not pull an extra vehicle with us. The ability to rent entertainment toys on the location was one of the biggest reasons we decided to purchase the membership. The Parker, AZ location did not have any jet skis or boats for rent. We had kids excited about getting on the river, and this never happened. We were extremely disappointed and unhappy. We informed KQ Ranch of our dissatisfaction. They claimed they use to have rentals, but must have only recently stopped. We called the Parker, AZ location and were told this was untrue. Discovering we were lied to did not make us happy, but we were hoping maybe they told the truth about the other locations. Colorado River Adventure sales lady had promised the location Ghost Mountain Ranch, located in Pollock Pines, CA had horses on site owned and operated by Colorado River Adventures. She assured us the horses are present all year and only costed $10 per hour for riding. In March we loaded up our children and additional kids for a spring break filled with horseback riding. We arrived to a run-down resort. Most activities were closed due to not even employees being at work. The actual workers on the property said they had been there for years and they have never offered horse riding. They said they offer places to ride your own horses, but no horses owned by Colorado River Adventures for rental riding. I was furious. I called KQ Ranch to express my disgust and dissatisfaction. We drove 9.5 hours to get back to KQ Ranch to attempt to salvage our children’s spring break. We were supposed to get a visit from our sales lady, but that never happened. At this visit we were watching a movie in the adult lounge. Kids were running around like crazy. A large group of adults were drinking and being very loud and rude. I was only days out of the hospital from emergency surgery and still on pain medication. After the kids of the drunk adults were rudely misbehaving behind the couch I asked the parents to please ask them to stop. Three of the adults proceeded to cuss me out and one of the men came at me like he was going to beat me up. My husband intervened and the rude guest left us alone. The staff was non-existent this weekend. It was a horrible week attempting to use our membership. I called the office once I got home and expressed my dissatisfaction with them. I explained how our sales lady lied to us and what we were promised we would be getting with our membership was in fact a lie. We were misled. I requested my account to be terminated.
After speaking with Colorado River Adventure on the phone money continued to be drafted from our account. I called and left a message requesting a phone call back with an explanation of why I was calling. I never received a phone call back, but the payment stopped being drafted from my account. I did not request this through my bank. I also stopped receiving invoices from Colorado River Adventures. I assumed they canceled our membership, until we received the letter from Aspen National Collections today.
Colorado River Adventure’s employee encouraged us to enter into a contract with false promises. This is extremely misleading and illegal. We are requesting this debt be waived immediately. We would like to be notified within 30 days of the decision. If the debt is not waived we will be retaining a lawyer to get the debt waived and reimbursed for full deposit, expenses incurred attempting to use the membership and emotional distress caused by Colorado River Adventures.

Sincerely,
Andrew & Crystal McPherson

I am not sure who would have told the [redacted]'s this information. If cancellation is what they wish I will do so. They need merely to put it in writing and mail to the corporate office to my attention and I will take care of it.
 
Colorado River Adventures
[redacted]...

[redacted]

[redacted]  [redacted]

[redacted]   [redacted]

• Jun 04, 2020

OK. So where do I mail my cancellation notice? If this is CRA email me [email protected]

I am sorry but the addition of Pismo Beach to our member's usage was done as an upgrade only. I have explained, and I will again, that it is not owned by CRA. It was made available to the CRA members who wanted rental usage there thru a reciprocal agreement between CRA and [redacted]  It is a very small park with a limited amount of rental units. It was never intended to be a CRA campground as it is not equipped to handle use by all 14,000 members. 
 
Debra C[redacted]
Office Manager

Hello,I have a previous complaint#[redacted] that has yet to get resolved.I have reached out to Colorado River Adventures on 6/3/16 and was able to speak with a person named Toni B[redacted]. She had mentioned she would take care in transferring my account but she had to talk to her manager Debbie to see how to make the transfer. I have someone who is willing to take over my account. Toni never called me back so I was able to get a hold of her again on 6/8/16. She said she needs to talk to upper management again(Debbie) because Debbie was out. Toni again said she would call me back by 6/10/16 and never did. I called back 6/10/16 around 1 p.m pacific time and was told Toni left for the day. I asked to speak with Debbie who is her manager and was told Debbie doesn't take phone calls and I can only leave her a message. I left a message to Debbie and still haven't received a phone call back. I tried calling again 6/13/16 and still just keep getting transferred to voicemails. Colorado river is not wanting to resolve my complaint even after they had agreed to.

RE: Revdex.com Complaint# [redacted]To Whom It May Concern:I am sorry that I have not responded to the above complaint. I searched my emails and find no record of ever having received notice of it.Mr. S[redacted] is correct in that a member can sell their membership and/or cancel when they want or need to. What wasn't made clear to the [redacted] is that is only true when it the membership has been paid in full. This is clearly spelled out in the contractpaperwork that our customers sign and initial at the time of sale.  Some customers pay in full at the time of sale. Some finance the purchase. I have explained to Mr. S[redacted] that he must make the difference between the two clear when he is in front of a customer.If the [redacted] want to try and sell their membership I will allow them to. They will have to find someone, however, to take over the loan. There are usually transfer fees, etc. involved when a membership is sold and transferred into new ownership. I will reduce and/or waive these when the time comes.I am truly sorry for the confusion. But as with any financed purchase, the debt must be paid before a transfer of ownership can take place.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

Experience is far from promised results. Very expensive and not worth even half the price.

My understanding is that Mr. [redacted] located a buyer for his loan with Colorado River Adventures. They are to take over payments and assume responsibility. His file was turned over to our transfer department and they made contact with the buyer, Chhay Taing. They are to meet with our sales department at our Pismo Beach park and finaalize paperwork I believe Mr. [redacted] has been in the loop thus far, I haven't been.
 
I will check with the people involved tomorrow and see where all of this stands. But we have been moving forward with the resolution of Mr. [redacted]'s problem.
 
Debra C[redacted]
Office Manager

When we did our upgrade only Havasu Springs was added to the existing campgrounds.  The upgrade, as you many know, was significant in price.  The sales representative sold us the upgrade with the assumption that future campsires added to CRA would be added at no additional cost.

This membership has two contractual owners, [redacted] and [redacted]. We are aware of Ms. [redacted]'s service to our country and do thank her efforts. However, the membership has always been able to be used either by Ms. [redacted] OR Ms. [redacted]. Just because one person was overseas did not...

render the membership unusable.The account balance on this membership is $1093.00. Dues are owed for the years of 2012, 2013 and 2014. There are $30 in late fees from 2010. Because there has been ongoing conversations regarding the payment of these dues I am willing to do this. If Ms. [redacted] will pay the $732.00 owed to the collection company, I will write off the 2014 amount owed. I will also waive the collection fees that will be paid by us when the account is returned to an active status. Normally this is added to the member's account. The dues will bill again in 2016.To reiterate, the "active duty" dues freeze is offered when the solitary owner of a membership is deployed out of the states. If there is a secondary owner who can use the membership during the time of deployment there is no reason to freeze the dues. This offer saves Ms. [redacted] approximately $580.00 and I feel that it is a satisfactory solution to the problem.Sincerely,[redacted]CRA Office Manager

Ms. [redacted] needs to send the letter to the business office. (Colorado River Adventures, [redacted]  [redacted]) She can send it to my attention ([redacted]).It needs to state that she "ASSUMES full financial responsibility and Membership Rights for the membership # __________________. Sign in front of notary. [redacted] needs to state that he is RELINQUISHING all rights to membership #___________________. He needs to sign in front of notary.This can be done on one form signed by both and notarized. Or separate forms, whichever is easier for them to accomplish. Upon receipt of this we will contact the collections company a follow thru with removing [redacted] from responsibility.[redacted]Office Manager

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
PLEASE DO NOT CLOSE THE COMPLAINT CASE NUMBER [redacted]!

I HAVE NOT AGREED TO COLORADO RIVER ADVENTURES OFFER TO RETURN THE AMOUNT OF $750.00 FOR THE FOLLOWING REASON (S),

 

1.THIS CAMPING MEMBERSHIP WAS CANCELED WITHIN THE FEDERAL LAW TIME GUIDELINES AND I HAVE PROVIDED A COPY OF THIS NOTICE TO CANCEL TO YOUR OFFICE.    (FAXED TO Revdex.com OF GREATER PHOENIX)

2. I AM OUT THE AMOUNT OF $1465.00 FOR A PRODUCT/SERVICE I FOUND TO BE NOT OF INTEREST THEREFORE SAID TRANSACTION WAS CANCELED ACCORDINGLY.

 

TO SETTLE AND CLOSE THIS COMPLAINT I MUST RECEIVE A REFUND IN THE AMOUNT THAT WAS COLLECTED($1465.00). THAT AMOUNT WAS PROMISED TO BE REFUNDED WHEN I RETURNED TO COLORADO RIVER ADVENTURES SALES OFFICE LOCATED IN [redacted], CA( [redacted]) AND PROVIDED A COPY OF MY NOTICE OF CANCELLATION AND RETURNED ALL MEMBERSHIP MATERIALS THAT HAD BEEN GIVEN TO ME ON OCTOBER 15, 2009. I WAS TOLD SAID MEMBERSHIP WAS CANCELED AND A CHECK WAS TO BE MAILED TO MY ADDRESS OF RECORD FROM THE CORPORATE OFFICE THE VERY NEXT DAY, OCTOBER 16, 2009. I HAVE WAITED FOR MY REFUND OF $1465.00 FOR OVER FOUR YEARS!!

I HAVE BEEN MORE THAN PATIENT.

 

Regards,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID [redacted], and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Since they admit that the marketing states a fuel certificate and not a rebate, I think I should get the $200 certificate instead of having to jump through the hoops that they have established in their rebate program - which by the way are ridiculous, you have to go to the gas pump 4 times, no less than 60 days apart, and each receipt will not be reimbursed if it over $50, then you have to mail it in and wait for the $200 - truly this comes across as a way to make people give up and not go through the hassle of getting the $200 in gas.

Regards,

I need to know what needs to be said on the notarized letter so that [redacted] can be taken off of the account. Where do I send the letter and attention to whom? Will they send this letter to the collection agency to remove his name?

Check fields!

Write a review of Colorado River Adventures

Satisfaction rating
 
 
 
 
 
Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Colorado River Adventures Rating

Overall satisfaction rating

Description: Trailers - Camping & Travel, Campgrounds & RV Parks, Camps, Resorts, Timeshare Companies, Sightseeing Tours

Address: PO Box 1088, Parker, Arizona, United States, 85344-1088

Phone:

Show more...

Web:

www.coloradoriveradventures.com

This site can’t be reached

Shady, yet now dead: once upon a time this website was reported to be associated with Colorado River Adventures, but after several inspections we’ve come to the conclusion that this domain is no longer active.



Add contact information for Colorado River Adventures

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New | Updated